Social Media verursacht nicht mehr Essstörungen bei jungen Menschen

Social Media verursacht nicht mehr Essstörungen bei jungen Menschen
Kaspars Grinvalds / Shutterstock

Es gibt eine laufende Debatte darüber ob Essstörungen sind häufiger in der modernen Gesellschaft. Manche sagen das Da junge Menschen heute in beispielloser Weise in sozialen Medien mit sich selbst in Berührung kommen und Bilder von sich selbst austauschen, das betrifft ihr Körperbild und können sich auch auf ihr Essen auswirken. Andere schlagen vor, dass soziale Medien helfen können, Essstörungen zu heilen Bereitstellung von Plattformen für Menschen über ihre Erfahrungen und Behandlung zu sprechen. Welches ist also richtig?

Wir wissen, dass die Häufigkeit von Essstörungen hoch ist. Laut einer großen Umfrage in 2017, ungefähr vier in jeder 1,000 Jugendliche im Alter von 5-19 Jahren leiden an einer Essstörung allein in Englanddem „Vermischten Geschmack“. Seine neueste Studie Die Betrachtung der Trends bei Essstörungen in der Grundversorgung zeigte, dass von Jahr zu Jahr mehr Menschen mit Essstörungen diagnostiziert wurden. Es wurde festgestellt, dass die Anzahl der Personen, bei denen Essstörungen diagnostiziert wurden, von 32 auf 37 in jedem 100,000-Jahr zwischen 10 und 49 von 2000 auf 2009 anstieg. Die in dieser Studie verwendeten GP-Daten sind mittlerweile mehr als zehn Jahre alt - aus der Zeit vor dem Start von Plattformen wie Instagram.

Für unsere neu veröffentlichte ForschungWir haben beschlossen, uns diese Trends noch einmal anzuschauen, um festzustellen, ob sich durch den Aufstieg der sozialen Medien etwas geändert hat. Wir verwendeten eine große Primärversorgungsdatenbank, die ungefähr 7% der Bevölkerung in England abdeckt, und untersuchten insbesondere die anonymisierten Aufzeichnungen von mehr als einer Million Kindern und Jugendlichen, die ihren Hausarzt zwischen 2004 und 2014 besuchten.

Wir fanden heraus, dass in der Grundversorgung aufgezeichnete Essstörungen bei Frauen fast 11-mal häufiger sind als bei Männern und bei Menschen im Alter von 16-20-Jahren doppelt so häufig wie in den Altersgruppen 11-15 oder 21-24. Sie sind auch anderthalb Mal so häufig bei Menschen aus den wohlhabendsten Gegenden im Vergleich zu den wenigsten.

Die häufigste Form der Essstörung war nicht eine der beiden bekanntesten - Anorexia und Bulimia nervosa - sondern Essstörungen, die „nicht anders angegeben“ sind. Dies bedeutet, dass es sich um Essstörungen handelt, die die Schwelle für Anorexie oder Bulimia nervosa nicht ganz erreichen.

Wir haben auch festgestellt, dass in der Grundversorgung jedes Jahr weniger junge Menschen mit Essstörungen diagnostiziert werden. Die Raten sanken am signifikantesten für Bulimia nervosa, weniger für Essstörungen, die nicht anders angegeben waren, und blieben für Anorexia nervosa stabil. Rückgänge wurden bei Frauen und auch bei der 16-24-Altersgruppe beobachtet. Signifikante Rückgänge wurden auch bei jungen Menschen aus den am stärksten benachteiligten Gebieten festgestellt, jedoch nicht bei den reichsten (wo die Raten höher sind), was den Unterschied zwischen den beiden Gruppen weiter vergrößerte.

Die Anzahl der Männer, bei denen eine Essstörung diagnostiziert wurde, war für eine weitere Aufschlüsselung zu gering, da im 500-Studienzeitraum weniger als 11-Personen diagnostiziert wurden. Die Anzahl der männlichen und weiblichen Patienten mit Bulimia nervosa war ebenfalls besonders gering, obwohl bei den diagnostizierten weiblichen Patienten ein 50-prozentualer Rückgang zu verzeichnen war.

