كيفية اتخاذ قرارات دقيقة عندما تتحرك الأشياء بسرعة

كيفية اتخاذ قرارات دقيقة عندما تتحرك الأشياء بسرعة
الصورة عن طريق skeeze

التفكير تحت ضغط الوقت الشديد ليس هو الأمثل ، ولكن من المحتم أن نجد أنفسنا في هذا الموقف في بعض الأحيان. من الأفضل دائمًا عدم التسرع في الحصول على الاختصارات العقلية. استعمال جميع الوقت المتاح لك لاتخاذ القرار. وهذا يعني إبطاء الأمور قدر الإمكان. هذا يعني عدم السماح للإعداد الخارجي بإملاء شروط تفكيرك. عادة ما تقلل السرعة من الدقة - هناك علاقة مباشرة هناك.

بيتر شيرير ، العضو المنتدب ، هو المدير المساعد لقسم الطوارئ بمستشفى جبل سيناء في مدينة نيويورك. رياضي ، بعيون بنية ذكية وسلوك رحيق ، كان شيرير مرتاحًا بشكل مدهش حيث ناقش يومًا محمومًا نموذجيًا في جبل سيناء ER. خلال أي فترة ساعتين ، يعالج أطباء ER مثل Shearer ما يصل إلى ستة عشر مريضًا ويتم مقاطعتهم ما يصل إلى أربعين مرة. تحتاج عملية صنع القرار في Shearer إلى أن تتم بطريقة مركزة أو محكومة وبوتيرة سريعة ومكثفة ، ويجب أن تكون دقيقة للغاية. في عمله ، معرفة متى يستقر على التشخيص الثابت مقابل التأجيل لجمع المزيد من المعلومات مقابل معرفة متى يجب اتخاذ إجراءات فورية ومباشرة لها عواقب على الحياة والموت. إن معرفة وقت التوقف والتأمل بشكل أعمق لضمان حدوث مداولات كافية يمكن أن يجعل كل الاختلاف بالنسبة له والمرضى الذين يعالجهم.

قال شيرير: "أحيانًا ، يخبرك حدسك بطرح السؤال الأكثر صعوبة الذي لا يرغب معظم الناس في طرحه. حتى الأطباء يشعرون بالحرج من طرح أسئلة معينة والتحديق ، لكن ما تعلمته هو أن المريض غالبًا ما ينتظر منك أن تسأل. مقابل كل واحد نلتقطه ، هناك على الأرجح عشرة نفتقده. "

أثناء تقييمه ، كان قادرًا على التحكم في المنبهات الخارجية وعدم السماح لبيئة غرفة الطوارئ المحمومة بإجباره على الاندفاع. هذا سمح له بإيلاء اهتمام أكبر لحدسه الخبير الذي أخبره أن شيئًا ما كان خاطئًا. ثم قام بتطبيق تفكيره الأبطأ والأكثر منطقية وتداولية على الموقف.

المشكلة هي: نحن نفضل التفكير بسرعة

نحن جميعًا مفكرون سريعون. نحن نفضل اتخاذ اختصارات عقلية. نود أن نتوصل إلى استنتاجات بسرعة ولكننا غالبًا ما نكون قذرين في عاداتنا في التفكير. على النقيض من ذلك ، فإن التفكير البطيء يصعب فعله. يتطلب المزيد من الجهد ، وهو متعب.

لإعطاء شيء ما تفكيرًا عميقًا - كما هو الحال عندما نتعلم شيئًا جديدًا تمامًا أو نواجه موقفًا محيرًا ومعقدًا - يتطلب المزيد من التركيز والتركيز والطاقة الفسيولوجية الحرفية ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار حقيقة أن أدمغتنا تستهلك 20 بالمائة من طاقة أجسامنا. عندما ضغط دكتور شيرير على زر الإيقاف المؤقت في ER ، استغرق لحظة للتفكير في ما سمعه للتو من مريضه ، وأولى اهتمامه الكامل ، وقلل من خطر ارتكاب خطأ ، وقد حصل على حق. لقد كان قرارًا واعيًا من جانبه بتخصيص المزيد من الطاقة للنظر في المريض الذي كان يعالجه. كان تكريس المزيد من قوته العقلية للمهمة هو الطريق الأصعب الذي يجب اتخاذه ، لكنه حقق نتيجة أفضل بكثير لمريضه.

