Comment le stress anticipant salit la mémoire et votre journée

Comment le stress anticipant salit la mémoire et votre journée

Commençant votre matinée en mettant l'accent sur le stress à venir peut nuire à votre état d'esprit tout au long de la journée, selon une nouvelle étude.

Les chercheurs ont constaté que lorsque les participants se sont réveillés avec l'impression que la journée à venir serait stressante, leur mémoire de travail - qui aide les gens à apprendre et à conserver l'information même lorsqu'ils sont distraits - était plus faible plus tard dans la journée. Anticiper quelque chose de stressant a eu un grand effet sur la mémoire de travail, indépendamment des événements stressants réels.

Jinshil Hyun, étudiant au doctorat en développement humain et études familiales à Penn State, affirme que les résultats suggèrent que le processus de stress commence bien avant qu'un événement stressant se produise.

«Les humains peuvent penser et anticiper les choses avant qu'elles ne se produisent, ce qui peut nous aider à nous préparer et même à prévenir certains événements», dit Hyun. "Mais cette étude suggère que cette capacité peut également nuire à votre fonction de mémoire quotidienne, indépendamment du fait que les événements stressants se produisent ou non."

Difficile à mettre au point

Martin Sliwinski, directeur du Centre for Healthy Aging de Penn State, affirme que la mémoire de travail peut affecter de nombreux aspects de la vie quotidienne et que la mémoire de travail peut avoir un impact négatif sur la vie quotidienne des individus. .

"Une mémoire de travail réduite peut vous rendre plus susceptible de faire une erreur au travail ou peut-être moins capable de se concentrer", explique Sliwinski. "En outre, en regardant cette recherche dans le contexte du vieillissement en bonne santé, il y a certaines erreurs cognitives à enjeux élevés que les personnes âgées peuvent faire. Prendre la mauvaise pilule ou faire une erreur en conduisant peut avoir des conséquences catastrophiques. "

Alors que des recherches antérieures ont examiné comment les événements stressants peuvent affecter l'émotion, la cognition et la physiologie, peu d'attention a été accordée aux effets de l'anticipation d'événements stressants qui ne se sont pas encore produits dans le contexte de la vie quotidienne.

Les chercheurs ont recruté des adultes 240 racialement et économiquement divers pour participer à l'étude. Pendant deux semaines, les participants ont répondu sept fois par jour aux questions posées par une application pour smartphone: une fois le matin, ils pensaient que leur journée serait stressante, cinq fois par jour sur les niveaux de stress actuels et une fois le soir. s'attendait le lendemain à être stressant. Les participants ont également accompli une tâche de mémoire de travail cinq fois par jour.

Hyun affirme que si les études en laboratoire ont l'avantage de contrôler l'expérience des participants au cours de l'étude, l'utilisation de smartphones pour collecter des données au cours de la vie quotidienne des participants présente également des avantages.

«Le fait que les participants consignent leur stress et leur cognition au cours de leur journée nous donne un aperçu de la façon dont ces processus fonctionnent dans le contexte de la vraie vie quotidienne», explique M. Hyun. "Nous avons été en mesure de recueillir des données tout au long de la journée sur une période plus longue, au lieu de quelques points dans un laboratoire."

Les chercheurs ont constaté que plus d'anticipation du stress le matin était associée à une mémoire de travail plus pauvre plus tard dans la journée. L'anticipation du stress de la veille n'était pas associée à une mémoire de travail plus faible.

La mentalité compte

Sliwinski dit que les résultats montrent l'importance de l'état d'esprit d'une personne dès le matin, avant que quelque chose de stressant ne se produise encore.

"Lorsque vous vous réveillez le matin avec une certaine perspective pour la journée, dans un certain sens, le dé est déjà lancé", dit Sliwinski. "Si vous pensez que votre journée va être stressante, vous allez ressentir ces effets même si rien de stressant ne se produit. Cela n'avait pas vraiment été montré dans la recherche jusqu'à présent, et cela montre l'impact de notre façon de penser sur le monde. "

Les chercheurs disent que les résultats ouvrent la porte à des interventions possibles qui peuvent aider les gens à prédire quand leur cognition peut ne pas être optimale.

"Si vous vous réveillez et que vous sentez que la journée va être stressante, peut-être que votre téléphone peut vous rappeler de faire une relaxation profonde avant de commencer votre journée", dit Sliwinski. "Ou si votre cognition est à un endroit où vous pourriez faire une erreur, peut-être que vous pouvez obtenir un message qui dit que ce n'est peut-être pas le meilleur moment pour faire un tour."