Social Media verursacht nicht mehr Essstörungen bei jungen Menschen
Social Media wurde sowohl für Essstörungen verantwortlich gemacht als auch für die Hilfe bei der Genesung gelobt. Monkey Business Bilder / Shutterstock

Preise im Kontext

Es ist nicht einfach, herauszufinden, was diese Erkenntnisse bedeuten können und ob Social Media eine Rolle in diesen sich wandelnden Trends gespielt hat. Bulimia nervosa allein betrachten, Einige Forscher schlagen vor Bulimia nervosa ist ein westliches Phänomen, das auf dem Druck beruht, dünn zu sein, während Anorexia nervosa weniger kulturell gebunden ist und über die Zeit, Kulturen und sogar Arten hinweg existiert.

Sie sagen, dass eine Abnahme der Bulimia nervosa auf die Normalisierung des Übergewichts zurückgeführt werden könnte, was den Druck auf die Haut verringert und zu einer Abnahme der Bulimia nervosa führt. In diesem Fall könnte argumentiert werden, dass soziale Medien den Trend beeinflussen, obwohl dies möglicherweise nicht der Fall ist. Anstatt Essstörungen zu verstärken, hilft die Körperpositivität und die Vielfalt der Körperformen und -größen, die auf sozialen Plattformen zu beobachten sind, jungen Menschen, sich selbst zu akzeptieren. Dies kann auch erklären, warum die Abnahme in benachteiligten Gebieten, in denen die die Prävalenz von Fettleibigkeit ist höher.

Dieses Konzept ist jedoch sehr umstritten. Und es ist schwer, dem Anstieg der Nutzung sozialer Medien und den zunehmenden Bedenken hinsichtlich Gewicht und Körperbild zu entgehen. Der Mechanismus, bei dem dies zu Esssorgen und Essstörungen führen könnte, erscheint vernünftig. Aber unsere Studie unterstützt das derzeit nicht.

Wir haben jedoch auch einen Anstieg der Zahl der stationär behandelten Personen mit Essstörungen in England festgestellt, was darauf hindeuten könnte, dass bei Menschen Essstörungen in einem späteren, weiter fortgeschrittenen Stadium als bisher diagnostiziert werden und eine stationäre Aufnahme erforderlich ist . Essstörungen können aus verschiedenen Gründen problematische Bedingungen für Ärzte sein, die sie identifizieren, überweisen und verwalten müssen.

Einige Studien haben gezeigt, dass Diagnosen sind weniger wahrscheinlich gemacht werden wenn es zum Beispiel keine spezialisierten Dienstleistungen in der Gegend gibt. Eine höhere Verfügbarkeit von psychosozialen Diensten für Kinder und Jugendliche und niedrigere Schwellenwerte für die Akzeptanz von Überweisungen als bei Diensten für Erwachsene für Essstörungen könnten erklären, warum die Diagnoseraten für Essstörungen bei 11- bis 15-Jährigen im Untersuchungszeitraum stabil geblieben sind, jedoch zurückgegangen sind für 16 bis 24-Jährige.

Während mehr Forschung betrieben werden muss, um herauszufinden, ob und wie soziale Medien das Auftreten und Fortbestehen von Essstörungen weltweit beeinflussen, beginnen Studien wie unsere, Annahmen zu entschlüsseln, die wir über die Verbindungen zwischen beiden treffen könnten. Und letztendlich werden wir uns darauf konzentrieren, bessere Präventions- und Online-Therapiemöglichkeiten für junge Menschen mit Essstörungen und diejenigen zu schaffen, die diese möglicherweise weiterentwickeln.Das Gespräch

Über die Autoren

Ann John, klinische Professorin für öffentliche Gesundheit und Psychiatrie, Universität Swansea und Sophie Wood, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, CASCADE, Cardiff University

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Kaspars Grinvalds/Shutterstock

There is ongoing debate about whether eating disorders are more common in modern society. Some say that as young people are both exposed to and share images of themselves in an unprecedented way on social media today, this affects their body image and may have an impact on their eating too. Others suggest that social media can help eating disorder recovery by providing platforms for people to talk about their experiences and treatment. So which one is correct?

