كيفية السيطرة على القلق وتطوير الموارد الداخلية

كيفية السيطرة على القلق وتطوير الموارد الداخليةالصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان من عند Pixabay

أرسل عميل خوف سابق عبر البريد الإلكتروني ما يلي:

ما علمته لي فعل العجائب. ليس لدي أي ذعر على الإطلاق. لقد نجحت بشكل جيد لدرجة أنني أتساءل عما إذا كان يمكن أن يساعدني في وظيفتي الجديدة. لأول مرة أنا مشرف. عندما يسأل أحدهم سؤالًا ولا أعرف الإجابة ، أشعر بالقلق الشديد. أشعر أنني في أكثر من رأسي. يقول رئيسي إنني أقوم بعمل جيد. لكنني أشعر بنفس الشيء عندما أتحدث إليه. لقد فكرت في الإقلاع عن التدخين. لكنني انتقلت هنا لأتولى هذا المنصب ، ولا أستطيع التعامل مع العودة إلى الوراء.

حتى الآن ركز هذا الكتاب على الذعر. الآن دعنا ننظر إلى القلق. ما هي بعض الاختلافات بين الذعر والقلق؟ في حالة من الذعر ، يعتقد الشخص أن حياته مهددة وأن الهروب من التهديد أمر مستحيل. مع القلق ، التهديد لا يهدد الحياة. الهروب ممكن ، ولكن له عيوب: قد ينطوي على حل وسط أو نوع من التكلفة أو الخسارة. لحسن الحظ ، يمكننا تطبيق نفس الأساليب التي نستخدمها لإنهاء الذعر لإنهاء القلق.

التنظيم الذاتي الرغبة في الهروب

عند الضغط على التفاعلات وجهاً لوجه ، شعر عميلي بالحاجة إلى الهروب. لو كان في وضع تم فيه منع الهروب ، لكان قد تعرض لذعر. نظرًا لأن الهروب كان ممكنًا في هذه الحالة ، فلم يشعر بالذعر ، لكنه كان حريصًا على فقد السيطرة ، والرغبة في الفرار ستهزمه ، وقال إنه سيهزم ويهرب. إذا فعل ذلك ، فسوف يتم فصله ، وسوف يتضرر تقديره لذاته.

في وظيفته السابقة ، عمل موكلي مع آخرين في نفس المستوى. وكثيرا ما تبادلوا الإشارات التي أبقت الأمور هادئة. في وظيفته الجديدة ، لم يتلق أي إشارات تهدئة من الموظفين الذين يشرف عليهم. عندما كان في السيطرة ، كان هادئا. لكن عندما لم يستطع الإجابة على سؤال على الفور ، شعر أنه لا يتحكم في الموقف. كما قال ، "أشعر أنني في أعلى رأسي". بدأت هرمونات الإجهاد والرغبة في الهروب مهددًا بتغلبه.

كيف يمكننا أن نجعله مرتاحًا في العمل؟ لإقامة أساس للتعاون ، أخبرته عن النظام المسؤول عن تنظيم الإثارة وشرحت له كيف يمكنه الآن تثبيت آليات التوهين المنبه التي لم يطورها في مرحلة الطفولة.

لدينا نظام الإثارة المنظم يسمى الجهاز العصبي اللاإرادي. تلقائي: هي بادئة يونانية تعني "الذات". االقتصادي يعني "الإدارة" أو "السيطرة". وهكذا يشير الاسم إلى نظام التنظيم الذاتي ، وهو جزء من نظامنا العصبي الذي يعمل تلقائيا خارج سيطرتنا واعية. يتكون الجهاز العصبي اللاإرادي من جزأين ، أحدهما يرفعنا ، والآخر يهدئنا.

يحدث الذعر فقط عندما لا يعمل التنظيم التلقائي للإثارة. عندما تبدأ في تجربة الذعر ، قد تحاول التحكم في رد فعلك بوعي. لكن هذا قد لا يعمل ، لسببين. أولاً ، تنهار قدرتك على التفكير الواعي ، الموجود في القشرة ، عندما تتراكم هرمونات التوتر. ثانياً ، قد لا يعمل التفكير الواعي على تنشيط الجهاز العصبي السمبتاوي. يكمن الحل الذي يدعو إلى الذعر في تدريب ذاكرتك الإجرائية غير الواعية ، الموجودة في القشرة الفرعية ، لتهدئتك تلقائيًا.

