لماذا يفقد الناس حقًا زيارات إلى الحانة

لماذا يفقد الناس حقًا زيارات إلى الحانة
عرض بصرف النظر / Shutterstock

لقد شهدت أحداث العام الماضي أ أثر مدمر في قطاع الضيافة في المملكة المتحدة. يأتي في مقدمة تضحيات الإغلاق بالنسبة للكثيرين إغلاق مؤسسة تمثل حجر الزاوية في الثقافة البريطانية - الحانة.

An يقدر بـ 2500 حانة مغلقة خلال عام 2020 ، متسارعة بالفعل الاتجاه الحالي قبل COVID-19. بينما أمثال المشاهير صاحب الحانة توم كيريدج وكاتب البيرة بيت براون قيادة الجهود لزيادة الوعي بمحنة الحانات البريطانية ، يجد الكثير من الناس أنفسهم شوق للجو الفريد من "المحلية" المفضلة لديهم.

أكثر ما يفتقده الناس في الحانات في الوقت الحالي ليس له علاقة بشراء الكحول وشربه - بعد كل شيء ، استمرت هذه العادات دون عوائق إلى حد كبير في شكل الشرب في المنزل. بدلاً من ذلك ، إنها فرصة للتواجد والتفاعل مع الآخرين.

يتم التعرف على الحانات على أنها أصول مهمة لمجتمعاتهم ، وتوفير الاقتصادية و مبلغ ذو قيمة على حد سواء. إنها أيضًا مثال ممتاز لما يسميه العالم الأمريكي راي أولدنبورغ "المكان الثالث" ، مساحة أخرى غير المنزل أو مكان العمل حيث يلتقي الناس للتفاعل والحفاظ على العلاقات.

كانت هذه المساحات ذات قيمة كبيرة ولكنها مهددة بشكل متزايد حتى قبل COVID-19 ، مع وجود الحانات ونوادي الشباب والمكتبات متأثرة بالفعل بسياسات التقشف والتغيرات التكنولوجية في السنوات الأخيرة. لكن الحانات المُدارة جيدًا تقدم شيئًا ما ، على الرغم من بعض الجهود الرائعة مثل الحانات الافتراضية، من الصعب إعادة إنشائه في المنزل: تجربة اجتماعية غير متصلة بالإنترنت حقًا.

التفاعل الاجتماعي

حتى قبل الوباء ، كانت الوحدة موجودة منتشر في بريطانيا.

من خلال التعاون مع حملة لإنهاء الوحدة، لقد بحثت في الدور الذي تلعبه الحانات في معالجة العزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة. ال التقرير الناتج يسلط الضوء على الدور الاجتماعي المهم الذي تلعبه الحانات في التقريب بين الناس وتعزيز التفاعل الاجتماعي الهادف والقيِّم. الحانات هي أكثر بكثير من مجرد شرب الخمر.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لماذا يفقد الناس حقًا زيارات إلى الحانةتميل المجموعات الأكثر عرضة لخطر العزلة والوحدة ، مثل الرجال الأكبر سنًا الذين يعيشون بمفردهم بعد التقاعد أو الطلاق ، إلى الاستفادة من الذهاب إلى الحانة. Radiokafka / شاترستوك

أجريت قبل الوباء ، بحثي يسلط الضوء على مجموعة متنوعة من التفاعل الاجتماعي التي جرت في الحانات. يتراوح هذا من "الباينت السريع" إلى وجبات الغداء مع الأصدقاء والعائلة المقربة كجزء من نزهات النهار ، أو للاحتفال بالاحتفالات.

بالنسبة للآخرين ، تضمنت أنشطة الحانة أنشطة مثل مجموعات الكتب ودروس الحرف و محادثات عامة، التي عرضت العديد من الحانات. تحدث عدد من المشاركين أيضًا عن زيارة الحانات بشكل متكرر ولكن نادرًا ما يشربون الكحول. بالنسبة لهؤلاء الأشخاص ، كان الشاي والقهوة الجيدان ومجموعة من المشروبات الغازية والطعام بأسعار جيدة من الأسباب لزيارة الحانة.

يساعد الجانب الاجتماعي للذهاب إلى الحانة على توفير فرص للتفاعل الاجتماعي المفيد ، والذي يكافح العديد من الأشخاص من مختلف الأعمار والخلفيات حاليًا للعثور عليه في مكان آخر. التفاعل وجها لوجه يساعد أيضا بناء صداقات والحفاظ عليها والروابط الاجتماعية التي تكون بمثابة حماية مهمة ضد الآثار الضارة للوحدة. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص بالنسبة للمجموعات الأكثر عرضة لخطر العزلة الاجتماعية والوحدة ، مثل كبار السن من الرجال العيش بمفرده بعد التقاعد أو الطلاق.

