كيف يسرع العنف في الطفولة حتى الشيخوخة

كيف يسرع العنف في الطفولة حتى الشيخوخة

وفقا لدراسة جديدة ، يمكن أن يؤثر العنف والاعتداء النفسي والعاطفي والحرمان أو الإهمال أثناء الطفولة على كل من الشيخوخة الخلوية والنمو البيولوجي.

علاوة على ذلك ، تُظهر الدراسة أن أشكال الشدائد المختلفة أثناء الطفولة لها تأثيرات مختلفة على عملية الشيخوخة.

تقول كاتي ماكلولين ، التي قادت الدراسة أثناء دراستها في قسم علم النفس بجامعة واشنطن ، وهي الآن أستاذة مساعدة في جامعة هارفارد: "إن التعرض للعنف في الطفولة يُسرع من التقدم في السن لدى الأطفال في سن صغيرة مثل 8".

"تشير نتائجنا إلى أن بعض أشكال الشدائد المبكرة تعمل على تسريع عملية الشيخوخة التي تبدأ في وقت مبكر جدًا من الحياة ، مما قد يسهم في ارتفاع معدلات المشكلات الصحية الشائعة بين الأطفال الذين يعانون من الشدائد" ، كما تقول ماكلولين.

شارك ما يقرب من الأطفال والمراهقين 250 ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم 8 إلى 16 ، في الدراسة. من خلال المقابلات والدراسات الخاصة بالأطفال والأمهات ، بالإضافة إلى عينات اللعاب لتحليل الحمض النووي ، حدد الباحثون عدد ونوع الأحداث الحياتية المعاكسة التي عانى منها كل طفل ، جنبا إلى جنب مع مراحل البلوغ التي دخلوها. قام الباحثون بفحص الارتباطات بين أنواع الشد مع التطور اللاجيني أو الخلوي والعمر وتطور البلوغ.

ومن بين المشاركين ، قال حوالي ربعهم إنهم عانوا من الاعتداء الجنسي ، وأن نسبة 42 قد عانت من الاعتداء الجسدي. كانت أشكال الحرمان أقل شيوعًا بشكل طفيف في مجمع الدراسة ، على سبيل المثال: حول نسبة 16 قالوا أنهم عانوا من انعدام الأمن الغذائي. وإجمالا ، كانت نسبة 48 من المشاركين من الفتيات ، وكانت نسبة 61 في المائة من الشباب ذوي الألوان ، وكانت نسبة 27 منخفضة الدخل.

على الدفاع

كما ورد في الطب النفسي البيولوجيأظهر المشاركون ذوو التعرض العالي للعنف عمرًا مستقبليًا أو خلويًا قديمًا بالإضافة إلى تطور البلوغ أكثر تقدمًا مما كان متوقعًا نظرًا لعمر الطفل الزمني.

بعبارة أخرى ، كان الأطفال والمراهقون الذين عانوا من الإساءة يتطورون بشكل أسرع من أولئك الذين لم يتعرضوا للإساءة. الاختلافات في العرق / الإثنية أو الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي ، والتي كانت أيضا ذات صلة ببداية البلوغ المبكر ، لم تشرح هذه العلاقات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وتشير الورقة إلى أن نظرية تاريخ الحياة تشير إلى أن البشر (والكائنات الحية الأخرى) الذين يتعرضون للتهديدات في سن مبكرة قد يتفاعلون بيولوجياً عن طريق النضج بشكل أسرع للوصول إلى النضج التناسلي. الفتيات ، على سبيل المثال ، قد يبدأ الحيض في سن أصغر.

في الوقت نفسه ، تقول النظرية ، إن جثث الشباب الذين يعيشون في بيئات محرومة تستجيب عن طريق الحفاظ على الموارد وتأخير التنمية الإنجابية. النتائج الجديدة تتفق مع تلك النظرية ، يكتب المؤلفون.

خطر الاكتئاب

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نظر الباحثون في الروابط المحتملة للشيخوخة الخلوية وتطوير البلوغ مع أعراض الاكتئاب. وجدت الدراسة أن تسارع الشيخوخة الوراثية كان مرتبطا بمستويات أعلى من الاكتئاب ، وساعد على تفسير العلاقة بين التعرض للعنف والأعراض الاكتئابية.

