8 طرق شائعة يتصرف بها الناس في الأزمات - من الحرب الباردة إلى كوفيد -19

8 طرق شائعة يتصرف بها الناس في الأزمات - من الحرب الباردة إلى كوفيد -19
أحد ردود الفعل الأكثر شيوعًا أثناء الأزمة هو الرغبة في مساعدة الآخرين. هنا يشاهد أحد العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية أن الجرعات الأولى من لقاح Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 يتم تسليمها إلى منشأة رعاية طويلة الأجل في مونتريال.
الصحافة الكندية / ريان ريميورز

قبل عام ، في يناير 2020 ، كان العالم قد بدأ للتو في التعرف على فيروس غامض كان يقتل الناس في مدينة ووهان الصينية. في حين أن جائحة الفيروس التاجي الذي أعقب ذلك كان غير مسبوق في الأوقات الحالية ، من الواضح أن التجربة البشرية مع الكوارث والأزمات ليست جديدة.

بصفتي أكاديميًا يُدرِّس برامج إدارة الكوارث ، فقد درست كيف يتفاعل الناس أثناء أنواع مختلفة من الكوارث. هناك أنماط شائعة في الطرق التي يجتمع بها الأشخاص للاستجابة لهذه الأنواع من الأحداث - بغض النظر عما إذا كان المحفز هو خطر طبيعي ، من الناحية التكنولوجية أو من صنع الإنسان.

خلال الحرب الباردة ، أدت المخاوف في الولايات المتحدة بشأن انهيار النظام الاجتماعي والذعر المنتشر في حالة وقوع هجوم بالقنبلة الذرية إلى دراسة السلوك البشري في حالات الضغط الجماعي.

أساطير حول الانهيارات الاجتماعية

أساطير حول الانهيار الاجتماعي خلال الكوارث لا تزال سائدة ولا تزال المستخدمة من قبل وسائل الإعلام لتأطير الاستجابة المجتمعية لأنواع معينة من الأزمات ، ولكن الطريقة التي يستجيب بها الناس في الواقع هي في المقام الأول مؤيد اجتماعي.

عندما تتأثر المجتمعات بالأحداث التي تهدد الحياة والسلامة ، فإن الاستجابة تكون مميزة بـ تقارب الناس والمعلومات والمواد.

يرتبط كل نوع من الأنواع الثمانية الشائعة التالية من السلوكيات استجابة المواطن للأزمات والكوارث الماضية شوهد أيضًا خلال جائحة COVID-19 في جميع أنحاء العالم. السلوكيات ليست متبادلة ، لكنها تعكس دوافع مختلفة.

أشخاص من كولومبيا يرتدون ملابس واقية ينتظرون حافلة نقل تابعة لشركة تأجير السيارات بعد وصولهم إلى مطار فانكوفر الدولي.
أشخاص من كولومبيا يرتدون ملابس واقية ينتظرون حافلة نقل تابعة لشركة تأجير السيارات بعد وصولهم إلى مطار فانكوفر الدولي.
الصحافة الكندية / داريل دايك


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


  1. مساعدة: استجابةً لمعاناة الآخرين ، يتواصل الناس للمساعدة طرق لا تعد ولا تحصى. وقد تضمنت أعمال الإيثار أثناء الوباء إنشاء "التبخير"و" مجموعات المساعدة المتبادلة للمساعدة في تلبية مجموعة من الاحتياجات الأساسية ، بما في ذلك المبادرات الإبداعية معدات الحماية الشخصية, المطهر اليد و مراوح. مع الوباء ، نواجه جميعًا نفس التهديد ، وكذلك الناس أيضًا اتخذت إجراءات للمساعدة في الحد من انتشار الفيروس عن طريق يرتدون أقنعة, إبعاد اجتماعي و العمل من المنزل حيثما أمكن.

  2. القلق: لقد كان القلق زادت خلال الجائحة لأسباب مختلفة. قيود الزائر التي تمنع أفراد الأسرة من رؤية أحبائهم في المستشفيات أو دور الرعاية السكنية أو طويلة الأجل ، وكذلك القلق بشأن الظروف في دور الرعاية ، قد تسببت في قلق الكثيرين. ال استخدام التكنولوجيا كان حاسما في المساعدة على إعادة إقامة الاتصال وجها لوجه أو اللفظي بين أولئك الذين انفصلوا لمعالجة عدم اليقين والمخاطر ، تم تطوير أدوات لمساعدة الناس على اتخاذ القرار إذا كانت آمنة للزيارة شخص ما أثناء الوباء ، أو إذا كان يجب إخراج أحد أفراد الأسرة من تقاعد or دار رعاية طويلة الأمد.

