أفضل دواء لمواجهة الصدمة هو أن يكون حاضرا

أفضل دواء لمواجهة الصدمة هو أن يكون حاضرا

في خضم الإجهاد الشديد وتدفق الأخبار السيئة التي لا تنتهي ، يمكننا تقليل الضرر إذا ظللنا على اتصال.

عندما كان كلبنا الحبيب مصابًا بالسرطان ، بذلنا كل ما بوسعنا لمساعدته على الشعور بالراحة في نهاية حياته. لأن الروتيفلاتر قوية جدا ، فإنها تتطلب الكثير من الأدوية المضادة للألم ، لذلك كان علينا أن نعطيه ما بدا وكأنه مسكنات الخيل.

وبينما كنا جميعاً نعتني به ، كانت بناتي مسؤولات عن إعطائه ميدالياته اليومية. يوم واحد ذهبت الفتيات ، وعندما أمسكت حفنة من المدلوس فكرت ، "متى آخر مرة أخذت فيها الأشياء الخاصة بي؟" لذا ، جمعت كل الفيتامينات ، وحصلت على كوب من الماء ، وألقت حبة الدواء. ثم التفتت ونظرت إلى المنضدة ، وكانت فيتاميني تجلس هناك. في تلك اللحظة ، أدركت أنني قد أخذت جميع مدربي روتويللر.

وقفت هناك لمدة دقيقة وقررت الاتصال بالطبيب البيطري. لم تكن التكنولوجيا البيطرية عند الطلب مطمئنة بشكل خاص ، لذلك اتصلت بمكافحة السموم. (لم يذكر اسمه: لم أكن قد سبق لي أن أدعو السيطرة على السموم من قبل. ليس لأطفالي أو لأي أطفال في رعايتي. ولكن هناك كنت أقف في مطبخي ، وأطلق السم على نفسي.) عندما أجاب الصيدلي على الهاتف قلت ، "لقد فعلت فقط أغبى شيء على الإطلاق" ، وشرعت في وصف ما حدث بالضبط. كان هناك توقف كبير ، ثم خرج من فمها ، "يحدث هذا جميع الوقت."

ربما كان لديك واحدة من تلك اللحظات التي تعرف فيها أن ما يقوله الشخص الذي يحاول تهدئته ليس صحيحًا تمامًا. أعتقد أننا يمكن أن نتفق ، وهذا لا يحدث في كل الأوقات: النساء العجوزات من العمر 47 لا يدعوا إلى السم السيطرة عليها لأنهم حتى الانفصال عن أنفسهم ومحيطهم المباشر أنهم أخذوا دواء Rottweiler الخاص بهم. لكن في تلك اللحظة ، لم أكن أهتم لأنه كان مطمئنا إلى حد كبير أن يكون هناك شخص لديه هذا الوجود ليذكرني بأنني لم أكن وحدي.

تجربة الانفصال الاجتماعي والشخصي

تقرير بعد التقرير يوثق كيف - على الرغم من المزيد من التقنيات التي تهدف إلى ربط الأشخاص والأفكار والمعلومات - يستمر الناس من جميع الأعمار في تجربة انقطاع اجتماعي وشخصي أكبر وأكبر. لماذا ا؟ حسنًا ، يمكن لجسدنا وعقلنا وروحنا مواكبة هذا القدر. عند التحميل الزائد ، قد نقطع الاتصال نظرًا لأن كل ذلك كثير جدًا أو يبدو وكأنه كثير جدًا.

قد يكون الانفصال عن الذات ومحيطنا المباشر استراتيجية واعية أو غير واعية من اليوم الذي ساعدنا على تجاوزه. ولكن إذا لم نكن نميل إلى تلك الظروف ، في الماضي والحاضر ، وإذا لم نقم باستمرار بشحذ قدرتنا على البقاء على اتصال مع أنفسنا ، حتى وسط ما قد يشعر بأنه غير مقبول ، فقد نقطع الاتصال بشكل لا شعوري أو واعي. ويمكن للانفصال عن أنفسنا أن يتسلل تدريجياً ، خلسة ، بسبب ما نختاره لفضح أنفسنا أو تعرضنا له.