أخطاء في الحكم واتخاذ القرار

في عام 1974 ، نشر علماء النفس الإسرائيليون تفيرسكي وكانيمان أعمالًا رائدة حول الطرق التي يرتكب بها الناس أخطاء في الحكم وصنع القرار. على الرغم من امتلاك الموهبة للتفكير المنطقي ، غالبًا ما يعتمد البشر على الاختصارات العقلية ، أو ، كما يشير إليها كانيمان ، من البديهيات. في حين أن هذا يبسط بشكل كبير ويسرع بشكل كبير عملية إصدار آلاف الأحكام في اليوم ، فإنه غالبًا ما يأتي مع قدر كبير من الخطأ.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يصف Kahneman و Tversky مصدر هذه الأخطاء في التفكير ، والتي تتخذ أنماطًا يمكن التنبؤ بها ، على أنها التحيزات المعرفية. عندما تضيف ضغط الوقت والإفراط في المزيج ، يمكنك البدء في تخيل عدد مرات حدوث أخطاء التفكير لمعظمنا.

حقيقة أن هذه الأخطاء تميل إلى أن تكون منهجية هي أخبار جيدة لتحقيق وكالة شخصية أكبر. إذا كنا على دراية بأكثر تحيزاتنا شيوعًا ، فيمكننا العمل على إبقاء أخطائنا في التفكير عند الحد الأدنى ، على الأقل في أهم الأشياء. على سبيل المثال ، عندما تسير الأمور على ما يرام ، فهل تحصل على المزيد من الفضل مما قد تستحقه بالفعل؟ وبالمثل ، عندما لا تسير الأمور على ما يرام ، هل تدفع في بعض الأحيان اللوم على الآخرين لأشياء ربما لا يسيطرون عليها كثيرًا؟

إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، لا تكن قاسيًا على نفسك ، ولكن امتلك! هذه ليست سوى اثنين من العديد من التحيزات البشرية التي تؤثر على تفكيرنا. تسمح لك معرفة المكان المتحيز بإحضارها إلى السطح للتأكد من أنها لا تؤدي إلى الضلال.

التفكير السريع والتفكير التشاوري

المداولة عملية نشطة تتطلب طاقة. يمكن تعلمها وممارستها. إن الهدف العام من المداولات الفعالة هو أن تستخدم بشكل مناسب وحكيم لكل من التفكير في النظام 1 (سريع) والنظام 2 (التداولي). للقيام بذلك ، تحتاج إلى تعلم كيفية استخدامها معًا بطريقة واعية. في الغالبية العظمى من الوقت ، تستخدم تفكير النظام 1 ("السريع") لأن عقلك قد تطور ليؤدي هذه الوظيفة بسهولة.

تتطلب بيئتك استخدام اختصارات عقلية للتفكير بسلاسة في حياتك اليومية حيث يجب عليك اتخاذ القرارات بشكل متكرر. خلاف ذلك ، سوف تفكر بشكل مكثف في كل التفاصيل أو كل قرار واحد ، ولن يتم القيام بالكثير. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكنك ولن تخدم جيدًا بحياتك من خلال اتخاذ قرارات سريعة وبديهية فقط.

من الواضح أن هناك أوقاتًا يكون فيها من الأفضل التحول إلى التفكير المتعمد والبطيء - التفكير بشكل تحليلي ومنهجي للتوصل إلى قرار أفضل. المفتاح هو معرفة متى يستحق الجهد الإضافي الذي يتطلبه ذلك وتعلم كيفية القيام بذلك بشكل فعال.

من الناحية المثالية ، يجب عليك استدعاء System 2 بالتفكير عندما تحتاج إلى اتخاذ قرارات أكبر وعندما تكون المخاطر كبيرة. يساعدك تفكير النظام 2 أيضًا على فرز وفهم الكم الهائل من المعلومات التي تصل إليك كل يوم. بشكل عام ، يتطلب منك التفكير التداولي في النظام 2 البحث عن معلومات دقيقة لاتخاذ خيار مستنير.

راجع قائمة الأسئلة هذه. هذه هي الأسئلة النموذجية التي نطرحها على عملائنا لجعلهم يفكرون أكثر في مهارات التفكير النقدي (وتحسينها).

