يمكن أن يكون القبول مليئة بالتوتر والمشاكل

التأمل في القبول بالمقاومة أو بالرهبة والعجب
الكاتب الأمريكي غيل غودوين مع والدتها في 1985 في جزيرة Pawley.
تصوير روبرت ستارر - مقدم من غيل غودوين ، CC BY-SA 3.0

القبول هو موضوع رئيسي في الأديان العالمية. في الحياة الحديثة ، ومع ذلك ، فإن القبول مليء بالتوتر ومشكلة. الدافع لإصلاح ، تغيير ، وتحسين للملوثات العضوية الثابتة في كل منعطف. لخص رينهولد نيبور هذا التوتر في صلاة الصفاء ، مكتوبًا في 1934:
"الله، امنحني السكينة لقبول الأشياء التي لا يمكن أن تتغير،
الشجاعة لتغيير الأشياء التي أستطيع فعلها ،
والحكمة لمعرفة الفرق."

ليس من المستغرب، أصبحت هذه الصلاة أنيقة من تعويذة مدمني الخمر دون الكشف، تحدث بشكل جماعي في بداية الاجتماعات AA. يمكن أن فقط كذلك تكون الصلاة، تحدث في حفل الزواج، وعند ولادة الطفل، أو من قبل رئيس الدولة، من خلال خطاب تنصيبه.

في قبول استكشاف، وفيما يلي Neibuhr مستوحاة من الأسئلة تتبادر إلى الذهن. فهي ليست الأسئلة مع إجابات سهلة ولكن نقاط التفكير بدلا التي قد البقاء معكم لسنوات، متماوج، استفزاز، وانتظار اللحظة المناسبة للعثور على القرار:

* ما هي الصفات الشخصية هل أنت قادر على تغيير، وبالتالي يضطر لقبول؟

* ما هي الصفات الشخصية أنت غير راغبة في التخلي عن؟ ما هي عواقب ذلك؟

* ما هي الصفات أو السلوكيات في أولادكم للبالغين هل أنت قادر على التغيير؟ - غير راغبة في محاولة لتغيير؟

* ما هو موقفكم الأخلاقي إزاء محاولة لتغيير شخص آخر، حتى (أو خاصة) طفل الخاصة بك؟

* ما هي العلاقة بين قبول الذات وقبول طفلك الكبار؟

يفكر في قبول

يمكن أن يفكر في قبول تقودنا إلى بعض الألغام العديد من الدول الغنية، معرق،. استخراج خام، ومع ذلك، غالبا ما يكون صعبا. ونحن مضطرون لقبول واقع الشيخوخة لدينا وحتمية الموت لدينا - من السهل القول، من الصعب القيام به. وثمة وظيفة رئيسية من الدين، لمساعدتنا في شرح، ويتلون، والاستعداد للموت. نحن الكائنات الوحيدة التي يعرف أن الموت أمر لا مفر منه، بل يأتي مع الحزمة. انها الألوان في حياتنا بطرق كبيرة وصغيرة. وقبول صحي الشيخوخة والموت يتيح لنا أن نعتز به وقتنا على الأرض والعمل على تحسين وصقل تلك الأشياء التي يمكن تحسينها. قد علاقتنا مع أطفالنا الكبار تكون واحدة من تلك الأشياء.

نحن مضطرون أيضا لقبول الحقائق من تاريخنا الفردية. لا يمكننا تغيير، على الرغم من أننا قد ترغب في مسقط رأس لدينا في بلدة صغيرة في أوزاركس أو سكة حديد شقة في مدينة نيويورك. يمكننا أن نغير مواقفنا إلى ماضينا ولكن ليس وقائع ماضينا. إذا كانوا يعانون زيادة الوزن والدينا على محمل الجد، لم يتعلم القراءة، أو كان على كرسي متحرك ملزمة، اذا قتل شقيقه الأصغر لدينا في العمل، وإذا الشقيقة حملت في 15، وكان لها طفل - جعلت هذه القطع من تاريخنا بصماتها في موقعنا وقد اتخذت بانوراما تاريخية، وهؤلاء الناس مكانهم في المدلى بها حياتنا من الأحرف.

