صدمة الطفولة وآثارها الدائمة

صدمة الطفولة وآثارها الدائمة شاب مجهول يشارك في العلاج في مركز للاجئين في ديترويت. ديفيد دالتون / جامعة واين ستيت, CC BY-SA

مع اليقظة في المجتمع لأهمية الصحة العقلية ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع التقدم في علم الأعصاب والطب النفسي ، يتحول الاهتمام الذي تمس الحاجة إليه إلى الصدمات والصدمات النفسية لدى الأطفال ببطء.

في مقابلة حديثة مع أندرسون كوبر وفي كتابه الأخير المنشور في مايو 14 ، ناقش هوارد ستيرن محنة الطفولة والصدمات النفسية. وناقش الرجلان أيضًا تعرضهما لضغط والديهم وكيف تشكل ردود أفعالهم تجاه الأطفال سلوكهم البالغ.

كطبيب نفسي الصدمة، أنا سعيد لأن الرجال الذين لديهم مثل هذه المشاهير مستعدون للحديث عن تجاربهم ، لأنه يمكن أن يساعد في نشر الوعي لدى الجمهور والحد من وصمة العار.

الطفولة: التعلم عن العالم والنفس

دماغ الطفل هو إسفنجة للتعرف على كيفية عمل العالم ومن هم أنفسهم. نحن البشر لديهم ميزة تطورية في القدرة على الوثوق بكبار السن والتعلم منهم حول العالم. وهذا يؤدي إلى المعرفة التراكمية والحماية من الشدائد ، والتي يعرف عنها فقط من ذوي الخبرة. يمتص الطفل أنماط إدراك العالم ، المتعلقة بالآخرين وبالذات من خلال التعلم من البالغين.

ولكن عندما تكون البيئة الأولية صعبة وغير معتادة بشكل غير عادي ، قد يتشكل تصور الطفل للعالم حول العنف والخوف والافتقار إلى الأمان والحزن. أدمغة البالغين الذين يعانون من محن الطفولة ، أو حتى الفقر أكثر عرضة للكشف عن الخطر، على حساب تجاهل التجارب الإيجابية أو المحايدة.

يجب أن ينضج بعض الذين يعانون من الشدائد في مرحلة الطفولة بشكل أسرع وأن يصبحوا من مقدمي الرعاية أو تقديم الدعم العاطفي للأشقاء أو الآباء في سن يحتاجون إلى العناية به. قد ينتهي بهم المطاف بحمل تلك الأنماط المتعلقة بالآخرين طوال حياتهم البالغة.

قد يرى الطفل المصاب بالصدمة نفسه أو نفسه غير مستحق للحب أو مذنب أو سيء. قد يفكر دماغ طفل غير معروف: إذا فعلوا ذلك بي ، يجب أن يكون هناك خطأ معي ، فأنا أستحقه.

يشكل العالم الصغير الذي يعيشه الأطفال كأطفال الطريقة التي نتصور بها العالم الكبير الحقيقي ، وشعبه ، والأشخاص الذين نحن بالغين. سوف يشكل هذا بعد ذلك الطريقة التي يستجيب بها العالم لنا بناءً على تصرفاتنا.

عالم مليء الصدمات

تعد صدمة الطفولة أكثر شيوعًا مما يتصور المرء: ما يصل إلى ثلثي تجربة الأطفال على الأقل حدث واحد مؤلم. وتشمل هذه مرض أو إصابة طبية خطيرة ، تجربة مباشرة للعنف أو الإيذاء الجنسي أو شاهدهم ، الإهمال ، البلطجة وأحدث إضافة إلى القائمة: إطلاق النار الشامل.

لسوء الحظ ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعنف المنزلي والاعتداء الجنسي ، فغالبًا ما يحدث التعرض المزمن والمتكرروالتي قد تكون أكثر ضررًا بصحة وسلوك الطفل العقلي والبدني.

الحروب الأهلية المستمرة وأزمات اللاجئين تعرض ملايين الأطفال ل مستويات عالية للغاية من الصدمة، والتي غالبا ما يتم تجاهلها.

كيف يتفاعل الأطفال مع الصدمات؟

لفهم رد فعل الطفل تجاه الصدمة ، يجب على المرء أن يأخذ في الاعتبار مستوى نموه من النضج العاطفي والمعرفي. في معظم الأحيان ، يكون الارتباك هو رد الفعل: لا يعرف الطفل ما يحدث أو لماذا يحدث.

أسمع مرارًا وتكرارًا من مرضاي البالغين أنه عندما تعرضوا للتحرش من قِبل أحد أقربائهم البالغ من العمر خمس سنوات ، لم يكونوا يعلمون بما يحدث أو لماذا يقوم مقدم الرعاية الذي يفترض أنه يثق بهم بذلك. الخوف والإرهاب ، إلى جانب الشعور بعدم السيطرة ، غالبًا ما يكونان من أصحاب هذا الالتباس.