* ما مدى قدرتك على الانخراط في التفكير البطيء المتعمد؟

* هل تعتقد أن لديك القدرة على التفكير النقدي؟

* هل تستخدم طريقة معينة؟

* هل تأخذ الوقت الكافي لتحديد الحقائق الأكثر صلة؟

* هل هذا شيء تفعله بوعي لقرارات أكبر؟

Or

* هل تتسرع بشكل عام في اتخاذ القرار لأنه أسرع و
أسهل وتريد فقط إخراجها من طبقك؟

* هل تجد نفسك كثيرًا ما تشتت انتباهك بسبب الشيء التالي الذي يتطلب انتباهك؟

* هل تميل إلى تأجيل اتخاذ القرار لأطول فترة ممكنة؟

كن عادلاً مع نفسك. إذا كان خبيرًا ذا تعليم عالٍ مثل دكتور شيرير قلقًا بشأن ارتكاب الأخطاء في حكمه ، فأين في حياتك قد ترتكب أخطاءً خطيرة لأنك لا تبطئ من تفكيرك أو لا تشكك في رأيك؟

مرة أخرى ، في تجربتنا ، لم يقم معظم الأشخاص بتطوير نظام موثوق به ليتبعونه لإبقاء عملية صنع القرار تحت سيطرتهم. قليل من الناس يحاولون الخروج من أنفسهم لملاحظة كيفية توظيفهم لمهارات التفكير بانتظام. والمثير للدهشة أن الكثير من الناس لا يبحثون عن أفضل المعلومات مقدمًا قبل اتخاذ قرارات مهمة. باختصار ، يعاني معظم الناس من ثغرات خطيرة في قدرتهم على التفكير النقدي. ما زلنا متفاجئين من عدد الأشخاص الذين نعمل معهم الذين يجدون أنفسهم يسارعون إلى الحكم وينظرون إلى الوراء بأسف.

التفكير النقدي: وسيلة أخرى لإبقاء التفكير غير الموثوق به تحت السيطرة

إن إمكانية التفكير النقدي تكمن فينا جميعًا. في حين أن البعض قد يكون أفضل في ذلك من الآخرين ، يمكن لأي شخص أن يتعلم التحسين. التفكير النقدي هو الأهم في المواقف التي لدينا فيها مشاعر قوية حول موضوع ما وربما نحصل على معرفتنا من خلال اتخاذ اختصارات عقلية (السياسة ، على سبيل المثال). إن المبدأ الأساسي للتفكير النقدي هو أن نسأل الأشياء لأنفسنا وأن نكون على دراية بالافتراضات التي نقوم بها. الهدف هنا ليس التساؤل على الإطلاق عن كل شيء أخير ، بل أن تكون شخصًا حصيفًا واعيًا بقيود معرفة المرء.

للانخراط في التفكير النقدي ، يجب السيطرة على مشاعرك ومعتقداتك. هذا يعني أنك بحاجة إلى البدء بتعليق تفكيرك السريع والمدفوع عاطفياً والتلقائي. بدلًا من ذلك ، انخرط في التفكير البطيء والمنطقي والمقصود.

أسهل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي جعل نفسك في مكان هادئ ، مرتب ، وخاص ، وأخبر نفسك أنك ذاهب إلى هناك بمهمة فريدة. ستقضي بعض الوقت في التفكير العميق والتفكير المنطقي حيث ستسأل عن التأكيدات والمطالبات والافتراضات بشأن صحتها ومعرفة الطريق إلى الأمام. فيما يلي عملية بسيطة بسيطة ستساعدك على تنشيط وإشراك مهارات التفكير النقدي الخاصة بك.

التفكير النقدي في الحياة اليومية

هناك العديد من المقالات والكتب والدورات ودروس تعليم الكبار حول كيفية تطوير مهارات التفكير النقدي. فكر في أي من هذه الموارد أو جميعها وابدأ بسيطًا. النقاط التي نصفها أدناه مستوحاة من عمل خبيرين ، ليندا إلدر وريتشارد بول ، وتستند إلى مقالتهم "أن تصبح ناقدًا لتفكيرك" من مؤسسة التفكير النقدي.

ابدأ بتوضيح تفكيرك. احترس من "التفكير الغامض ، الغامض ، الذي لا شكل له ، وعدم وضوح" ، كما يقول إلدر وبولس. هذا هو نوع التفكير الذي قد تشعر به عند التسرع والتشتت والتعب. أحد الأمثلة هو عندما تعتمد على التعميمات الزائدة ، مثل جميع البنوك متشابهة تمامًا ، لا يهم ما تختاره. قاوم التفكير سطحيًا. تحدي نفسك للتعمق. تحقق مما إذا كان تفكيرك واضحًا من خلال تشغيله من قبل الآخرين وسؤالهم عما إذا كان يبدو معقولًا.