كما أخبرني أحد المتقاعدين في السبعينيات من عمره ، فإن رحلة إلى الحانة يمكن أن تمنحه فرصة "للتواجد مع الناس". هو قال:

لا يوجد شيء أحبه أفضل من القدرة على التحدث إلى الناس [...] ليس فقط عن الأشياء السخيفة ولكن بالضحك جيدًا ، كما تعلم ، بشكل عام ، إخراج نفسك مما كنت تفعله وما لم تفعله عمل.

تم تشبيه الوحدة المزمنة بـ a حلقة ردود فعل سلبية، حيث يؤدي القلق وفقدان الثقة الاجتماعية الناجم عن الشعور بالوحدة إلى تجنب الأوضاع الاجتماعية ، مما يؤدي إلى مزيد من العزلة. يمكن أن يساعد الذهاب إلى الحانة ، وهو نشاط اجتماعي نشط وممتع ، في خلق تعزيز إيجابي. زيادة التنشئة الاجتماعية تبني الثقة ، والتي بدورها تشجع المزيد من المشاركة في الأحداث الاجتماعية وأنشطة المجتمع المحلي.

لماذا يفقد الناس حقًا زيارات إلى الحانةلا يذهب الجميع إلى الحانة للحصول على فرصة لشرب الكحول. دميترو Zinkevych / Shutterstock

كما أخبرتني صاحبة منزل في حانة قروية ريفية ، فإن الأنشطة المتنوعة التي استضافتها الحانة كانت "تملأ فجوة" في قريتها ، التي كانت تفتقر إلى خيارات السكان للتفاعل والترابط. ووصفت مجموعات الحرف "الغرزة والثرثرة" التي أثبتت شعبيتها بين السكان المحليين ، وتذكرت كيف "لدينا سيدتان لم يسبق لهما القيام بأي أعمال حرفية من قبل و [إنهما] يتعلمان من الناس".

الضيافة التصالحية

تضيف النتائج التي توصلت إليها إلحاحًا جديدًا للمناقشات الأوسع نطاقًا حول أفضل السبل للحد من الآثار الضارة العديدة للعزلة الاجتماعية والشعور بالوحدة أو تخفيفها أو منعها. عندما يخف الوباء ، وفقط عندما يكون ذلك آمنًا ، سيكون من المهم تبني الدور الذي يمكن أن تلعبه هذه المساحات الاجتماعية. يمكن أن تبدأ الحانات في تقديم أشكال من "الضيافة التصالحية" ، حيث تساعد الحانات والأماكن الاجتماعية العامة الأخرى على إحياء الحياة الاجتماعية التي عطلها الوباء.

في حين أن الحانات ليست الأماكن الوحيدة التي من المحتمل أن تلعب هذا الدور ، فإنها تقدم مثالًا واضحًا على البنية التحتية الاجتماعية التي ستحتاج إلى الحفاظ عليها أو إعادة بنائها بعد الوباء. من أزقة البولينج إلى المقاهي ، فإن المساحات التي نجتمع فيها اجتماعيًا تساعد جميعها في بناء الروابط الاجتماعية والمحافظة عليها حيوية لإدارة الشعور بالوحدة.

إذا كانت هذه الأماكن تقدم هذه الخدمات ، فمن المهم أن تتذكر أن موظفي الحانة المهرة وذوي الخبرة بارعون في إنشاء مقدمات بين العملاء تسهل التفاعل الاجتماعي وتساعد على إقامة اتصالات لم تكن لتحدث بخلاف ذلك.

بعد الوباء ، عندما يمكن إعادة فتح الحانات بأمان ، سيكون قطاع الضيافة أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى يتلقى الدعم والاعتراف. سماع غاب كثيرا سيكون صوت الضحك مع الأصدقاء مرة أخرى خطوة مهمة في تعافي كل من الناس والمجتمعات.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

توماس ثورنيل ريد ، محاضر أول في علم الاجتماع ، جامعة لوبورو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الإلهام اليومي

صورة لامرأة تحمل بيضتين ملونتين ، مع نظرة مندهشة على وجهها
الإلهام اليومي: 27 فبراير 2021
في القرن السابع عشر ، ابتكر الفيلسوف الفرنسي رينيه ديكارت "شرحًا لكل شيء": أعتقد ، إذن أنا ...
02 26 فيديو من القتال إلى الانسجام
الإلهام اليومي: 26 فبراير 2020
كبشر يبدو أننا إما نتحرك نحو شيء ما ، أو نبتعد عن شيء آخر. هذه هي عقلية الانطلاق التي نتبعها لإنجاز الأشياء أو تحقيق الأهداف.
مفتاح مع البوصلة والعملات المعدنية وخريطة العالم القديم
الإلهام اليومي: 25 فبراير 2021
يجب أن نكون على دراية بما نطلبه حقًا ، سواء بوعي أو بغير وعي. الرهانات عالية جدا ونحن نملك المفتاح.

Why People Are Really Missing Visits To The Pub

Why People Are Really Missing Visits To The Pub
View Apart/Shutterstock

The events of the past year have had a devastating impact on the hospitality sector in the UK. At the forefront of lockdown’s sacrifices for many is the closure of an institution that is a cornerstone of british culture – the pub.

