أينما نظرت ، أبحث هو المفتاح

أينما نظرت ، أبحث هو المفتاح

هناك قصة ظلت تظهر في عملي على مدى السنوات التي تجسد الكثير مما تعلمته عن كيفية تغيير الناس. إنها قصة خدمت عددًا من الوظائف المختلفة كما تصارع مع وجهات النظر العالمية المتنافسة أحيانًا للبوذية والعلاج النفسي ، ولكنها في النهاية تشير إلى الطريق نحو تكاملها.

إنها واحدة من حكايات نصر الدين ، وهو مزيج صوفى من رجل حكيم وأغبياء ، وقد تعرفت عليه في بعض الأحيان وبواسطة من أتعرض له في أوقات أخرى. لديه موهبة غريبة من كل من يعمل على ارتباكنا الأساسي وفي نفس الوقت يفتحنا إلى حكمتنا العميقة.

سمعت لأول مرة هذه القصة منذ سنوات عديدة من أحد معلمي التأمل الأول ، جوزيف غولدشتاين ، الذي استخدمها كمثال عن كيف يبحث الناس عن السعادة في مشاعر بطولية ، وبالتالي مشاعر غير مرضية.

نصر الدين ومفتاح لل

والقصة تدور حول كيف جاء بعض الناس على نصر الدين يلة واحدة تحبو على يديه وركبتيه تحت عمود إنارة.

"عما تبحث؟" سألوه.

"لقد فقدت مفتاح بيتي"، فأجاب.

كلهم نزلوا لمساعدته على النظر ، ولكن بعد وقت غير مثمر من البحث ، ظن أحدهم أن يسأله أين فقد المفتاح في المقام الأول.

واضاف "في البيت"، وأجاب نصر الدين.

"ثم لماذا تبحث تحت عمود المصباح؟" هو سئل.

أجاب نصر الدين: "لأن هناك المزيد من الضوء هنا".

أفترض أنني يجب أن أتعرف مع نصر الدين على اقتباس هذه القصة كثيرًا. البحث عن المفاتيح الخاصة بي هو شيء يمكنني فهمه. يجعلني على اتصال مع شعور من الغربة ، أو الشوق ، أن كان لي قليلا جدا في حياتي ، والشعور بأنني مساواة مع أغنية ريجية قديمة من قبل جيمي كليف تسمى "يجلس في ليمبو."

أبحث عن مفتاح

في كتابي الأول (خواطر بدون مفكر) ، لقد استخدمت المثل كوسيلة من الحديث عن التعلق الناس على العلاج النفسي ومخاوفهم من الروحانية. وتستخدم المعالجين إلى النظر في بعض الأماكن للحصول على مفتاح لتعاسة الناس، وأنا الحفاظ عليها. فهي مثل نصر الدين أبحث تحت عمود إنارة، في حين أنها قد تستفيد أكثر من النظر داخل منازلهم.

في كتابي القادم (الذهاب الى قطع بدون تتداعي) ، عدت إلى هذه القصة بشكل غير مباشر عندما وصفت قفل نفسي من سيارتي أثناء محاولتي مغادرة معتكف للتأمل الذي انتهيت منه للتو. كنت أعلم أنني أغلقت مفاتيح سيارتي في السيارة (كانت تسكن أمامي مباشرة ، من أجل الخير!) ، لكنني ما زلت أشعر بأنني مضطر للبحث عن مفاتيح المفاتيح فقط في حالة ما إذا كنت قد أنقذت بطريقة ما بأعجوبة.

كان إغلاق سيارتي ، مع تشغيله من دون لي ، يبدو وكأنه استعارة ملائمة لشيء أقرب إلى عنوان كتابي الأول ، أفكار من دون مفكر. شيء مثل سيارة بدون سائق ، أو في هذه الحالة ، سائق بدون سيارته.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بتواضع من عدم الكفاءة الخاصة بي ، شعرت أقرب إلى نصر الدين في ممرتي الثانية من خلال قصته. فبدلاً من رؤيته ببساطة في أسلوبه الحمقى ، كحاجز للمعالجين النفسيين الذين يبحثون في المكان الخطأ عن المفتاح ، شعرت بالتعاطف مع نصر الدين ، متحالف معه في البحث عن ما لم يكن يعلمه.