لقد تحدثت مع أحد أفراد سن 18 في أعقاب هجوم إرهابي ، وعندما سألت كيف كانت تديره ، أجابت ، "أحاول ألا أفكر كثيراً في ذلك. على الأقل في الوقت الحالي. إذا فعلت ذلك ، فسيكون ذلك أكثر من اللازم. ”هذا الوعي الذاتي هو هدية. في حين أنه من الصحيح أن هناك أوقات قد يكون فيها الحصول على مسافة صغيرة (حتى من ذواتنا الخاصة) أمرًا مفيدًا ، إلا أنه من الأهمية بمكان أن نحقق وعيًا عنيدًا بهذه اللحظات بقصد إعادة الاتصال بشكل كامل وفوري فورًا قادر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"لا أريد أن أكون حاضرا".

ماذا يعني هذا تبدو؟ عندما نكون غير متصلين وغير متعمدين ، فإننا غالبًا ما نكون مخدرين. نحن نفحص ، نحن منفصلون. نذهب من خلال الاقتراحات ونميل أكثر للتصرف مع عدم وجود النزاهة. إن عدم جلب حضورنا الكامل يمكن أن يكون له عواقب ضارة علينا ويمكن أن يؤثر بشكل كبير على تفاعلاتنا وعلاقاتنا مع الآخرين.

لحسن الحظ ، عندما نمارس التواجد - واعي - يمكننا أن نهدئ الطغيان. وقال صديق لي وهو محام لشركة تكنولوجيا أمريكية كبرى في الصين بعد وفاة والدته ، "الحاضر ؟! لا أريد أن أكون حاضرا! اريد ان اكون ابعد شيء سخيف من الحاضر. أي شيء غير موجود. "ولكن عندما نتعرض للسيطرة أو الحكم أو التلاعب أو الفصل عن ما لا يطاق ، فإننا نفتقد الفرصة لاستقلاب هذا الانزعاج وتحويله.

يمكننا أن نطمح للبقاء ملتزمين بأفكارنا ومشاعرنا وألا نلقى بالاضطراب الداخلي. بالطبع ، جزء من هذه العملية هو الاعتراف بالأماكن والأوقات والاعتراف بها في حياتنا عندما لا نكون متصلين ...

لماذا يهم إذا كنا منفصلين؟

جزء من سبب اهتمامنا بالمراقبة عن كثب إذا ما انفصلنا هو أنه عندما يتم فصلنا ، لا يمكننا قياس ما إذا كنا نلحق الضرر. قال لي عامل إصلاحي للأحداث السكنية: "يقول جميع الأطفال ، بما فيهم شخصيتي ، إنني أشبه بـ" رجل القصدير ". ليس لدي قلب."

مرارا وتكرارا ، أرى أن تسلسل الأذى يبدأ ، ويمكن أن ينقطع ، في داخلنا. حتى عندما نحاول أن نظهر ونعمل بشكل صحيح من قبل الآخرين ، نعتني بالآخرين ، نميل إلى القضايا الصغيرة والكبيرة محليا وخارجيا ، وفي كثير من الأحيان قدرتنا على فعل ذلك ونميل إلى ضغط دمنا ، ونراقب على مزاجنا ، وعلاج أجسامنا بشكل جيد ... يسقط على جانب الطريق. الخطوة التالية: ينشأ الضرر في علاقاتنا الحميمية ، سواء مع أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء. وكما ذكر الكاتب وأستاذ القانون شيرل كاشين ، "هناك عواقب لأطفال النشطاء".

أخيراً ، غالباً ما ينشأ الضرر في أنفسنا العامة. مراراً وتكراراً ، نتعلم أننا لا نستطيع أن نظهر على الإطلاق وأن نساعد في إصلاح العالم هناك مع السماح بالضرر هنا. في الوقت الذي نتحاشى فيه الهزات المطلقة في المدرسة أو يتجنب الزملاء في العمل بأي ثمن ، فإن الكثير من الأذى قد حدث بالفعل أقرب إلى الوطن.

إحدى النتائج المهمة الأخرى لعدم الاتصال هي أننا لن نكون قادرين على تحقيق جودة تواجدنا. هذا مهم في لحظات يومية صغيرة ، وكذلك أوقات ملحمية نادرة. مراراً وتكراراً في الحياة ، نتعلم أنه حتى عندما لا نستطيع التأثير على نتيجة حالة معينة ، فإن وجودنا يمكن أن يعني الفرق بين خلق الأذى أو المعاناة المتصاعدة أو التحول بشكل طفيف أو تحويل كل ما يحدث. في بعض الأحيان ، تكون قدرتنا على التواجد هي حرفياً كل ما لدينا.