احرص أيضًا على الابتعاد عن الموضوع ، وتجنب حدوث قفزات غير مبررة في التفكير. بعبارات أخرى، التمسك بهذه النقطة. لا تتعرج. حافظ على تركيزك وذات الصلة بالموضوع الرئيسي الذي تحاول التفكير فيه نقديًا.

كن سائلًا أكثر مهارة أيضًا ، ولا تقبل ما يخبرك به الآخرون دون فحص. كما يقول الشيخ وبولس ، أسئلة السؤال. اسال نفسك، لقد سألت الأسئلة الصحيحة ، أفضل الأسئلة. . . أسئلة كافية؟ نرحب بالأسئلة (والتعليقات) من الآخرين ، ولكن كن متميزًا والتزم فقط بأسئلة أو تعليقات الآخرين ذات الصلة بالموضوع والتي تساعد حقًا في تحريكك نحو تفكير أفضل.

وأخيرًا ، حاول أن تكون عاقلًا. القول اسهل من الفعل. أولاً ، اعترف بخطئك. اعلم أنك لا تملك كل الإجابات. لا تكن منغلق الذهن. انتبه لمعتقداتك وتحيزاتك. يلاحظ إلدر وبولس أن السمة المميزة للمفكر النقدي الجيد هي الرغبة في تغيير رأي المرء عند سماع تفسيرات أو حلول معقولة. مبدأ وكالة نوقش من قبل ، إدارة عواطفك ومعتقداتك ، سيساعدك أيضًا في مراقبة المشاعر والمعتقدات القوية والتحكم فيها والتي يمكن أن تعطل تفكيرك النقدي.

تحليل وضعك الحالي كجزء من المداولة الفعالة

أخبرنا مستثمر عقاري ورجل أعمال يدعى تيم أنه يدرك الدور الذي تلعبه العواطف والتحيز في تفكيره. "القدرة على تحليل الموقف وقال عند تقييم الجانب الصعودي المحتمل لفرص العمل "يجعل كل الاختلاف". وقد ساعده ذلك على البقاء على الأرض والحد من خسائره في الطفرة العقارية والأزمة الاقتصادية اللاحقة عام 2008. وأضاف: "من المؤكد أنه في حين أن هناك بعض الإغراء لتحجيم شيء ما بسرعة وبشكل غير ناقد ، لأنه يمنحك ضوءًا أخضر للمضي قدمًا بسرعة ، إلا أنه لا يعمل بشكل جيد في العمل". هنا ، فضل تيم استخدام كلياته للتفكير النقدي جنبًا إلى جنب مع كمية صحية من ما وراء المعرفة. كثيرا ما شكك في تفكيره. ما افتقده في تفكيري حول بعض الخصائص؟ ماذا لو كنت مخطئا؟

بهذه الطريقة ، يمثل تيم مبدأ الوكالة تعمد ، ثم التصرف. على الرغم من أنه ليس اقتصاديًا أو حتى شخصًا حاصل على درجة علمية متقدمة في مجال الأعمال ، إلا أنه بمرور الوقت من خلال الدراسة الذاتية والخبرة ، طور خبرة قيّمة في مجال العقارات.

انتقل التفكير النقدي وما وراء المعرفة إلى وعي قوي بنفسه والعالم الاجتماعي. كان متيقظًا ومدروسًا لدرجة أنه غالبًا ما يكون متهورًا في تصوراته للاتجاهات الأكبر ، واستخدم ملاحظاته لإبلاغ قراراته التجارية. وكثيرا ما سحب نفسه من اتباع الحشد. ووصف ارتكاب العديد من الأخطاء على مر السنين ، لكنه بذل جهدًا دائمًا للتعلم من كل هذه الأخطاء. بينما بدا أنه يتحرك إلى العمل بسرعة ، حاول القيام بذلك بشكل مدروس بدلاً من الاندفاع.

© 2019 بواسطة أنتوني راو وبول نابر.
كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطف بإذن.
الناشر: مطبعة سانت مارتن ، www.stmartins.com.

