كيف يقرر دماغنا للمقامرة متى نضاعف

سلوك

كيف يقرر دماغنا للمقامرة متى نضاعف

توصلت دراسة حديثة إلى أن حظنا الأحدث يؤثر على اختياراتنا عالية المخاطر على طاولة البوكر أو في حياتنا اليومية.

وطبقا للباحثين ، فإن قرار "رفع الرهان" حتى في ظل الصعاب الطويلة ، أو المحافظة ، يمكن أن ينشأ عن الاستعداد الداخلي الذي تشكله تلك النتائج الأخيرة. وينطوي هذا الاستعداد على ديناميكية "الدفع والسحب" بين نصفي الكرة المخية ، كما يقول الفريق.

"ما تعلمناه هو أن هناك تحيزًا يتطور بمرور الوقت قد يجعل الناس ينظرون إلى المخاطر بشكل مختلف" ، كما يقول المؤلف الرفيع سريديفى سارما ، وهو أستاذ في كلية وايتنج للهندسة بجامعة جونز هوبكنز.

توصل الباحثون إلى أن البصائر العميقة من الأبحاث لديها القدرة على إلقاء الضوء على كيفية اتخاذ الجنود في حالات القتال الشديدة المخاطر قراراتهم وتسهيل تدريب الدماغ الأكثر فعالية لتغيير أو "إعادة تركيب" سلوك أو عادات طويلة الأمد.

عمل خطر

سعت مجموعة سارما إلى فهم سبب ميل الأشخاص إلى المخاطرة حتى عندما تكون الاحتمالات ضدهم أو تجنب المخاطر حتى عندما تكون الاحتمالات مواتية. طلبوا من المرضى في وحدة مراقبة الصرع التابعة لكليفلاند كلينك لعب لعبة بطاقات بسيطة تنطوي على مخاطر.

كان لدى المرضى أقطاب كهربائية عميقة متعددة تم زرعها في أدمغتهم. سمحت عملية الزرع للأطباء بتحديد مصدر النوبات للعلاج الجراحي في المستقبل. كل قطب كهربائي لديه قنوات 10 إلى 16 التي سجلت إشارات الجهد من العصبونات المحيطة بها. كما سمحت الأقطاب أيضاً لسارما وفريقها بإلقاء نظرة حميمة على أدمغة المرضى في الوقت الحقيقي ، حيث اتخذوا القرارات أثناء لعب القمار ضد الكمبيوتر في لعبة الورق.

كانت اللعبة بسيطة: كان الكمبيوتر يحتوي على مجموعة لا نهائية من البطاقات بخمس قيم مختلفة فقط: 2 و 4 و 6 و 8 و 10. من المرجح أن يتم التعامل مع كل بطاقة قيمة في أي جولة. بعد كل جولة ، عادت البطاقات إلى السطح ، تاركة الاحتمالات دون تغيير.

"... يقوم اللاعبون بجمع كل قيم البطاقات السابقة وجميع النتائج السابقة ، ولكن مع ذاكرة باهتة ..."

تم عرض المشاركين على بطاقتين على شاشة الكمبيوتر ، أحدهما وجهي والآخر واجهته. (كانت بطاقة الوجه هي اللاعب ، وكانت بطاقة الوجه هي الكمبيوتر.) طُلب من المشاركين رهان منخفض ($ 5) أو مرتفع ($ 20) بأن بطاقتهم كانت أعلى قيمة من البطاقة التي يواجهها الكمبيوتر.

عندما وجد الفريق 2 ، 4 ، 8 ، أو 10 ، رهان المشاركين بسرعة وغريزية ، وجد فريق البحث. ولكن عند تعاملها مع 6 ، تراجعت وتحولت إلى مراهنات أعلى أو أقل اعتمادًا على انحيازها - على الرغم من أن فرص التقاط بطاقة أعلى أو أقل كانت هي نفسها كما كانت من قبل.

بعبارة أخرى ، كان سلوك المراهنة على المراهنة يعتمد على كيفية رهانهم على الرهانات السابقة على الرغم من أن هذه النتائج لم يكن لها تأثير على نتائج الرهانات الجديدة.

ادفع و اسحب

بفحص الإشارات العصبية المسجلة أثناء اللعبة ، وجد فريق سارما هيمنة موجات جاما عالية التردد في الدماغ. حتى أنهم كانوا قادرين على ترجمة هذه الإشارات إلى بنى معينة في الدماغ. اتضح أن هذه المناطق - باستثناء أي متورطين في الصرع المقاوم للأدوية - كانت مرتبطة بشكل إيجابي أو سلبي بسلوك المخاطرة.

