هل توقع الألم مساواة في الألم؟ اسأل طفل

هل توقع الألم مساواة في الألم؟ اسأل طفل
هذا لن يضر قليلا.
غريغوري جونستون / shutterstock.com

تخيل نفسك في مكتب الطبيب تستعد لطفلك الإنفلونزا السنوي. عشرون دقيقة تمر و خلال تلك الفترة يتصاعد خوفك و تقنع نفسك بأن النار القادمة ستؤذي مثل الجحيم. هل يؤثر التوقع على شعورها بالفعل؟

أنا أستاذ علم النفس وعلم الأعصاب ، الذين قرروا مع زملائي في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة استكشاف كيف يؤثر توقع الطفل على الألم على تجربتهم الفعلية ، وخاصة الأطفال القلقين. من الأمور الراسخة أن الأطفال يتمتعون بقدرة كبيرة على التأثر والتأثر بسهولة بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وأصدقائهم وما يشاهدونه على شاشات التلفزيون. لم يتم دراسة مسألة ما إذا كان الأطفال ، مثل البالغين ، متأثرين بالتوقعات بطريقة منهجية.

كان هدفنا هو فهم آثار التوقع على إعداد الأطفال للإجراءات المؤلمة المقبلة لإبلاغ علاج آلام الأطفال في المرضى القلقين. كنا نشك أنه إذا كان الأطفال يتوقعون الألم ، فهذه هي الطريقة التي يمكن أن يتصوروا بها. قمنا بتصميم تجربة لاختبارها.

للتحضير لدراستنا ، قمنا بتطبيق الحرارة على ذراع كل طفل وطلبنا منهم تقييم مستويات الألم منخفضة أو متوسطة أو عالية. بعد ذلك ، ركزنا خلال التجربة على درجة الحرارة الواحدة فقط التي صنفها كل مشارك على أنها متوسطة.

في تجربتنا ، سبقنا اختبار درجة الحرارة المتوسطة بنوعين من النغمات. وأوضحت إحدى النغمات للطفل أن الحرارة المنخفضة اللطيفة كانت قادمة والآخر هو أن الحرارة المرتفعة كانت قادمة. عندما سألنا الأطفال عن مدى درجة الحرارة المؤلمة ، فقد قيموا درجة الحرارة نفسها التي كانت أكثر إيلاما عندما سبقتها نغمة عالية.

النتائج التي توصلنا إليها تشير إلى أن الآباء سوف يقللون من معاناة أبنائهم بتقليل التجربة المؤلمة القادمة. هذا سيجعل زيارة طفلك القادمة لطبيب الأطفال أقل صدمات. في المرة القادمة التي يقوم فيها طفلك بزيارة أطباء قادمين ، حاول إعادة صياغة أفكارهم: "سيشعر هذا وكأنه ارتعاش عارض من كلبه ، أو خدش بسيط من مخلبه الصغير".

بالطبع من المهم أن تكون صريحًا ولا تحمّل مخاوف الأطفال جميعًا. لا يعني الأمر أن ننكر أن الألم سيحدث ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك ، لا نرغب في إثارة هذه التجربة ، بل قد يكون لها تأثير غير مقصود على تجربة الأطفال.

المحادثةمثلما أظهرت دراسات أخرى أن توقعات تخفيف الألم يمكن أن تقلل من مستويات الألم لدى البالغين حتى عندما يتم إعطاء علاج بديل ، تؤكد دراستنا أن الألم هو ظاهرة معقدة ويمكن أن تتأثر بعدد من العوامل النفسية ، بما في ذلك الانتباه والعاطفة ، والمعتقدات أو التوقعات.

عن المؤلف

كالينا ميكالسكا ، أستاذ مساعد ، قسم علم النفس ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، ريفرسايد

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التعاطف، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Does The Pain Expected Equal The Pain Felt? Ask A Kid

fear

Does The Pain Expected Equal The Pain Felt? Ask A Kid
This won’t hurt a bit.
Gregory Johnston/shutterstock.com

Imagine yourself at the doctor’s office bracing for your annual flu shot. Twenty minutes go by and during that period your fear escalates and you convince yourself the upcoming shot is going to hurt like hell. Does the expectation influence how it actually feels?

I am a professor of psychology and neuroscience who, together with my colleagues at the National Institutes of Health, decided to explore how a child’s expectation of pain influences their actual experience, particularly anxious children. It is well-established that children are highly impressionable and are easily influenced by social media, their friends, and what they watch on television. The question of whether children, like adults, are influenced by expectations has not been studied in a systematic way.

Our goal was to understand the effects of expectation on preparing children for upcoming painful procedures to inform treatment of pediatric pain in anxious patients. We suspected that if children expected pain, that’s how they would perceive it. We designed an experiment to test it.

To prepare for our study, we applied heat to each child’s arm and asked them to rate levels of pain as low, medium or high. Then, during the experiment we focused on just the one temperature that each participant rated as medium.

In our experiment we preceded the medium temperature test with two kinds of tones. One tone signaled to the child that gentle low heat was coming and the other that painful high heat was coming. When we asked children how painful the heat was, they rated the same temperature as more painful when it was preceded by a high tone.

Our findings suggest that parents will reduce their child’s suffering by downplaying the upcoming painful experience. This will make their child’s next visit to the pediatrician less traumatic. Next time your child has an upcoming doctors visit, try reframing their thoughts: “This will feel like an accidental nip from their pet dog, or a minor scratch from their kitten’s paw.”

Of course it is important to be truthful and not discount a child’s worries all together. The point is not to deny that pain will occur, but rather to not hype it up and inadvertently impact children’s experience.

The ConversationJust as other studies have shown that expectations of pain relief can reduce pain levels in adults even when a placebo treatment is given, our study underscores that pain is a complex phenomenon and can be influenced by a number of psychological factors, including attention, emotion, and beliefs or expectations.

About the Author

Kalina Michalska, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, University of California, Riverside

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Art of Empathy: A Complete Guide to Life's Most Essential Skill
fearAuthor: Karla McLaren
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Sounds True
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Empathy: Why It Matters, and How to Get It
fearAuthor: Roman Krznaric
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

Against Empathy: The Case for Rational Compassion
fearAuthor: Paul Bloom
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Ecco
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now

fear
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}