Que signifie Gaslighting?

Que signifie Gaslighting?Ingrid Bergman et Charles Boyer dans Gaslight (1944), le film qui a inspiré le terme désormais largement utilisé. Metro Goldwyn-Mayer Jessamy Gleeson, Université RMIT

Sélectionné pour le 2018 du dictionnaire anglais Oxford mot de l'année, «L’éclairage au gaz» a bel et bien trouvé sa place dans la pensée et la langue contemporaines.

Le terme a récemment été utilisé pour expliquer le comportement des concurrents sur Bachelor Australie, Les expériences de Monica Lewinksy avec les médias post-Bill Clinton, et les paroles du président américain Donald Trump.

Mais qu'est-ce que ça veut dire exactement? D'où vient-il? Et pourquoi connaît-il une résurgence aujourd'hui?

Gaslighting tire son nom du film 1944 Gaslight, mettant en vedette Ingrid Bergman et Charles Boyer (elle-même basée sur le jeu 1938 Gas Light). Dans le film, son mari, Gregory (Boyer), manipule progressivement et délibérément Paula (Bergman) pour lui faire croire qu'elle est folle. Les précieux bijoux de la défunte tante de Paula sont cachés dans leur maison: si Paula est déclarée folle et incarcérée dans un asile, Gregory peut rechercher les bijoux en toute quiétude.

Une de ses tactiques principales pour convaincre Paula qu'elle perd la tête est de manipuler les lampes à incandescence dans leur maison. Chaque fois qu'il se faufile dans le grenier à la recherche de bijoux, il allume les lumières de cette partie de la maison: toutes les autres lumières clignotent et s'assombrissent. De retour à Paula, il nie avoir eu connaissance de cela et l’a amenée à s’interroger sur sa santé mentale.

Dans les dernières scènes du film, Paula permet à un policier d'entrer dans la maison pendant que Gregory est préoccupé par ses recherches. Le policier confirme que les lumières clignotent, démontrant que Paula n'est pas folle.

A quoi ressemble l'éclairage au gaz?

L'éclairage au gaz est un nouveau terme pour désigner un ensemble de comportements relativement ancien. Si vous avez lu l'ancien mythe grec Cassandra (à propos d’une femme maudite pour prévoir de vraies prophéties que d’autres ne croient pas à cause de son instabilité mentale perçue), regarda The Truman Show, ou écouté la chanson à succès de Shaggy, Ce n'était pas moi (dans lequel un homme dit à sa petite amie que ce n'est pas lui, elle a vu des relations sexuelles avec une autre femme), vous avez déjà vu de l'éclairage au gaz en action.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Bien que cela puisse couvrir divers comportements, le principe central de l'éclairage au gaz est la manipulation psychologique d'une personne afin de nuire à son sens de soi et à sa santé mentale.

Le comportement lui-même n'est pas toujours délibéré, en ce sens que l'auteur peut ne pas avoir consciemment cherché à déformer l'expérience de réalité d'une autre personne. Mais l'éclairage au gaz est souvent utilisé comme méthode de pouvoir et de contrôle.

Les tactiques courantes d’éclairage gaz peuvent inclure le déni de l’expérience du locataire («Ce n’est pas ce qui s’est passé!»), L’escalade («Pourquoi remettriez-vous cela en question? Je ne vous mentirais pas!»), La banalisation («Vous êtes trop sensible , ce n'est rien "), et contrer (" Ce n'était pas ce qui s'est passé, c'était ").

Pourquoi maintenant?

La réapparition de Gaslighting dans notre vernaculaire quotidien est en partie due à une plus grande focalisation de la société sur la violence à l'égard des femmes. À mesure que nous progressons vers une compréhension plus large de ce qui constitue un abus, nous reconnaissons de plus en plus que des techniques psychologiquement abusives telles que l'éclairage au gaz sont souvent utilisées pour dérouter et démoraliser d'autres personnes.

L’éclairage au gaz est de plus en plus reconnu comme une technique d’abus par des groupes tels que le Centre de ressources sur la violence domestique de Victoria et Étapes sécuritaires.

Le terme réfute également un ensemble de stéréotypes communs: "l'ex-petite amie folle", les "salopes folles" ou "psycho chienne”S'abstenir et la“ femme hystérique ”. Gaslighting recadre ces clichés: au lieu de demander si les femmes sont vraiment folles, il questionne les motivations de l'accusateur.

Malheureusement, l'éclairage au gaz a aussi été utilisé de renvoyer ceux qui ont utilisé #MeToo pour dénoncer leurs abus. Les commentaires adressés aux survivantes selon lesquelles elles doivent avoir «mal interprété la situation» ou «imaginé l'abus» peuvent à leur tour renvoyer à des questions plus générales sur la santé mentale d'une personne.

L'application de Gaslighting dans le lexique public est devenue assez large. Par exemple, de nombreuses Actualités des articles On a écrit sur le prétendu comportement de Donald Trump à l’égard du public américain, dans lequel il a essayé de manipuler les gens pour «douter de leur réalité».

Que signifie Gaslighting?Donald Trump: divers experts ont décrit ses déclarations comme une forme de «gazole». Shawn Thew / EPA

Dans un discours récent, par exemple, Trump a critiqué les médias pour sa réaction à sa politique tarifaire commerciale, l'accusant de diffuser de «fausses informations» et dire aux gens«Ce que vous voyez et ce que vous lisez n’est pas ce qui se passe».