An estimated 2500 pubs closed during 2020, accelerating an already existing trend prior to COVID-19. While the likes of celebrity pub owner Tom Kerridge and beer writer Pete Brown lead efforts to raise awareness about the plight of Britain’s pubs, many people find themselves longing for the unique atmosphere of their favourite “local”.

What people miss most about pubs right now has little to do with buying and drinking alcohol – after all, those habits have continued largely unhindered in the form of home drinking. Instead, it’s the opportunity to be around and interact with other people.

Pubs are recognised as important assets to their communities, providing economic and social value alike. They’re also an excellent example of what the American scholar Ray Oldenburg calls the “third place”, a space other than the home or workplace where people meet to interact and maintain relationships.

These spaces were hugely valuable but increasingly under threat even before COVID-19, with the existance of pubs, youth clubs and libraries already impacted by recent years of austerity policies and technological changes. But well-run pubs offer something that, in spite of some admirable efforts like virtual pubs, is difficult to recreate at home: a truly offline, in-person social experience.

Social interaction

Even before the pandemic, loneliness was widespread in Britain.

Through a collaboration with the Campaign to End Loneliness, I’ve been researching the role that pubs play in tackling social isolation and loneliness. The resulting report highlights the important social role that pubs play in bringing people together and fostering meaningful and valuable social interaction. Pubs are about much more than getting drunk.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Why People Are Really Missing Visits To The PubGroups most at risk of isolation and loneliness, such as older men living alone after retirement or divorce, tend to benefit from going to the pub. Radiokafka/Shutterstock

Conducted before the pandemic, my research highlights the variety of social interaction that took place in pubs. This ranges from the “swift pint” to leisurely lunches with friends and close family as part of daytime outings, or to mark celebrations.

For others, pub going involved activities such as book groups, craft classes and public talks, which many pubs offered. A number of participants also spoke of visiting pubs frequently but rarely drinking alcohol. For these people, good tea and coffee, a range of soft drinks and well-priced food were reasons to visit the pub.

The social aspect of going to the pub helps to provide opportunities for beneficial social interaction, which many people of different ages and backgrounds currently struggle to find elsewhere. Face-to-face interaction also helps to build and maintain friendships and social connections that serve as important protection against the harmful effects of loneliness. This is particularly true for groups most at risk of social isolation and loneliness, such as older men living alone after retirement or divorce.

As one retiree in his 70s told me, a trip to the pub could give him the chance of “being with people”. He said:

There’s nothing I like better than being able to talk to people […] not just about silly things but having a good laugh and, you know, generally speaking, bringing yourself out of what you’ve been doing and what you haven’t been doing.

Chronic loneliness has been likened to a negative feedback loop, where the anxiety and loss of social confidence caused by feeling lonely leads to avoiding social settings, resulting in further isolation. Going to the pub, a socially active and pleasurable activity, can help to create positive reinforcement. Increased socialising builds confidence, which in turn encourages further involvement in social events and local community activities.

Why People Are Really Missing Visits To The PubNot everyone goes to the pub for the chance to drink alcohol. Dmytro Zinkevych/Shutterstock

As the landlady of a rural village pub told me, the varied activities the pub hosted were “filling a gap” in her village, which otherwise lacked options for residents to interact and bond. Describing the “stitch and natter” craft groups that had proved popular with local residents, she recalled how “we’ve got a couple of ladies that have never done any crafting before and [they are] learning off people”.

Restorative hospitality

My findings add new urgency to the wider debates about how best to limit, mitigate or prevent the many damaging effects of social isolation and loneliness. When the pandemic eases, and only when it is safe to do so, it will be important to embrace the role that such social spaces can play. Pubs could even start to offer forms of “restorative hospitality”, where pubs and other public social spaces help to rekindle the social lives disrupted by the pandemic.

While pubs are not the only venues that will likely play this role, they do offer a clear example of the social infrastructure that will need to be preserved or rebuilt following the pandemic. From bowling alleys to cafes, the spaces where we come together socially all help build and maintain the social connections that are vital to managing loneliness.

If these venues are to offer these services, it’s important to remember that skilled and experienced pub staff are adept at creating introductions between customers that facilitate social interaction and help forge connections that might not otherwise have occurred.

After the pandemic, when pubs can safely reopen, it will be more important than ever that the hospitality sector receives support and recognition. Hearing the much missed sound of laughter with friends once more will be an important step in the recovery for both people and communities.The Conversation

About The Author

Thomas Thurnell-Read, Senior Lecturer in Sociology, Loughborough University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...
InnerSelf.com Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
When we think of greed, we usually think about money and material possessions. However, greed can…

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
image of a girl looking into a gloomy forest but with light ray shining through
Changing Your Nightmares or Fearful Dreams Into Pleasant Experiences
by Serge Kahili King
The following sentence is the most important thing I have to say about dreams and dreaming: AFTER A…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.