بالإضافة إلى الحقائق الثابتة عن تاريخنا هي "معطيات" لا يمكن التغاضي عنها في أجسادنا. لجميع الأغراض العملية ، نحن غير قادرين على تغيير الصفات الوراثية - أذننا الموسيقية (أو نقصها) ، على سبيل المثال. إن التعامل مع الإعاقات الجسدية ، والعيوب المعرفة بذاتها ، وما قد نعرفه على أنه "وصمة عار" يمكن أن يتضمن عملاً شاقاً مدى الحياة.

قد يكون رجل 6'2 "امرأة أو 5'2" في الثقافة الأنجلو أميركية بارزًا في حشد كبير أو يختفي في حشد قصير جدًا. لا أحد يستطيع أن يغير ارتفاعه بشكل كبير. تم التعامل مع يد معينة من الحمض النووي ، أو ، إذا كنت تحب ، من قبل الله. قبول ذلك اليد هو هدف هائل يمكن العمل من أجله. قبول الذات يسمح لعملنا أن يكون مفيدا ومتكاملا ومتفقا. إنه يتيح لجمالنا الفريد - لك ولأمي - أن يتكشف بحرية.

قبول مع الرهبة واندروب

هناك العديد من أجزاء أنفسنا التي قد نكون قادرين على النظر ليس فقط مع القبول ولكن مع الرعب والعجب. انظر إلى يديك ، على سبيل المثال. هذان الاثنان من أدوات التلاعب الرائعة هي كاملة وقادرة. هناك المئات من الأشياء التي تفعلها معهم كل يوم. تمثل إبهامك المضاد ملايين السنين من تطور الثدييات / السيميان / الإنسان. معهم يمكنك التفاف هدية عيد ميلاد ، وإعطاء صديق لفك الكتف ، وكتابة قائمة التسوق ، وممارسة الكمان ، وعقد مضرب بيسبول ، زر سترة الخاص بك ، عقدة ربطة عنقك ، والرمل في الساقين تحولت طاولة البلد ، نسج سجادة أو مطرقة مسمار.

حياتك تحسنت بشكل كبير لأنك لديك إبهام معاكسة. تحية لهم من وقت لآخر. ننظر إليها في عجب. ثم النظر في قدميك.

بعد كنت قد فعلت ذلك لجهازكم المادية دقة رائع - حتى لو أجزاء منه هي صغيرة جدا أو كبيرة جدا أو لا يعمل ما يصل الى رمز - ثم النظر في قلبك. ليس الجهاز العضلي الذي يدق في صدرك ولكن جزءا من أنت أن يشعر، تتعاطف، ويحب. ونحن نسمي هذا "الجهاز" في قلب لأنه أمر حيوي جوهري للحياة الروحية، تماما كما القلب الدم في الضخ يقف في طليعة من الحياة الجسدية والموت. النظر في قلب من حيث صلته القبول - من أنفسنا وأحبائنا وخاصة من أبنائنا الكبار.

عن طريق هذا القلب نحن قادرون على توسيع أنفسنا بما يتجاوز الرضا الأساسي للحيوانات من الاحتياجات الفورية. يمكننا أن نرى ونسمع ونشعر باحتياجات الآخرين الذين لديهم تاريخ مختلف تمامًا عن تاريخنا. لقد عانينا بطرق مختلفة ، لذلك نستنتج أن الآخرين - ربما كل الآخرين - قد عانوا كذلك. يقول المؤلف والناقد جي. كي. تشيسترتون على هذا النحو: "نحن جميعا في نفس القارب في بحر عاصف ، ونحن مدينون لبعضنا البعض بلاء فظيع".

هل يمكن أن نشعر بالتعاطف مع معاناة أطفالنا الكبار بدلاً من إنكارها أو محاربتها؟ هل يمكن أن نقبل معاناة أطفالنا البالغين حتى عندما نكون ، نحن والديهم ، مسؤولين جزئيا عن ذلك؟

وهذا الأخير هو هدف صعب المنال. ذلك يشير إلى أن نفتح جرحا - أو، ربما، وخلق لجرح جديد - وهو الجرح الذي قد نبض وتنزف. ولكن أكثر تأثيرا عميقا على فهم معاناة الأطفال الخاص بك، كلما كان من الممكن القبول بها، وأحبهم.

الثلاثة التالية "إذا كان في ذلك الحين" فرضيات هي تعبير آخر عن هذا الصدد:

* إذا كنت لا تقبل نفسك كما أنت، فإنك سوف تكون قادرة على قبول طفلك الكبار الطريقة هي.

