كيف يصغر الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد مع التشتيت

كيف يصغر الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد مع التشتيت

قبل سن 10 ، يكافح الأطفال الذين يعانون من مرض التوحد مع القدرة على منع الانحرافات البصرية والتركيز على مهمة محددة ، كما يكتشف البحث ، وسيستفيدون من التدخل لمعالجة هذا.

رأى الباحثون في الدراسات السابقة أن الأطفال الأصغر سناً المصابين بالتوحد يعانون من صعوبة أكبر في التشتيت البصري مقارنةً بأقرانهم في نفس العمر دون التوحد. لم يروا ضعف المراهقين الأكبر سنا والبالغين المصابين بالتوحد.

في الدراسة الحالية ، ضاق الباحثون الفئة العمرية وأكدوا النتائج السابقة.

يقول شون كريست ، أستاذ مشارك في العلوم النفسية في كلية الآداب والعلوم بجامعة ميسوري: "هنا توجد صعوبة إدراكية أكثر وضوحًا خلال عصر ما عن الآخر".

"الآن يمكننا أن نقول إن هناك فترة زمنية يمكن أن يستفيد فيها هؤلاء الأطفال من تدخل يركز على استيعابهم أو مساعدتهم على التغلب على هذه الصعوبة. هذا يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير على نجاحهم الأكاديمي والاجتماعي. قد لا يحتاجون إلى نفس التدخل لاحقًا في الحياة ".

"... الصعوبة لا تكمن في القراءة أو الرياضيات ، إنها صعوبة في الاهتمام والتحكم المثبط ، وهناك طرق للتغلب على ذلك."

للدراسة التي تظهر في مجلة التوحد والاضطرابات التنموية، قدم الباحثون 80 المراهقين ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم 11 إلى 20 ، مع مهمة تصفية بصرية. كان على المشاركين أن يستجيبوا في أسرع وقت ممكن للهدف البصري مع تجاهل الانحرافات البصرية بالقرب من موقع الهدف. من المشاركين في 80 في الدراسة ، كان لدى 36 مرض التوحد.

يقول السيد المسيح: "لقد لاحظنا في دراساتنا وجود اختلافات في قدرة التصفية بين الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد وبدونه في الأعمار الأصغر مثل 8-10 من العمر". "هذا هو الوقت الذي يبدأ فيه الأطفال بمواضيع أكثر تقدمًا في المدرسة ، ويمكن أن يكون وقتًا صعبًا جدًا لطفل يعاني من صعوبات في التصفية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"قد يكون ذلك تعطيلًا لقدراتهم على فهم القراءة والتأثير على أنواع أخرى من المهارات ، مثل الرياضيات. لكن الصعوبة ليست في القراءة أو الرياضيات ، إنها صعوبة في الاهتمام والتحكم المثبط ، وهناك طرق للتغلب على ذلك. "

يقترح الباحثون تدخلات بسيطة لمساعدة الأطفال على التغلب على هذه الصعوبة ، مثل استخدام نافذة القراءة على صفحة تمنع التشتيت البصري للكلمات الأخرى ، أو إتاحة غرفة هادئة في المدرسة لإنجاز المهام ، أو تقليل الانحرافات البصرية في المنزل.

قام كل من مجلس أبحاث جامعة ميسوري و Autism Speaks وبرنامج الباحثين بجامعة ميسوري ببرنامج تومسون بتمويل العمل. المحتوى هو وحده مسؤولية المؤلفين ولا يمثل بالضرورة وجهات النظر الرسمية لوكالات التمويل.

مصدر: جامعة ميسوري

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التوحد؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

How Younger Kids With Autism Struggle With Distractions

How Younger Kids With Autism Struggle With Distractions

Before age 10, children with autism struggle with ability to block out visual distractions and focus on a specific task, research finds, and would benefit from intervention to address this.

Researchers saw in previous studies that younger children with autism had more difficulty with visual distractions when compared to their same-aged peers without autism. They didn’t see the impairment in older adolescents and adults with autism.

In the current study, researchers narrowed the age range and confirmed the earlier findings.

“Here is a cognitive difficulty that is more apparent during one age than another,” says Shawn Christ, an associate professor of psychological sciences in the University of Missouri College of Arts and Science.

“Now we can say there is a time period when these children may benefit from an intervention that focuses on accommodating or helping them overcome this difficulty. This could have a significant impact on their academic and social success. They may not need that same intervention later on in life.”

“…the difficulty is not with reading or math, it’s a difficulty with attention and inhibitory control, and there are ways to overcome that.”

For the study, which appears in the Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, researchers presented 80 adolescents, ages 11 to 20, with a visual filtering task. Participants had to respond as quickly as possible to a visual target while ignoring visual distractions close to the target’s location. Of the 80 participants in the study, 36 had autism.

“In our studies, we have observed differences in filtering ability between children with and without autism at younger ages such as 8-10 years old,” Christ says. “This is the time when kids are starting with more advanced topics in school, and can be a very difficult time for a child with filtering difficulties.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“It could be disrupting their ability to comprehend reading and affecting other kinds of skills, such as math. But the difficulty is not with reading or math, it’s a difficulty with attention and inhibitory control, and there are ways to overcome that.”

Researchers suggest simple interventions to help children overcome this difficulty such as using a reading window on a page that blocks the visual distraction of the other words, making a quiet room available at school to accomplish tasks, or minimizing visual distractions at home.

The University of Missouri Research Board, Autism Speaks, and the University of Missouri Thompson Center Scholar Program funded the work. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the funding agencies.

Source: University of Missouri

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=autism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…