المادة المصدر

قوة الوكالة: المبادئ السبعة للتغلب على العقبات ، واتخاذ القرارات الفعالة ، وخلق حياة وفقًا لشروطك الخاصة
الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه

قوة الوكالة: المبادئ السبعة للتغلب على العقبات ، واتخاذ القرارات الفعالة ، وخلق حياة وفقًا لشروطك الخاصة ، بقلم الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراهالوكالة هي القدرة على العمل كعامل فعال للنفس - التفكير والتأمل واتخاذ الخيارات الإبداعية والعمل بطرق توجهنا نحو الحياة التي نريدها. هذا ما يستخدمه البشر يشعر في قيادة حياتهم. لعقود من الزمان ، كانت الوكالة مصدر قلق رئيسي لعلماء النفس وعلماء الاجتماع والفلاسفة الذين يسعون لمساعدة أجيال من الناس على العيش في توافق أكبر مع اهتماماتهم وقيمهم ودوافعهم الداخلية. يقدم علماء النفس السريريون المشهورون بول نابر وأنتوني راو سبعة مبادئ لاستخدام العقل والجسم لمساعدتك في تحديد موقع وكالتك وتطويرها. استنادًا إلى سنوات من البحث والتطبيق في العالم الواقعي ، وقصص كل من الفنانين ذوي الأداء العالي والمنخفض ، فإن أساليبهم توفر لك النجاح في عالم يتطلب التكيف المستمر. (متوفر أيضًا على شكل كتاب صوتي وقرص صوتي ونسخة أوقد).

انقر لطلب على الأمازون



حول المؤلف

بول بول NAPPER يقود علم النفس الإدارة والاستشارات التدريب التنفيذي في بوسطن. تشمل قائمة زبائنه قائمة فورتشن 500 من الشركات والجامعات والشركات الناشئة. شغل موعدًا أكاديميًا ومنصبًا متقدمًا في كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد.

أنتوني راو هو عالم نفساني سلوكي. يحتفظ بممارسة سريرية ويتشاور ويتحدث على المستوى الوطني ويظهر بانتظام كمعلق خبير. لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، كان أخصائيًا نفسيًا في مستشفى بوسطن للأطفال ومدرسًا في كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد.

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع الدكتور بول نابر: ما هي الوكالة؟ يساعد الأطفال على النجاح

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لا تسمح لـ Covid19 بإصابة عقلك
لا تسمح لـ Covid19 بإصابة عقلك
by دكتور جو لوسياني
ما يصلح لي: الاستماع إلى جسدي
ما يصلح لي: الاستماع إلى جسدي
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

الفيزيائي والنفس الداخلية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد قرأت للتو مقالة رائعة كتبها ألان لايتمان ، الكاتب والفيزيائي الذي يدرس في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. آلان هو مؤلف كتاب "In Praise of Wasting Time". أجد أنه من الملهم العثور على العلماء والفيزيائيين ...
اغنية اغسل اليدين
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد سمعناها عدة مرات في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية ... اغسل يديك لمدة 20 ثانية على الأقل. حسنًا ، واحد واثنان وثلاثة ... لأولئك منا الذين يواجهون تحديات في التوقيت ، أو ربما ADD قليلاً ، قمنا ...
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
الآن بعد أن أصبح لدى الجميع الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
مدينة الأشباح: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أرسلنا طائرات بدون طيار في نيويورك ولوس أنجلوس وسان فرانسيسكو وسياتل لنرى كيف تغيرت المدن منذ إغلاق COVID-19.
نحن جميعًا في المنزل ... على كوكب الأرض
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
خلال الأوقات الصعبة ، وربما في الغالب خلال الأوقات الصعبة ، نحتاج إلى أن نتذكر أن "هذا سوف يمر أيضًا" وأنه في كل مشكلة أو أزمة ، هناك شيء يمكن تعلمه ، وآخر ...
مراقبة الصحة في الوقت الحقيقي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يبدو لي أن هذه العملية مهمة جدًا للمضي قدمًا. إلى جانب الأجهزة الأخرى ، أصبح بإمكاننا الآن مراقبة صحة الأشخاص عن بُعد في الوقت الفعلي.
لعبة تغيير اختبار الأجسام المضادة الرخيصة المرسلة للتحقق من صحتها في مكافحة الفيروسات التاجية
by أليستر سموت وأندرو ماكاسكيل
لندن (رويترز) - بدأت شركة بريطانية وراء اختبار الأجسام المضادة لفيروس كورونا لمدة 10 دقائق ، والذي سيكلف حوالي دولار واحد ، بإرسال نماذج أولية إلى المختبرات للتحقق من صحتها ، والتي قد تكون ...
كيفية مواجهة وباء الخوف
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
مشاركة رسالة بعث بها باري فيسيل عن وباء الخوف الذي أصاب الكثيرين ...
كيف تبدو و تبدو القيادة الحقيقية
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
اللفتنانت جنرال تود سيمونيت ، رئيس المهندسين والقائد العام لسلاح المهندسين بالجيش ، يتحدث مع راشيل مادو حول كيفية عمل سلاح المهندسين بالجيش مع الوكالات الفيدرالية الأخرى و ...
ما يصلح لي: الاستماع إلى جسدي
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
جسم الإنسان هو خلق مذهلة. يعمل دون الحاجة إلى مدخلاتنا فيما يتعلق بما يجب القيام به. ينبض القلب ، وتضخ الرئتين ، وتقوم الغدد الليمفاوية بعملها ، وتعمل عملية الإخلاء. الجسم…