We know that rates of eating disorders are high. According to a large survey conducted in 2017, about four in every 1,000 young people aged 5-19 years have an eating disorder in England alone. The most recent study to look at trends in eating disorders in primary care showed that more people were being diagnosed with eating disorders year on year too. It found that the number of people being diagnosed with eating disorders increased from 32 to 37 in every 100,000 people aged 10-49 years between 2000 and 2009. But the GP data used in this research is now more than ten years old – dating from before the launch of platforms such as Instagram.

For our newly published research, we decided to look again at these trends to find if the rise of social media had changed anything. We used a large primary care database covering about 7% of the population in England and specifically looked at the anonymised records of more than one million children and young people who visited their GP between 2004 and 2014.

We found that eating disorders recorded in primary care are nearly 11 times more common in females than males and twice as common in people aged 16–20 years old, than in the 11-15 or 21-24 age groups. They are also one and a half times as common in people from the most affluent areas compared to the least.

The most common type of eating disorder was not either of the two most well known – anorexia and bulimia nervosa – but eating disorders “not otherwise specified”. This means that they are eating disorders that don’t quite reach the threshold to be defined as anorexia or bulimia nervosa.

We also found that fewer young people are being diagnosed with eating disorders every year in primary care. Rates decreased most significantly for bulimia nervosa, less so for eating disorders not otherwise specified, and remained stable for anorexia nervosa. Decreases were seen in females, and the 16–24 age group too. Significant decreases were also found in young people from the most deprived areas, but not the most affluent (where rates are higher), further widening the difference between the two groups.

The numbers of males diagnosed with an eating disorder was too small for further breakdown, since less than 500 individuals were diagnosed over the 11-year study period. The number of both males and females with bulimia nervosa were particularly small too, although we did see a 50% decrease in females diagnosed.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Social media has been both blamed for causing eating disorders and praised for helping some recover. Monkey Business Images/Shutterstock

Rates in context

It’s not easy to unpick what these findings may mean and whether social media has played a part in these changing trends. Looking at bulimia nervosa alone, some researchers suggest that bulimia nervosa is a Western phenomena, based on a pressure to be thin, while anorexia nervosa is less culture bound, and exists across time, cultures and even species.

They say that a decrease in bulimia nervosa could be attributed to the normalisation of being overweight, which reduces the pressure to be thin and leads to a decrease in bulimia nervosa. In which case, it could be argued that social media is affecting the trend, although not in the way that some might assume. Rather than increasing eating disorders, the body positivity and range of body shapes and sizes seen on social platforms is helping young people accept their own selves. This may also explain why the decrease is more evident in more deprived areas where the prevalence of obesity is higher.

But this concept is highly contested. And it’s hard to escape the rise in social media use and the increasing concerns about weight and body image. The mechanism where this might lead to eating concerns and disordered eating seems sensible. But our study doesn’t currently support that.

However, we did also find an increase in the number of people receiving in-patient care for eating disorders in England, which could suggest that people are being diagnosed with eating disorders at a later, more advanced stage than previously, requiring in-patient admission. Eating disorders can be problematic conditions for doctors to identify, refer and manage for several reasons.

Some studies have shown that diagnoses are less likely to be made if there are no specialist services in the area, for example. Greater availability of child and adolescent mental health services, and lower thresholds for acceptance of referrals than in adult services for eating disorders, could explain why eating disorder diagnosis rates for 11 to 15-year-olds have remained stable over the study period, yet decreased for 16 to 24-year-olds.

While more research must be done to work out whether, and how, social media influences the onset and continuation of eating disorders globally, studies like ours are starting to unpick assumptions we might make about the links between the two. And ultimately will help us to focus on creating better prevention and online therapeutic tools for young people with eating disorders and those who may go on to develop them.The Conversation

About the Authors

Ann John, Clinical Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry, Swansea University and Sophie Wood, Research Assistant, CASCADE, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
by Ruchira Avatar Adi Da Samraj
This is the moment of truth for humankind. Critical choices must now be made in order to protect…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.