وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لا تسبب المزيد من اضطرابات الأكل لدى الشباب

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لا تسبب المزيد من اضطرابات الأكل لدى الشباب
Kaspars Grinvalds / Shutterstock

هناك نقاش مستمر عن الطقس اضطرابات الأكل هي أكثر شيوعا في المجتمع الحديث. البعض يقول ذلك نظرًا لأن الشباب معرضون ومشاركون لصور أنفسهم بطريقة غير مسبوقة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي اليوم ، هذا يؤثر صورة الجسم وقد يكون لها تأثير على تناول الطعام أيضا. اشياء اخرى تشير إلى أن وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية يمكن أن تساعد في تناول اضطرابات الانتعاش من قبل توفير منصات للناس للحديث عن تجاربهم وعلاجهم. حتى واحد الذي هو الصحيح؟

نحن نعلم أن معدلات اضطرابات الأكل مرتفعة. وفقا لمسح كبير أجريت في 2017 ، حول أربعة في كل 1,000 الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5-19 سنوات يعانون من اضطراب في الأكل في إنجلترا وحدها. ال الدراسة الأخيرة لإلقاء نظرة على الاتجاهات في اضطرابات الأكل في الرعاية الأولية أظهرت أنه يتم تشخيص المزيد من الناس يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل سنة بعد أخرى. لقد وجد أن عدد الأشخاص الذين يتم تشخيصهم يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل قد ارتفع من 32 إلى 37 في كل 100,000 من الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 10-49 وبين 2000 و 2009. لكن بيانات GP المستخدمة في هذا البحث عمرها الآن أكثر من عشر سنوات - تعود إلى ما قبل إطلاق منصات مثل Instagram.

لنا البحوث المنشورة حديثا، قررنا أن ننظر مرة أخرى في هذه الاتجاهات لمعرفة ما إذا كان ظهور وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قد غير شيئًا. استخدمنا قاعدة بيانات كبيرة للرعاية الأولية تغطي حوالي 7٪ من السكان في إنجلترا ونظرنا بالتحديد في السجلات المجهولة لأكثر من مليون طفل وشاب زاروا سباقهم بين 2004 و 2014.

لقد وجدنا أن اضطرابات الأكل المسجلة في الرعاية الأولية تكون أكثر شيوعًا في 11 في الإناث أكثر من الذكور وأكثر ضعفًا في الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 – 20 ، مقارنة بالفئات العمرية 11-15 أو 21-24. كما أنها واحدة ونصف المرة شائعة في الأشخاص من المناطق الأكثر ثراءً مقارنةً بالآخر.

لم يكن أكثر أنواع اضطرابات الأكل شيوعًا من بين أكثر الاضطرابات المعروفة - فقدان الشهية والشره المرضي العصبي - ولكن اضطرابات الأكل "غير محددة بطريقة أخرى". هذا يعني أنهم يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل التي لا تصل إلى حد العتبة المراد تعريفها على أنها فقدان الشهية أو الشره المرضي العصبي.

وجدنا أيضًا أن عددًا أقل من الشباب يتم تشخيصهم باضطرابات الأكل كل عام في الرعاية الأولية. انخفضت معدلات المرض بشكل ملحوظ في الشره المرضي العصبي ، وأقل من ذلك بالنسبة لاضطرابات الأكل غير المحددة بخلاف ذلك ، وظلت مستقرة لفقدان الشهية العصبي. شوهد انخفاض في الإناث ، والفئة العمرية 16 - 24 أيضا. كما تم العثور على انخفاضات كبيرة في الشباب من المناطق الأكثر حرمانًا ، ولكن ليس الأكثر ثراءً (حيث تكون المعدلات أعلى) ، مما يزيد من الفارق بين المجموعتين.