* إذا كنت قادرا على تقبل الطفل للبالغين هو عليه، بعد ذلك سوف تكون قادرة على أن تكون صديقا له.

* إذا كنت صديقا للطفل بالغ الخاص بك، فإنك سوف أحبها بحرية وصراحة، ودون عوائق، وأنها، في المقابل، يمكن أحبك كثيرا بنفس الطريقة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
ناشرو المجتمع الجديد. © 2001.
http://www.newsociety.com

المادة المصدر

كل الذين ينمون: العيش بسعادة مع أطفالك البالغين
بواسطة روبرتا مايزل.

كل نمت بنسبة مايزل روبرتا.لا يعرف العديد من الآباء والأمهات في 50s و 60s كيفية الوالدين أطفالهم الكبار. ومع ذلك ، فإن الزيادات في الصحة وطول العمر تعني أن الآباء وأطفالهم قد يشاركون 40 أو سنوات أخرى معًا كالكبار. جميع كبرت يصف كيف يمكن للوالدين في منتصف العمر وأطفالهما أن يحتفلوا بهذا الإيجار الجديد للحياة معاً من خلال تطوير صداقات محبة وتكافلية تكون إيجابية وخالية من الشعور بالذنب. باستخدام استراتيجيات حل النزاع المقترضة من مجال الوساطة ، واحترام صحي لقضايا الفجوة بين الأجيال التي ولدتها الثورات الاجتماعية للـ 1960s و 70s ، ومنظور روحي واسع ، يقدم المؤلف حلولا عملية للمشاكل المستمرة ، بالإضافة إلى المناقشات المثيرة للتفكير حول كيفية ظهور هذه المشكلات.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب غلاف عادي.

عن المؤلف

روبرتا مايزلروبرتا مايزل وسيط مع المتطوعين بيركلي خدمة فض النزاعات في بيركلي، كاليفورنيا. وقالت إنها هي الأم متحمس لثلاثة أطفال، ونمت، في أوقات مختلفة في حياتها، وكانت المدرسة والمدرس كلية، صاحب متجر لبيع التحف، مرافقا على البيانو، والناشط السياسي والعمل مع لاجئي أمريكا الوسطى، والناس بلا مأوى والسلام في الشرق الأوسط . في الآونة الأخيرة أعطت محادثات وورش عمل حول الشيخوخة، والذين يعيشون مع الخسارة، والحصول على جنبا إلى جنب مع الأطفال الكبار.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = adult children؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Acceptance Can Be Tension-Filled and Problematic

Pondering Acceptance with Resistance or with Awe and Wonder
American author Gail Godwin with her mother in 1985 at Pawley's Island.
Photo by Robert Starer - Provided by Gail Godwin, CC BY-SA 3.0

Acceptance is a major theme of world religions. In modern life, however, acceptance is tension-filled and problematic. The urge to fix, change, and improve pops up at every turn. Reinhold Neibuhr summed up this tension in his Serenity Prayer, written in 1934:
    "God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    the courage to change the things I can,
    and wisdom to know the difference."

Not surprisingly, this elegant prayer has become the mantra of Alcoholics Anonymous, spoken collectively at the start of AA meetings. It could just as well be a prayer spoken at a marriage ceremony, at the birth of a child, or by a head-of-state during an inaugural address.

In exploring acceptance, the following Neibuhr-inspired questions come to mind. They are not questions with easy answers but rather thinking points that may stay with you for years, churning, provoking, and waiting for the right moment to find resolution:

* What personal qualities are you unable to change, and, therefore are forced to accept?

* What personal qualities are you unwilling to give up? What are the consequences of this?

* What traits or behaviors in your adult children are you unable to change? -- unwilling to try to change?

* What is your moral position regarding the attempt to change another person, even (or especially) your own child?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


* What is the relationship between self-acceptance and acceptance of your adult child?

Pondering Acceptance

Pondering acceptance can lead us into some rich, many-veined mines. Extracting the ore, however, is often difficult. We are obliged to accept the fact of our aging and the inevitability of our death -- easy to say, hard to do. A major function of religion is to help us to explain, rehearse, and prepare for death. We are the only species that knows that death is inevitable; it comes with the package. It colors our lives in big and little ways. A healthy acceptance of aging and death allows us to cherish our time on earth and to work to improve and fine-tune those things that can be improved. Our relationship with our adult children may be one of those things.

