ما يمكن أن تعلمنا عنه تشيرنوبيل حول التهديد غير المرئي لفيروس كورونا

ما يمكن أن تعلمنا عنه تشيرنوبيل حول التهديد غير المرئي لفيروس كورونا تشيرنوبيل وكويد 19: عندما يكون التهديد في الهواء ، تتنفس. أوندريج بوسك / شاترستوك

بينما نخرج ببطء من عمليات الإغلاق التي تفرضها الحكومة ، نجد أنفسنا مضطرين إلى إعادة التفاوض بشأن بعض الأماكن التي كانت مألوفة لنا أكثر من المعتاد. تحمل المتاجر والمراكز المجتمعية ووسائل النقل العام جميعها الآن تهديدًا غير مرئي: فقد تكون الأسطح ملوثة ، ويمكن استنشاق الجسيمات المحمولة جواً.

لقد تغيرت طريقة تحركنا داخل هذه المساحات. ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى لوائح السلامة المصممة لفرض المسافة ، وجزئيًا إلى إدراكنا الشخصي للتهديد.

منذ أن دخلت عمليات الإغلاق حيز التنفيذ ، شاركت في رعاية مئة كلمة عزلة مشروع ، وجمع ونشر الاستجابات الأدبية العالمية للوباء وتأثيره على حياتنا اليومية. تكشف الكتابة عن تزايد الاستجابات العاطفية للأنشطة الدنيوية في جميع أنحاء العالم. لقد تغير سلوكنا استجابة لتهديد لا نستطيع رؤيته ، ولكنه قد يقتلنا مع ذلك.

"العدو في الخارج" ، ميغا نايار كتب من الهند في أبريل. "ولذا فإننا نتجمع في الداخل ، وننسى ، في الوقت الحاضر ، كيف تبدو الشمس والقمر."

من تشيرنوبيل إلى COVID-19

ليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يضطر فيها مجتمع كبير من الناس إلى التفاوض على خطر غير مرئي. عندما كارثة محطة تشيرنوبيل للطاقة النووية حدث في عام 1986 ، انتشر الإشعاع عبر مناطق واسعة من أوروبا. آلاف السكان تم إجلاؤهم وأصبحوا مرضى.

في ذلك الوقت ، اختلفت الاستجابات للتلوث. بالنسبة الى شهادة الشخص الأول جمعت من قبل الصحافية البيلاروسية سفيتلانا أليكسيفيتش ، قالت إحدى السكان إنها "غسلت المنزل ، وبيضت الموقد ... كل ذلك حتى نتمكن من العودة." وكشفت أخرى ، "ابنتي اتبعتني حول الشقة ومسحت مقبض الباب ، الكرسي". كافح آخرون لتصديق الخطر. "قالوا إن المياه كانت" قذرة. كيف يمكن أن تكون قذرة عندما تكون نظيفة؟ "

خلال بلدي بحوث الدكتوراه قمت بزيارة تشيرنوبيل لدراسة الاستجابات العاطفية والسلوكية التي يشكلها الناس للأخطار غير المحسوسة التي لا تزال موجودة حتى اليوم. هذه تشبه كيف يستجيب الناس لوباء الفيروس التاجي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


نحن قلقون من لمس الأشياء ، لذلك نتجنبها. نحن واعون بشدة بقربنا من الأسطح والتلوث المحتمل ، ونتحرك بشكل مختلف للتعويض. نحن خائفون من دخول الجسيمات غير المرئية في الهواء. نلاحظ تنفسنا ، نحبس أنفاسنا أو نشعر بضيق التنفس. الأغطية الواقية تجعلنا نشعر بالأمان (حتى إذا لم يتم استخدامها بشكل صحيح أو لم يثبت أنها تعمل). ونحن نقبل أننا قد نتعرض للأذى حتى بعد توخي الحذر.

على سبيل المثال ، قد نفكر: "أحتاج إلى التسوق ، سأكون حذراً ، ولكن يجب أن أقبل مخاطرة طفيفة." يسمح لنا هذا القبول بالتنقل في البيئة ، حتى وإن كان بعناية وحذر ، لإكمال أهدافنا.

في حالة تشيرنوبيل ، سمح لنا مرور الوقت بالتفاوض على الفضاء للمرة الثانية. الموقع الآن مقصد سياحيمما يمنح الناس فرصة لاستكشاف القرى المهجورة والتي لا تزال مشعة خلفها.

هؤلاء السياح يبحثون بنشاط عن التجربة التي نتفاوض عليها الآن جميعًا: الخطر غير المرئي. في هذه الحالة ، تذهب عملية التفكير: "أريد أن أرى هذا المكان ، سأكون حذراً ، ولكن يجب أن أقبل مخاطرة طفيفة".

إن تقييم المخاطر في تشيرنوبيل اليوم قصير الأجل ويمكن أن يكون مثيرًا. ولكن في حالة COVID-19 ، فإنه مستمر ويمكن أن يكون محزنًا ومرهقًا.