عندما يؤدي قطع الاتصال إلى خدر

عندما نكون غير متصلين وغير متعمدين ، فإننا غالبًا ما نكون مخدرين.

أنت تعرف ما أتحدث عنه ، صحيح؟ ربما كنت في وضع ضعيف ، حتى لو لم تكن النتيجة النهائية ولن تتغير - تعليق المدرسة كان سيبقى تعليق المدرسة ، فإن حبس الرهن العقاري سيبقى في حبس الرهن العقاري ، وكان التشخيص استمروا في التشخيص - كان الشخص الآخر المتورط في الوصول إلى الموارد ، أو المعلومات ، أو السلطة (رئيس المدرسة أو المحاسب أو الطبيب) قادراً على الحضور ، والاتصال بالعين ، والتعامل بكرامة. وقدرة ذلك الشخص على الشهادة بهدوء كان لها تأثير هائل من حيث تقليل المعاناة ونقل التجربة التي كان يمكن أن تسبب الضرر لأحد المشقة بدلا من ذلك.

ذكرني أحد أصدقائي في عائلة 17 منذ قليل كيف أن هذا الأمر مهم عندما يصف كيف شعرت بالعزلة في المجتمع ككل ، على الرغم من كونها محاطا بالعديد من الأحباء. خلال السنة الأولى من دراستها الثانوية ، فقدت صديقا عزيزا على الانتحار. بعد سنة تقريباً ، أخذ والدها حياته الخاصة. لقد خاضت أياماً مليئة بالصدمة ، ومع ذلك كانت المدرسة الثانوية بحاجة إلى اهتمامها وظلت وظيفتها تأمل في عودتها.

"نحن جميعًا نتعامل الآن مع الأشياء التي لا يجب أن يمررها الأطفال في عصرنا ، لكننا نفعل ذلك جميعًا. هناك أشياء في الحياة يجب أن تتصارع معها ، ثم بعد شهر ، من المتوقع أن تأخذ اختبار SAT. أعتقد أن الكثير من الناس قادرون على أن يكونوا متعاطفين ولكن ليس متعاطفين. هناك العديد من الطائرات المختلفة التي تعمل عليها حتى لا تتصل. يبدو الأمر كما لو أنك لا تستطيع أن تفهم كل شيء في العالم نفسه. "

لقد شاهدت في مناسبات عديدة كيف يمكن أن تؤدي بيئات العمل الفريدة إلى تشجيع إما الأفضل أو الأسوأ في الموظفين. من الواضح أن العاملين في مراكز الاتصال في شركات الطيران ، ووكلاء TSA ، وأمن المطارات ، ومضيفات الطيران ، وغيرهم في صناعة السفر ، على سبيل المثال ، هم من بين أولئك الذين غالبًا ما يكونون غارقين في ضغط عملهم. ولكن بالنسبة لجاي وارد ، كان وجود عمال صناعة الطيران أثرًا كبيرًا وطويل الأمد خلال الساعات القليلة الأولى الحاسمة من مقتل شقيقه. [آدم وارد كان مصورًا صحفيًا تم تصويره أثناء إجراء مقابلة تلفزيونية مباشرة]. في ذلك اليوم ، جلب الموظف بعد الموظف حضوراً ليحمله.

عندما نمارس الوجود - واعي - يمكننا أن نهدئ الطغيان.

أثناء المكالمة عندما علم بوفاة آدم ، على الرغم من أنه لم يستطع أن يستخرج الكثير من أبويه المضطربين ، سمع بوضوح مرافعتهم "أرجوك عودي إلى المنزل على الفور. كان جاي وأخته يعيشان في مدن مختلفة - في كل أنحاء البلاد من والديهما - ولكن عندما اتصل صديق بشركات الطيران نيابةً عن جاي ، كان الموظفون المناوبون في ذلك اليوم يفعلون كل ما بوسعهم للمساعدة. تم تأمين المقاعد على الرحلات الجوية بحيث يمكن أن يلتقي جاي وأخته في أول رحلة طيران ممكنة.

