قبول أنفسنا تماما ، الوحش الداخلي والجميع

قبول أنفسنا تماما ، الوحش الداخلي والجميع
الصورة عن طريق محمد حسن

(مقتطف من كتابنا ، القلوب: طرق 52 لفتح المزيد من الحب، تم اختياره أيضًا لتكريم معلمنا المحبوب ، رام داس ، الذي توفي في 22 ديسمبر 2019.)

لدينا جميعًا أجزاء من أنفسنا نفضل أن نبقى مخفية فيها. كلنا نخجل من بعض الأشياء التي قمنا بها أو التي قمنا بها ، أو حتى المشاعر أو الأفكار التي كانت لدينا. نحن نتخيل أنه إذا عرف الناس هذه الأشياء عنا ، فلن يحبوننا. سيتم رفضنا أو التخلي عننا أو الحكم علينا أو نقدنا.

نعتقد أننا في أمان من خلال إخفاء هذا العار ، لكننا بعيدون عن الأمان. يخفينا العار عن حريتنا وسعادتنا. إن أجزاء أنفسنا التي نحاول إخفاءها هي الأجزاء التي تملك أكبر قدر من القوة علينا ، لأنها تسيطر علينا من وعينا اللاوعي. إن محاولة دفن ماضينا هي حقًا ترفض ، وتتخلى عن ، ونحكم على جزء من أنفسنا.

تقاسم بشكل ضعيف لدينا العار

على العكس من ذلك ، عندما نشارك عارنا بشكل ضعيف مع الآخرين في بيئة آمنة ، وهذا ما أسعى جويس وأنا أسعى لإيجاده في ورش العمل وجلسات الإرشاد الخاصة بنا ، أصبحنا بالفعل أكثر محبوب. ضعفنا في بيئة آمنة يفتح قلوب الناس لنا. هذا هو الفرضية الأساسية لكثير من عملنا. والمضي قدماً ، تساعدنا رؤية وقبول الآخرين منا على قبول أنفسنا بشكل أعمق. هذا هو الطريق نحو الحرية.

في عام 1977 ، دخل رام داس ، الذي ساعدت كتبه ومحاضراته في إيقاظنا على طريق الوعي منذ عام 1970 ، في العيش في مجتمعنا سانتا كروز أثناء عمله في أحد كتبه. لمدة عامين تقريبًا ، حظيت أنا و جويس ، مع عدد قليل من الآخرين ، بفرصة رائعة للحصول على مشورة فردية بواسطة هذا المعلم الموهوب. أخبرنا أنه من المهم بالنسبة له أن يكون في خدمة مباشرة للآخرين بدلاً من أن يحجب نفسه عن الكتابة.

من المتواضع للغاية أن نعترف بغرورنا الروحي عندما زرنا رام داس لأول مرة بعد انتقاله إلى المدينة. في ذلك الوقت ، ارتدت أنا و جويس جميعها باللون الأبيض ولبسنا حبات مالا مقدسة لممارسة التأمل المكثفة لدينا. لم نذهب لرؤية رام داس للمساعدة. لم نشعر أننا بحاجة إلى المساعدة. بدلاً من ذلك ، ذهبنا لرؤية رام داس لمساعدته.

رام داس: كن حقيقيًا الآن

جلسنا على طاولة للنزهات في الفناء الخلفي له بينما كان جالسًا أمامنا وهو يمزح بصوت عالٍ على تفاحة خضراء وننظر إلينا بعيون زرقاء من الكريستال المخترقة. بعد نصف ساعة تقريبًا من مواجهته مع أتباعنا ، قام بمقاطعة أعمال التبشير البليغة (جيدًا ، وأغلبها) ، وأعلن: "لقد أعطيتني أيها الرجال الصداع. أنت بحاجة حقًا إلى المساعدة. سأوافق على رؤيتك بشكل منفرد أثناء العمل على هذا الكتاب الجديد ، طاقتك معًا ليست كبيرة بالنسبة لي ، فأنتما كليهما ، أنت في الغالب باري ، "قداسة مزعجة".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الكثير لمساعدتنا رام داس. تركنا ذلك اليوم متواضعًا لجذورنا ، وبدأنا بعد ذلك ما أصبح تدريبًا مكثفًا مدته سنتان أخرج البساط الأمثال من تحتنا ، وسكب كل معتقداتنا الصالحة عن أنفسنا ، ومساعدتنا على دمج الروحانية الحقيقية.