ما هي الرسالة؟

ولكن لم يكن الأمر كذلك إلا بعد مرور بعض الوقت ، عندما توصلت إلى القصة نفسها في عمل شخص آخر ، بحيث يمكنني أن أقدر ذلك بطريقة أخرى. في كتاب رائع بعنوان متناقضة زنقال لورانس شاينبرغ كيف أسر هذا المثل نفسه خياله لمدة عشر سنوات.

هو أيضا ، يعتقد أنه فهم ذلك. وخلص إلى أن المعنى الأخلاقي هو النظر إلى المكان الذي يوجد فيه الضوء لأن الظلام هو التهديد الوحيد. لكنه قرر يوماً ما أن يسأل سيده الياباني الشهير (الذي هو شخصية جذابة بشكل رائع كما وصفها Shainberg) لتفسيره.

"أنت تعرف قصة نصر الدين والمفتاح؟" سأله شاينبرغ سيده.

"نصر الدين؟" ورد روشي. "من هو نصر الدين؟"

بعد أن وصفه شاينبرغ القصة له ، يبدو أن سيده لم يفكر فيه ، ولكن في وقت ما في وقت لاحق رجعه روشي مرة أخرى.

"إذن يا لاري سان ، ماذا يقول نصر الدين؟" استجوب سيد زن تلميذه.

"طلبت منكم، روشي".

"سهلة"، قال. "يبحث هو المفتاح."

العثور على الذات أكثر واقعية

كان هناك شيء يبعث على الارتياح بشكل بارز حول هذه الإجابة ؛ إلى جانب وجود اللزوجة التي نتوقعها من زين ، جعلني أنظر إلى الوضع برمته بطريقة جديدة. ضرب روزي Shainberg في الظفر على الرأس.

لم يكن نشاط نصر الدين عبثا على الإطلاق. كان يتظاهر بشيء أساسي أكثر مما ظهر في البداية. كان المفتاح مجرد ذريعة لنشاط له مبرراته الخاصة. تطورت فرويد بطريقة واحدة للنظر ، واكتشف بوذا آخر. كان لديهم تشابهات مهمة واختلافات مميزة ، لكنهم كانوا مدفوعين بالحاجة إلى إيجاد طريقة أكثر واقعية في كونهم أكثر واقعية.

مقتطف بإذن من برودواي ، قسم من Random House، Inc.
جميع الحقوق محفوظة. لا يجوز إعادة إنتاج أي جزء من هذا المقتطف
أو إعادة طبعها دون إذن خطي من الناشر.

المادة المصدر

يجري ويجري من قبل ابشتاين مارك، دكتوراه في الطبالذهاب إلى الوجود: البوذية وطريقة التغيير
بقلم مارك ابشتاين، دكتوراه في الطب

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب

المزيد من الكتب من قبل ابشتاين مارك.

نبذة عن الكاتب

علامة إبستين، MDعلامة ابشتاين، دكتوراه في الطب، وهو مؤلف من أفكار من دون مفكر و الذهاب الى قطع بدون تتداعي طالما يجري ويجري. طبيب نفسي في عيادة خاصة، وقال انه يعيش في مدينة نيويورك. وقد كتب العديد من المقالات ل مجلة يوجا و O: مجلة أوبرا. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في http://markepsteinmd.com/

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

التنبؤ بمستقبل أزمة المناخ
هل بإمكانك توقع المستقبل؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

Wherever You Look, Looking is the Key

Wherever You Look, Looking is the Key

There is a story that has kept popping up in my work over the years that embodies much of what I have learned about how people change. It is a story that has served a number of different functions as I have wrestled with the sometimes competing worldviews of Buddhism and psychotherapy, but it ultimately points the way toward their integration.

It is one of the tales of Nasruddin, a Sufi amalgam of wise man and fool, with whom I have sometimes identified and by whom I have at other times been puzzled. He has the peculiar gift of both acting out our basic confusion and at the same time opening us up to our deeper wisdom.