بين البالغين ، تم ربط العمر التخلخل المتسارع بالسرطان ، وحالات القلب والأوعية الدموية ، والسمنة ، والانحدار المعرفي. وقد ارتبط ظهور مبكر للبلوغ مع نتائج صحية سلبية في وقت لاحق من الحياة. يستكشف الباحثون ما إذا كانت التدخلات مع هؤلاء الشباب ، رغم صغر سنهم ، تؤثر على صحتهم كبالغين.

يقول ماكلولين: "يمكن استخدام العمر التخيلي المتسارع ومرحلة البلوغ لتحديد الشباب الذين يتطورون بشكل أسرع من المتوقع في ظل عمرهم الزمني والذين قد يستفيدون من التدخل".

"إن مرحلة البلوغ هي علامة مفيدة بشكل خاص لأنه من السهل وغير المكلف تقييمها من قبل مقدمي الرعاية الصحية ، ويمكن استخدامها لتحديد الشباب الذين قد يحتاجون إلى خدمات صحية أكثر كثافة" ، كما تقول.

حول المؤلف

كاتي McLaughlin ، قاد الدراسة بينما كان في كلية قسم علم النفس في جامعة واشنطن. وهي الآن أستاذة مساعدة في جامعة هارفارد.

مؤلفون آخرون هم من جامعة إيرفينغ ميديكال سنتر ، هارفارد ، وجامعة إلينوي. المعاهد الوطنية للصحة مولت العمل.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = violence in childhood؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Violence In Childhood Speeds Up Aging

How Violence In Childhood Speeds Up Aging

Violence, psychological or emotional abuse, and deprivation or neglect during childhood can affect both cellular aging and biological development, according to a new study.

Further, the study shows that different forms of adversity during childhood have different impacts on the aging process.

“Exposure to violence in childhood accelerates biological aging in children as young as 8 years old,” says Katie McLaughlin, who led the study while on the faculty of the psychology department at the University of Washington and is now an assistant professor at Harvard University.

“Our findings suggest that some forms of early adversity accelerate the aging process beginning very early in life, which may contribute to the high rates of health problems commonly observed among children who experience adversity,” McLaughlin says.

Nearly 250 children and teens, ages 8 to 16, participated in the study. Through child and parent interviews and surveys, as well as saliva samples for DNA analysis, researchers determined the number and type of adverse life events each child had experienced, along with the stages of puberty they had entered. The researchers examined the associations between types of adversity with epigenetic, or cellular, age, and pubertal development.

Of the participants, about one-quarter said they had experienced sexual abuse, and about 42 percent had experienced physical abuse. Forms of deprivation were slightly less common in the study pool, for example: About 16 percent said they had experienced food insecurity. In all, 48 percent of participants were girls, 61 percent were youth of color, and 27 percent were low-income.

On the defense

As reported in Biological Psychiatry, participants with higher exposure to violence exhibited an older epigenetic or cellular age as well as more advanced pubertal development than what would be expected given the child’s chronological age.

In other words, children and teens who suffered abuse were developing faster than those who had not. Differences in race/ethnicity or socioeconomic status, which also have been related to the early onset of puberty, did not explain these relationships.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Life history theory, the paper points out, suggests that humans (and other living organisms) who are exposed to threats at a young age might react biologically by maturing faster to reach reproductive maturity. Girls, for example, might start menstruating at a younger age.

At the same time, the theory holds, the bodies of young people who live in deprived environments respond by conserving resources and delaying reproductive development. The new findings are consistent with that theory, the authors write.

Depression risk

In addition, the researchers looked at potential links of cellular aging and pubertal development with symptoms of depression. The study found that accelerated epigenetic aging was associated with higher levels of depression, and helped to explain the association between exposure to violence and depressive symptoms.

Among adults, accelerated epigenetic age has been linked to cancer, cardiovascular conditions, obesity, and cognitive decline. And early onset of puberty has been associated with negative health outcomes later in life. Researchers are exploring whether interventions with these young people, while they’re young, affect their health as adults.

“Accelerated epigenetic age and pubertal stage could be used to identify youth who are developing faster than expected given their chronological age and who might benefit from intervention,” McLaughlin says.

“Pubertal stage is an especially useful marker because it is easy and inexpensive to assess by health care providers, and could be used to identify youth who may need more intensive health services,” she says.

About the Authors

Katie McLaughlin, led the study while on the faculty of the psychology department at the University of Washington. She is now an assistant professor at Harvard University.

Additional authors are from Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Harvard, and the University of Illinois. The National Institutes of Health funded the work.

Source: University of Washington

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=violence in childhood;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…