ربط إشارات التهدئة

كان التعامل مع هذا الموقف بسيطًا. كل ما نحتاج إلى فعله هو أن نبني وجودًا نشطًا نفسيًا يمكن أن ينشط جهازه العصبي اللاودي عندما كان وجهاً لوجه مع أشخاص لم يقدموا إشارات مهدئة. للقيام بذلك ، كنا بحاجة إلى العثور على شخص في حياته هدأ وجوده. سرعان ما تعرف على شخص ما ، صديق بسيط وغير حكم. سألته إذا كان يشعر أن حارسه يخذل عندما يكون مع هذا الصديق ، وهذا مؤشر على الحد الأقصى لتفعيل الجهاز العصبي السمبتاوي. قال لقد فعل. هذا جعلها الشخص المثالي للربط بين التحديات التي يواجهها في العمل.

بدأنا معًا في البحث عن طرق لربط الإشارات المهدئة لوجهها وصوتها ولمساتها في مواقف عمله. طلبت منه أن يتذكر أن يكون معها. طلبت منه أن يتخيل أنها كانت تحمل صورة لأحد موظفيه بجانب وجهها. في غضون ثوانٍ قليلة ، تم إنشاء رابط بين وجه صديقه المهدئ والوجه غير المهدئ للموظف. هذا الرابط تحييد وجه الموظف كتهديد. ثم طلبت منه أن يتخيل التحدث مع صديقه عن الصورة (لربط جودة صوتها المهدئة بالموقف الصعب). ثم أثناء الحديث ، طلبت منه أن يتخيلها وهو يمنحه لمسة مطمئنة.

لمزيد من الحماية ، قمنا بربط وجهها وصوتها ولمسها برسوم كاريكاتورية لـ Homer Simpson وهي غير قادرة على الإجابة على سؤال الموظف. بعد ذلك ، قمنا بربط صفات الصديق مع صورة هوميروس تقلق بشأن وجوده في رأسه في وظيفة جديدة.

بعد ذلك ، التفتنا إلى رئيسه. لقد ربطنا وجه الصديق وصوته ووجهه مع وجه الرئيس. نظرًا لأن عميلي كان غالبًا خائفًا مما سيقوله رئيسه ، فقد اتخذنا خطوة إلى الأمام. بدلاً من تخيلها وهي تحمل صورة تتحدث رئيسه ، طلبت منه أن يتخيل أنها كانت تحمل هاتفًا خلويًا يشغل فيديو يتحدث فيه رئيسه.

عميل آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني لي على النحو التالي:

أحتاج إلى مساعدة في القلق الاجتماعي والتحدث في مجموعات / عامة. أنا استخدم التقنيات للسيطرة على القلق عند الطيران. آمل أن التقنيات ستعمل لأشكال أخرى من القلق كذلك.

الحاجة للسيطرة

كما رأينا ، عندما نفتقر إلى التوهين التلقائي للإنذار ، نحاول السيطرة على الأشياء حتى لا يحدث لنا أي شيء مزعج. على الرغم من أنه غالباً ما ينتج عن عدم وجود رعاية متناغمة في مرحلة الطفولة ، إلا أن الحاجة إلى السيطرة يمكن أن تكون ميزة في وظائف مثل الأعمال التجارية أو القانون. كان هذا هو الحال مع موكلي ، الذي عمل لبضع سنوات كمحاسب. لكونه مشرق للغاية ، سرعان ما تعلم طريقة عمل الشركات التي قدم لها الخدمات ، وسرعان ما أسس شركة خاصة به.

لأنه كان جيدا في السيطرة على الأشياء ، ازدهرت أعماله. قام بتعيين المزيد والمزيد من الموظفين ، وكان بعضهم من كبار السن من رجال الأعمال ذوي الخبرة العالية. على الرغم من أنهم كانوا من موظفيه ، إلا أن خجله جعل التفاعل معهم صعباً. لم يوضح ذلك في رسالته الإلكترونية ، ولكن عند التفاوض على عقد ، لم يتمكن من الحفاظ على اتصال العين إلا عندما شعر أنه في وضع مهيمن. عندما أقل ثقة من نفسه ، وضعه فك الارتباط البصري في موقف تفاوضي أضعف.

ومثل موكلي الأول ، كان غير مرتاح في بيئة عمل لأن الإشارات التي تلقاها من الأشخاص الذين تفاعل معهم في هذا الدور لم تهدئه. بالنظر إلى كيف كان يشعر بالراحة ، وجدت أنه يمتلك موارد داخلية يمكنها تهدئته. كانت المشكلة أن هذه الموارد لم تكن نشطة عندما كان يعمل. لتقليل قلقه في مواقف العمل ، قمنا بربط موارده الداخلية ببيئة الأعمال والتحديات المختلفة المرتبطة بها.

