Wie jüngere Kinder mit Autismus mit Ablenkungen zu kämpfen haben

Wie jüngere Kinder mit Autismus mit Ablenkungen zu kämpfen haben

Vor dem 10-Alter haben Kinder mit Autismus Probleme mit der Fähigkeit, visuelle Ablenkungen zu blockieren, sich auf eine bestimmte Aufgabe zu konzentrieren, Forschungsergebnisse zu finden und könnten von Interventionen profitieren, um dieses Problem anzugehen.

Die Forscher sahen in früheren Studien, dass jüngere Kinder mit Autismus im Vergleich zu Gleichaltrigen im gleichen Alter ohne Autismus mehr Schwierigkeiten mit visuellen Ablenkungen hatten. Sie sahen die Beeinträchtigung bei älteren Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen mit Autismus nicht.

In der aktuellen Studie haben die Forscher die Altersspanne eingeengt und die früheren Ergebnisse bestätigt.

"Hier ist eine kognitive Schwierigkeit, die in einem Alter offensichtlicher ist als in einem anderen", sagt Shawn Christ, Professor für Psychologie am University of Missouri College of Arts and Science.

„Jetzt können wir sagen, dass es eine Zeitspanne gibt, in der diese Kinder von einer Intervention profitieren können, die sich darauf konzentriert, diese Schwierigkeiten zu bewältigen oder ihnen zu helfen. Dies könnte erhebliche Auswirkungen auf ihren akademischen und sozialen Erfolg haben. Möglicherweise brauchen sie später nicht mehr dieselbe Intervention. “

„… Die Schwierigkeit liegt nicht beim Lesen oder Rechnen, es ist eine Schwierigkeit bei der Aufmerksamkeit und der hemmenden Kontrolle, und es gibt Wege, dies zu überwinden.“

Für die Studie, die in der erscheint Zeitschrift für Autismus und EntwicklungsstörungenForscher stellten 80-Jugendliche im Alter von 11 bis 20 mit einer visuellen Filteraufgabe vor. Die Teilnehmer mussten so schnell wie möglich auf ein visuelles Ziel reagieren und dabei die visuellen Ablenkungen in der Nähe des Zielorts ignorieren. Von den 80-Teilnehmern an der Studie hatte 36 Autismus.

„In unseren Studien haben wir Unterschiede in der Filterfähigkeit zwischen Kindern mit und ohne Autismus in jüngeren Jahren wie 8-10-Jahren festgestellt“, sagt Christ. „Dies ist die Zeit, in der Kinder mit fortgeschritteneren Themen in der Schule beginnen und für Kinder mit Filterproblemen eine sehr schwierige Zeit sein können.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


„Es könnte ihre Fähigkeit beeinträchtigen, das Lesen zu verstehen und andere Arten von Fähigkeiten wie Mathematik zu beeinflussen. Die Schwierigkeit besteht jedoch nicht beim Lesen oder Rechnen, es ist eine Schwierigkeit bei der Aufmerksamkeit und der hemmenden Kontrolle, und es gibt Wege, dies zu überwinden. “

Forscher schlagen einfache Interventionen vor, um Kindern dabei zu helfen, diese Schwierigkeit zu überwinden, z. B. ein Lesefenster auf einer Seite, das die visuelle Ablenkung der anderen Wörter blockiert, einen ruhigen Raum in der Schule zur Verfügung stellt, um Aufgaben auszuführen, oder visuelle Ablenkungen zu Hause minimieren.

Das Research Board der University of Missouri, Autism Speaks und das Thompson Center Scholar-Programm der University of Missouri finanzierten die Arbeit. Für den Inhalt sind ausschließlich die Autoren verantwortlich und geben nicht unbedingt die offiziellen Ansichten der Förderstellen wieder.

Quelle: University of Missouri

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Autismus; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How Younger Kids With Autism Struggle With Distractions

How Younger Kids With Autism Struggle With Distractions

Before age 10, children with autism struggle with ability to block out visual distractions and focus on a specific task, research finds, and would benefit from intervention to address this.

Researchers saw in previous studies that younger children with autism had more difficulty with visual distractions when compared to their same-aged peers without autism. They didn’t see the impairment in older adolescents and adults with autism.

In the current study, researchers narrowed the age range and confirmed the earlier findings.

“Here is a cognitive difficulty that is more apparent during one age than another,” says Shawn Christ, an associate professor of psychological sciences in the University of Missouri College of Arts and Science.

“Now we can say there is a time period when these children may benefit from an intervention that focuses on accommodating or helping them overcome this difficulty. This could have a significant impact on their academic and social success. They may not need that same intervention later on in life.”

“…the difficulty is not with reading or math, it’s a difficulty with attention and inhibitory control, and there are ways to overcome that.”

For the study, which appears in the Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, researchers presented 80 adolescents, ages 11 to 20, with a visual filtering task. Participants had to respond as quickly as possible to a visual target while ignoring visual distractions close to the target’s location. Of the 80 participants in the study, 36 had autism.

“In our studies, we have observed differences in filtering ability between children with and without autism at younger ages such as 8-10 years old,” Christ says. “This is the time when kids are starting with more advanced topics in school, and can be a very difficult time for a child with filtering difficulties.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“It could be disrupting their ability to comprehend reading and affecting other kinds of skills, such as math. But the difficulty is not with reading or math, it’s a difficulty with attention and inhibitory control, and there are ways to overcome that.”

Researchers suggest simple interventions to help children overcome this difficulty such as using a reading window on a page that blocks the visual distraction of the other words, making a quiet room available at school to accomplish tasks, or minimizing visual distractions at home.

The University of Missouri Research Board, Autism Speaks, and the University of Missouri Thompson Center Scholar Program funded the work. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the funding agencies.

Source: University of Missouri

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=autism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…