Les médias sociaux ne causent pas plus de troubles de l'alimentation chez les jeunes

Les médias sociaux ne causent pas plus de troubles de l'alimentation chez les jeunes
Kaspars Grinvalds / Shutterstock

Il y a un débat en cours à propos de savoir si troubles de l'alimentation sont plus communs dans la société moderne. Certains disent que les jeunes sont à la fois exposés et partagent des images d'eux-mêmes d'une manière sans précédent sur les réseaux sociaux, cela affecte leur image corporelle et peuvent également avoir un impact sur leur alimentation. Autres suggèrent que les médias sociaux peuvent aider la récupération des troubles de l'alimentation en fournir des plates-formes pour les gens parler de leurs expériences et de leur traitement. Alors, lequel est correct?

Nous savons que les taux de troubles de l'alimentation sont élevés. Selon une vaste enquête réalisée dans 2017, environ quatre sur chaque 1,000 les jeunes âgés de 5-19 ans ont un trouble de l'alimentation en Angleterre seulement. le étude la plus récente examiner les tendances en matière de troubles de l'alimentation dans les soins primaires a montré que de plus en plus de personnes étaient diagnostiquées avec des troubles de l'alimentation année après année. Il a été constaté que le nombre de personnes chez lesquelles un diagnostic de troubles de l’alimentation avait été diagnostiqué avait augmenté de 32 à 37 chez toutes les personnes 100,000 âgées de 10-49 entre 2000 et 2009. Mais les données GP utilisées dans cette recherche ont maintenant plus de dix ans - elles dataient d’avant le lancement de plateformes telles que Instagram.

Pour notre recherche récemment publiée, nous avons décidé de réexaminer ces tendances pour déterminer si la montée des médias sociaux avait changé quelque chose. Nous avons utilisé une vaste base de données sur les soins primaires couvrant environ 7% de la population en Angleterre et avons examiné en particulier les enregistrements anonymisés de plus d'un million d'enfants et de jeunes ayant visité leur médecin généraliste entre 2004 et 2014.

Nous avons constaté que les troubles de l'alimentation enregistrés dans les soins primaires étaient près de fois 11 plus fréquents chez les femmes que les hommes et deux fois plus fréquents chez les personnes âgées de 16 – 20, que dans les groupes d'âge 11-15 ou 21-24. Ils sont également une fois et demie plus fréquents chez les personnes des régions les plus riches que les moins riches.

Le type de trouble de l'alimentation le plus courant n'était pas l'un des deux plus connus - l'anorexie et la boulimie nerveuse - mais les troubles de l'alimentation «non spécifiés ailleurs». Cela signifie qu'il s'agit de troubles de l'alimentation qui n'atteignent pas vraiment le seuil correspondant à l'anorexie ou à la boulimie nerveuse.

Nous avons également constaté que de moins en moins de jeunes recevaient un diagnostic de troubles de l'alimentation chaque année en soins primaires. Les taux ont diminué le plus significativement pour la boulimie mentale, moins pour les troubles de l'alimentation non spécifiés ailleurs, et sont restés stables pour l'anorexie mentale. Des diminutions ont été observées chez les femmes et dans le groupe d’âge 16 – 24. Des baisses significatives ont également été observées chez les jeunes des zones les plus défavorisées, mais pas des plus riches (où les taux sont plus élevés), ce qui a encore creusé la différence entre les deux groupes.

