إن الذهاب إلى اللون الأخضر هو كل ما تكسبه ، وليس ما تتخلى عنه


تصوير ميغيل باروسو / فليكر

بالنسبة الى الـالجمهورية الجديدة مجلة في يونيو من هذا العام: "سوف تضطر إلى تقديم تضحيات لإنقاذ الكوكب" ، في حين أن صحيفة أمريكية المترو يسأل: "ما الذي ستتخلى عنه لإنهاء تغير المناخ؟" هذه العناوين ، المقروءة من مكتبي في لندن حيث أجري بحثًا في علم النفس البيئي ، تقدم لنا خيارات صارمة: بين الذات والمجتمع ، والرفاهية والأخلاق. يقلقني أن أرى العمل المؤيد للبيئة يساوي التضحية الشخصية بهذه الطريقة. كما يجعلني أتساءل عما إذا كان بإمكاننا تغيير محتوى العنوان الثالث الأخير ، وهذه المرة من Sky News - "غالبية البريطانيين غير راغبين في تقليص محاربة تغير المناخ" - عن طريق إعادة صياغة كيف نتحدث عن السلوك المؤيد للبيئة.

تشير مجموعة متزايدة من الأبحاث إلى أن اعتماد أسلوب حياة أكثر استدامة ، بدلاً من أن يشكل تهديدًا على الرفاهية الفردية ، يمثل طريقًا لحياة أكثر رضاء. وقد وجدت العديد من الدراسات أن الناس الذين شراء المنتجات الخضراء ، من إعادة تدوير أو الذين تطوع للأسباب الخضراء ، يزعمون أنهم راضون عن حياتهم أكثر من نظرائهم الأقل صداقة للبيئة. في الاستكشاف الأكثر منهجية لهذه العلاقة حتى الآن ، قام عالم النفس الاجتماعي مايكل شميت بجامعة سايمون فريزر في كندا وزملاؤه وجدت أنه من بين سلوكيات 39 المؤيدة للبيئة التي تم فحصها ، كانت 37 مرتبطة بشكل إيجابي بالرضا عن الحياة (الاستثناءات تتمثل في استخدام وسائل النقل العام أو استخدام السيارات ، وتشغيل الغسالة / المجفف فقط عندما تكون ممتلئة).

بالعمق ، وجد مؤلفو ورقة 2018 أن أقوى العلاقات الإيجابية كانت بين الرضا عن الحياة وبين تلك السلوكيات التي تنطوي على تكلفة في المال أو الوقت أو الجهد. لذا ، فإن المشاركة في الأنشطة المحلية المؤيدة للبيئة أكثر تنبؤًا بالرضا عن الحياة ، على سبيل المثال ، إيقاف تشغيل الصنبور أثناء تنظيف أسنانك (على الرغم من كونها مهمة أكثر فعالية). في سياق تكميلي ، عندما نظرت عالمة النفس ستايسي آن ريتش من جامعة لا تروب في ملبورن وزملاؤها إلى الناس على الطرف البعيد من مقياس نمط الحياة المستدام ، وجدت إن "المبسّطون الطوعيون" - أو الأشخاص الذين يختارون العيش بحرية بشكل مقتصد - يبلغون عن رضا أعلى عن الحياة من غير المُكبرات في عدة دراسات مختلفة. بعيدًا عن الإشارة إلى أن الناس يخسرون عندما يبذلون مجهودًا كبيرًا في العيش حياة مستدامة ، يبدو أنه كلما زاد ما تكتسبه من مكاسب.

Tله دليل واعد ، لكن المقياس المستخدم - الرضا عن الحياة - يمكن أن يفوت بعض الفروق الدقيقة المحتملة في اللعب عندما يفكر الناس (ويشعرون) بحياتهم وهم يذهبون إليها. خاصتي بحث في كلية لندن للاقتصاد تتناول هذه المسألة من خلال دراسة مدى ارتباط السلوكيات المؤيدة للبيئية بالسلوكيات المختلفة أنواع من الرفاهية. على وجه الخصوص ، أنا أميز بين تلذذي الرفاه ، والتي تتعلق العواطف التي يواجهها الناس ، و eudemonic الرفاه ، وهو ما يعكس شعورهم بالغرض.