هناك أيضًا شعور بالذنب ، لأن الطفل قد يعتقد أنه ارتكب خطأً يستحق الاعتداء ، وغالبًا ما يدعي البالغين الذين ارتكبوا الفعل أنهم ارتكبوا خطأ ما يستحقون الإساءة. للأسف عندما يتعلق الأمر بالاعتداء الجنسي ، وأحيانًا عندما يتم إخبار الوالدين بذلك ، فإنهم يختارون إنكار الحادث أو تجاهله. هذا يجعل مشاعر الذنب والعجز أسوأ. عندما تحدث الصدمة للآباء ، مثل الضرب المتكرر للأم من قبل والد مدمن على الكحول ، فإن الأطفال عالقون بين شخصين من المفترض أن يحبهما. قد يكونون غاضبين من الأب بسبب العنف أو غضبهم من الأم لعدم قدرتهم على حماية نفسها وأنفسهم.

قد يحاولون النهوض لحماية أمي من الأب أو من حزنها. قد يشعرون بالذنب لعدم تمكنهم من إنقاذها ، أو يضطرون إلى تربية أشقائهم عندما يخفق الوالدان في ذلك. إنهم يتعلمون أن العالم مكان وحشي وغير آمن ، وهو مكان يتعرض فيه الشخص للإيذاء والعنف.

مرحلة البلوغ من الصدمات في مرحلة الطفولة

صدمة الطفولة وآثارها الدائمة يمكن مساعدة الأطفال الذين يتعرضون للإيذاء عندما يأخذ الكبار على محمل الجد تقاريرهم عن سوء المعاملة. BestPhotoStudio / Shutterstock.com

هناك مجموعة متزايدة من الأبحاث تشير إلى تأثير طويل الأمد لصدمات الأطفال: ليس فقط أن تجارب الطفولة هذه يمكن أن تشكل الطريقة التي يتصور بها الشخص ويتفاعل مع العالم ، ولكن هناك أيضًا عواقب صحية أكاديمية ومهنية وعقلية وبدنية مدى الحياة. قد يكون هؤلاء الأطفال انخفاض الأداء الفكري والمدرسي, قلق أعلىوالاكتئاب وتعاطي المخدرات ومجموعة متنوعة من مشاكل الصحة البدنية بما في ذلك مرض المناعة الذاتية.

البالغين الذين تحملوا صدمة الطفولة لديهم فرصة أكبر للنمو اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة عندما تتعرض لصدمة جديدة وتظهر معدلات أعلى من قلقوالاكتئاب وتعاطي المخدرات انتحار. تشمل الآثار الصحية الجسدية لصدمات الأطفال في البالغين على سبيل المثال لا الحصر بدانة, التعب المزمن, أمراض القلب والشرايين، مرض يصيب جهاز المناعه، متلازمة الأيض و الم.

ليس جميع الذين يتعرضون لمحن الطفولة ندوب بشكل دائم ، والخط الأمامي في البحث عن محنة الطفولة هو تنبئ بالمخاطر والمرونة. على سبيل المثال ، هناك الاختلافات الوراثية مما قد يجعل الشخص أكثر أو أقل عرضة لتأثير الصدمة. كثيرا ما أرى أولئك الذين كانوا محظوظين بما فيه الكفاية لتحويل الصدمات إلى قضية ذات مغزى ، وبمساعدة مرشد جيد ، أو معالج ، أو أجداد ، أو تجارب إيجابية ترتفع وتطور المزيد من القوة.

ومع ذلك ، هذا لا يعني أن أولئك الذين يتحملون تأثيرات طويلة الأجل كانوا أضعف أو جربوا أقل. هناك العديد من العوامل الوراثية والبيولوجية العصبية والعائلية والدعم والعوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية ، بالإضافة إلى شدة الصدمة ومدى حدوثها ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى كسر أقوى الناس عند تعرضهم للصدمات النفسية.

كيفية التعامل مع صدمة الطفولة

يمكننا كمجتمع القيام بالكثير: الحد من الفقر. تثقيف وتزويد الآباء الأقل حظاً بالدعم اللازم لتربية أطفالهم (على الرغم من أن صدمة الطفولة تحدث أيضًا في المنازل المميزة) ؛ تأخذ على محمل الجد تقرير الأطفال من سوء المعاملة. إزالة مصدر الصدمة أو إخراج الطفل من البيئة المؤلمة ؛ العلاج النفسي. عند الضرورة ، يمكن أن تساعد الأدوية أيضًا.

لحسن الحظ لنا جميعًا ، التطورات الحديثة في علم الأعصاب ، العلاج النفسي وقد وفر لنا الطب النفسي أدوات قوية لمنع التأثير السلبي على الطفل وتقليل الكثير من التأثير السلبي على البالغين ، إذا اخترنا استخدامها.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

آراش جافانباخت ، أستاذ مساعد في الطب النفسي ، جامعة واين ستيت

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Childhood Trauma And Its Lasting Effects

Childhood Trauma And Its Lasting Effects An unidentified young person participating in therapy at a center for refugees in Detroit. David Dalton/Wayne State University, CC BY-SA

With the awakening in society of the importance of mental health, combined with advances in neuroscience and psychiatry, much needed attention to trauma and childhood trauma is slowly forming.