التقابهم مرافقة الخطوط الجوية في المطار ، وأدخلتهم عبر الأمن ، واقتادوهم إلى غرفة حيث يمكنهم الانتظار قبل الصعود إلى الطائرة. الرحلات الملغاة والاتصالات المفقودة في وقت لاحق ، كل شركة طيران وممثل المطار بذلت كل ما في وسعها لنقلها من خلال المطارات المختلفة بسلاسة - على الطرق المعبدة ومن خلال المآدب - كل ذلك أثناء محاولة فحصها من شاشات التلفزيون التي لا تعد ولا تحصى في كل مطار والتي كانت تكتب على واعادة اطلاق النار مرارا وتكرارا.

في الجزء الأخير من منزل والديهم ، كانت الطائرة مليئة بالصحفيين والمراسلين المسافرين لتغطية القصة والاحترام لرفاقهم الذين سقطوا. وقف المضيفون فوق جاي وشقيقته لتأكيد عدم وجود اتصال غير مرغوب فيه وتسليمهم إلى أحبائهم في انتظارهم في مطارهم.

شاركني جاي قصصًا عن العديد والعديد من الأشخاص الذين ساعدوه وعائلته في النجاة من هذه الخسارة. لكن هناك شيئًا يتحرك بشكل خاص في الطريقة التي يتحدث بها عن كل هؤلاء الغرباء في صناعة الطيران. ربما لأنهم لم يكونوا أصدقاء في مرحلة الطفولة ، أو راعي عائلاتهم ، أو جيرانهم ، أو مجتمعهم الحالي. ربما كان ذلك لأن كل واحد من هؤلاء الناس - الذين ساعدوا جاي وشقيقته في اجتياز البلاد بأسرع وقت ممكن خلال يوم مفجع بشكل محزن - كانوا يرسمون بحتة على إحساسهم بالإنسانية. لم يكن هناك جدل مشتت حول البنادق أو مناقشة السلامة في مكان العمل أو أي شيء آخر. كان الشخص بعد الشخص متجذرًا في قدرته على جلب وجوده ليحمل نيابة عن أولئك الذين كانوا يعانون ، وبالتالي التصرف بآداب حادة وتكريم كرامة العائلة.

لسنوات بعد وقت عصيب ، يمكننا أن نفكر في الكيفية التي تكشفت بها الأحداث ، وأحيانا ما نتذكر أكثر من غيره هو الشخص الذي صنع مثل هذا الفرق في تلك اللحظة ، للأفضل أو للأسوأ. سواء في الأدوار الرسمية أو غير الرسمية ، لدينا كل الفرص التي لا تحصى طوال أيامنا لجلب هذه النوعية من تحمل. لدينا القدرة على أن نكون هذا الوجود للأشخاص الذين نواجههم في حياتنا.

هذا المقتطف من عصر الطغيان: استراتيجيات على المدى الطويل بقلم لورا فان ديرنوت ليبسكي تم طبعه بإذن من بيريت كوهلر للنشر،.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على نعم فعلا! مجلة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لورا فان ديرنوت ليبسكي هي المدير المؤسس لمعهد The Trauma Stewardship Institute ومؤلفة كتاب "أفضل الخدمات" Trauma Stewardship. وهي رائدة في مجال التعرض للصدمات النفسية والناشطة من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية ، وقد عملت مع المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود. لها TED نقاش كان من أوائل الذين تم تسليمهم داخل منشأة إصلاحية للنساء.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Laura van Dernoot Lipsky؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

The Best Medicine For Confronting Trauma Is To Be Present

fear

The Best Medicine For Confronting Trauma Is To Be Present

Amid extreme stress and a never-ending stream of bad news, we can reduce harm if we remain connected.

When our beloved dog had cancer, we did all we could to help him be comfortable toward the end of his life. Because Rottweilers are so strong, they require a lot of pain medication, so we essentially had to give him what seemed like horse tranquilizers.

While we were all caring for him, my daughters were in charge of giving him his daily meds. One day the girls were gone, and as I grabbed his handful of meds I thought, “When’s the last time I took my stuff?” So, I gathered all my vitamins, got a glass of water, and swished down my pills. Then I turned and looked at the counter, and my vitamins were sitting there. In that moment, I realized I’d just taken all of my Rottweiler’s meds.

