هناك العديد من الأبطال غير المرغوب فيهم بيننا

هناك العديد من الأبطال غير المرغوب فيهم بيننا

في 1960 ، كنت في الرابعة عشرة من عمري وكانت والدتي أول ناشطة في مجال الحقوق المدنية كنت أعرفها. هي لم تسير في الشوارع. عاشت معتقداتها. كان لديها السود والمسلمين والمثليين والأقليات الأخرى إلى منزلنا لتناول العشاء كل يوم أحد تقريبا. وعاملتهم جميعًا باحترام وتكريم كبيرين كما لو كانوا جزءًا من عائلتها. كما تحدثت بصوت عالٍ إذا قال أي شخص شيئًا ضد إحدى هذه الأقليات.

غالباً ما كانت تدربني ، "جويس ، تذكر أن كل شخص هو طفل الله. لا يهم ما لون بشرتهم أو دينهم. إلهنا يحبهم جميعًا ". إن حب الإنسانية وحقوق الإنسان هذا أمر مرت به أمي ، وهي واحدة من الهدايا العديدة التي تلقيتها هي ابنتها. بهذه الطريقة ، كانت واحدة من أبطالي.

كانوا جيرانا؟

خلال هذه السنة نفسها ، كانت هناك أزمة لأحد أعمامي. عاش هو وأسرته بالقرب منا في بوفالو ، نيويورك ، في حي هادئ وهادئ من الطبقة الوسطى. علم أن عائلة سوداء ستنقل إلى الحي ، حوالي عشرة منازل من منزله.

كان عمي غاضبًا ، واشتكى بمرارة لأي شخص يستمع. كان يشعر أنه سيدمر حيه ويجعله غير آمن لأطفاله ، كما أنه يقلل من قيمة منزله. قضى وقتًا ووقتًا كبيرين في زيارة كل جارة واحدة وشرح النتيجة الرهيبة التي ستحدث إذا تحركت هذه العائلة. جمع التوقيعات ، وإذا لم يرغب أحد الجيران في توقيع عريضته ، فقد عاد مرارًا وتكرارًا إلى ذلك البيت إلى أن وقعوا .

بعد الكثير من الوقت والجهد ، كان على استعداد للذهاب إلى منزل هذه العائلة السوداء ومنحهم العريضة. كان يرتدي بدلة وربطة عنق ، وتسلق صفحات التوقيعات ، وذهب إلى المنزل ورن الجرس. أجاب رجل أسود كبير جدا وبني بقوة على الباب. خفي عمي بسرعة الالتماس وراء ظهره وأمسك يده للترحيب بالرجل. كما ترى ، كان هذا الرجل بطل عمّي في فريق كرة القدم بوفالو بيلز.

من "كسلان الهيبيين" إلى بطل اليوم

منذ عدة سنوات في معتكف زوجنا في هاواي ، كان هناك رجل ، سأدعوه جو ، الذي بدا بازدراء على السكان المحليين الذين عاشوا في المنطقة. كان جو المدير التنفيذي لشركة كبيرة في البر الرئيسي ، وصف نفسه في كثير من الأحيان بأنه "رجل مهم جدا" ، وشعر بأن هؤلاء "الهيبيين" كانوا كسالى وعديم القيمة. كان لدى العديد من هؤلاء السكان المحليين شعر طويل جامح وملابس ملونة ، وعادة ما كانوا يتجمعون في الطبول والرقص والقفص أو غزل النار. تحدث جو كثيرًا عن مدى كرههم ، على الرغم من أنه لم يرهم من قبل ، ولم يكن لديه أي فكرة عما فعلوه عندما لم يكونوا على الشاطئ.

يوم واحد ذهب جو إلى الشاطئ وحده دون أي من مجموعتنا معه. هناك درب شديد الانحدار الذي يجب تسلقه للوصول إلى الشاطئ. ليس بالضرورة خطرا ، ولكن يجب على المرء أن يكون حذرا. عندما حان الوقت لجو لمغادرة الشاطئ ، بدأ تسلق الدرب لكنه انزلق وسقط ، مما أدى إلى خلع ركبته. جو يكمن في وجود عاجز وألم هائل.