Sliwinski dit qu'ils travaillent sur des études supplémentaires qui utiliseront des capteurs portables pour recueillir des données encore plus approfondies sur l'effet du stress sur les états physiologiques des participants. Hyun ajoute qu'elle s'intéresse également aux futures études qui peuvent aider à découvrir des mécanismes psychologiques ou biologiques possibles derrière la façon dont le stress affecte la cognition.

L'étude paraît dans le Journals of Gerontology: Sciences psychologiques.

Les National Institutes of Health, l'Institut national sur le vieillissement, le Centre national pour l'avancement des sciences translationnelles, la Fondation Leonard et Sylvia Marx et la Fondation Czap ont soutenu le travail.

La source: Penn State

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = stress et mémoire; maxresults = 3}

How Anticipating Stress Messes Up Memory And Your Day

How Anticipating Stress Messes Up Memory And Your Day

Starting your morning by focusing on the stress to come may harm your mindset throughout the day, according to a new study.

The researchers found that when participants woke up feeling like the day ahead would be stressful, their working memory—which helps people learn and retain information even when they’re distracted—was lower later in the day. Anticipating something stressful had a great effect on working memory regardless of actual stressful events.

Jinshil Hyun, a doctoral student in human development and family studies at Penn State, says the findings suggest that the stress process begins long before a stressful event occurs.

“Humans can think about and anticipate things before they happen, which can help us prepare for and even prevent certain events,” Hyun says. “But this study suggests that this ability can also be harmful to your daily memory function, independent of whether the stressful events actually happen or not.”

Hard to focus

Martin Sliwinski, director of the Center for Healthy Aging at Penn State, says working memory can affect many aspects of a person’s day, and lower working memory can have a negative impact on individuals’ daily lives, especially among older adults who already experience cognitive decline.

“A reduced working memory can make you more likely to make a mistake at work or maybe less able to focus,” Sliwinski says. “Also, looking at this research in the context of healthy aging, there are certain high stakes cognitive errors that older adults can make. Taking the wrong pill or making a mistake while driving can all have catastrophic impacts.”

While previous research has examined how stressful events can affect emotion, cognition, and physiology, not as much has focused on the effects of anticipating stressful events that haven’t yet happened in the context of everyday life.

The researchers recruited 240 racially and economically diverse adults to participate in the study. For two weeks, the participants responded seven times a day to questions prompted from a smartphone app: once in the morning about whether they expected their day to be stressful, five times throughout the day about current stress levels, and once at night about whether they expected the following day to be stressful. The participants also completed a working memory task five times a day.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hyun says that while laboratory studies have the benefit of controlling the participants’ experience during the study, the use of smartphones to collect data as the participants went about their daily lives had benefits, as well.

“Having the participants log their stress and cognition as they went about their day let us get a snapshot of how these processes work in the context of real, everyday life,” Hyun says. “We were able to gather data throughout the day over a longer period of time, instead of just a few points in time in a lab.”

The researchers found that more stress anticipation in the morning was associated with poorer working memory later in the day. Stress anticipation from the previous evening was not associated with poorer working memory.

Mindset matters

Sliwinski says the findings show the importance of a person’s mindset first thing in the morning, before anything stressful has happened yet.

“When you wake up in the morning with a certain outlook for the day, in some sense the die is already cast,” Sliwinski says. “If you think your day is going to be stressful, you’re going to feel those effects even if nothing stressful ends up happening. That hadn’t really been shown in the research until now, and it shows the impact of how we think about the world.”

The researchers says the results open the door for possible interventions that can help people predict when their cognition may not be optimal.

“If you wake up and feel like the day is going to be stressful, maybe your phone can remind you to do some deep breathing relaxation before you start your day,” Sliwinski says. “Or if your cognition is at a place where you might make a mistake, maybe you can get a message that says now might not be the best time to go for a drive.”

Sliwinski says they’re working on additional studies that will use wearable sensors to gather even more in-depth data on the effect of stress on participants’ physiological states. Hyun adds that she’s also interested in future studies that can help uncover possible psychological or biological mechanisms behind how stress affects cognition.

The study appears in the Journals of Gerontology: Psychological Sciences.

The National Institutes of Health, the National Institute on Aging, the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, the Leonard and Sylvia Marx Foundation, and the Czap Foundation supported the work.

Source: Penn State

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=stress and memory;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…