I stood there for a minute and decided to call the vet. The vet tech on call wasn’t particularly reassuring, so I called poison control. (Mind you, I have never had to call poison control before. Not for my own kids or for any children in my care. But there I was, standing in my kitchen, calling poison control on myself.) When the pharmacist answered the phone, I said, “I just did the stupidest thing ever,” and proceeded to describe exactly what happened. There was a significant pause, and then out of her mouth came, “This happens all the time.”

Maybe you’ve had one of those moments where you know that what the person trying to comfort you is saying is not entirely true. I think we can agree, this does not happen all the time: Random 47-year-old women are not calling poison control because they’re so disconnected from themselves and their immediate surroundings that they’ve taken their Rottweiler’s medication. But in that moment, I didn’t care because it was so massively reassuring to just have someone with that presence be able to remind me that I wasn’t alone. 

Experiencing Social and Personal Disconnection

Report after report documents how—despite more technologies aimed at connecting people, ideas, and information—people of all ages continue to experience greater and greater social and personal disconnection. Why? Well, our body, mind, and spirit can only keep up with so much. When overloaded, we may disconnect because it all is too much or feels like it is too much.

Disconnecting from our self and our immediate surroundings may have been a conscious or unconscious strategy from back in the day that helped us to get through. But if we don’t tend to those circumstances, past and present, and if we don’t constantly hone our ability to remain connected to ourselves, even amid what may feel untenable, we may unconsciously or consciously disconnect. And disconnection from ourselves can creep in gradually, stealthily, because of what we choose to expose ourselves to or happen to be exposed to.

I spoke with an 18-year-old in the wake of a terrorist attack, and when I asked how she was managing, she replied, “I try not to think too much about it. At least right now. If I do, it would all be too much.” This self-awareness is a gift. While it is true that there are times when gaining a little distance (even from our own selves) may be helpful, it is critical we bring a tenacious awareness to these moments with an intention of reconnecting fully and pre-emptively as soon as we are able.

"I don't want to be present."

What does this look like? When we are disconnected and not deliberate, we are often numb. We check out, we’re detached. We go through the motions and are more inclined to act with a lack of integrity. Not bringing our full presence to bear can have detrimental consequences for us and can immensely impact our interactions and relationships with others.

Fortunately, when we practice being present—conscious—we can quiet the overwhelm. A friend of mine who is a lawyer for a major U.S. tech company in China said after the death of his mother, “Present?! I don’t want to be present! I want to be the farthest fucking thing from present. Anything but present.” But when we flinch, judge, manipulate, or disconnect from that which feels intolerable, we miss the opportunity to metabolize that discomfort and transform it.

We can aspire to stay engaged with our thoughts and feelings and not be thrown off by inner turbulence. Of course, part of the process is recognizing and acknowledging places and times in our lives when we are not connected...

Why Does It Matter If We're Disconnected?

Part of why we care about keeping a close eye on if we are disconnected is that when we are disconnected, we cannot reliably gauge if we are doing harm. A residential juvenile corrections worker shared with me, “The kids all say, including my own, that I’m like the Tin Man. I have no heart.”

Time and again, I see that the sequence of harm starts, and can be interrupted, within us. Even while we’re trying to show up and do right by others, care for others, tend to small and large issues locally and out in the world, so often our ability to do that and tend to our blood pressure, and keep an eye on our moods, and generally treat our bodies well ... falls by the wayside. The next step: Harm arises in our intimate relationships, whether with family members or friends. As author and professor of law Sheryll Cashin stated, “There are consequences for the children of activists.”

Finally, often harm arises in our more public selves. Time and again we learn we absolutely cannot show up and help repair the world out there while allowing harm in here. By the time we are the absolute jerks at school or the co-workers folks avoid at all costs, a lot of harm has already happened much closer to home.

Another significant consequence of being disconnected is that we won’t be able to bring our quality of presence to bear. This matters in tiny, daily moments, as well as rare, epic times. Time and again in life, we learn that even when we can’t affect the outcome of a given situation, our presence can mean the difference between creating harm or escalating suffering or slightly shifting or absolutely transforming whatever is unfolding. Sometimes our ability to be present is, literally, all we have.

When Disconnected Leads to Being Numb

When we are disconnected and not deliberate, we are often numb.

You know what I’m talking about, yes? Perhaps you’ve been in a vulnerable situation, when even if the ultimate outcome could not and would not change—the school suspension was going to stay the school suspension, the home foreclosure was going to stay the home foreclosure, the diagnosis was going to stay the diagnosis—the other human being involved with access to resources, information, or authority (the head of school or the accountant or the doctor) was able to be present, make eye contact, and treat you with dignity. That person’s ability to calmly bear witness had an enormous impact in terms of minimizing suffering and shifting an experience that could have caused harm to one of hardship instead.