الوحوش الداخلية والغضب والقسوة

إحدى زياراتي حدثت مع عيد الهالوين ، والتي أثارت بعض الذكريات القديمة من طفولتي. أخبرت رام داس عن هوس طفولتي بالوحوش. لقد شاهدت كل أفلام الوحش التي خرجت ، وقرأت قصص الوحوش ، ولعبت ألعاب الوحوش في الليل ، فرحةً بإخافة أصدقائي بأصواتي الوحوش المختلفة.

في إحدى الليالي ، بينما كان والداي في المنزل المجاور لمنزل كوبر ، سمعوا صوتًا هائلاً وصراخًا قادمًا من الخارج. بالضيق ، سأل كوبر عما حدث. لاحظت أمي عرضًا ، "أوه ، هذا فقط باري يلعب ألعابه الوحشية."

نعم ، ربما كان هذا كله بريئاً. ولكن كان هناك جزء آخر كان مخزياً بالنسبة لي ، وقد اختبأت ولم أخبر أحداً سوى جويس. لقد كانت وحشي ، والطرق التي خرجت بها من غضبي هي التي أضرت بالآخرين ، وكانت مخزية للغاية.

استمع رام داس برأفة وأنا منعت روحي منه. ثم طلب مني أن أغمض عيني وأشعر بهذا الجزء المخزي من نفسي بأعمق ما أستطيع. بينما كنت أفعل ذلك ، سرعان ما وصل إلى جانب كرسيه في حقيبة وسحب بهدوء قناعًا كان يخطط لارتدائه في تلك الليلة في عيد الهالوين. عن طريق "المصادفة" ، صادف أن يكون قناعًا وحشًا كامل الرأس وواقعيًا للغاية. انزلق عليه ثم طلب مني أن أفتح عيني.

كنت في حالة ضعف شديد عندما فتحت عيني ، وعلى عكس المعالج التقليدي ، كان رام داس جالسًا ووجهه ربما قدمي من قدمي. كان المشهد سريالية. كان هذا الوجه الشبيه بالحياة يشبه أمامي مباشرة ، إسقاطي الكامل للوحش القاسي بداخلي ، مخيف إلى حد لا يصدق. في حالة الغيبوبة الضعيفة ، كنت أجلس أمام وحش حقيقي.

قبول الوحش الداخلي مع الرحمة والحب

ثم لاحظت العيون من خلال القناع. لم يكن هناك قسوة هناك ، فقط الرحمة والحب يتدفقان إلي. كان المزيج غير متناسق لدرجة أنني شعرت بقبول من الجزء الوحشي مني ، وخاصة الألم والغضب الذي كان وراء ذلك.

ثم بدأت أضحك. بدا رام داس لطيفًا مع القناع ، لكن الأهم من ذلك هو أنني شعرت بلطف شخصية الوحش الداخلية الخاصة بي. ليس هذا هو أن قسوتي كانت لطيفة ، لكن ذلك I كان لطيف ، وبالتالي يمكن أن يغفر لي بعمق أكثر عن الأعمال التي أضرت بالآخرين.

هذا هو قلب قبول الذات. وراء خجلنا هو ألمنا ، وخلف الألم الطفل البريء الثمين الذي يستحق الحب. عندما نتطرق إلى هذا الطفل الثمين داخل أنفسنا ، فإننا نقبل بسهولة الأجزاء المخزية. وهذا يجلب الحرية ... والسلام.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

القلوب: طرق 52 لفتح المزيد من الحب
جويس وVissell باري.

