La méditation vous calme, même si vous n'êtes pas conscient

La méditation vous calme, même si vous n'êtes pas conscient

Vous n'avez pas besoin d'être une personne naturellement consciente pour récolter les bénéfices émotionnels de la méditation.

Lorsque les chercheurs ont enregistré l'activité cérébrale de personnes qui regardaient des images perturbantes immédiatement après avoir médité pour la première fois, les participants qui n'étaient pas conscients étaient capables d'apprivoiser leurs émotions négatives aussi bien que les participants qui étaient naturellement attentifs.

"Se forcer à être conscient" dans le moment "ne fonctionne pas. Vous feriez mieux de méditer pour les minutes 20. "

"Nos résultats démontrent non seulement que la méditation améliore la santé émotionnelle, mais que les gens peuvent acquérir ces avantages indépendamment de leur capacité" naturelle "à être conscients", explique Yanli Lin, un étudiant diplômé de Michigan State University et chercheur principal de l'étude publiée dans Frontières de la neuroscience humaine. "Cela prend juste un peu de pratique."

La pleine conscience, une conscience momentanée des pensées, des sentiments et des sensations, a acquis une popularité mondiale comme moyen de promouvoir la santé et le bien-être. Mais que faire si quelqu'un n'est pas naturellement conscient? Peuvent-ils le devenir simplement en essayant de faire de la pleine conscience un «état d'esprit»? Ou peut-être à travers un effort plus ciblé et délibéré comme la méditation?

Pour découvrir, les chercheurs ont évalué les participants 68 pour la pleine conscience en utilisant un sondage scientifiquement validé. Les participants ont ensuite été assignés au hasard à participer à une méditation guidée audio 18-minute ou à écouter une présentation de contrôle sur la façon d'apprendre une nouvelle langue avant de voir des images négatives (comme un cadavre ensanglanté) pendant que leur activité cérébrale était enregistrée.

Les participants qui ont médité - ils avaient différents niveaux de pleine conscience naturelle - ont montré des niveaux similaires d'activité cérébrale «régulatrice des émotions» en tant que personnes avec des niveaux élevés de pleine conscience naturelle. En d'autres termes, leur cerveau émotionnel s'est rétabli rapidement après avoir vu les photos troublantes, gardant essentiellement leurs émotions négatives en échec.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


En outre, certains des participants ont reçu l'ordre de regarder «consciencieusement» les photos macabres (être dans un état d'esprit conscient) tandis que d'autres n'ont reçu aucune instruction de ce genre. Fait intéressant, les personnes qui ont regardé les photos «en pleine conscience» n'ont montré aucune meilleure capacité à contrôler leurs émotions négatives.

Cela suggère que pour les non-méditants, les bénéfices émotionnels de la pleine conscience pourraient être mieux atteints par la méditation plutôt que de la «forcer» comme état d'esprit, dit Jason Moser, professeur agrégé de psychologie clinique et coauteur de l'étude.

"Si vous êtes une personne naturellement consciente, et que vous vous promenez très au courant des choses, vous êtes prêt à partir. Tu perds tes émotions rapidement », dit-il.

"Si vous n'êtes pas naturellement conscient, alors la méditation peut vous faire ressembler à une personne qui marche avec beaucoup d'attention. Mais pour les gens qui ne sont pas naturellement conscients et qui n'ont jamais médité, se forcer à être conscient «dans le moment» ne fonctionne pas. Vous feriez mieux de méditer pour les minutes 20. "

La source: Michigan State University

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = méditation; maxresults = 3}

Meditation Calms You, Even If You’re Not Mindful

Meditation Calms You, Even If You’re Not Mindful

You don’t have to be a naturally mindful person to reap the emotional benefits of meditation.

When researchers recorded the brain activity of people looking at disturbing pictures immediately after meditating for the first time, the participants who weren’t mindful were able to tame their negative emotions just as well as participants who were naturally mindful.

“Forcing oneself to be mindful ‘in the moment’ doesn’t work. You’d be better off meditating for 20 minutes.”

“Our findings not only demonstrate that meditation improves emotional health, but that people can acquire these benefits regardless of their ‘natural’ ability to be mindful,” says Yanli Lin, a graduate student at Michigan State University and lead investigator of the study published in Frontiers in Human Neuroscience. “It just takes some practice.”

Mindfulness, a moment-by-moment awareness of one’s thoughts, feelings, and sensations, has gained worldwide popularity as a way to promote health and well-being. But what if someone isn’t naturally mindful? Can they become so simply by trying to make mindfulness a “state of mind”? Or perhaps through a more focused, deliberate effort like meditation?

To find out, researchers assessed 68 participants for mindfulness using a scientifically validated survey. The participants were then randomly assigned to engage in an 18-minute audio guided meditation or listen to a control presentation of how to learn a new language, before viewing negative pictures (such as a bloody corpse) while their brain activity was recorded.

The participants who meditated—they had varying levels of natural mindfulness—showed similar levels of “emotion regulatory” brain activity as people with high levels of natural mindfulness. In other words their emotional brains recovered quickly after viewing the troubling photos, essentially keeping their negative emotions in check.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In addition, some of the participants were instructed to look at the gruesome photos “mindfully” (be in a mindful state of mind) while others received no such instruction. Interestingly, the people who viewed the photos “mindfully” showed no better ability to keep their negative emotions in check.

This suggests that for non-meditators, the emotional benefits of mindfulness might be better achieved through meditation, rather than “forcing it” as a state of mind, says Jason Moser, associate professor of clinical psychology and coauthor of the study.

“If you’re a naturally mindful person, and you’re walking around very aware of things, you’re good to go. You shed your emotions quickly,” he says.

“If you’re not naturally mindful, then meditating can make you look like a person who walks around with a lot of mindfulness. But for people who are not naturally mindful and have never meditated, forcing oneself to be mindful ‘in the moment’ doesn’t work. You’d be better off meditating for 20 minutes.”

Source: Michigan State University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=meditation;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…