A 17-year-old family friend reminded me just how deeply this matters when describing how isolated she felt in society at large, despite being surrounded by many loved ones. During her first year of high school, she lost a dear friend to suicide. Almost a year later, her father took his own life. She waded through trauma-filled days, yet high school still required her attention and her job still hoped for her return.

“We are all now dealing with things that kids our age should never have to go through but we all do. There are these things in life you have to grapple with—and then, a month later, you’re expected to take the SAT. I think a lot of people are able to be sympathetic, but not empathetic. There are so many different planes you’re operating on that don’t even connect. It’s like you can’t even fathom it all belongs in the same world.”

I have seen on many occasions how unique work environments can be conducive to fostering either the best or the worst in employees. It is evident that airline call center workers, TSA agents, airport security, flight attendants, and others in the travel industry, for example, are among those who are often extremely overwhelmed by the stress of their work. But for Jay Ward, the presence of airline industry workers made a significant and long-lasting impact during the first few critical hours after his brother was murdered. [Adam Ward was a photojournalist who was shot while conducting a live television interview.] That day, employee after employee brought a presence to bear.

When we practice being present—conscious—we can quiet the overwhelm.

During the call when he learned of Adam’s death, though he could not make out much from his utterly distraught parents, he clearly heard their pleading to “Please come home right away. Please.” Jay and his sister lived in different cities—both across the country from their parents—but when a friend contacted the airlines on Jay’s behalf, the personnel on duty that day did everything in their power to help. Seats on flights were secured such that Jay and his sister could meet on the first connecting flight possible.

Airline escorts met them at the airport, ushered them through security, and took them to a room where they could wait before boarding. Canceled flights and missed connections later, each airline and airport representative did all they could to move them through the various airports seamlessly—over tarmacs and through concourses—all the while trying to screen them from the countless television screens in each airport that were reporting on and replaying the shooting over and over and over.

On the last leg to their parents’ home, the plane was filled with journalists and reporters traveling both to cover the story and to pay respect to their fallen comrades. The flight attendants stood watch over Jay and his sister to assure there would be no unwanted contact and handed them off to loved ones waiting at their home airport.

Jay has shared with me stories about the many, many people who helped him and his family survive this loss. But there is something particularly moving in the way he talks about each of those strangers in the airline industry. Perhaps it’s because they weren’t childhood friends, their family pastor, their neighbors, or their current community. Perhaps it was because each of those people—who helped Jay and his sister traverse the country as quickly as possible during an impossibly heartbreaking day—were drawing purely on their sense of humanity. There was no distracting debate on guns or discussion of workplace safety or anything else. Person after person was rooted in their ability to bring their presence to bear on behalf of those who were suffering, thereby acting with acute decency and honoring a family’s dignity.

For years after a hard time, we can reflect on how events unfolded, and sometimes what we remember most is one person who made such a difference in that moment, for better or worse. Whether in formal or informal roles, we each have countless opportunities throughout our days to bring this quality of presence to bear. We have the capacity to be this presence for the people we encounter in our life.

This excerpt from The Age of Overwhelm: Strategies for the Long Haul by Laura van Dernoot Lipsky is reprinted with permission from Berrett-Koehler Publishers.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

About The Author

Laura van Dernoot Lipsky is the founding director of The Trauma Stewardship Institute and author of the best-selling Trauma Stewardship. A pioneer in the field of trauma exposure and an activist for social and economic justice, she has worked with communities around the world for more than three decades. Her TED Talk was one of the first to be delivered inside a women’s correctional facility.

Books by this Author

The Age of Overwhelm: Strategies for the Long Haul
fearAuthor: Laura van Dernoot Lipsky
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

Trauma Stewardship: An Everyday Guide to Caring for Self While Caring for Others
fearAuthor: Laura van Dernoot Lipsky
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

By Lipsky, Laura Van Dernoot ( Author ) [ { Trauma Stewardship: An Everyday Guide to Caring for Self While Caring for Others } ]May-2009 Paperback
fearAuthor: Laura Van Dernoot Lipsky
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers May-01-2009

Buy Now

fear
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}