"عندما يمتلك دماغك الأيمن نشاطًا عالي التردد وتحصل على مقامرة ، يتم دفعك لاتخاذ المزيد من المخاطر" ، يقول زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه ، بيير ساكر. "ولكن إذا كان لدى الجانب الأيسر نشاط عالي التردد ، فإن ذلك سيبعدك عن المخاطرة. نحن نسمي هذا نظام الدفع والسحب. "

لتقييم هذا التحيز الداخلي ، طور الباحثون معادلة رياضية لحساب تحيز كل مريض باستخدام رعايته السابقة فقط.

يقول سارما: "وجدنا أنه إذا حللت بالفعل ما يبدو عليه هذا مع مرور الوقت ، فإن اللاعبين يجمعون كل قيم البطاقات السابقة وكل النتائج السابقة ، لكن مع ذاكرة متلاشية". "بعبارة أخرى ، ما حدث في الآونة الأخيرة يؤثر على الشخص أكثر من الأحداث القديمة. وهذا يعني أنه استنادًا إلى تاريخ مراهنات أحد المشاركين ، يمكننا التنبؤ بكيفية شعور هذا الشخص أثناء مقامرته ".

تظهر النتائج في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم. يوجد مؤلفون إضافيون للدراسة من جامعة جونز هوبكنز ، ومستشفى كليفلاند كلينيك ، وجامعة بوسطن ، وجامعة إيموري. قامت المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم ومعهد Kavli Neuroscience Discovery Institute في جامعة جونز هوبكنز بدفع تكاليف الدراسة.

مصدر: جامعة جونز هوبكنز

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = إدمان المقامرة ؛ maxresults = 3}

سلوك
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Our Gambling Brain Decides When To Double Down

How Our Gambling Brain Decides When To Double Down

Our most recent run of luck influences our high-risk choices at the poker table or in our everyday lives, a new study suggests.

The decision to “up the ante” even against long odds, or to be conservative, can result from an internal predisposition that those recent results form, the researchers report. That predisposition involves a “push-pull” dynamic between the brain’s two hemispheres, the team says.

“What we learned is that there is a bias that develops over time that may make people view risk differently,” says senior author Sridevi Sarma, a professor at the Whiting School of Engineering at Johns Hopkins University.

Insights from the research have the potential to shed light on how soldiers in high-risk combat situations make decisions and to facilitate more effective brain training to change or “rewire” long-term behavior or habits, the researchers suggest.

Risky business

Sarma’s group sought to understand why people tend to take risks even when the odds are against them or avoid risk even when the odds are favorable. They asked patients at the Cleveland Clinic’s Epilepsy Monitoring Unit to play a simple card game involving risk.

The patients had multiple deep-seated electrodes implanted in their brains; the implantation allowed doctors to locate the source of seizures for future surgical treatment. Each electrode had 10 to 16 channels that recorded voltage signals from neurons surrounding it. The electrodes also allowed Sarma and her team an intimate look at the patients’ brains in real time, as they made decisions while gambling against a computer in a card game.

The game was simple: The computer had an infinite deck of cards with only five different values: 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10. Each value card was equally likely to be dealt in any round. Following every round, the cards went back into the deck, leaving odds unchanged.

“…the players are accumulating all the past card values and all the past outcomes, but with a fading memory…”

Participants were shown two cards on a computer screen, one faceup and the other facedown. (The faceup card was the player’s, and the facedown card was the computer’s.) Participants were asked to bet low ($5) or high ($20) that their card had a higher value than the computer’s facedown one.

When dealt a 2, 4, 8, or 10, participants bet quickly and instinctively, the research team found. When dealt a 6, however, they wavered and were nudged into betting higher or lower depending on their bias—even though the chances of picking a higher or lower card were the same as before.

In other words, participants’ betting behavior was based on how they fared on past bets even though those results had no bearing on the outcome of the new bets.

Push and pull

Examining neural signals recorded during the game, Sarma’s team found a predominance of high-frequency gamma brain waves. They were even able to localize these signals to particular structures in the brain. It turns out that these regions—excluding any implicated in drug-resistant epilepsy—were associated positively or negatively with risk-taking behavior.

“When your right brain has high-frequency activity and you get a gamble, you’re pushed to take more of a risk,” says postdoctoral fellow Pierre Sacré. “But if the left side has high-frequency activity, it’s pulling you away from taking a risk. We call this a push-pull system.”

To assess that internal bias, the researchers developed a mathematical equation to calculate each patient’s bias using only his or her past wagers.

“We found that if you actually solve for what this looks like over time, the players are accumulating all the past card values and all the past outcomes, but with a fading memory,” Sarma says. “In other words, what happened most recently weighs on a person more than older events do. This means that based on the history of a participant’s bets, we can predict how that person is feeling as they gamble.”

The findings appear in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Additional study coauthors are from Johns Hopkins, the Cleveland Clinic, Boston University, and Emory University. The National Science Foundation and the Kavli Neuroscience Discovery Institute at Johns Hopkins paid for the study.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gambling addiction;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}