كانت أعداد الذكور التي تم تشخيصها بأنها مصابة باضطراب الأكل صغيرة للغاية بحيث لم يتم تشخيصها بعد ، حيث تم تشخيص أقل من 500 من الأفراد خلال فترة الدراسة التي استمرت عامًا في 11. كان عدد كل من الذكور والإناث الذين يعانون من الشره المرضي العصبي صغيرًا جدًا أيضًا ، على الرغم من أننا لاحظنا انخفاضًا بنسبة 50٪ في الإناث المصابات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لا تسبب المزيد من اضطرابات الأكل لدى الشباب
وقد تم إلقاء اللوم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في التسبب في اضطرابات الأكل وأشادت بالمساعدة في التعافي. قرد الصور التجارية / Shutterstock

معدلات في السياق

ليس من السهل إلغاء تحديد معنى هذه النتائج وما إذا كانت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قد لعبت دورًا في هذه الاتجاهات المتغيرة. أبحث في الشره المرضي العصبي وحده ، يقترح بعض الباحثين أن الشره المرضي العصبي هو ظواهر غربية ، تقوم على ضغط ليكون رقيقًا ، في حين أن فقدان الشهية العصبي أقل ارتباطًا بالثقافة ، وهو موجود عبر الزمن والثقافات وحتى الأنواع.

يقولون أن انخفاض في الشره المرضي العصبي يمكن أن يعزى إلى تطبيع زيادة الوزن ، مما يقلل من الضغط لتكون رقيقة ويؤدي إلى انخفاض في الشره المرضي العصبي. في هذه الحالة ، يمكن القول أن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تؤثر على الاتجاه ، ولكن ليس بالطريقة التي قد يفترضها البعض. بدلاً من زيادة اضطرابات الأكل ، تساعد إيجابية الجسم ومجموعة من أشكال وأحجام الجسم التي تظهر على المنابر الاجتماعية الشباب على تقبل أنفسهم. هذا قد يفسر أيضا سبب الانخفاض أكثر وضوحا في المناطق الأكثر حرمانا حيث انتشار السمنة أعلى.

لكن هذا المفهوم موضع خلاف كبير. ومن الصعب تجنب الارتفاع في استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وتزايد المخاوف بشأن الوزن وصورة الجسم. آلية حيث قد يؤدي هذا إلى تناول المخاوف والأكل المختلين تبدو معقولة. لكن دراستنا لا تدعم ذلك حاليا.

ومع ذلك ، وجدنا أيضًا زيادة في عدد الأشخاص الذين يتلقون رعاية داخلية للمرضى الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل في إنجلترا ، مما قد يشير إلى أنه يتم تشخيص الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل في مرحلة متأخرة أكثر تقدمًا من السابق ، مما يتطلب قبول المريض . يمكن أن تكون اضطرابات الأكل حالات إشكالية للأطباء لتحديدها وإحالتها وإدارتها لعدة أسباب.

وقد أظهرت بعض الدراسات أن التشخيصات أقل احتمالا أن يتم إذا لم تكن هناك خدمات متخصصة في المنطقة ، على سبيل المثال. إن توفر خدمات الصحة العقلية لدى الأطفال والمراهقين ، والحدود الدنيا لقبول الإحالات مقارنة بخدمات البالغين المتعلقة باضطرابات الأكل ، يمكن أن يفسر سبب بقاء معدلات تشخيص اضطرابات الأكل بين 11 إلى 15 وعمرها ثابتًا خلال فترة الدراسة. ل 16 إلى 24 من العمر.

في حين يجب إجراء مزيد من البحوث لمعرفة ما إذا كان وكيفية تأثير وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي على ظهور واستمرار اضطرابات الأكل على مستوى العالم ، بدأت دراسات مثل دراساتنا في اكتشاف الافتراضات التي قد نتخذها بشأن الروابط بين الاثنين. وسيساعدنا في النهاية على التركيز على إيجاد أدوات وقائية وعلاجية أفضل على الإنترنت للشباب الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل وأولئك الذين قد يواصلون تطويرهم.المحادثة

حول المؤلف

آن جون ، أستاذة سريرية للصحة العامة والطب النفسي ، جامعة سوانسي وصوفي وود ، مساعد باحث ، CASCADE ، جامعة كارديف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Kaspars Grinvalds/Shutterstock

There is ongoing debate about whether eating disorders are more common in modern society. Some say that as young people are both exposed to and share images of themselves in an unprecedented way on social media today, this affects their body image and may have an impact on their eating too. Others suggest that social media can help eating disorder recovery by providing platforms for people to talk about their experiences and treatment. So which one is correct?