I first heard this story many years ago from one of my first meditation teachers, Joseph Goldstein, who used it as an example of how people search for happiness in inherently fleeting, and therefore unsatisfactory, pleasant feelings.

Nasruddin & the Key

The story is about how some people came upon Nasruddin one night crawling around on his hands and knees under a lamppost.

"What are you looking for?" they asked him.

"I've lost the key to my house," he replied.

They all got down to help him look, but after a fruitless time of searching, someone thought to ask him where he had lost the key in the first place.

"In the house," Nasruddin answered.

"Then why are you looking under the lamppost?" he is asked.

"Because there is more light here," Nasruddin replied.

I suppose I must identify with Nasruddin to have quoted this story so often. Searching for my keys is something I can understand. It puts me in touch with a sense of estrangement, or yearning, that I had quite a bit of in my life, a feeling that I used to equate with an old reggae song by Jimmy Cliff called "Sitting in Limbo."

Looking for the Key

In my first book (Thoughts Without A Thinker), I used the parable as a way of talking about people's attachment to psychotherapy and their fears of spirituality. Therapists are used to looking in certain places for the key to people's unhappiness, I maintained. They are like Nasruddin looking under the lamppost, when they might profit more from looking inside their own homes.

In my next book (Going to Pieces Without Falling Apart), I returned to this story obliquely when I described locking myself out of my running car while trying to leave a meditation retreat that I had just finished. I knew I had locked my keys in the car (it was idling away right in front of me, for goodness sake!), but I still felt compelled to look on the ground for the keys just in case I might somehow be miraculously saved.

Being locked out of my car, with it running on without me, seemed like an apt metaphor for something akin to the title of my first book, Thoughts Without a Thinker. Something like a car without a driver, or, in this case, a driver without his car.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Humbled by my own ineptitude, I felt closer to Nasruddin in my second pass through his story. Rather than seeing him simply in his foolish mode, as a stand-in for psychotherapists looking in the wrong place for the key, I now felt sympathy for Nasruddin, allied with him searching in vain for what he knew was not there.

What is the Message?

But it was not until some time later, when I came upon the same story in someone else's work, that I could appreciate it in yet another way. In a marvelous book entitled Ambivalent Zen, Lawrence Shainberg told how this same parable captivated his imagination for ten years.

He, too, thought that he understood it. The moral, he concluded, is to look where the light is since darkness is the only threat. But he determined one day to ask his Japanese Zen master (who is a wonderfully engaging character as described by Shainberg) for his interpretation.

"You know the story about Nasruddin and the key?" Shainberg asked his master.

"Nasruddin?" the roshi replied. "Who is Nasruddin?"

After Shainberg described the story to him, his master appeared to give it no thought, but sometime later the Roshi brought it up again.

"So, Larry-san, what's Nasruddin saying?" the Zen master questioned his disciple.

"I asked you, Roshi."

"Easy," he said. "Looking is the key."

Finding a More Authentic Self

There was something eminently satisfying about this answer; besides having the pithiness that we expect from Zen, it made me look at the entire situation in a fresh way. Shainberg's roshi hit the nail on the head.

Nasruddin's activity was not in vain after all; he was demonstrating something more fundamental than initially appeared. The key was just a pretext for an activity that had its own rationale. Freud evolved one way of looking, and the Buddha discovered another. They had important similarities and distinctive differences, but they were each motivated by the need to find a more authentic way of being, a truer self.

Excerpted by permission of Broadway, a division of Random House, Inc.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced
or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Article Source

Going on Being by Mark Epstein, M.D.Going on Being: Buddhism and the Way of Change
by Mark Epstein, M.D.

Info/Order this book

More books by Mark Epstein.

About The Author

Mark Epstein, M.D.Mark Epstein, M.D., is the author of Thoughts Without a Thinker and Going to Pieces Without Falling Apart as well as Going on Being. A psychiatrist in private practice, he lives in New York City. He has written many articles for Yoga Journal and O: The Oprah Magazine. Visit his website at http://markepsteinmd.com/
 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}