كيف يمكن للعيش في المجتمعات العنيفة أن يؤثر على سلوك الأطفال المعادي للمجتمع

كيف يمكن للعيش في المجتمعات العنيفة أن يؤثر على سلوك الأطفال المعادي للمجتمع
صراع الأسهم.

الـ أعمال الشغب الإنجليزية كان شهر أغسطس 2011 صادمًا ومقلقًا للعديد من الأشخاص الذين رأوه ، إما شخصيًا أو على الأخبار. ولكن ماذا يمكن أن تكون التأثيرات طويلة المدى؟ كيف يمكن رؤية العنف والتدمير على هذا المستوى يؤثران على الصحة العقلية للأطفال - وخطر تحولهم إلى عنف بأنفسهم؟

على الرغم من أن أعمال الشغب هي شكل متطرف من الاضطرابات العامة ، إلا أن التعرض للعنف المجتمعي هو تجربة شائعة لكثير من الأطفال. في المناطق الأكثر عرضة للخطر - المناطق الحضرية ذات مستويات الفقر المرتفعة - تصل إلى 90 ٪ من الأطفال تعرضوا لمستوى معين من العنف المجتمعي.

يشير العنف المجتمعي إلى أعمال العنف المتعمدة التي يتم ارتكابها في أحد الأحياء. قد تنطوي على مطاردة أو هجوم بدني أو تهديد لفظي. يمكن أن يكون من ذوي الخبرة مباشرة من قبل الضحية ، أو بشكل غير مباشر - من خلال مشاهدة حادث يحدث لشخص آخر.

التعرض للعنف المجتمعي ومن المعروف أن تكون ذات الصلة إلى مجموعة من مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، مثل القلق والاكتئاب واضطراب الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة. يرتبط أيضا مع زيادة خطر من تطوير السلوك المعادي للمجتمع والانحراف. لذا يبدو من المرجح أن الأطفال والمراهقين الذين يعانون من "اضطراب السلوك" هم مجموعة أكثر عرضة من أقرانهم للعنف المجتمعي.

اضطراب السلوك هو تشخيص نفسي يحدده السلوك العدواني المعادي للمجتمع والذي يضر بحقوق الآخرين أو ينتهكها. له تأثير سلبي للغاية على الشاب - مما يؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى تسرب المدرسة والفشل التربوي - وكذلك على أسرهم والمعلمين والمجتمع.

حتى الآن ، شملت معظم الأبحاث مزيجا من الأطفال والمراهقين الأصحاء وذوي الإعاقات السريرية عند دراسة الروابط بين العنف المجتمعي والسلوك المعادي للمجتمع. لذلك لا نعرف كيف ستبدو قوة الارتباط إذا تم فحص الأطفال والمراهقين الأصحاء بشكل منفصل عن الشباب الذين يعانون من اضطراب السلوك.

هل سنجد آثارًا مماثلة للعنف المجتمعي على السلوك المعادي للمجتمع في مجموعة لا تعاني من مشاكل سابقة ، وفي حالة تظهر مستويات ملحوظة سريريًا للسلوك المعادي للمجتمع؟

حاولنا الإجابة على هذا السؤال من قبل التحقيق في التأثير التعرض للعنف المجتمعي على السلوك المعادي للمجتمع في عينة كبيرة من الأطفال والمراهقين - مع اضطراب السلوك وبدونه.

في المجموع ، تم تضمين الأطفال والشباب 1,178 في ثمانية بلدان أوروبية. والأهم من ذلك ، أن الدراسة شملت أطفالا يعيشون في دول غنية نسبيا ، مثل سويسرا أو المملكة المتحدة ، وكذلك أقل ثراء ، مثل المجر أو اليونان.

النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أظهرت أن الأطفال والمراهقين الذين يعانون من العنف المجتمعي تظهر مستويات أعلى من السلوك المعادي للمجتمع من الشباب الذين لا يتعرضون للعنف المجتمعي. الأهم من ذلك ، كان هذا ينطبق على الشباب الذين يعانون من اضطراب السلوك ، ولكن أيضا للأطفال الأصحاء والمراهقين.

لذا ، فليس الأمر بسيطًا مثل وضع اضطراب السلوك في هذا النوع من الأحياء التي ينشأ فيها الأطفال.

كما وجدنا أن العديد من الأطفال والمراهقين الأوروبيين يتعرضون لمستويات عالية من العنف المجتمعي. هذه النتائج يجب أن تعزز الجهود لمنع هذا من الحدوث.

كسر حلقة

تبين دراستنا أن العنف المجتمعي يمثل مشكلة خطيرة للعديد من الأطفال والمراهقين في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. إنها قضية ملحة للغاية.

لقد تم تطوير برامج الوقاية ، والتي تهدف إلى استهداف العوامل الأسرية أو المدرسية أو المجتمعية. برامج الأسرة أساساً تتضمن تدريب الوالدين. تحدث البرامج المدرسية في إطار المدرسة وتهدف إلى كل من الأطفال والمجموعات الفردية.

تتضمن برامج الوقاية المجتمعية برامج التوجيه أو إجراء تغييرات في البيئة لتقليل المخاطر. على سبيل المثال ، تم تصميم مترو الإنفاق واشنطن العاصمة ل جعلها غير مناسبة للجريمة. اختار المهندسون المعماريون عدم بناء مراحيض أو خزانات أو أماكن جلوس زائدة ، لثني الناس عن التسكع.

بحث هام كما تم تخصيصها لاكتشاف "ما هو الأفضل" من حيث استراتيجيات الوقاية.