How To Make Accurate Decisions When Things Are Moving Fast

How To Make Accurate Decisions When Things Are Moving Fast
Image by skeeze

Thinking under extreme time pressure is not optimal, but it is inevita­ble that we will find ourselves in this situation at times. It is always best not to rush and get seduced by mental short­cuts. Use all the time available to you in making a decision. That means slowing things down when possible. It means not allowing the external setting to dictate the terms of your thinking. Speed typically decreases accuracy— there is a direct relationship there.

Peter Shearer, M.D., is the associate director of the Mount Sinai Hos­pital Emergency Department in New York City. Athletic, with intelli­gent brown eyes and a compassionate demeanor, Shearer was surprisingly relaxed as he discussed a typical hectic day in the Mount Sinai ER. Over any given two- hour period, ER physicians like Shearer treat as many as sixteen patients and are interrupted as many as forty times. Shearer’s decision- making needs to happen in a focused, or ganized manner and at a rapid, intense pace, and it needs to be highly accurate. In his work, knowing when to settle on a firm diagnosis versus deferring to gather more information versus knowing when to take immediate and direct action has life-and-death consequences. Knowing when to pause and re­flect more deeply to ensure adequate deliberation has occurred can also make all the diference for him and the patients he is treating.

“Sometimes,” Shearer said, “your intuition tells you to ask the more awkward question that most people don’t want to ask. Even doctors feel awkward about asking certain questions and prying, but what I’ve learned is that the patient is often waiting for you to ask. For every one we catch, there are prob ably ten we miss.”

During his assessment, he was able to control external stimuli and not allow the hectic emergency room environment to force him to rush. This allowed him to pay greater attention to his expert in­tuition that told him something was amiss. He then applied his slower, more logical, deliberative thinking to the situation.

The Problem Is: We Prefer to Think Fast

We’re all fast thinkers. We prefer to take mental shortcuts. We like to reach conclusions quickly but are often sloppy in our thinking habits. By contrast, slow thinking is simply harder to do. It requires more effort, and it’s tiring.

To give something deep thought—as when we learn some­thing brand new or confront a puzzling, complex situation—takes more focus, concentration, and literal physiological energy, considering the fact that our brains eat up 20 percent of our bodies’ energy. When Dr. Shearer hit the Pause button in the ER, took a moment to reflect on what he’d just heard from his patient, and gave it his full attention, he lowered his risk of making an error, and he got it right. It was a conscious decision on his part to devote more energy to consider­ing the patient he was treating. Devoting more of his brainpower to the task was the harder road to take, but it yielded a far better outcome for his patient.

Errors In Judgment and Decision-Making

In 1974, Israeli psychologists Tversky and Kahneman published groundbreaking work on the ways that people make errors in judgment and decision-making. Despite possessing the talent to think logically, human beings often rely on mental short­cuts, or, as Kahneman refers to them, rules of thumb. While this greatly simplifies and dramatically speeds up the process of making thou­sands of judgments a day, it often comes with a significant amount of error.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Kahneman and Tversky describe the source of these errors in think­ing, which take on predictable patterns, as cognitive biases. When you add time pressure and overstimulation into the mix, you can begin to imag­ine how often thinking errors occur for most of us.

The fact that these errors tend to be systematic is good news for achieving greater personal agency. If we are aware of our most common biases, we can work to keep our errors in thinking to a minimum, at least on the most important things. For example, when things work out well, do you catch yourself taking a little more credit than you might actually deserve? Likewise, when things don’t go well, do you sometimes push the blame onto others for things that perhaps they don’t have much control over?