الجغرافيا النفسية للفيروس التاجي

يتم استدعاء فحص كيف تجعلنا الأماكن نشعر ونتصرف الجغرافيا النفسيةوهو مصطلح صاغه الفنان السياسي جاي ديبورد في الستينيات. يتم استخدامه بشكل عام لاستكشاف كيف يؤثر التخطيط الحضري على عواطف وحركات الناس. ولكن من الصعب تطبيقه عندما يكون هناك جانب غير مرئي من المكان ، مثل الجراثيم المعنية.

بدون إدخال حسي مثل الزجاج المكسور أو الدخان للدلالة على الخطر ، من الصعب تقييم المخاطر. في بعض الأحيان يمكننا الاعتماد على التكنولوجيا - على سبيل المثال ، الجرعات المستخدمة في تشيرنوبيل لتسجيل مستويات الإشعاع - لتقييم الخطر بشكل أكثر دقة ؛ خلاف ذلك ، فإن المخاطر غير المرئية هي مفاهيمية بحتة. بعد ذلك ، يستند تقييم المخاطر الشخصية إلى الفهم الثقافي المشترك ، والمعرفة العامة بالإشعاع أو العدوى ، وتعليمات الخبراء.

هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى ردود متنوعة بشكل كبير. في أحد طرفي الطيف هناك شرنقة ، عبرت عنها الروائية المقيمة في إدنبرة Cherise Saywell إسهام إلى مئة كلمة عزلة، حيث تكتب عن التخلي عن الأحذية تمامًا:

لقد وضعت حذائي في الهواء الطلق. حذائي الجلدي مع الأدوات المنقوشة لم تعد مطلوبة ، ولا الصنادل ذات الكعب العالي ، ولا حتى الأحذية ذات الكعب العالي السوداء التي وضعتها للاجتماعات عندما أردت أن أبدو وكأنني أعرف كل ما أحتاج إلى معرفته.

في الطرف الآخر من الطيف ، هناك كسر للقواعد ، حيث يقدر أولئك الذين لا يثقون في سياسة الحكومة تجربتهم الخاصة ورغبتهم في الحياة الطبيعية على البيانات العلمية المتطورة.

تستند أسباب كسر قواعد السلامة في تجاربنا الاجتماعية والثقافية. قد ينتمي أولئك الذين ينتمون إلى خلفيات ذات امتيازات ثقافية ممكّنة ثقافياً إلى الانتهاك الواضح لـ "حقوقهم" ، كما يُرى في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث تتجمع حشود من المتظاهرون المحاصرون قد اقتحمت مباني الكابيتول يطالبون بالحق في قصة شعر.

في تناقض صارخ ، بعد كارثة تشيرنوبيل المستوطنين الذاتي عادوا إلى منازلهم داخل منطقة الاستبعاد على الرغم من المخاطر. كانت أفعالهم متجذرة في صدمة النزوح ، والهروب من التمييز ، والارتباط المكثف بمناظر أجدادهم ، والحاجة إلى الشعور بالأمان في المنزل.

اليوم ، قد نقيم مقارنات بين الجغرافيا النفسية المعقدة التي تلعب في تشيرنوبيل "الملاحقون"اقتحام منطقة الاستبعاد (وطن أجدادهم) لتناول الطعام وشرب المياه التي قد تكون ملوثة بالإشعاع كوسيلة لاستعادة المساحة ، و الشباب كسر قيود التأمين للعيش في المساحات المجتمعية مع الأصدقاء - آلية للتكيف استجابة لمخاوف COVID-19.

ينطوي كل من البقاء في الداخل إلى أجل غير مسمى وكسر قواعد التأمين على الرغبة في السيطرة على خطر غير مرئي ويؤدي إلى صراعات داخلية ومخاوف بشأن العواقب. هذه استجابات نفسية جغرافية قوية لبيئات مألوفة تركز على الملكية وإحساسنا بالانتماء.

بينما تستمر عمليات الإغلاق في التطور ، وتواجه بعض البلدان احتمال حدوث موجة ثانية ، فإن عواطفنا وسلوكياتنا ستتطور معهم. قد يكون الجغرافيا النفسية هو المفتاح لتمكيننا بينما نتفاوض على هذا التغيير. وقد يساعدنا ذلك على التذكر - لقد تفاوضنا بشأن التهديدات غير المرئية من قبل.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

فيليبا هولواي ، أستاذ مشارك في الأدب الإنجليزي والكتابة الإبداعية ، جامعة إيدج هيل

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
by آنا يورجنسن وجيك م. روبنسون

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

What Chernobyl Can Teach Us About The Invisible Threat Of Coronavirus

What Chernobyl Can Teach Us About The Invisible Threat Of Coronavirus Chernobyl and COVID-19: when the threat is in the air you breathe. Ondrej Bucek/Shutterstock

As we slowly emerge from government-imposed lockdowns, we find ourselves forced to renegotiate some of the spaces that used to be the most familiar to us. Shops, community centres and public transport now all carry an invisible threat: surfaces may be contaminated, airborne particles may be inhaled.