هل يمكن أن نمنع الإفراج عن هرمون التوتر عندما كان يتحدث في الأماكن العامة؟ بالطبع بكل تأكيد. كان لديه كلب. كما نعلم ، نطلق الأوكسيتوسين عندما نتفاعل مع الكلاب. استعدادًا للتحدث أمام الجمهور ، طلبت منه الذهاب إلى الغرفة في وقت مبكر وعرض صورة ذهنية لكلبه ينظر إليه على أسطح مختلفة من الغرفة. أردت منه أن يقوم بتضمين وجه كلبه اليقظ في تلك الأسطح ، حتى أنه عندما ينظر إلى الطبيعة بشكل طبيعي في جميع أنحاء الغرفة أثناء تقديم عرضه التقديمي ، فإن الصور المضمنة لكلبه ستحفز إطلاق الأوكسيتوسين.

إذا بدأ يشعر بالقلق ، فإنه يحتاج فقط إلى تذكير شخص قام بتنشيط نظامه العصبي الودي غير المعبدي وعرض صورة لوجه ذلك الشخص على تلك الأسطح نفسها وبعض العناصر التي يمكن رؤيتها أثناء حديثه.

من أجل حماية إضافية ضد التخويف أثناء المفاوضات ، قمنا بربط مقطع فيديو وهاتف خلوي للشخص الذي سيجتمع به موكلي مع وجه وصوت ولمس الشخص الذي حفز نظامه العصبي الودي.

سأل أيضًا عن تنظيم القلق في المواقف التي لم يستطع الاستعداد لها مقدمًا ، لذلك عملنا على إنشاء توهين تلقائي للإنذار. في الأيام القليلة المقبلة ، وبدلاً من محاولة تجنب الوعي بالقلق ، بحث عن ذلك حتى يتمكن من ملاحظة ذلك عند أدنى حد ممكن. ثم تخيل على الفور أن الشخص المهدئ قد دخل للتو الغرفة. لقد تصور الشخص الذي يحييه ، ويأتي إليه ، ويعطيه لمسة ودية أو حنونّة.

تطوير الموارد الداخلية

يمكن أيضًا استخدام التقنيات الموجودة في هذا الكتاب لإدارة المخاوف الناشئة عن العلاقات الشخصية. رغم أن العلاقات تكون مرهقة في بعض الأحيان ، إلا أن البشر ما زالوا بحاجة إليها لا يمكننا دائمًا الاعتماد على شريك رومانسي أو زوج أو صديق أو أحد أفراد الأسرة لتهدئتنا ؛ في الواقع ، في بعض الأحيان تلك العلاقات هي مصادر إجهاد إضافي. الإجابة الواضحة للعلاقات الأفضل هي تطوير الموارد الداخلية التي ستنشط نظامنا العصبي اللاودي عند الحاجة.

بطريقة أو بأخرى ، يعتمد التوهين المنبه على الآخرين. والسؤال الوحيد هو ما إذا كان الشخص المهدئ بجوارنا جسديًا أم داخلنا نفسيًا.

ابحث في ذاكرتك للحظة التي تسبب فيها وجود شخص آخر في تباطؤ الحارس. إذا كنت لا تتذكر هذه اللحظة ، فاتصل إلى ذهنك شخص تشعر بالراحة معه. قم بربط وجه ذلك الشخص وصوته ولمسه بكل تحدٍ علائقي في حياتك.

© 2019 بواسطة توم بون. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جديد المكتبة العالمية. http://www.newworldlibrary.com

المادة المصدر

ذعر مجاني: برنامج 10-Day لإنهاء حالة من الذعر والقلق والكره
بواسطة توم بون

Panic Free: برنامج 10-Day لإنهاء حالة من الذعر والقلق والكره التي كتبها توم بونماذا لو كنت تستطيع التوقف عن الذعر عن طريق النقر على جزء مختلف من عقلك؟ بعد سنوات من العمل لمساعدة الذين يعانون من الهلع والقلق ، اكتشف توم بون المعالج المرخص (والطيار) حلاً فعالًا للغاية يستخدم جزءًا من الدماغ لا يتأثر بهرمونات التوتر التي تقصف شخصًا يعاني من الذعر. يتضمن المؤلف تعليمات محددة للتعامل مع مسببات الذعر الشائعة ، مثل السفر بالطائرة والجسور والرنين المغناطيسي والأنفاق. نظرًا لأن الذعر يحد من الحياة بشكل عميق ، فإن البرنامج الذي يقدمه Tom Bunn يمكن أن يكون بمثابة تغيير حقيقي للحياة. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle و Audiobook.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