If so, don’t be hard on yourself, but own up! These are just two of the many human biases that influence our thinking. Knowing where you are biased allows you to bring it to the surface to ensure that it doesn’t lead you astray.

Fast Thinking and Deliberative Thinking

Deliberation is an active pro cess that requires energy. It can be learned and practiced. The overall goal of effective deliberation is for you to make appropriate and judicious use of both System 1 (fast) and System 2 (deliberative) thinking. In order to do this, you need to learn to use them together in a self-aware manner. The vast majority of the time, you are using System 1 (“fast”) thinking because your brain has evolved to most readily perform this function.

Your environment requires you to use mental shortcuts to think fluidly in your day-to-day life where you must make decisions frequently. Otherwise, you’d be thinking intensely about every detail or every sin­gle decision, and not much would get done. And yet, you can’t and wouldn’t be well served by living your life making only quick, intuitive decisions.

There are clearly times when it is best to shift into intentional, slower thinking— thinking more analytically and methodically to arrive at a better decision. The key is knowing when it’s worth the additional effort that this requires and learning how to do it effectively.

Ideally, you should call up System 2 thinking when you need to make bigger decisions and when the stakes are high. System 2 thinking also helps you sort out and make sense of the massive amount of information hitting you each day. Generally, deliberative System 2 thinking requires you to seek out accurate information to make an informed choice.

Review this checklist of questions. These are typical of the questions we ask our clients to get them thinking more about (and improving upon) their critical- thinking skills.

* How good are you at engaging in slow, deliberate thinking?

* Do you believe you have the capacity to think critically?

* Do you use a particular method?

* Do you take the time to pin down the most relevant facts?

* Is this something you do consciously for the bigger decisions?

Or

* Do you generally rush to a decision because it’s quicker and
easier and you just want to get it off your plate?

* Do you find yourself often getting distracted by the next thing demanding your attention?

* Do you tend to put off decision-making for as long as possible?

Be fair to yourself. If a highly educated expert like Dr. Shearer wor­ries about making errors in his judgment, where in your life might you be making serious errors because you don’t slow down your thinking or don’t question how you think?

Again, in our experience, most people have not developed a reliable system to follow to keep their decision-making under their control. Few people try to step outside themselves to regularly observe how they em­ploy their thinking skills. Surprisingly, many people don’t even seek out the best information up front before making important decisions. In short, most people have serious gaps in their ability to think critically. We continue to be surprised how many people we work with find them­selves rushing to judgment and looking back with regret.

Critical Thinking: Another Means to Keep Unreliable Thinking in Check

The potential to think critically resides in us all. While some may be better at it than others, anyone can learn to improve. Critical thinking is most important in situations where we have strong emotions about a topic and perhaps are getting our knowledge through taking mental shortcuts (politics, for instance). The most fundamental principle of crit­ical thinking is to question things for ourselves and to be aware of the assumptions we are making. The goal here is not to question absolutely every last thing but to be a prudent person who is aware of the limita­tions of one’s knowledge.

To engage critical thinking, your emotions and beliefs need to be held in check. This means that you need to start by suspending your fast, emotionally driven, and automatic thinking. In its place, engage slow, logical, and intentional thinking.

The easiest way to do this is to get your­self somewhere quiet, uncluttered, and private, and tell yourself you’re going there with a singular mission. You are going to spend time en­gaged in deep, reflective, logical thinking where you will question as­sertions, claims, and assumptions for their veracity and figure out a path forward. Below is a simple pro cess that will help you to activate and en­gage your critical-thinking skills.

Critical Thinking in Everyday Life

There are many articles, books, courses, and adult education classes on how to develop critical thinking skills. Consider any or all of these resources and start simple. The points we describe below are inspired by the work of two experts, Linda Elder and Richard Paul, and are based on their article “Becoming a Critic of Your Thinking” from the Foun­dation for Critical Thinking.

Start by clarifying your thinking. Watch out for “vague, fuzzy, formless, blurred thinking,” as Elder and Paul say. This is the type of thinking you’re likely to have when rushing, distracted, and fatigued. One example is when you rely on overgeneralizations, such as All banks are exactly the same, doesn’t matter which you choose. Resist thinking su­perficially. Challenge yourself to go deeper. Verify if your thinking is clear by running it by others and asking them if it sounds reasonable.