Mais lorsque nous décrivons le comportement de Trump comme un témoin lumineux, nous perdons une partie du contexte du mot: il a été développé pour décrire un comportement de nature plus intime et de contrôle, et difficile à échapper.

Néanmoins, mis à part ce dernier exemple, l’utilisation croissante du terme «éclairage au gaz» est globalement une bonne chose. Cela signifie une compréhension plus profonde de ce à quoi ressemble un abus et de ses multiples formes.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Jessamy Gleeson, chargée de recherche, École d’études mondiales, urbaines et sociales, Université RMIT

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = gaslighting; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

What Does Gaslighting Mean?

What Does Gaslighting Mean?Ingrid Bergman and Charles Boyer in Gaslight (1944), the film that inspired the now widely used term. Metro Goldwyn-Mayer Jessamy Gleeson, RMIT University

Shortlisted for the Oxford English Dictionary’s 2018 word of the year, “gaslighting” has well and truly found its way into contemporary thought and vernacular.

The term has recently been employed to explain the behaviour of contestants on The Bachelor Australia, Monica Lewinksy’s experiences with the media post-Bill Clinton, and the words of US President Donald Trump.

But what, exactly, does it mean? Where did it come from? And why is it experiencing a resurgence today?

Gaslighting takes its name from the 1944 film Gaslight, starring Ingrid Bergman and Charles Boyer (itself based on the 1938 play Gas Light). In the film, Paula (Bergman) is deliberately and gradually manipulated by her husband, Gregory (Boyer), into believing she is insane. Paula’s late aunt’s priceless jewels are hidden in their house: if Paula is declared insane and committed to an asylum, Gregory can search for the jewels in peace.

One of his main tactics in convincing Paula she is losing her mind is his manipulation of the gaslights in their home. Whenever he sneaks off to the attic to search for the jewels, he switches on the lights in that part of the house: this leads all other lights to flicker and dim. Upon returning to Paula, he denies all knowledge of this, leading her to question her sanity.

In the film’s final scenes, Paula allows a policeman to enter the house while Gregory is preoccupied with his search. The policeman confirms that the lights are flickering, demonstrating that Paula is not insane.

What does gaslighting look like?

Gaslighting is a new term for a relatively old set of behaviours. If you’ve read the ancient Greek myth of Cassandra (about a woman cursed to foresee true prophecies that others disbelieve due to her perceived mental instability), watched The Truman Show, or listened to Shaggy’s hit song, It Wasn’t Me (in which a man tells his girlfriend it wasn’t him she saw having sex with another woman), you’ve seen gaslighting in action.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Although it can cover various behaviours, the central tenet of gaslighting is the psychological manipulation of a person in order to erode their sense of self and sanity.

The behaviour itself is not always deliberate, in that the perpetrator may not have consciously set out to distort another person’s experience of reality. But gaslighting is often used as a method of power and control.

Common gaslighting tactics can include denial of the gaslightee’s experience (“That wasn’t what happened!”), escalation (“Why would you question this? I wouldn’t lie to you!”), trivialisation (“You’re too sensitive, this is nothing”), and countering (“That wasn’t what happened, this was”).

Why now?

Gaslighting’s re-emergence in our day-to-day vernacular is in part due to a wider societal focus on violence against women. As we move towards a broader understanding of what constitutes abuse, there is growing recognition that psychologically abusive techniques such as gaslighting are often used to unnerve and demoralise others.

Gaslighting is increasingly being recognised as a technique of abuse by groups such as the Domestic Violence Resource Centre of Victoria and Safe Steps.

The term also rebuts a common set of stereotypes: the “crazy ex-girlfriend”, the “bitches be crazy” or “psycho bitch” refrain and the “hysterical woman”. Gaslighting reframes these cliches: instead of asking whether women are indeed crazy, it questions the motivations of the accuser.

Unfortunately, gaslighting has also been used to dismiss those who have employed #MeToo to speak out about their abuse. Comments directed to survivors that they must have “misread the situation” or “imagined the abuse” can in turn point to wider questions about a person’s sanity.

Gaslighting’s application in the public lexicon has become quite broad. For instance, many news articles have been written about Donald Trump’s so-called gaslighting behaviour towards the American public, in which he has tried to manipulate people into “doubting their reality”.

What Does Gaslighting Mean?Donald Trump: various pundits have described his statements as a form of ‘gaslighting’. Shawn Thew/EPA

In a recent speech, for example, Trump criticised the media for its reaction to his trade tariffs policy, accusing it of broadcasting “fake news” and telling people, “what you are seeing and what you are reading is not what’s happening”.

But in describing Trump’s behaviour as gaslighting, we lose some of the word’s context: it was developed to describe behaviour altogether more intimate and controlling in nature, and difficult to escape.

Still, aside from the latter example, the growing usage of “gaslighting” as a term is broadly a good thing. It signifies a deeper understanding of what abuse looks like and the many forms it can take.The Conversation

About The Author

Jessamy Gleeson, Research Officer, School of Global, Urban & Social Studies, RMIT University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gaslighting;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)