القلبية: 52 طرق لفتح المزيد من الحب من جويس وباري فيسيل.الحزن يعني أكثر بكثير من العاطفية أو schmaltz. شقرا القلب في اليوغا هي المركز الروحي للجسم ، مع ثلاثة شاكرات أعلاه وثلاثة أدناه. إنها نقطة التوازن بين الجزء السفلي من الجسم والجزء العلوي من الجسم ، أو بين الجسم والروح. لذلك ، فالتوازن في قلبك يجب أن يكون متوازنا ، لدمج الشاكرات الثلاثة الأدنى مع الثلاثة العليا.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هؤلاء المؤلفين

عن المؤلفين)

جويس وVissell باريجويس وباري Vissell، وهما زوجان ممرضة / المعالج والطبيب النفسي منذ 1964، والمستشارين قرب سانتا كروز، كاليفورنيا. وينظر على نطاق واسع على أنها من بين الخبراء في العالم على علاقة واعية ونمو الشخصية. هم واضعو في القلب مشتركة، نماذج من الحب, المخاطر إلى أن تلتئم, للقلب الحكمة, من المفترض أن تكون, و الأم هدية النهائي.
فيما يلي بعض الفرص لجلب المزيد من الحب والنمو إلى حياتك ، في الأحداث التالية بقيادة باري وجويس فيسيل: فبراير 11-16، 2020 - في رحلة شهر العسل، Aptos (للأزواج)؛ يونيو 7-14 ، 2020 - تقاسم القلب ألاسكا كروز، المغادرة من سياتل (للأفراد والأزواج) ؛ و يوليو 19-24 ، 2020 - المشتركة قلب الصيف تراجع في Breitenbush الينابيع الساخنة ، أو (للأفراد والأزواج والعائلات). لمزيد من المعلومات حول جلسات المشورة عن طريق الهاتف أو شخصيا ، كتبهمأو التسجيلات أو الجدول الزمني للمحادثات وورش العمل. زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم في SharedHeart.org.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Accepting Ourselves Completely, Inner Monster and All

Accepting Ourselves Completely, Inner Monster and All
Image by mohamed Hassan

(Excerpt from our book, Heartfullness: 52 Ways to Open to More Love, chosen also to honor our beloved mentor, Ram Dass, who passed on Dec 22, 2019.)

We all have parts of ourselves that we prefer to remain hidden. We are all ashamed of certain things we have done or were done to us, or even feelings or thoughts we have had. We imagine that if people knew these things about us, they would not like us. We would be rejected, abandoned, judged or criticized.

We think we are safe by keeping this shame hidden, but we are far from safe. Shame kept hidden keeps us from our freedom and happiness. The parts of ourselves that we try to hide are the parts that have the most power over us, because they control us from our subconscious. Trying to bury our past is thus really rejecting, abandoning, judging and criticizing part of ourselves.

Vulnerably Sharing Our Shame

On the contrary, when we vulnerably share our shame with another in a safe setting, and this is what Joyce and I strive to create in our workshops and counseling sessions, we actually become more loveable. Our vulnerability in a safe setting opens people's hearts to us. This is a basic premise for much of our work. And going further, seeing and feeling other's acceptance of us helps us to accept ourselves more deeply. This is a path toward freedom.

In 1977, Ram Dass, whose books and lectures had helped awaken us to the path of consciousness since 1970, came to live in our community of Santa Cruz while he worked on one of his books. For about two years, Joyce and I, along with a few others, had the wonderful opportunity to be individually counseled by this gifted teacher. He told us it was important for him to be in direct service to others instead of just locking himself away writing.

It is extremely humbling to admit our spiritual arrogance when we first visited Ram Dass after he moved to town. At that time, Joyce and I dressed all in white and wore sacred mala beads for our intensive meditation practice. We didn't go to see Ram Dass for help. We didn't feel we needed help. Instead, we went to see Ram Dass to help him.