We know that rates of eating disorders are high. According to a large survey conducted in 2017, about four in every 1,000 young people aged 5-19 years have an eating disorder in England alone. The most recent study to look at trends in eating disorders in primary care showed that more people were being diagnosed with eating disorders year on year too. It found that the number of people being diagnosed with eating disorders increased from 32 to 37 in every 100,000 people aged 10-49 years between 2000 and 2009. But the GP data used in this research is now more than ten years old – dating from before the launch of platforms such as Instagram.

For our newly published research, we decided to look again at these trends to find if the rise of social media had changed anything. We used a large primary care database covering about 7% of the population in England and specifically looked at the anonymised records of more than one million children and young people who visited their GP between 2004 and 2014.

We found that eating disorders recorded in primary care are nearly 11 times more common in females than males and twice as common in people aged 16–20 years old, than in the 11-15 or 21-24 age groups. They are also one and a half times as common in people from the most affluent areas compared to the least.

The most common type of eating disorder was not either of the two most well known – anorexia and bulimia nervosa – but eating disorders “not otherwise specified”. This means that they are eating disorders that don’t quite reach the threshold to be defined as anorexia or bulimia nervosa.

We also found that fewer young people are being diagnosed with eating disorders every year in primary care. Rates decreased most significantly for bulimia nervosa, less so for eating disorders not otherwise specified, and remained stable for anorexia nervosa. Decreases were seen in females, and the 16–24 age group too. Significant decreases were also found in young people from the most deprived areas, but not the most affluent (where rates are higher), further widening the difference between the two groups.

The numbers of males diagnosed with an eating disorder was too small for further breakdown, since less than 500 individuals were diagnosed over the 11-year study period. The number of both males and females with bulimia nervosa were particularly small too, although we did see a 50% decrease in females diagnosed.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Social Media Isn't Causing More Eating Disorders In Young People
Social media has been both blamed for causing eating disorders and praised for helping some recover. Monkey Business Images/Shutterstock

Rates in context

It’s not easy to unpick what these findings may mean and whether social media has played a part in these changing trends. Looking at bulimia nervosa alone, some researchers suggest that bulimia nervosa is a Western phenomena, based on a pressure to be thin, while anorexia nervosa is less culture bound, and exists across time, cultures and even species.

They say that a decrease in bulimia nervosa could be attributed to the normalisation of being overweight, which reduces the pressure to be thin and leads to a decrease in bulimia nervosa. In which case, it could be argued that social media is affecting the trend, although not in the way that some might assume. Rather than increasing eating disorders, the body positivity and range of body shapes and sizes seen on social platforms is helping young people accept their own selves. This may also explain why the decrease is more evident in more deprived areas where the prevalence of obesity is higher.

But this concept is highly contested. And it’s hard to escape the rise in social media use and the increasing concerns about weight and body image. The mechanism where this might lead to eating concerns and disordered eating seems sensible. But our study doesn’t currently support that.

However, we did also find an increase in the number of people receiving in-patient care for eating disorders in England, which could suggest that people are being diagnosed with eating disorders at a later, more advanced stage than previously, requiring in-patient admission. Eating disorders can be problematic conditions for doctors to identify, refer and manage for several reasons.

Some studies have shown that diagnoses are less likely to be made if there are no specialist services in the area, for example. Greater availability of child and adolescent mental health services, and lower thresholds for acceptance of referrals than in adult services for eating disorders, could explain why eating disorder diagnosis rates for 11 to 15-year-olds have remained stable over the study period, yet decreased for 16 to 24-year-olds.

While more research must be done to work out whether, and how, social media influences the onset and continuation of eating disorders globally, studies like ours are starting to unpick assumptions we might make about the links between the two. And ultimately will help us to focus on creating better prevention and online therapeutic tools for young people with eating disorders and those who may go on to develop them.The Conversation

About the Authors

Ann John, Clinical Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry, Swansea University and Sophie Wood, Research Assistant, CASCADE, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
An Open Letter to the Entire Human Family
by Ruchira Avatar Adi Da Samraj
This is the moment of truth for humankind. Critical choices must now be made in order to protect…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.