  3. الإخلاء / العودة: الأحداث التي تسبب دمارًا ماديًا غالبًا ما تؤدي إلى إجلاء الأشخاص من المنطقة المتضررة. في حين أن الوباء لم يدمر البنية التحتية المادية في المجتمعات ، إلا أنه فعل ذلك تحريك الهجرة. انتقل الناس إلى تقليل مخاطر التعرض للفيروس أو بسبب الآثار غير المباشرة للوباء ، بما في ذلك إغلاق الجامعات و فقدان الوظيفة أو الدخل. كان من المقرر أن تكون العديد من الحركات مع العائلة في المجتمعات الأخرى. من السابق لأوانه معرفة عدد الذين انتقلوا في نهاية المطاف.

  4. دعم: غالبًا ما يعرب الناس عن دعمهم وامتنانهم لأولئك الذين كانوا جزءًا من جهود الاستجابة الرسمية. عبارات الدعم للرعاية الصحية والعاملين الأساسيين الآخرين ، خاصة في الأشهر الأولى من الجائحة. وشملت أشكال الدعم ضجيجا على الأواني والمقالي في وقت محدد كل يوم ، وضع اللافتات في النوافذ, معالم الإضاءة و تسليط الضوء على قصصهم. كما تم تقديم شكر خاص لهذه المجموعات كسائقي شاحنات الذين استمروا في ضمان حركة البضائع عبر الحدود.

  5. كونها فضولية: يشعر الناس بالفضول حيال التهديدات التي تتعرض لها السلامة الشخصية والتي تقع خارج نطاق تجربتهم المعيشية ، مع إثارة الاهتمام من خلال حداثة الحدث والرغبة في فهم الموقف. الفضول حول التهديد والآثار المحتملة يؤدي إلى سلوكيات البحث عن المعلومات، حيث تتأثر طريقة الحصول على المعلومات بالقرب من منطقة التأثير. خلال الأشهر الأولى لانتشار COVID-19 ، تحول الناس إلى الأنترنيت، بالإضافة إلى وسائل الإعلام التقليدية والاجتماعية ، للتعرف على ما كان يحدث في ووهان - ثم إيطاليا ودول أخرى. نظرًا لأن الانتشار العالمي للفيروس جعل التهديد أقرب إلى الوطن ، الناس سعى للحصول على المعلومات حول ما كان معروفًا عن انتقال COVID-19 والإجراءات الوقائية التي يمكن اتخاذها.

  6. تشهد: يشهد الأشخاص الذين يشهدون حدثًا على ما حدث. تقاسم هذه أنواع الخبرات المباشرة تم تمكينه من خلال الاستخدام في كل مكان للهواتف المحمولة ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. شهود مواطن تلعب دورًا فريدًا عندما توفر الوصول إلى المواقع التي لا توجد بها وسائط تقليدية. صحفيون مواطنون في الصين قام بمخاطر كبيرة لمشاركة صور آثار فيروس كورونا الجديد في ووهان عبر يوتيوب. قصص من الأطباء و كالممرضات في الخطوط الأمامية للاستجابة في إيطاليا ودول أخرى ، قدمت تحذيرات للآخرين حول آثار الفيروس على الأشخاص وأولئك الذين يعتنون بهم. تسمح لنا هذه الروايات المباشرة بأن نصبح شاهدًا غير مباشر على حدث ما ، مع قسوة شهادات الشهود التي تولد استجابة عاطفية، والذي يصبح بعد ذلك دافعًا لأفعال أخرى.

  7. الحداد: تسبب الوباء في خسائر كبيرة في الأرواح. القيود محدودة كيف يمكن للناس التجمع للحداد و أثرت على عملية الحزن. تم الاهتمام بإيجاد طرق أخرى للحزن. الأشكال العامة لإحياء الذكرى قد تضمنت أحداثًا مثل احتفالات على ضوء الشموع من السيارة، بالإضافة إلى النصب التذكارية التي تم إنشاؤها باستخدام الصلبان, الأعلاموالصور والزهور لتمثيل وتكريم أولئك الذين ماتوا. كما تم إنشاء نصب تذكارية افتراضية للتعرف عليها عمال الرعاية الصحية والمواطنين الذي مات من COVID-19.