في وقت قريب جداً ، اكتشف أحد هؤلاء "المحليين الطيبين مقابل لا شيء" وجوده مستلقياً في الألم وركض للمساعدة. عندما اكتشف هذا الشاب ذو الشعر الطويل مدى إصابة جو ، ركض للحصول على أصدقائه وقام الرجال معاً بحمله على طول الطريق إلى قمة المنحدر ، وهي رحلة خاصة تحمل شخصًا يعاني من الألم. وضعوا جو في سيارة وأخرجوه إلى مركز التراجع ، وساعدوه في فراشه ، ثم أخطر مركز التراجع بأنه أصيب.

لحسن الحظ ، كان أحد أعضاء مجموعتنا طبيبًا في غرفة الطوارئ وسحب ركبة (جو) إلى موضعها مرة أخرى. لقد كان جو متواضعًا بشدة ، وقال لمجموعة كاملة: "لقد كنت مخطئًا جدًا في الحكم على هؤلاء السكان المحليين بسبب خياراتهم المتعلقة بالشعر ونمط حياتهم. عندما احتاجت بالفعل إلى أبطال ، دخلوا وساعدوني ".

نحن جميع أطفال الله الثمين

عندما كانت والدتي في السابعة والثمانين من عمرها ، قبل موتها بثلاث سنوات ، عاشت في شقة صغيرة فوق مرأبنا. كانت تؤمن بالتمرين ، وفي كل يوم عندما لم تمطر ، كانت تقود سيارتها الصغيرة إلى الشاطئ ومشيت على الرصيف.

في ذلك الوقت في شاطئ ريو ديل مار ، كانت هناك مجموعة من الرجال المشردين الذين كانوا يجلسون على الجدار عند مدخل الشاطئ. جلس هؤلاء الرجال هناك طوال اليوم وتحدثوا معاً. علمت والدتي أسمائهم وكل يوم سيتوقف ويتحدث معهم. سرعان ما سألوها إذا كانت تود الجلوس على الحائط معهم ، وقبلت بسرور ، جالسة معهم لمدة نصف ساعة كل يوم. لقد أحببتهم كثيراً واستمتعوا حقًا بشركتهم.

بعد بضعة أشهر ، سألوها إذا كانت تود أن تكون عضوًا رسميًا في نادي "سيترز ستريت". قبلت والدتي وكان من دواعي الشرف أن يتم إشراكها في محادثاتهم.

في أحد الأيام سار بعض السيدات من كنيستها بينما كانت أمي تضحك مع الرجال. صدمت السيدات لرؤية والدتي هناك ، وعلى الرغم من أنها أرادت أن تعرّفهن ، هرعت السيدات منهن.

في وقت لاحق من ذلك اليوم ، تلقت والدتي مكالمة من إحدى هؤلاء السيدات قالت: "لويز ، يجب أن تكون حذراً ويجب ألا تجلس على الحائط مع هؤلاء الرجال. إنهم بلا مأوى ويمكن أن يسببوا لك خطرًا. ”أجابت أمي:“ أنا واثق من أن الله يحبهم بقدر ما يحبك أنت وأنا. لقد أعطاني هؤلاء الرجال موهبة صداقتهم وأعطوها مرة أخرى ".

هناك احتمال لبطل وصديق داخل كل شخص نلتقي به ، بغض النظر عن لون بشرتهم أو دينهم أو توجههم الجنسي أو كونهم أقلية. نحن جميعًا أبناء الله الأثمن.

* ترجمات من InnerSelf

الكتاب من قبل جويس وباري فيسيل:

كتاب من تأليف الكتاب جويس وباري Vissell: الحكمة القلبالقلب الحكمة: دليل عملي للزراعة من خلال الحب
جويس Vissell وVissell باري.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هؤلاء المؤلفين

عن المؤلفين)

جويس وVissell باريجويس وباري Vissell، وهما زوجان ممرضة / المعالج والطبيب النفسي منذ 1964، والمستشارين قرب سانتا كروز، كاليفورنيا. وينظر على نطاق واسع على أنها من بين الخبراء في العالم على علاقة واعية ونمو الشخصية. هم واضعو في القلب مشتركة، نماذج من الحب, المخاطر إلى أن تلتئم, للقلب الحكمة, من المفترض أن تكون, و الأم هدية النهائي.
فيما يلي بعض الفرص لجلب المزيد من الحب والنمو إلى حياتك ، في الأحداث التالية بقيادة باري وجويس فيسيل: يوليو 21-26 ، 2019 - المشتركة قلب الصيف تراجع في Breitenbush الينابيع الساخنة ، OR ؛ سبتمبر 24-30 ، 2019 - أسيسي تراجعايطاليا و يونيو 7-14 ، 2020 - تقاسم القلب ألاسكا كروز لمزيد من المعلومات عن جلسات المشورة عن طريق الهاتف أو شخصيا، كتبهمأو التسجيلات أو الجدول الزمني للمحادثات وورش العمل. زيارة موقع الويب الخاص بهم في SharedHeart.org.