Le nombre d'hommes chez lesquels un trouble du comportement alimentaire avait été diagnostiqué était trop petit pour être ventilé davantage, car moins de personnes que 500 ont été diagnostiquées au cours de la période d'étude de 11. Le nombre d'hommes et de femmes atteints de boulimie mentale était particulièrement faible également, bien que nous ayons constaté une diminution de 50% du nombre de femmes diagnostiquées.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Les médias sociaux ne causent pas plus de troubles de l'alimentation chez les jeunes
Les médias sociaux ont été à la fois accusés d'avoir provoqué des troubles de l'alimentation et félicités pour avoir aidé certains à se rétablir. Images d'entreprise de singe / Shutterstock

Tarifs en contexte

Il n'est pas facile de décrypter le sens de ces résultats et de déterminer si les médias sociaux ont joué un rôle dans ces tendances en évolution. En regardant la boulimie nerveuse seule, certains chercheurs suggèrent cette boulimie est un phénomène occidental, basé sur une pression pour être mince, alors que l'anorexie mentale est moins liée à la culture et existe à travers le temps, les cultures et même les espèces.

Ils disent qu'une diminution de la boulimie mentale pourrait être attribuée à la normalisation de l'excès de poids, ce qui réduit la pression d'être mince et conduit à une diminution de la boulimie mentale. Dans ce cas, on pourrait faire valoir que les médias sociaux ont une incidence sur la tendance, mais pas de la manière que pourraient en supposer certains. Plutôt que d’augmenter les troubles de l’alimentation, la positivité corporelle et la gamme de formes et de tailles corporelles vues sur les plateformes sociales aident les jeunes à s’accepter eux-mêmes. Cela peut aussi expliquer pourquoi la diminution est plus évidente dans les zones plus défavorisées où la prévalence de l'obésité est plus élevée.

Mais ce concept est fortement contesté. Et il est difficile d'échapper à la hausse de l'utilisation des médias sociaux et aux préoccupations grandissantes concernant le poids et l'image corporelle. Le mécanisme par lequel cela pourrait conduire à des inquiétudes alimentaires et à des troubles alimentaires semble raisonnable. Mais notre étude ne supporte pas cela actuellement.

Cependant, nous avons également constaté une augmentation du nombre de personnes hospitalisées pour des troubles de l'alimentation en Angleterre, ce qui pourrait suggérer que les troubles de l'alimentation soient diagnostiqués à un stade plus avancé et plus avancé qu'auparavant, nécessitant une hospitalisation. . Les troubles de l'alimentation peuvent être des conditions problématiques que les médecins peuvent identifier, orienter et gérer pour plusieurs raisons.

Certaines études ont montré que les diagnostics sont moins susceptible d'être faite s'il n'y a pas de services spécialisés dans la région, par exemple. Une plus grande disponibilité des services de santé mentale pour enfants et adolescents et des seuils d'acceptation des recommandations moins élevés que dans les services pour adultes pour troubles de l'alimentation pourraient expliquer pourquoi les taux de diagnostic de troubles de l'alimentation pour les personnes de 11 à 15 sont restés stables au cours de la période de l'étude, tout en diminuant pour 16 à 24 ans.

Bien que des recherches supplémentaires soient nécessaires pour déterminer si et de quelle manière les médias sociaux influencent l'apparition et la persistance des troubles de l'alimentation à l'échelle mondiale, des études comme la nôtre commencent à défaire les hypothèses que nous pourrions faire sur les liens qui unissent les deux. Et à terme, cela nous aidera à nous concentrer sur la création de meilleurs outils de prévention et thérapeutiques en ligne pour les jeunes souffrant de troubles de l’alimentation et ceux susceptibles de les développer.La Conversation

À propos des auteurs

Ann John, professeure clinicienne de santé publique et de psychiatrie, Université de Swansea et Sophie Wood, assistante de recherche, CASCADE, Université de Cardiff

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Kaspars Grinvalds/Shutterstock

There is ongoing debate about whether eating disorders are more common in modern society. Some say that as young people are both exposed to and share images of themselves in an unprecedented way on social media today, this affects their body image and may have an impact on their eating too. Others suggest that social media can help eating disorder recovery by providing platforms for people to talk about their experiences and treatment. So which one is correct?