وقد تم تحقيق آثار إيجابية من خلال تدريب الوالدين والتدخلات المدرسية. كان هناك قدر أقل من العمل يبحث في المناهج المجتمعية ، ولكن حتى الآن يقترح استراتيجيات منع الجريمة البيئية يمكن أن تعمل أيضا. من المنطقي أن يتم تحقيق أكبر تأثير من خلال تنفيذ استراتيجيات الوقاية في جميع المجالات الثلاثة (الأسرة والمدرسة والمجتمع) لكسر دائرة التعرض للعنف والارتكاب لاحقاً.

وينبغي الآن إعطاء الأولوية لتنفيذ البرامج المستهدفة في الأحياء ذات معدلات العنف الأعلى - بدلاً من البرامج العالمية التي تستهدف جميع الأطفال والمجتمعات بغض النظر عن المخاطر.

المحادثةونأمل أن يؤدي جذب الانتباه إلى ارتفاع معدلات تعرض المجتمع للعنف بين الأطفال وآثاره الضارة إلى إحداث تغييرات في السياسة الحكومية - التي يحتاج إليها الشباب ومجتمعاتهم على وجه السرعة.

عن المؤلفين

Graeme Fairchild، Reader in Psychopathology Developmental، جامعة باث وكريستينا ستادلر ، أستاذ علم النفس المرضي التنموي ، جامعة بازل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = السلوك المعادي للمجتمع ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

المايا وبحثنا المعاصر عن المعنى
المايا وبحثنا المعاصر عن المعنى
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا

How Living In Violent Communities Can Affect Children's Antisocial Behavior

How Living In Violent Communities Can Affect Children's Antisocial Behavior
shutterstock.

The English riots of August 2011 were shocking and unsettling for many who saw them, either in person or on the news. But what might the longer-term effects be? How does seeing violence and destruction on that scale affect children’s mental health – and the risk of them becoming violent themselves?

Although riots are an extreme form of public disorder, exposure to community violence is a common experience for many children. In the most high-risk areas – urban areas with high levels of poverty – up to 90% of children have been exposed to some level of community violence.

Community violence refers to deliberate acts of interpersonal violence committed in a neighbourhood. It might involve a chase, a physical attack or a verbal threat. It can be experienced directly by the victim, or indirectly – through witnessing an incident happening to someone else.

Exposure to community violence is known to be related to a range of mental health problems, such as anxiety, depression and post-traumatic stress disorder. It is also associated with an increased risk of developing antisocial behaviour and delinquency. So it seems likely that children and adolescents with “conduct disorder” are a group who are more likely than their peers to have been exposed to community violence.

Conduct disorder is a psychiatric diagnosis defined by aggressive and antisocial behaviour that harms or violates the rights of others. It has a highly negative effect on the young person – frequently leading to school dropout and educational failure – as well as on their families, teachers, and society.

To date, most research has included a mixture of healthy and clinically impaired children and adolescents when examining links between community violence and antisocial behaviour. So we don’t know what the strength of the association would look like if healthy children and adolescents were investigated separately from youths with conduct disorder.

Would we find similar effects of community violence on antisocial behaviour in a group with no pre-existing problems and in one that shows clinically significant levels of antisocial behaviour?

We tried to answer this question by investigating the impact of community violence exposure on antisocial behaviour in a large sample of children and adolescents – with and without conduct disorder.

In total, 1,178 children and young people were included across eight European countries. Importantly, the study included children living in relatively wealthy countries, such as Switzerland or the UK, as well as less wealthy ones, such as Hungary or Greece.

Our findings showed that children and adolescents who experience community violence show higher levels of antisocial behaviour than young people who are not exposed to community violence. More importantly, this was true for young people with conduct disorder –but also for healthy children and adolescents.

So it’s not just as simple as putting conduct disorder down to the sort of neighbourhoods children are brought up in.

We also found that many European children and adolescents are exposed to high levels of community violence. These findings should strengthen efforts to prevent this from happening.

Breaking the cycle

Our study shows that community violence is a serious problem for many children and adolescents across Europe. It is an issue of great urgency.

Prevention programs have been developed, which tend to target either family, school, or community factors. Family-based programs typically involve parent training. School-based programmes occur within the school setting and are aimed at both individual children and groups.

Community-based prevention programs involve mentoring programmes or making changes in the environment to reduce risk. For example, the Washington DC subway was designed to make it unsuitable for crime. The architects deliberately chose not to build toilets, lockers or excess seating space, to discourage people from loitering.

Important research has also been dedicated to finding out “what works best” in terms of prevention strategies.

Positive effects have been achieved through parent training and school-based interventions. There has been less work looking into community based approaches, but so far it suggests that environmental crime prevention strategies can also work. It makes sense that the greatest impact would be achieved by implementing prevention strategies in all three areas (family, school, community) to break the cycle of violence exposure and later perpetration.

Priority should now be given to implementing targeted programs in neighbourhoods with higher rates of violence – rather than universal ones which target all children and communities regardless of risk.

The ConversationWe hope that drawing attention to the high rates of community violence exposure amongst children and its damaging effects will trigger changes in governmental policy – which are urgently needed by young people and their communities.

About The Authors

Graeme Fairchild, Reader in Developmental Psychopathology, University of Bath and Christina Stadler, Professor of Developmental Psychopathology, University of Basel

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Antisocial Behavior: Personality Disorders from Hostility to Homicide
fearAuthor: Benjamin B. Wolman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Prometheus Books
List Price: $22.99

Buy Now

Psychopathy: Antisocial, Criminal, and Violent Behavior
fearBinding: Paperback
Publisher: The Guilford Press
List Price: $60.00

Buy Now

Antisocial Behavior (Teen Mental Health)
fearAuthor: Frank Spalding
Binding: Library Binding
Publisher: Rosen Pub Group
List Price: $32.75

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}