The way we move within these spaces has changed. This is partly due to the safety regulations devised to enforce distance, and partly due to our personal perception of threat.

Since lockdowns came into force, I have been co-curating the 100 Words of Solitude project, collecting and publishing global literary responses to the pandemic and its impact on our daily lives. The writing reveals that, across the world, emotional responses to mundane activities are now heightened. Our behaviour has changed in response to a threat we cannot see, but which may nonetheless kill us.

“The enemy is outside,” Megha Nayar wrote from India in April. “And so we huddle indoors, forgetting, for the time being, what the sun and moon look like.”

From Chernobyl to COVID-19

This is not the first time that a large community of people have had to negotiate an invisible danger. When the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster occurred in 1986, it spread radiation across vast areas of Europe. Thousands of residents were evacuated and became ill.

At the time, responses to the contamination were varied. According to first-person testimony collected by Belarussian journalist Svetlana Alexievich, one resident said she “washed the house, bleached the stove … all so we could come back.” Another revealed, “my daughter followed me around the apartment and wiped down the door handle, the chair.” Others struggled to believe the risk. “They said the water was ‘dirty’. How can it be dirty when it’s so clean?”

During my PhD research I visited Chernobyl to study the emotional and behavioural responses people form to the imperceptible dangers still there today. These are similar to how people are responding to the coronavirus pandemic.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


We are worried about touching things, so we avoid it. We are highly conscious of our proximity to surfaces and possible contamination, and move differently to compensate. We are scared of invisible airborne particles getting inside us. We notice our breathing, hold our breath or feel breathless. Protective coverings make us feel safer (even if these aren’t used properly or aren’t proven to work). And we accept we might be harmed even after being careful.

For example, we might think: “I need to shop, I will be careful, but must accept a slight risk.” This acceptance allows us to move through the environment, even if carefully and anxiously, to complete our goals.

In the case of Chernobyl, the passage of time has allowed us to negotiate the space for a second time. The site is now a tourist destination, giving people a chance to explore the abandoned, and still radioactive, villages left behind.

Such tourists actively seek out the very experience we are all now negotiating: invisible danger. In this case, the thought process goes: “I want to see this place, I will be careful, but must accept a slight risk.”

At Chernobyl today, the risk assessment is short-lived and can be exciting. But in the case of COVID-19, it is ongoing and can be distressing and exhausting.

The psychogeography of coronavirus

The examination of how places make us feel and behave is called psychogeography, a term coined by political artist Guy Debord in the 1960s. It is generally used to explore how urban planning affects people’s emotions and movements. But it is more difficult to apply when there is an invisible aspect of place, such as germs, involved.

Without sensory input like broken glass or smoke to signify danger, it is hard to assess risk. Sometimes we can rely on technology - for example, the dosimeters used at Chernobyl to record radiation levels - to assess the danger more accurately; otherwise, invisible risks are purely conceptual. Personal risk-assessment is then based on shared cultural understanding, general knowledge of radiation or infection, and the instruction of experts.

This can lead to dramatically varied responses. At one end of the spectrum is cocooning, expressed by Edinburgh-based novelist Cherise Saywell in her contribution to 100 Words of Solitude, where she writes of giving up on shoes entirely:

I have put my outdoor shoes away. My leather boots with the patterned tooling are no longer required, nor the high-heeled sandals, nor even those black lace-up brogues I put on for meetings when I wanted to look like I knew everything I needed to know.

At the other end of the spectrum is rule-breaking, in which those with a distrust of government policy value their own experience and desire for normality over evolving scientific data.

Reasons for breaking safety rules are based in our social and cultural experiences. Those from privileged, culturally empowered backgrounds may challenge a perceived infringement of their “rights”, as seen in the US, where crowds of armed lockdown demonstrators have stormed capitol buildings demanding the right to a haircut.

In stark contrast, after the Chernobyl disaster self-settlers returned to their homes inside the exclusion zone despite the dangers. Their actions were rooted in the trauma of displacement, escape from discrimination, an intense connection to their ancestral landscape, and a need to feel safe at home.

Today, we might draw comparisons between the complex psychogeography at play in Chernobyl “stalkers” breaking into the exclusion zone (their ancestral homeland) to eat food and drink water that may be contaminated with radiation as way of reclaiming the space, and the young people breaking lockdown restrictions to inhabit community spaces with friends - a coping mechanism in response to COVID-19 anxieties.

Both staying inside indefinitely and breaking lockdown rules involve a desire to control an invisible danger and leads to internal conflicts and concerns about consequences. These are powerful psychogeographic responses to familiar environments which centre on ownership and our sense of belonging.

As lockdowns continue to evolve, and some countries face the prospect of a second wave, our emotions and behaviours will evolve with them. Psychogeography may be the key to empowering us as we negotiate this change. And it may help us to remember – we have negotiated invisible threats before.The Conversation

About The Author

Philippa Holloway, Associate Tutor in English Literature and Creative Writing, Edge Hill University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…