In a recent interview with Anderson Cooper and in his latest book published May 14, Howard Stern discussed childhood adversity and trauma. The two men also discussed their exposure to their parents’ stress and how their reactions as children formed their adult behavior.

As a trauma psychiatrist, I am glad that men with such celebrity are willing to talk about their experiences, because it can help bring awareness to the public and reduce stigma.

Childhood: Learning about the world and the self

A child’s brain is a sponge for learning about how the world works and who they themselves are. We humans have an evolutionary advantage in having the ability to trust the older and learn from them about the world. That leads to cumulative knowledge and protection against adversity, about which only the experienced know. A child absorbs the patterns of perceiving the world, relating to others and to the self by learning from adults.

But when the initial environment is unusually tough and unfriendly, then a child’s perception of the world may form around violence, fear, lack of safety and sadness. Brains of adults who experience childhood adversity, or even poverty, are more prone to detecting danger, at the cost of ignoring the positive or neutral experiences.

Some who experience childhood adversity have to mature faster and become caretakers or provide emotional support for siblings or parents at an age they themselves need to be taken care of. They may end up carrying those patterns of relating to others throughout their adult life.

The child of trauma may also perceive himself or herself as unworthy of love, guilty or bad. The brain of an unknowing child may think: If they do this to me, there should be something wrong with me, I deserve it.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The little world people experience as children forms the way we perceive the real big world, its people and the people we are as adults. This will then form the way the world reacts to us based on our actions.

A world filled with trauma

Childhood trauma is more common than one would think: Up to two-thirds of children experience at least one traumatic event. These include serious medical illness or injury, firsthand experience of violence or sexual abuse or witnessing them, neglect, bullying and the newest addition to the list: mass shootings.

Unfortunately, when it comes to domestic violence and sexual abuse, it is often chronic, repetitive exposure, which can be even more detrimental to the child’s mental and physical health and behavior.

Ongoing civil wars and refugee crises also expose millions of children to extremely high levels of trauma, which is often ignored.

How do children react to trauma?

To understand the child’s reaction to trauma, one has to keep in mind their developmental level of emotional and cognitive maturity. Most of the time, confusion is the reaction: The child does not know what is happening or why it is happening.

I hear frequently from my adult patients that when they were molested by a relative as a five-year-old, they did not know what was happening or why a supposedly trusting caregiver was doing it to them. Fear and terror, coupled with a sense of lack of control, are often companions of this confusion.

There is also guilt, as the child may believe they did something wrong to deserve the abuse, and often the perpetrating adults claim they did something wrong to deserve the abuse. Sadly when it comes to sexual abuse, sometimes when the parents are told about it, they choose to deny or ignore the incident. This makes the feelings of guilt and helplessness worse. When the trauma is happening to parents, such as frequent battering of a mother by an alcoholic father, children are stuck between two people they are supposed to love. They may be angry with the father for violence, or angry at the mother for not being able to protect herself and themselves.

They may try to rise to protect mom from father or from her sadness. They may feel guilty for not being able to save her, or have to raise their siblings when parents fail to do so. They learn the world is a brutal and unsafe place, a place where one is abused and one is violent.

Adulthood scars of childhood trauma

Childhood Trauma And Its Lasting Effects Children who are abused can be helped when adults take seriously their reports of abuse. BestPhotoStudio/Shutterstock.com

There is a growing body of research suggesting longstanding impact of childhood trauma: not only that such childhood experiences can form the way the person perceives and reacts to the world, but also that there are lifelong academic, occupational, mental and physical health consequences. These children may have lower intellectual and school performance, higher anxiety, depression, substance use and a variety of physical health problems including autoimmune disease.

Adults who endured childhood trauma have a higher chance of developing post-traumatic stress disorder when exposed to new trauma and show higher rates of anxiety, depression, substance use and suicide. Physical health consequences of childhood trauma in adults include but are not limited to obesity, chronic fatigue, cardiovascular disease, autoimmune disease, metabolic syndrome and pain.

Not all who are exposed to childhood adversity are permanently scarred, and a front line in research of childhood adversity is the predictors of risk and resilience. For instance, there are genetic variations which may make the person more or less vulnerable to impact of trauma. I often see those who were lucky enough to transform their trauma to a meaningful cause, and with the help of a good mentor, therapist, grandparent or positive experiences rise and develop more strength.

This, however, does not mean those who sustain long-term impacts were weaker or tried less. There are a multitude of genetic, neurobiological, family, support, socioeconomic and environmental factors, besides the severity and how chronic the trauma is, that can lead to breaking of the strongest of people when exposed to trauma.

How to deal with childhood trauma

We as a society can do a lot: reduce poverty; educate and provide less privileged parents with support needed for raising their children (although childhood trauma happens also in privileged homes); take seriously children’s report of abuse; remove the source of trauma or remove the child from the traumatic environment; psychotherapy. When necessary, medications can also help.

Fortunately for all of us, recent advances in neuroscience, psychotherapy and psychiatry have provided us with strong tools to prevent the negative impact in the child and reduce a lot of the negative impact in the adults, if we choose to use them.The Conversation

About The Author

Arash Javanbakht, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Wayne State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}