Also keep from straying off topic, and avoid making unjustified leaps in thinking. In other words, stick to the point. Don’t meander. Stay focused and relevant to the main issue you are trying to critically think about.

Become a more adept questioner as well, and don’t accept what others tell you unexamined. As Elder and Paul say, question questions. Ask your­self, Have I asked the right questions, the best questions . . . enough ques­tions? Welcome questions (and feedback) from others, but be discerning and stick only to the questions or feedback of others pertinent to the topic and that really help to move you toward better thinking.

And last, try to be reasonable. This is easier said than done. First, acknowledge your fallibility. Realize you don’t have all the answers. Don’t be closed-minded. Be aware of your beliefs and biases. Elder and Paul note that the hallmark of a good critical thinker is the willingness to change one’s mind upon hearing more reasonable explanations or solu­tions. An earlier- discussed agency principle, Manage Your Emotions and Beliefs, will also help you monitor and control strong feelings and beliefs that can derail your critical thinking.

Analyze Your Current Situation as Part of Effective Deliberation

A real estate investor and businessman named Tim told us that he was aware of the role that emotions and bias play in his thinking. “The capa­city for situation analysis makes all the diference,” he said when assessing the potential upside of a business opportunity. This helped him stay grounded and limit his losses in the real estate boom and subsequent 2008 economic crisis. “Sure,” he added, “while there’s a certain seduc­tion to sizing something up fast and uncritically, because it gives you a green light to forge ahead quickly, it doesn’t typically work out so well in business.” Here, Tim preferred to use his critical-thinking faculties com­bined with a healthy amount of metacognition. He frequently questioned his own thinking. What am I missing in my thinking about certain properties? What if I’m wrong?

In this way, Tim exemplifies the agency principle of Deliberate, Then Act. While not an economist or even someone with an advanced busi­ness degree, over time through self-study and experience, he developed valuable expertise in the real estate business.

Critical thinking and meta-cognition carried over to a solid awareness of himself and the social world. He was observant and thoughtful to the point of often being tren­chant in his perceptions of larger trends, and he used his observations to inform his business decisions. He frequently pulled himself back from following the crowd. He described having made many mistakes over the years, but he consistently made an efort to learn from all these mistakes. While he appeared to move into action quickly, he attempted to do so thoughtfully rather than impulsively.

©2019 by Anthony Rao and Paul Napper.
All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission.
Publisher: St. Martin's Press, www.stmartins.com.

Article Source

The Power of Agency: The 7 Principles to Conquer Obstacles, Make Effective Decisions, and Create a Life on Your Own Terms
by Dr. Paul Napper, Psy.D. and Dr. Anthony Rao, Ph.D.

The Power of Agency: The 7 Principles to Conquer Obstacles, Make Effective Decisions, and Create a Life on Your Own Terms by Dr. Paul Napper, Psy.D. and Dr. Anthony Rao, Ph.D.Agency is the ability to act as an effective agent for oneself--thinking, reflecting, and making creative choices, and acting in ways that direct us toward the lives we want. It is what humans use to feel in command of their lives. For decades, agency has been a central concern of psychologists, sociologists, and philosophers seeking to help generations of people live in greater accord with their interests, values, and inner motivations. Renowned clinical psychologists Paul Napper and Anthony Rao offer seven principles for using mind and body to help you locate and develop your own agency. Based on years of research and real-world application, and stories of both high and low performers, their methods equip you to succeed in a world requiring constant adaptation. (Also available as an Audiobook, an Audio CD and a Kindle edition.)

click to order on amazon

 

About the Authors

PAUL NAPPER leads a management psychology and executive coaching consultancy in Boston. His client list includes Fortune 500 companies, universities, and start-ups. He held an academic appointment and advanced fellowship position at Harvard Medical School.

ANTHONY RAO is a cognitive-behavioral psychologist. He maintains a clinical practice, consults, and speaks nationally, appearing regularly as an expert commentator. For over 20 years he was a psychologist at Boston Children’s Hospital and an instructor at Harvard Medical School.

Video/Presentation with Dr Paul Napper: What Is Agency? It Helps Children Succeed

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.
Ghost Town: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We sent drones out in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle to see how the cities have changed since the COVID-19 lockdown.
We're All Being Home-Schooled... on Planet Earth
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
During challenging times, and probably mostly during challenging times, we need to remember that "this too shall pass" and that in every problem or crisis, there is something to be learned, another…