We are also obliged to accept the facts of our individual histories. We cannot change, much as we might want to, our birthplace in a small town in the Ozarks or a railroad flat in New York City. We can change our attitudes to our past but not the facts of our past. If our parents were seriously overweight, never learned to read, or were wheelchair bound, if our younger brother was killed in action, if our sister got pregnant at 15 and had a baby -- these chunks of our history have made their mark in our historical panorama, and these people have taken their place in our life's cast of characters.

In addition to the unchangeable facts of our histories are the often implacable "givens" of our bodies. For all practical purposes, we are unable to change genetically-based traits -- our musical ear (or lack of it), for example. Coming to terms with physical infirmity, self-defined imperfection and what we might define as "stigma" can involve a lifetime of hard work.

A 6'2" woman or a 5'2" man in Anglo-American culture may stand out in a crowd as too tall or disappear in a crowd as too short. Neither one can significantly change his or her height. They were dealt a certain hand by their DNA, or, if you like, by God. Accepting that hand is a formidable goal towards which to work. Self-acceptance allows our lifework to be useful, integrated and fulfilling. It allows our unique beauty -- yours and mine -- to unfold freely.

Accepting with Awe and Wonder

There are many parts of ourselves that we may be able to look at not just with acceptance but with awe and wonder. Look at your hands, for example. These two exquisitely deft instruments of manipulation are whole and able. There are hundreds of things you do with them every day. Your opposable thumbs represent millions of years of mammalian/simian/human evolution. With them you can wrap a birthday present, give a friend a shoulder rub, write a shopping list, practice the violin, hold a baseball bat, button your jacket, knot your tie, sand the turned legs of a country table, weave a rug or hammer a nail.

Your life is immensely improved because you have opposable thumbs. Pay homage to them every once in a while; look at them in wonder. Then consider your feet.

After you have done this for your magnificently nuanced physical apparatus -- even if parts of it are too small or too large or not working up to code -- then consider your heart. Not the muscular machine that beats within your chest but the part of you that feels, empathizes, and loves. We call this "organ" the heart because it is quintessentially vital for spiritual life, just as the blood-pumping heart stands at the forefront of physical life and death. Consider the heart as it relates to acceptance -- of ourselves and our loved ones and especially of our adult children.

By means of this heart we are able to stretch ourselves beyond basic animal satisfaction of immediate needs. We can see and hear and feel the needs of others with very different histories from our own. We have suffered in various ways, so we conclude that others -- perhaps all others -- have suffered as well. Author and critic G.K. Chesterton put it this way: "We are all in the same boat in a stormy sea, and we owe each other a terrible loyalty."'

Can we feel compassion for our adult children's suffering instead of denying it or fighting it? Can we accept our adult children's suffering even when we, their parents, are partly responsible for it?

This last is a tall order. It suggests that we open a wound -- or, perhaps, create a new wound -- a wound that may throb and bleed. But the more profoundly you understand your children's suffering, the more you can accept them and love them.

The following three "if-then" hypotheses are another expression of this connection:

* If you can accept yourself as you are, then you will be able to accept your adult child the way she is.

* If you are able to accept your adult child the way he is, then you will be able to be a friend to him.

* If you are a friend to your adult child, then you will love her freely, openly, and without impediments and she, in turn, can love you much the same way.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. ©2001.
http://www.newsociety.com

Article Source

All Grown Up: Living Happily Ever After with Your Adult Children
by Roberta Maisel.

All Grown Up by Roberta Maisel. Many parents in their 50s and 60s don't know how to parent their adult children. Yet increases in health and longevity mean that parents and their children may share 40 or more years together as adults. All Grown Up describes how mid-life parents and their grown children can celebrate this new lease on life together by developing loving and egalitarian friendships that are positive and guilt-free. Using conflict resolution strategies borrowed from the field of mediation, a healthy respect for generation-gap issues engendered by the social revolutions of the 1960s and '70s, and a broad spiritual perspective, the author provides both practical solutions to on-going problems, as well as thought-provoking discussions of how these problems came to be.

Info/Order this paperback book.

About the Author

Roberta MaiselROBERTA MAISEL is a volunteer mediator with Berkeley Dispute Resolution Service in Berkeley, California. She is an enthusiastic parent of three grown children and, at various times in her life, has been a school and college teacher, antique shop owner, piano accompanist, and political activist working with and for Central American refugees, homeless people and Middle East peace. More recently she has given talks and workshops on aging, living with loss, and getting along with adult children.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=adult children;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}