عن المؤلف

الكابتن توم بون ، MSW ، LCSWالكابتن توم بون ، MSW ، LCSW ، هي مؤسسة رائدة في مجال اضطرابات الهلع ، مؤسس شركة SOAR Inc. ، التي تقدم علاجًا لمرضى الهلع أثناء الطيران ، ومؤلف كتاب حذر: علاج اختراق الخوف من الطيران. تعرف على المزيد حول عمل المؤلف توم بون في كتابه الموقع،
http://www.panicfree.net/

فيديو مع الكابتن توم بون: التغلب على الخوف من الطيران

كتب ذات صلة

المزيد من الكتب حول هذا الموضوع

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0762788003. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = التحكم في القلق ؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How To Control Anxiety and Develop Inner Resources

How To Control Anxiety and Develop Inner ResourcesImage by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

A former fear-of-flying client emailed the following:

What you taught me did wonders. I have no panic at all. It worked so well that I’m wondering if it can help me with my new job. For the first time I’m a supervisor. When someone asks a question and I don’t know the an­swer, I get extremely anxious. I feel like I’m in over my head. My boss says I’m doing a good job. But, I feel the same when I’m talking to him. I’ve thought about quit­ting. But, I moved here to take this job, and I can’t handle moving back.

So far this book has focused on panic. Now let’s look at anxiety. What are some of the differences between panic and anxiety? In panic, a person believes their life is threatened and that escape from the threat is impossible. With anxiety, the threat is not life-threatening. Escape is possible, but it has drawbacks: it may involve compromise or some kind of cost or loss. Fortunately, we can apply the same techniques we use for ending panic to ending anxiety.

Self-Regulating The Urge to Escape

When stressed by face-to-face interactions, my client felt an urge to escape. If he had been in a situation where escape was blocked, he would have experienced panic. Since escape was possible in this situation, he did not panic, but he was anxious that he would lose control, the urge to flee would overwhelm him, and he would cut and run. If he did, he would be fired, and his self-esteem would be damaged.

In his previous job, my client worked with others at the same level. They frequently exchanged signals that kept things calm. In his new job, he received no calming signals from the employees he supervised. When in control, he was calm. But when he could not immediately answer a ques­tion, he felt he was not in control of the situation. As he said, “I feel like I’m in over my head.” Stress hormones kicked in and the urge to escape threatened to overwhelm him.

How could we make him comfortable at work? To es­tablish a basis for collaboration, I told him about the sys­tem responsible for regulating our arousal and explained how he could now install the alarm attenuation mechanisms that he did not develop in childhood.

Our arousal-regulating system is called the autonomic nervous system. Auto is a Greek prefix meaning “self.” Nomic means “management” or “control.” Thus the name refers to a self-regulating system, the part of our nervous system that operates automatically outside our conscious control. The autonomic nervous system has two parts, one that revs us up and another that calms us down.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Panic happens only when automatic regulation of arousal is not working. When you start to experience panic, you may try to control your reaction consciously. But that may not work, for two reasons. First, your capacity for conscious thought, located in the cortex, breaks down when stress hor­mones build up. Second, conscious thought may not activate the parasympathetic nervous system. The solution to panic is to train your unconscious procedural memory, located in the subcortex, to calm you automatically.

Linking to Calming Signals

Dealing with this situation was simple. All we needed to do was build in a psychologically active presence that could activate his parasympathetic nervous system when he was face to face with people who did not provide calming sig­nals. To do that, we needed to find a person in his life whose presence calmed him. He quickly identified someone, an easygoing, nonjudgmental friend. I asked him if he had felt his guard let down when with this friend, an indication of maximum parasympathetic nervous system activation. He said he did. That made her an ideal person to link to his challenges at work.

Together, we started looking for ways to link the calming signals of her face, voice, and touch to his work situations. I asked him to remember being with her. I asked him to imagine that she was holding a photo of one of his employ­ees next to her face. In a few seconds, a link was established between the calming face of his friend and the noncalming face of the employee. This link neutralized the employee’s face as a threat. Then I asked him to imagine talking with his friend about the photo (to link the calming quality of her voice to the challenging situation). Then while talking, I asked him to imagine her giving him a reassuring touch.

For extra protection, we linked her face, voice, and touch to a cartoon of Homer Simpson being unable to answer an employee’s question. We then linked the friend’s qualities to an image of Homer worrying about being in over his head in a new job.

Next, we turned to his boss. We linked the friend’s face, voice, and touch to the boss’s face. Since my client was often afraid of what his boss would say, we took the linking a step further. Instead of imagining her holding a photo of the boss talking, I asked him to imagine she was holding a cell phone playing a video of his boss talking.