We know that rates of eating disorders are high. According to a large survey conducted in 2017, about four in every 1,000 young people aged 5-19 years have an eating disorder in England alone. The most recent study to look at trends in eating disorders in primary care showed that more people were being diagnosed with eating disorders year on year too. It found that the number of people being diagnosed with eating disorders increased from 32 to 37 in every 100,000 people aged 10-49 years between 2000 and 2009. But the GP data used in this research is now more than ten years old – dating from before the launch of platforms such as Instagram.

For our newly published research, we decided to look again at these trends to find if the rise of social media had changed anything. We used a large primary care database covering about 7% of the population in England and specifically looked at the anonymised records of more than one million children and young people who visited their GP between 2004 and 2014.

We found that eating disorders recorded in primary care are nearly 11 times more common in females than males and twice as common in people aged 16–20 years old, than in the 11-15 or 21-24 age groups. They are also one and a half times as common in people from the most affluent areas compared to the least.

The most common type of eating disorder was not either of the two most well known – anorexia and bulimia nervosa – but eating disorders “not otherwise specified”. This means that they are eating disorders that don’t quite reach the threshold to be defined as anorexia or bulimia nervosa.

We also found that fewer young people are being diagnosed with eating disorders every year in primary care. Rates decreased most significantly for bulimia nervosa, less so for eating disorders not otherwise specified, and remained stable for anorexia nervosa. Decreases were seen in females, and the 16–24 age group too. Significant decreases were also found in young people from the most deprived areas, but not the most affluent (where rates are higher), further widening the difference between the two groups.

The numbers of males diagnosed with an eating disorder was too small for further breakdown, since less than 500 individuals were diagnosed over the 11-year study period. The number of both males and females with bulimia nervosa were particularly small too, although we did see a 50% decrease in females diagnosed.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Social media has been both blamed for causing eating disorders and praised for helping some recover. Monkey Business Images/Shutterstock

Rates in context

It’s not easy to unpick what these findings may mean and whether social media has played a part in these changing trends. Looking at bulimia nervosa alone, some researchers suggest that bulimia nervosa is a Western phenomena, based on a pressure to be thin, while anorexia nervosa is less culture bound, and exists across time, cultures and even species.

They say that a decrease in bulimia nervosa could be attributed to the normalisation of being overweight, which reduces the pressure to be thin and leads to a decrease in bulimia nervosa. In which case, it could be argued that social media is affecting the trend, although not in the way that some might assume. Rather than increasing eating disorders, the body positivity and range of body shapes and sizes seen on social platforms is helping young people accept their own selves. This may also explain why the decrease is more evident in more deprived areas where the prevalence of obesity is higher.

But this concept is highly contested. And it’s hard to escape the rise in social media use and the increasing concerns about weight and body image. The mechanism where this might lead to eating concerns and disordered eating seems sensible. But our study doesn’t currently support that.

However, we did also find an increase in the number of people receiving in-patient care for eating disorders in England, which could suggest that people are being diagnosed with eating disorders at a later, more advanced stage than previously, requiring in-patient admission. Eating disorders can be problematic conditions for doctors to identify, refer and manage for several reasons.

Some studies have shown that diagnoses are less likely to be made if there are no specialist services in the area, for example. Greater availability of child and adolescent mental health services, and lower thresholds for acceptance of referrals than in adult services for eating disorders, could explain why eating disorder diagnosis rates for 11 to 15-year-olds have remained stable over the study period, yet decreased for 16 to 24-year-olds.

While more research must be done to work out whether, and how, social media influences the onset and continuation of eating disorders globally, studies like ours are starting to unpick assumptions we might make about the links between the two. And ultimately will help us to focus on creating better prevention and online therapeutic tools for young people with eating disorders and those who may go on to develop them.The Conversation

About the Authors

Ann John, Clinical Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry, Swansea University and Sophie Wood, Research Assistant, CASCADE, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
by Ruchira Avatar Adi Da Samraj
This is the moment of truth for humankind. Critical choices must now be made in order to protect…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.