  8. استغلال: في حين أن معظم السلوكيات في الكوارث والأزمات مؤيدة للمجتمع ، هناك أشخاص يستفيدون من حالة الأزمات لتحقيق مكاسب شخصية. وشملت أمثلة لاستغلال السلوكيات في وقت مبكر من الوباء اكتناز معدات الحماية الشخصية و المطهر اليدبقصد إعادة البيع لتحقيق مكاسب كبيرة. خلال الأشهر الأولى للوباء ، أدى ارتفاع الطلب ومحدودية المخزون أو سلاسل التوريد المعطلة إلى التسعير الاستغلالي لبعض المنتجات.

عن المؤلفالمحادثة

جان سليك ، أستاذ مشارك ، إدارة الكوارث والطوارئ ، الجامعة الملكية الطرق

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

8 Common Ways People Behave In A Crisis -- From The Cold War To Covid-19

8 Common Ways People Behave In A Crisis -- From The Cold War To Covid-19
One of the most common reactions during a crisis is the urge to help others. Here a health-care worker watches as the first doses of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine are delivered to a long-term care facility in Montréal.
THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz

A year ago, in January 2020, the world was just starting to learn about a mysterious virus that was killing people in the Chinese city of Wuhan. While the ensuing coronavirus pandemic was unprecedented in current times, human experience with disasters and crises is obviously not new.

As an academic who teaches disaster management programs, I’ve studied how people react during different types of disasters. There are common patterns in the ways people come together to respond to these kinds of events — regardless of whether the trigger was a natural hazard, technologically based or human-caused.

During the Cold War, fears in the U.S. about the breakdown of social order and widespread panic in the event of an atomic bomb attack led to the study of human behaviours in situations of collective stress.

Myths about social breakdowns

Myths about social breakdown during disasters still prevail and continue to be used by media to frame societal response to certain types of crises, but the way that people actually respond is primarily pro-social.

When communities are impacted by events that threaten life and safety, the response is typified by the convergence of people, information and materials.

Each of the following eight common types of behaviours associated with citizen response to past crises and disasters have also been seen during the COVID-19 pandemic across the globe. The behaviours are not mutually exclusive, but do reflect different motivations.

People from Colombia wearing protective gear wait for a car rental company shuttle after arriving at Vancouver International Airport.
People from Colombia wearing protective gear wait for a car rental company shuttle after arriving at Vancouver International Airport.
THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck


 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 


  1. Helping: In response to the suffering of others, people reach out to help in myriad ways. Altruistic actions during the pandemic have included the establishment of “caremongering” and mutual aid groups to help meet a range of basic needs, including creative initiatives to make personal protective equipment, hand sanitizer and ventilators. With the pandemic, we all are facing the same threat, and so people have also taken action to help reduce the spread of the virus by wearing masks, social distancing and working from home where possible.

  2. Being anxious: Anxiety has been heightened during the pandemic for different reasons. Visitor restrictions that keep family members from seeing loved ones in hospitals or residential or long-term care homes, as well as worry about the conditions in care homes, has created anxiety for many. The use of technology has been critical in helping to re-establish face-to-face or verbal contact between those who have been separated. To address uncertainty and risk, tools were developed to help people decide if it is safe to visit someone during the pandemic, or if a family member should be taken out of a retirement or long-term care home.

  3. Evacuating/Returning: Events that cause physical destruction often result in the evacuation of people from the affected area. While the pandemic did not destroy physical infrastructure in communities, it did trigger migration. People moved to reduce their risk of exposure to the virus or because of indirect impacts of the pandemic, including university closure and job or income loss. Many of the moves were to be with family in other communities. It is too early to tell how many of those who moved will eventually return.

  4. Supporting: People often express support and gratitude to those who were part of the formal response effort. Expressions of support for health care and other essential workers were evident, particularly in the early months of the pandemic. Forms of support included banging on pots and pans at a set time each day, putting signs in windows, lighting landmarks and highlighting their stories. Special thanks were also given to groups such as truckers who continued to ensure movement of goods across borders.

  5. Being curious: People are curious about threats to personal safety that are outside the realm of their lived experience, with interest being sparked by the novelty of an event and a desire to make sense of the situation. Curiosity about a threat and potential impacts leads to information-seeking behaviours, with the method of getting information being influenced by the proximity to an impact zone. During the early months of the spread of COVID-19, people turned to the internet, as well as traditional and social media, to learn about what was happening in Wuhan — and then Italy and other countries. As the global spread of the virus brought the threat closer to home, people sought information about what was known about transmission of COVID-19 and preventative actions that could be taken.