هناك أسباب وجيهة للاعتقاد بأن هذا التمييز قد يكون مهمًا. يمكن لبعض السلوكيات المؤيدة للبيئة تعزيز مزاج الناس: تخيل ركوب الدراجات في العمل بدلاً من القيادة عبر حركة المرور في وسط لندن ، على سبيل المثال. قد لا يُتوقع أن يكون للسلوكيات الأخرى التي يتم تنفيذها عادة على الطيار الآلي ، مثل إعادة التدوير ، أي تأثير على الإطلاق. لا يزال البعض الآخر قد يتسبب في شعور الناس بالتوتر ، حيث أن أي شخص حاول مؤخراً أن يستحم لفترة قصيرة ، سوف يشهد.

قارن هذا مع الطريقة التي قد نتوقع بها أن يرتبط السلوك المؤيد للبيئة بشعور الناس بالهدف. عالم النفس البيئي تيم كاسر - خبير في المادية والرفاهية ، وأستاذ فخري في كلية نوكس في إلينوي - لديه جادل يمكن أن يسهم هذا السلوك المؤيد للبيئة في تلبية احتياجات الناس من الحكم الذاتي والارتباط والكفاءة - وكلهم محركات رئيسية لرفاهية eudemonic. بشكل مباشر أكثر ، إلى الحد الذي يرى فيه الأشخاص المشاركة في مجموعة واسعة من السلوكيات المؤيدة للبيئة بأنها "تفعل الشيء الصحيح" ، قد نتوقع منهم جميعًا المساهمة في إحساس الناس بالهدف.

كجزء من الدكتوراه ، أنا فحص هذه الأفكار باستخدام بيانات الاستبيان من عينة تضم أكثر من 5,000 English. لقد وجدت أن مستويات سعادة الناس أو قلقهم كانت مستقلة عن مشاركتهم في السلوك المؤيد للبيئة في اليوم السابق. يشير هذا إلى أنه على الرغم من أن الأفراد قد لا يستمدون المتعة من الانخراط في السلوك المؤيد للبيئة ، إلا أن هذه السلوكيات تأتي عمومًا بتكلفة عاطفية. في الوقت نفسه ، يشير بحثي إلى أنه كلما زادت الإجراءات المؤيدة للبيئة التي ينخرط فيها الأشخاص ، كلما كان من المجدي اعتبار أنشطتهم شاملة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عندما يتم جمعها ، فإن دليل الرضا عن الحياة ونتائج عملي الخاص يطير في وجه وجهة نظر السلوك المؤيد للبيئة كتضحية ، ويشير بدلاً من ذلك إلى مجموعة من الفوائد النفسية المحتملة للالتحول إلى اللون الأخضر. ما زلنا في المراحل المبكرة لفهم ما الذي يدفع هذه الفوائد الواضحة ، لكن العمل الأخير الذي قام به الاقتصاديان هاينز ويلش وجان كوهلينج في جامعة أولدنبورغ في ألمانيا ، من بين علماء آخرين ، يشير إلى أن المطابقة مع المعايير الاجتماعية ، وجود الصورة الذاتية الإيجابية وفرص الاختلاط الاجتماعي تلعب جميعها دوراً.

إذا كنت تصف السلوك المؤيد للبيئة بأنه مرهق ، فإن النداءات الأخلاقية من نوع "سوف تضطر إلى تقديم تضحيات لإنقاذ الكوكب" لن تكون بعيدة عن الركب. أفضل من ذلك ، هو تشجيع الناس على اتخاذ إجراءات بشأن تغير المناخ من خلال تقديم القضايا البيئية ذات الصلة الشخصية. تتيح لنا أدلة الرفاهية الذاتية الفرصة لنقل تركيزنا بعيدًا عما قد يضطر الناس إلى الاستغناء عنه أو الاستغناء عنه ، ونحو المكاسب المحتملة للحياة ليس أسوأ بل بشكل مختلف. مثل هذه الرسائل الإيجابية قد تحفز بشكل أفضل الإجراءات المؤيدة للبيئة التي تساهم بشكل مباشر في رفاهية الفرد ، وفي الوقت نفسه تحمي رفاهية الآخرين والأجيال القادمة.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كيت لفان زميلة في قسم العلوم النفسية والسلوكية في كلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية. في نوفمبر 2019 ، شغلت زمالة ماري كوري في معهد جيري للسياسة العامة في جامعة كوليدج في دبلن. هي تعيش في لندن.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Going Green Is All About What You Gain, Not What You Give Up

Going Green Is All About What You Gain, Not What You Give Up
Photo by Miguel Barroso/Flickr

According to TheNew Republic magazine in June this year: ‘You will have to make sacrifices to save the planet’, while the US newspaper Metro asks: ‘What would you give up to end climate change?’ These headlines, read from my desk in London where I carry out research in environmental psychology, present us with stark choices: between self and society, wellbeing and morality. It worries me to see pro-environmental action being equated with personal sacrifice in this way. It also makes me wonder whether we could change the content of a third recent headline, this time from Sky News – ‘Majority of Brits unwilling to cut back to fight climate change’ – by reframing how we talk about pro-environmental behaviour.