كتابان حديثان (2018) من Vissells:

لحقا أحب امرأة
باري وجويس فيسيل.

حقا أحب امرأة بقلم جويس فيسيل وباري فيسيل.كيف تحتاج المرأة حقا أن تكون محبوبا؟ كيف يمكن أن يساعد شريكها في إظهار شغفها العميق ، وشغفها ، وإبداعها ، وأحلامها ، وفرحتها ، وفي الوقت نفسه السماح لها بالشعور بالأمان والقبول والتقدير؟ يقدم هذا الكتاب أدوات للقراء لتكريم شركائهم بشكل أكثر عمقًا. على الرغم من أن هذه الكتابات تشير في الغالب إلى النساء والرجال من جنسين مختلفين ، هناك ثروة من المعلومات ل LGBTQ. إن تركيزنا ، بعد كل شيء ، هو كيف نحب بعمق شخصًا آخر ، سواء كان رجلاً أو امرأة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

إلى الحب حقا رجل
جويس وVissell باري.

حقا أحب رجل من جويس وباري فيسيل.كيف يحتاج الرجل حقا ليكون محبوبا؟ كيف يمكن أن يساعد شريكه على إظهار حساسيته ، وعواطفه ، وقوته ، ونارته ، وفي الوقت نفسه السماح له بالشعور بالاحترام والأمان والاعتراف؟ يقدم هذا الكتاب أدوات للقراء لتكريم شركائهم بشكل أكثر عمقًا. على الرغم من أن هذه الكتابات تشير في الغالب إلى النساء والرجال من جنسين مختلفين ، هناك ثروة من المعلومات ل LGBTQ. إن تركيزنا ، بعد كل شيء ، هو كيف نحب بعمق شخصًا آخر ، سواء كان رجلاً أو امرأة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

الاستماع إلى حديث اذاعي مع جويس وباري Vissell على "العلاقة كما مسار اليقظة".

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

There Are Many Unsuspected Heroes Among Us

There Are Many Unsuspected Heroes Among Us

In 1960, I was fourteen years old and my mother was the first civil rights activist that I knew. She did not march the streets. She lived her beliefs. She had Blacks, Muslims, Gays and other minorities over to our house for dinner almost every Sunday. She treated them all with the greatest respect and honor like they were part of her family. She also spoke up loudly if anyone said anything against one of these minorities.

She often coached me, “Joyce, remember every person is a child of God. It does not matter what color their skin or their religion. Our God loves them all the same.” This love of humanity and human rights is something that my mother has passed on to me, one of the many gifts I have received being her daughter. In this way, she was one of my heroes.

There Goes the Neighborhood?

During this same year, there was a crisis for one of my uncles. He and his family lived close to us in Buffalo, New York, in a quiet simple middle class neighborhood. He learned that a black family was going to move into the neighborhood, about ten houses down from his house.

My uncle was livid, and complained bitterly to anyone who would listen. He felt it would ruin his neighborhood and make it unsafe for his children, as well as bring down the value of his home. He spent great time and effort visiting every single neighbor and explaining the terrible result that would happen if this family moved in. He gathered signatures, and if a neighbor did not want to sign his petition he repeatedly went back to that house until they did sign.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


After much time and effort, he was ready to go the house of this black family and give them the petition. He got dressed in a suit and tie and, armed with pages of signatures, went to the house and rang the bell. A very large, powerfully-built black man answered the door. My uncle quickly hid the petition behind his back and held out his hand to welcome the man. You see, this man was my uncle’s hero on the Buffalo Bills’ Football team.

From "Lazy Hippies" to Hero of the Day

Several years ago at our Hawaii couple’s retreat, there was a man, who I will call Joe, who looked with disdain at the local people who lived in the area. Joe was a CEO of a large company on the mainland, described himself often as “a very important man,” and felt that these “hippies” were lazy and worthless. Many of these locals had long unruly hair, colorful clothing, and were typically gathered at the beach drumming, dancing, juggling, or fire spinning. Joe spoke often about how much he disliked them, even though he hardly ever saw them and had no idea what they did when they were not at the beach.