  6. Witnessing: People who witness an event bear testimony to what took place. Sharing of these kinds of first-hand experiences has been enabled by the ubiquitous use of cell phones and social media. Citizen witnesses play a unique role when they provide access to sites where traditional media is not present. Citizen journalists in China took significant risks to share images of the impacts of the novel coronavirus in Wuhan via YouTube. Stories from doctors and nurses on the front lines of the response in Italy and other countries provided warnings to others about the impacts of the virus on people and those caring for them. These first-hand accounts allow us to become a second-hand witness to an event, with the rawness of witness testimonies generating an affective response, which then becomes a motive for other actions.

  7. Mourning: The pandemic has caused a significant loss of life. Restrictions have limited how people can gather to mourn and affected the grieving process. Attention has been given to finding other ways to mourn. Public forms of memorialization have included events such as drive-through candlelight ceremonies, as well as place based memorials created using crosses, flags, photos and flowers to represent and honour those who have died. Virtual memorials have also been created to recognize health-care workers and citizens who died from COVID-19.

  8. Exploiting: While most behaviours in disasters and crises are pro-social, there are people who take advantage of a crisis situation for personal gain. Examples of exploiting behaviours early in the pandemic included hoarding personal protective equipment and hand sanitizer, with the intent of reselling for substantial gain. During the early months of the pandemic, high demand and limited stock or disrupted supply chains led to exploitive pricing for some products.

About the AuthorThe Conversation

Jean Slick, Associate Professor, Disaster and Emergency Management, Royal Roads University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
by Lawrence Doochin
We each have a choice, and let's be clear what that choice is. Martin Luther King Jr. told us that…
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Just as adults benefit from talking about their challenges with friends or a therapist, many…
From Dirt to Soil: Life's Manure Makes For Excellent Growth Potential
From Dirt to Soil: Life's Manure Makes For Excellent Growth Potential
by Alan Cohen
If you or I had met Joe during his risqué comedy stint, we might have judged him as a crude or…
Increasing Healthy Assertiveness and Practicing Assertive Communication
Increasing Healthy Assertiveness and Practicing Assertive Communication
by Tina Gilbertson
Each of us has thoughts, feelings, opinions, preferences, and needs that won’t necessarily jibe…
Horoscope Week: April 5 - 11, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 5 - 11, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
10 Reasons Why Men Suffer
10 Reasons Why Men Suffer
by Barry Vissell
I recently finished leading an online men's retreat. Every one of us got deeply vulnerable and,…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Are We Entering The Age of the Holy Spirit?
Are We Entering The Age of the Holy Spirit?
by Richard Smoley
The priests of the Age of the Father, whose job centered on sacrifice, would probably not have…

MOST READ

The First Rule for Meditation Success: Don't Be Ruled by What Others Do
The First Rule for Meditation Success: Don't Be Ruled by What Others Do
by J. Donald Walters
How long should you meditate? The first rule is, Don't be ruled by what others do. What works well…
The Very Strange History Of The Easter Bunny
The Very Strange History of the Easter Bunny
by Katie Edwards, University of Sheffield
While you’re biting the heads off your chocolate bunnies this weekend, you might wonder how cartoon…
Are We Entering The Age of the Holy Spirit?
Are We Entering The Age of the Holy Spirit?
by Richard Smoley
The priests of the Age of the Father, whose job centered on sacrifice, would probably not have…
Pluto: Our Inner Darkness Before the Dawn
Pluto: Our Inner Darkness Before the Dawn
by Isabel Hickey
Connecting astrology and mythology, Pluto represents the underworld of the unconscious. It is an…
The Number Zero (0) In Your Life with Some Help from Healing Stones
The Number Zero (0) In Your Life with Some Help from Healing Stones
by Editha Wuest and Sabine Schieferle
The American mathematician Robert Kaplan once said: “If you look at zero you see nothing; but look…
Believe In Your Genius: Give Yourself a Reputation to Live Up To!
Believe In Your Genius: Give Yourself a Reputation to Live Up To!
by Alan Cohen
Perhaps early in life you adopted a thought about yourself that defined you as small, ugly,…
Twin Study Shows Spanking Can Lead To Antisocial Behavior
Twin Study Shows Spanking Can Lead To Antisocial Behavior
by Esther Robards, UT Austin
We found no evidence to support a genetic explanation," says Alexandra Burt. "The differences in…
Why Is The Moon Bright? Your Moon Questions Answered by an Astronomer
Why Is The Moon Bright? Your Moon Questions Answered by an Astronomer
by Jonti Horner, University of Southern Queensland
As someone teaching first-year astronomy at the moment, where much time is spent discussing the…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.