Les filles des mamans suricate stressées sont plus susceptibles d'aider

Les filles des mamans suricate stressées sont plus susceptibles d'aider(Crédit: Dominic Cram)

Une nouvelle étude montre que lorsque les mères suricées se sentent stressées, cela modifie la croissance et le comportement de leurs filles de manière à les aider davantage à aider maman à leurs propres frais.

Les filles de mères suricées stressées - mais pas de fils - grandissent plus lentement plus tôt dans la vie, ce qui réduit leurs chances futures d'avoir un bébé. Au lieu de cela, les filles de mères stressées redirigent leurs énergies pour aider à élever la future progéniture de leur mère, explique Ben Dantzer, professeur adjoint de psychologie et d'écologie et de biologie évolutive à l'Université du Michigan.

«Étant donné que la croissance ou la masse corporelle chez les filles en bas âge est un facteur déterminant de leur potentiel de reproduction futur, nos résultats soulignent que le stress en début de vie devrait réduire le succès futur de reproduction des filles.»

Filles utiles

Les caractéristiques maternelles peuvent avoir une profonde influence sur la progéniture, appelée effets maternels.

Pour l'étude, qui apparaît dans Philosophical Transactions de la Royal Society B, des chercheurs ont mené des expériences pour tester la façon dont les hormones de stress (glucocorticoïdes) des femmes enceintes affectent la croissance et le comportement coopératif de la progéniture.

Les chercheurs ont observé sept groupes de suricates qui ont produit des portées 26 sur une période de trois ans. Certaines mères enceintes ont reçu du cortisol, ce qui n'a pas affecté les taux de survie des chiots. Lorsque les chercheurs ont suivi le poids et le comportement des chiots, les filles dont les mères ont reçu du cortisol ont grandi lentement, mais étaient plus disposées à aider à élever les autres chiots de leur mère à l'avenir.

Les pères ne peuvent pas allaiter les chiots, mais ils «gardent» et nourrissent leur progéniture. Ces hommes n'ont joué aucun rôle dans les effets observés par les chercheurs, dit Dantzer.

Les filles des mamans suricate stressées sont plus susceptibles d'aider(Crédit: Dominic Cram)

Et les gens?

La plupart des études sur les effets maternels chez les animaux non humains se concentrent sur la manière dont les mères peuvent influer positivement sur leur progéniture, telles que l’augmentation de leur survie ou l’amélioration de leurs chances de se reproduire seules, explique Dantzer.

Les résultats de cette étude montrent plutôt que les mères stressées pourraient avoir une incidence sur les enfants de telle sorte qu'elles profitent principalement aux mères en augmentant la probabilité que les enfants restent pour aider à prendre soin de leurs futurs frères et soeurs.

De nombreuses études impliquant des êtres humains montrent que l'adversité au début de la vie, telle que les abus ou le stress maternel, a des conséquences à long terme sur la progéniture. Cela influence-t-il leur probabilité d'aider leurs parents à l'avenir ou d'aider à prendre soin de leurs frères et sœurs plus jeunes?

Dantzer ne connaît pas la réponse, mais il dit que c'est une possibilité intéressante étant donné que la structure du groupe social des humains (où les frères et sœurs plus âgés peuvent garder et nourrir leurs frères et sœurs plus jeunes) est similaire à celle des suricates.

La source: Université de Michigan

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Meerkat; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Daughters Of Stressed Meerkat Moms More Likely To Help Out

Daughters Of Stressed Meerkat Moms More Likely To Help Out(Credit: Dominic Cram)

When meerkat mothers feel stressed, it alters the growth and behavior of their daughters in a way that makes them more likely to help mom at their own expense, a new study shows.

Daughters of stressed meerkat mothers—but not sons—grow more slowly early in life, which reduces their future chances of having babies of their own. Instead, daughters from stressed mothers redirect their energy to help rear the future offspring of their mother, says Ben Dantzer, assistant professor of psychology and ecology and evolutionary biology at the University of Michigan.

“Because early life growth or body mass in daughters is a major determinant of their future reproductive potential, our results highlight that early life stress should reduce the future reproductive success of daughters.”

Helpful daughters

Maternal characteristics can have a profound influence on offspring, referred to as maternal effects.

For the study, which appears in Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B, researchers conducted experiments to test how stress hormones (glucocorticoids) of pregnant females affect the growth and cooperative behavior of offspring.

Researchers observed seven meerkat groups that produced 26 litters across three years. Some pregnant mothers received cortisol, which didn’t affect the pups’ survival rates. When researchers tracked the pups’ weight and behavior, the daughters whose mothers received cortisol grew slowly, but were more willing to help raise their mothers’ other pups in the future.

Fathers can’t nurse the pups, but they do “babysit” and feed offspring. These males didn’t have any role in the effects the researchers observed, Dantzer says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Daughters Of Stressed Meerkat Moms More Likely To Help Out(Credit: Dominic Cram)

What about people?

Most studies of maternal effects in nonhuman animals focus on how mothers can positively affect their offspring, such as increasing their survival or improving their chances at reproducing on their own, Dantzer says.

The results from this study instead highlight that stressed mothers could affect offspring in such a way that primarily benefits the mothers by increasing the likelihood that the offspring stick around to help care for their future siblings.

Many studies involving humans show that early life adversity—such as abuse or maternal stress—has long-term consequences on offspring. Does it influence their likelihood to help their parents in the future or help take care of their younger siblings?

Dantzer doesn’t know the answer, but he says it is an interesting possibility given that the social group structure of humans (where older siblings may babysit and feed their younger siblings) is similar to meerkats.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Meerkat;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)