Another client emailed me as follows:

I need help with social anxiety and speaking in groups/ public. I use the techniques to control anxiety when fly­ing. My hope is that the techniques will work for other forms of anxiety as well.

The Need To Control

As you have seen, when we lack automatic alarm atten­uation, we try to control things so that nothing alarming happens to us. Although it often results from a lack of at­tuned caregiving in childhood, the need to control can be an advantage in careers such as business or law. This was the case for my client, who worked for a few years as an accoun­tant. Being very bright, he quickly learned the workings of the businesses he provided services for, and soon set up a company of his own.

Because he was good at controlling things, his business prospered. He hired more and more employees, some of whom were older, highly experienced businessmen. Even though they were his employees, his shyness made inter­acting with them difficult. He had not explained this in his email, but when negotiating a contract, he could maintain eye contact only when he felt he was in a dominant position. When less sure of himself, visual disengagement put him into a weaker negotiating position.

Like my first client, he was uncomfortable in a business setting because, in this role, the signals he received from the people he interacted with did not calm him. Looking into how he could feel comfortable, I found that he did have in­ternal resources that could calm him. The problem was that these resources were not active when he did business. To down-regulate his anxiety in business situations, we linked his internal resources to the business environment and to the various challenges associated with it.

Could we prevent stress hormone release when he was speaking in public? Of course. He had a dog. As we know, we release oxytocin when we interact with dogs. In prepa­ration for public speaking, I asked him to go to the room ahead of time and project a mental image of his dog looking at him onto various surfaces of the room. I wanted him to embed his dog’s attentive face into those surfaces, so that as he glanced naturally around the room while giving his pre­sentation, the embedded images of his dog would stimulate the release of oxytocin.

If he began to feel anxious, he only needed to bring to mind a person who activated his parasympathetic nervous system and project an image of that person’s face onto those same surfaces and some items that would be in view as he spoke.

For additional protection against intimidation during negotiations, we linked an imaginary cellphone video of the person my client would be meeting with to the face, voice, and touch of the person who stimulated his parasympa­thetic nervous system.

He asked also about regulating anxiety in situations he could not prepare for in advance, so we worked on estab­lishing automatic alarm attenuation. For the next few days, instead of trying to avoid awareness of anxiety, he looked for it so that he could notice it at the lowest perceptible thresh­old. Then he immediately imagined that the calming per­son had just walked into the room. He visualized the person greeting him, coming over to him, and giving him a friendly or affectionate touch.

Developing Inner Resources

The techniques in this book can also be used to manage anxieties arising from personal relationships. Though rela­tionships are sometimes stressful, humans still need them. We can’t always count on a romantic partner, a spouse, a friend, or a family member to calm us; in fact, sometimes those relationships are sources of additional stress. The ob­vious answer to better relationships is to develop internal resources that will activate our parasympathetic nervous system when needed.

One way or another, alarm attenuation depends on others. The only question is whether the calming person is physically beside us or psychologically inside us.

Search your memory for a moment when the presence of another person caused your guard to let down. If you don’t recall such a moment, call to mind a person you feel genuinely at ease with. Link that person’s face, voice, and touch to each relational challenge in your life.

©2019 by Tom Bunn. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library. http://www.newworldlibrary.com

Article Source

Panic Free: The 10-Day Program to End Panic, Anxiety, and Claustrophobia
by Tom Bunn

Panic Free: The 10-Day Program to End Panic, Anxiety, and Claustrophobia by Tom BunnWhat if you could stop panic by tapping into a different part of your brain? After years of working to help sufferers of panic and anxiety, licensed therapist (and pilot) Tom Bunn discovered a highly effective solution that utilizes a part of the brain not affected by the stress hormones that bombard a person experiencing panic. The author includes specific instructions for dealing with common panic triggers, such as airplane travel, bridges, MRIs, and tunnels. Because panic is profoundly life-limiting, the program Tom Bunn offers can be a real life-changer. (Also available as a Kindle edition and an Audiobook.)

click to order on amazon

 

About the Author

Captain Tom Bunn, MSW, LCSWCaptain Tom Bunn, MSW, LCSW, is a leading authority on panic disorder, the founder of SOAR Inc., which provides treatment for in-flight panic sufferers, and the author of SOAR: The Breakthrough Treatment for Fear of Flying. Find out more about the work of author Tom Bunn on his website,
http://www.panicfree.net/ 

Video with Captain Tom Bunn: Overcoming Fear Of Flying

Related Books

More books on this topic

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=0762788003;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=controlling anxiety;maxresults=2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}