A growing body of research suggests that, rather than posing a threat to individual wellbeing, adopting a more sustainable lifestyle represents a pathway to a more satisfied life. Numerous studies have found that people who purchase green products, who recycle or who volunteer for green causes claim to be more satisfied with their lives than their less environmentally friendly counterparts. In the most systematic exploration of this relationship to date, the social psychologist Michael Schmitt at Simon Fraser University in Canada and colleagues found that, of the 39 pro-environmental behaviours examined, 37 were positively linked to life satisfaction (the exceptions being the use of public transport or carpooling, and running the washer/dryer only when full).

Digging deeper, the authors of this 2018 paper found that the strongest positive relationships were between life satisfaction and those behaviours involving a cost in money, time or effort. So, participating in local pro-environmental activities is far more predictive of life satisfaction than, say, turning off the tap while brushing your teeth (despite it being a more effortful undertaking). In complementary vein, when the psychologist Stacey Ann Rich at La Trobe University in Melbourne and colleagues looked at people on the far end of the sustainable lifestyle scale, they found that ‘voluntary simplifiers’ – or people who freely choose to live frugally – report higher life satisfaction than nonsimplifiers across several different studies. Far from suggesting that people lose out when they put significant effort into living a sustainable life, it seems that the more you put in the more you stand to gain.

This is promising evidence, but the measure used – life satisfaction – can miss some of the potential nuances in play when people think (and feel) about their lives as they go about them. My own research at the London School of Economics addresses this issue by examining how pro-environmental behaviours relate to different types of wellbeing. In particular, I make a distinction between hedonic wellbeing, which relates to the emotions that people experience, and eudemonic wellbeing, which reflects their sense of purpose.

There are good reasons to think that this distinction might matter. Some pro-environmental behaviours can boost people’s mood: imagine cycling to work rather than driving through central London traffic, for example. Other behaviours that are typically carried out on autopilot, such as recycling, might not be expected to have any impact at all. Still others might cause people to experience feelings of stress, as anyone who has recently tried to have a short, cold shower will attest.

Contrast this with how we might expect pro-environmental behaviour to relate to people’s sense of purpose. The environmental psychologist Tim Kasser – an expert on materialism and wellbeing, and now emeritus professor at Knox College in Illinois – has argued that pro-environmental behaviour can contribute to people’s needs for autonomy, relatedness and competence – all of them key drivers of eudemonic wellbeing. More directly, to the extent that people perceive engagement in a wide range of pro-environmental behaviours as ‘doing the right thing’, we might expect them all to contribute to people’s sense of purpose.

As part of my PhD, I examined these ideas using questionnaire data from a sample of more than 5,000 English residents. I found that people’s levels of happiness or anxiety were independent of their engagement in pro-environmental behaviour on the previous day. This suggests that, while individuals might not derive pleasure from engaging in pro-environmental behaviour, nor do these behaviours generally come at an emotional cost. At the same time, my research indicates that the more pro-environmental actions that people engage in, the more worthwhile they consider their activities to be overall.

When taken together, the life-satisfaction evidence and the results of my own work fly in the face of the view of pro-environmental behaviour as a sacrifice, and point instead to a range of potential psychological benefits of going green. We are still in the early stages of understanding what’s driving these apparent benefits, but recent work by the economists Heinz Welsch and Jan Kühling at the University of Oldenburg in Germany, among other scholars, suggests that conforming with social norms, having a positive self-image and opportunities to socialise all play a role.

If you style pro-environmental behaviour as onerous, then moral appeals of the ‘You will have to make sacrifices to save the planet’ kind are never far behind. Better then, is to encourage people to take action on climate change by presenting environmental issues as personally relevant. The subjective wellbeing evidence gives us an opportunity to move our focus away from what people might have to give up or do without, and towards the potential gains of living not worse but differently. Such positive messages might better motivate pro-environmental actions that contribute directly to individual wellbeing, while at the same time safeguarding the wellbeing of others and of generations to come.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Kate Laffan is a fellow in the department of psychological and behavioural science at the London School of Economics and Political Science. In November 2019, she takes up a Marie Curie fellowship at the Geary Institute for Public Policy at University College Dublin. She lives in London.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}