One day Joe went to the beach alone without any of our group with him. There is a steep trail that must be climbed down to get to the beach. It is not necessarily dangerous, but one must be careful. When it was time for Joe to leave the beach, he started climbing the trail but slipped and fell, dislocating his knee. Joe lay there helpless and in enormous pain.

Very soon, one of these “good-for-nothing locals” spotted him lying there in pain and ran to help. When this long-haired young man discovered the extent of Joe’s injury, he ran to get his friends and together the men carried him all the way to the top of the cliff, which is quite a journey especially carrying someone in pain. They put Joe in a car and drove him all the way back to the retreat center, helped him into his bed and then notified the retreat center that he was hurt.

Fortunately one of our group members was an emergency room physician and he pulled Joe’s knee back into position again. Joe was deeply humbled and to our whole group he stated, “I have been so wrong in judging these locals just because of their hair and lifestyle choices. When I really needed heroes, they stepped in and helped me.”

We Are All God’s Precious Children

When my mother was eighty-seven, three years before she died, she lived in a little apartment above our garage. She believed in exercise, and each day when it was not raining, she drove her little car to the beach and walked along the sidewalk.

At that time at Rio del Mar beach, there were a group of homeless men who would sit on the wall at the entrance to the beach. These men sat there all day and talked together. My mother learned their names and each day would stop and talk with them. Soon they asked her if she would like to sit on the wall with them and she gladly accepted, sitting with them for maybe a half hour each day. She liked them very much and truly enjoyed their company.

After a few months, they asked her if she would like to be an official member of the “Wall Sitters’ Club.” My mother accepted and felt it was an honor to be included in their conversations.

One day some ladies from her church walked by as my mother was laughing with the men. The ladies were shocked to see my mother there, and even though she wanted to introduce them, the ladies rushed on by.

Later that day my mother received a call from one of these ladies who said, “Louise, you must be careful and you should not sit on the wall with those men. They are homeless and could cause danger to you.” My mother replied, “I trust that God loves them just as much as He loves you and me. Those men have given me the gift of their friendship and I am giving it back.”

There is the potential for a hero and a friend within each person we meet, regardless of the color of their skin, their religion, their sexual orientation or the fact that they are a minority. We are all God’s precious children.

* Subtitles by InnerSelf

Book by Joyce & Barry Vissell:

Book written by the authors Joyce and Barry Vissell: The Heart's WisdomThe Heart's Wisdom: A Practical Guide to Growing Through Love
by Joyce Vissell and Barry Vissell.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

More books by these authors

About the Author(s)

Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors near Santa Cruz, CA. They are widely regarded as among the world's top experts on conscious relationship and personal growth. They are the authors of The Shared Heart, Models of Love, Risk To Be Healed, The Heart’s Wisdom, Meant To Be, and A Mother’s Final Gift.
Here are a few opportunities to bring more love and growth into your life, at the following events led by Barry and Joyce Vissell: Jul 21-26, 2019 Shared Heart Summer Retreat at Breitenbush Hot Springs, OR; Sep 24-30, 2019 — Assisi Retreat, Italy; and Jun 7-14, 2020 Shared Heart Alaska Cruise  For further information on counseling sessions by phone or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops. Visit their web site at SharedHeart.org.

Two Recent Books (2018) by the Vissells:

To Really Love a Woman
by Barry and Joyce Vissell.

To Really Love a Woman by Joyce Vissell and Barry Vissell.How does a woman really need to be loved? How can her partner help to bring out her deepest passion, her sensuality, her creativity, her dreams, her joy, and at the same time allow her to feel safe, accepted and appreciated? This book gives tools to the readers to more deeply honor their partners. Although these writings refer mostly to heterosexual women and men, there is a wealth of information for LGBTQ. Our focus, after all, is how to deeply love another person, whether it be a man or a woman.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

To Really Love a Man
by Joyce and Barry Vissell.

To Really Love a Man by Joyce and Barry Vissell.How does a man really need to be loved? How can his partner help to bring out his sensitivity, his emotions, his strength, his fire, and at the same time allow him to feel respected, secure, and acknowledged? This book gives tools to the readers to more deeply honor their partners. Although these writings refer mostly to heterosexual women and men, there is a wealth of information for LGBTQ. Our focus, after all, is how to deeply love another person, whether it be a man or a woman.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book

Listen to a radio interview with Joyce and Barry Vissell on "Relationship as Conscious Path".
 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}