Ram Dass: Be Real Now

We sat at a picnic table in his back yard while he sat opposite us loudly munching on a green apple and gazing at us with those piercing crystal blue eyes. After about a half hour of putting up with our shenanigans, he interrupted our (well, mostly my) eloquent proselytizing, and announced, "You guys have just given me a headache. You really need help. I'll agree to see you each individually while I'm working on this new book. Your energy together is too much for me to take. You're both, mostly you Barry, 'phoney holy'."


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


So much for our helping Ram Dass. We left that day humbled to our roots, and then began what became a two-year intensive training that pulled the proverbial rug out from under us, spilling all our righteous beliefs about ourselves, and helping us integrate true spirituality.

Inner Monsters, Anger, and Cruelty

One of my visits happened to coincide with Halloween, which triggered some old memories from my childhood. I told Ram Dass about my childhood obsession with monsters. I had watched every monster movie that came out, read monster stories, and played monster games at night, delighting in scaring my friends with my various expert monster sounds.

One night, while my parents were next door at the Cooper's house, they heard a loud roar and scream coming from outside. Upset, the Coopers asked what had happened. My mom casually remarked, "Oh, that's just Barry playing his monster games."

Yes, part of all this was perhaps innocent. But there was another part that was shameful to me, and that I hid and didn't tell anyone but Joyce. It was my cruelty, the ways I took out my anger that hurt others, that was particularly shameful.

Ram Dass listened compassionately as I bared my soul to him. Then he asked me to close my eyes and feel this shameful part of myself as deeply as I could. While I did so, he secretly reached down beside his chair into a bag and quietly pulled out a mask that he planned to wear that evening for Halloween. By "coincidence" it just happened to be a full-head, very realistic, hideous-looking monster mask. He slipped it on and then asked me to open my eyes.

I was in a very vulnerable state when I opened my eyes and, unlike a traditional therapist, Ram Dass was sitting with his face perhaps two feet from mine. The scene was surreal. There was this grotesque life-like face immediately in front of me, my complete projection of the cruel monster inside of me, scary beyond belief. In my vulnerable trance state, I was sitting in front of a real monster.

Accepting the Inner Monster with Compassion and Love

And then I noticed the eyes through the mask. There was no cruelty there, only compassion and love pouring out to me. The combination was so incongruous that I felt an acceptance of the monster part of me, and especially the pain and anger that was behind it.

Then I started laughing. Ram Dass looked strangely cute with the mask but, more importantly, I felt the cuteness of my own inner monster persona. Not that my cruelty was cute, but that I was cute, and thus could more deeply forgive myself for the actions that hurt others.

This is the heart of self-acceptance. Behind our shame is our pain, and behind the pain is the precious, innocent child that deserves love. When we touch upon this precious child inside ourselves, we more easily accept the shameful parts. And this brings freedom ... and peace.

Book by this Author

Heartfullness: 52 Ways to Open to More Love
by Joyce and Barry Vissell.

Heartfullness: 52 Ways to Open to More Love by Joyce and Barry Vissell.Heartfulness means so much more than sentimentality or schmaltz. The heart chakra in yoga is the spiritual center of the body, with three chakras above and three below. It is the balance point between lower body and higher body, or between body and spirit. To dwell in your heart is therefore to be in balance, to integrate the lower three chakras with the higher three.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

Also available as a Kindle edition.

More books by these authors

About the Author(s)

Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors near Santa Cruz, CA. They are widely regarded as among the world's top experts on conscious relationship and personal growth. They are the authors of The Shared Heart, Models of Love, Risk To Be Healed, The Heart’s Wisdom, Meant To Be, and A Mother’s Final Gift.
Here are a few opportunities to bring more love and growth into your life, at the following events led by Barry and Joyce Vissell: Feb 11-16, 2020 The Couples Journey, Aptos (for couples); Jun 7-14, 2020 Shared Heart Alaska Cruise, leaving from Seattle (for singles and couples); and Jul 19-24, 2020 Shared Heart Summer Retreat at Breitenbush Hot Springs, OR (for singles, couples and families). For further information on counseling sessions by phone or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops. Visit their web site at SharedHeart.org.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}