بعد هفوات في ضبط النفس ، هل يساعد على الاعتراف بذلك؟

بعد هفوات في ضبط النفس ، هل يساعد على الاعتراف بذلك؟

يلعب الشعور بالذنب دورًا في ما إذا كان القبول بفقدان ضبط النفس يساعدنا على مقاومة الإغراء في المستقبل أو يجعلنا أكثر عرضة للاستسلام مرة أخرى ، وفقًا لبحث جديد.

لقد انزلقنا جميعًا عندما نحاول تحسين أنفسنا ، ربما عن طريق تناول طعام أفضل أو إنفاق أكثر حكمة ، وأحيانًا عندما نفعل ذلك ، أخبرنا شخصًا ما. لكن لا يُعرف الكثير عما نفعله بعد ذلك. هل يساعدنا القبول أو يؤذينا في تحقيق أهدافنا؟

يقول كيلي هاوز ، أستاذ التسويق في كلية أوين للدراسات العليا بجامعة فاندربيلت: "معظم الأبحاث حول الاعتراف تدرس السياقات الدينية أو الجنائية". "ما أردنا أن ننظر إليه هو عواقب الاعتراف بفجوات يومية في ضبط النفس - نوع الحالات التي يكون فيها الشخص الوحيد الذي تفشل فيه هو نفسك".

وجد Haws والمؤلف المشارك مايكل لوي من Georgia Georgia أن الاعتراف يؤثر على سلوكنا ، على الرغم من أنه بطرق متناقضة في بعض الأحيان - يبدو أنه في بعض الأحيان يعزز عزمنا في المرة القادمة ، بينما يبدو أنه في بعض الأحيان يضعفه. نظرية الباحثين أن مشاعر الذنب قد تحدث فرقا.

ضبط النفس والاعتراف

في سلسلة من خمس تجارب ، أربعة منها تناولت طعامًا وأخرى تتضمن نقودًا ، سعى الباحثون إلى دراسة كيفية تفاعل المستهلكين بشكل مختلف بعد الاعتراف مقابل إبقاء تجاوزهم لأنفسهم ، وتجاهل دور الذنب.

على الرغم من اختلاف كل تجربة إلى حد ما لاستكشاف الفروق الدقيقة المختلفة ، فقد طلبوا جميعًا من المشاركين التفكير في حلقة من الفشل في ضبط النفس ، والنظر في الكشف عن قِبَلهم ، ثم التفكير في سلوكهم اللاحق. من أجل التأكد من إمكانية تطبيق النتائج على نطاق واسع ، شملت المواد طلاب الجامعات والكبار من جميع الأعمار باستخدام منصة MTurk.

وجد الباحثون أن تفاعل الشعور بالذنب والاعتراف يساعد في تفسير التناقض الذي لاحظوه. في سيناريوهات الذنب الشديد ، توقع عمل الاعتراف زيادة ضبط النفس في المرة القادمة. في سيناريوهات الذنب المنخفض ، ومع ذلك ، أدى الاعتراف في الواقع إلى ضعف ضبط النفس ، مما يشير إلى أن الاعترافات غير الصادقة قد تقلل بالفعل أي فائدة قد نربحها من السعي لتحقيق المساءلة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عاملين آخرين

وجد الباحثون أن هناك عاملين إضافيين أثروا في تأثير الذنب على الاعتراف: المساءلة العامة والتناقض الذاتي - الدرجة التي يشعر بها الشخص بأن تصرفاته تختلف عن معاييره.

يقول هاوز: "إذا كتبت للتو اعترافك على قطعة من الورق ومزقته ، فلن ينجح ذلك". "عليك أن تعرف أن شخصًا آخر قد يراها".

علاوة على ذلك ، كما تقول ، عندما يكون الشعور بالذنب مرتفعًا ، فإن الاعتراف يقلل من التناقض الذاتي - وبعبارة أخرى ، يجعلنا أقرب تمشيا مع الطريقة التي نعتقد أننا يجب أن نكون - ويبدو أن ذلك يساعدنا في تمكيننا من القيام بعمل أفضل في المرة القادمة.

يقول هاوز إن هذا البحث يمكن أن يساعد في النهاية مؤسسات مثل مجموعات دعم إنقاص الوزن ومنشآت استعادة الإدمان على فهم كيف ومتى يمكن للخطأ العلني لأقرانهم مساعدة زبائنهم على تغيير سلوكهم - ومتى قد يقوضهم بدلاً من ذلك.

تظهر الورقة في مجلة علم النفس الشخصية والاجتماعية.

مصدر: جامعة فاندربيلت

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

After Lapses In Self-Control, Does It Help To Admit It?

After Lapses In Self-control, Does It Help To Admit It?

Guilt plays a role in whether admitting to a lapse in self-control helps us resist temptation in the future or makes us more likely to give in again, according to new research.

We’ve all slipped up when we’re trying to improve ourselves, perhaps by eating better or spending more wisely, and sometimes when we do, we tell someone. But little is known about what we actually do next. Does admission help us or hurt us in reaching our goals?

“Most research on confession examines either religious contexts or criminal ones,” says Kelly Haws, a professor of marketing at the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University. “What we wanted to look at was the consequences of confessing everyday lapses of self-control—the kind of instances where the only person you fail is yourself.”

Haws and coauthor Michael Lowe of Georgia Tech found that confession affects our behavior, though in sometimes contradictory ways—sometimes it seems to strengthen our resolve the next time, while other times it appears to weaken it. The researchers theorized that feelings of guilt might make the difference.

Self-control and confession

In a series of five experiments, four involving food and one involving money, the researchers sought to examine how consumers responded differently after confessing versus just keeping their transgression to themselves, and to tease out the role of guilt.

Though each experiment varied somewhat to explore different nuances, they all asked participants to consider an episode of self-control failure, consider disclosing their slip-up, and then consider their subsequent behavior. In order to make sure the findings could be broadly applied, subjects included university students and adults of all ages using the MTurk platform.

The researchers found that the interaction of guilt and confession help explain the contradiction they observed. In high-guilt scenarios, the act of confession predicted increased self-control next time. In low-guilt scenarios, however, confessing actually led to poorer self-control, suggesting that insincere confessions might actually undercut any benefit we might gain from seeking accountability.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Two other factors

The researchers found that two additional factors influenced the effect of guilt on confession: public accountability and self-discrepancy—the degree to which a person feels their actions diverge from their standards.

“If you just wrote your confession on a piece of paper and tore it up, it wouldn’t work,” Haws says. “You need to know that someone else might see it.”

Furthermore, she says, when guilt is high, confessing reduces self-discrepancy—in other words, it brings us closer in line with how we think we ought to be—and that seems to help empower us to do better next time.

Haws says this research could eventually help organizations like weight-loss support groups and addiction recovery facilities understand how and when publicly confessing missteps to their peers can help their clients change their behavior—and when it might undermine them instead.

The paper appears in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology.

Source: Vanderbilt University

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}