Was bedeutet Gasbeleuchtung?

Was bedeutet Gasbeleuchtung?Ingrid Bergman und Charles Boyer in Gaslight (1944), der Film, der den mittlerweile weit verbreiteten Begriff inspirierte. Metro Goldwyn Mayer Jessamy Gleeson, RMIT Universität

Auswahlliste für den 2018 des Oxford English Dictionary Wort des Jahres„Gaslighting“ hat seinen Weg in zeitgenössisches Denken und Volkssprache gefunden.

Der Begriff wurde kürzlich verwendet, um das Verhalten der Teilnehmer zu erklären Der Bachelor Australien, Monica Lewinksys Erfahrungen mit den Medien Post-Bill Clinton und die Worte von US-Präsident Donald Trump.

Aber was genau bedeutet das? Woher kam das? Und warum erlebt es heute ein Wiederaufleben?

Gaslighting hat seinen Namen von der 1944-Folie Gaslightmit Ingrid Bergman und Charles Boyer (selbst basiert auf dem 1938-Spiel Gas Light). In dem Film wird Paula (Bergman) absichtlich und allmählich von ihrem Ehemann Gregory (Boyer) manipuliert, um zu glauben, dass sie verrückt ist. Die unbezahlbaren Juwelen von Paulas verstorbener Tante sind in ihrem Haus versteckt: Wenn Paula für verrückt erklärt und in ein Asyl eingeliefert wird, kann Gregory in Ruhe nach den Juwelen suchen.

Eine seiner wichtigsten Taktiken, um Paula davon zu überzeugen, dass sie den Verstand verliert, ist die Manipulation der Gaslampen in ihrem Haus. Immer wenn er sich auf die Dachkammer schleicht, um nach den Juwelen zu suchen, schaltet er die Lichter in diesem Teil des Hauses ein: Dies führt dazu, dass alle anderen Lichter flackern und dimmen. Als er zu Paula zurückkehrt, bestreitet er jedes Wissen darüber und führt sie dazu, ihren Verstand in Frage zu stellen.

In den letzten Szenen des Films erlaubt Paula einem Polizisten, das Haus zu betreten, während Gregory mit seiner Suche beschäftigt ist. Der Polizist bestätigt, dass die Lichter flackern, was zeigt, dass Paula nicht verrückt ist.

Wie sieht Gasbeleuchtung aus?

Gaslighting ist ein neuer Begriff für relativ alte Verhaltensweisen. Wenn Sie den alten griechischen Mythos von gelesen haben Kassandra (über eine Frau, die verflucht war, wahre Prophezeiungen vorherzusehen, die andere aufgrund ihrer wahrgenommenen psychischen Instabilität nicht glauben), beobachtete sie Die Truman Showoder Shaggys Hit-Song gehört, Es war nicht ich (in dem ein Mann seiner Freundin sagt, er habe nicht Sex mit einer anderen Frau gesehen), haben Sie Gasflimmern in Aktion gesehen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Obwohl es verschiedene Verhaltensweisen abdecken kann, ist der zentrale Grundsatz der Gasbeleuchtung die psychologische Manipulation einer Person, um ihr Selbstwertgefühl und ihre Vernunft zu untergraben.

Das Verhalten selbst ist nicht immer absichtlich, da der Täter möglicherweise nicht bewusst gewollt hat, die Erfahrung einer anderen Person mit der Realität zu verzerren. Gasbeleuchtung wird jedoch häufig als eine Methode der Kraft und Kontrolle verwendet.

Zu den üblichen Gaslicht-Taktiken gehören die Ablehnung der Erfahrung des Gasleuchten („Das war nicht das, was passiert ist!“), Eskalation („Warum sollten Sie das in Frage stellen? Ich würde Sie nicht anlügen!“), Trivialisierung („Sie sind zu empfindlich , das ist nichts ") und kontern (" Das war nicht das, was passiert ist, das war ").

Warum gerade jetzt?

Das Wiederauftauchen von Gaslighting in unserer Alltagssprache ist zum Teil auf einen breiteren gesellschaftlichen Fokus auf Gewalt gegen Frauen zurückzuführen. Während wir uns auf ein breiteres Verständnis von Missbrauch stützen, wächst die Erkenntnis, dass psychologisch missbräuchliche Techniken wie das Gasblitzen häufig dazu benutzt werden, andere zu verwirren und zu demoralisieren.

Gasbeleuchtung wird zunehmend als eine Technik des Missbrauchs von Gruppen wie der Zentrum für häusliche Gewalt in Victoria und Sichere Schritte.

Der Begriff widerlegt auch eine Reihe von Stereotypen: die "verrückte Ex-Freundin", die "Hündinnen werden verrückt" oder "Psychoschlampe“Refrain und die“ hysterische Frau ”. Beim Gaslampen werden diese Klischees umbenannt: Statt zu fragen, ob Frauen tatsächlich verrückt sind, werden die Beweggründe des Anklägers in Frage gestellt.

Leider hat Gasbeleuchtung auch verwendet worden diejenigen, die #MeToo eingestellt haben, zu entlassen, um sich über ihren Missbrauch zu äußern. Kommentare, die an Überlebende gerichtet wurden, dass sie „die Situation falsch verstanden haben“ oder „sich den Missbrauch vorgestellt haben“, können wiederum auf weitergehende Fragen zur Vernunft einer Person hinweisen.

Die Anwendung von Gaslighting im öffentlichen Lexikon ist ziemlich breit geworden. Zum Beispiel, viele News Artikel wurde über Donald Trumps sogenanntes "Gaslighting" -Verhalten gegenüber der amerikanischen Öffentlichkeit geschrieben, in dem er versucht hat, die Menschen zu manipulieren, um "ihre Realität zu bezweifeln".

Was bedeutet Gasbeleuchtung?Donald Trump: Verschiedene Experten haben seine Aussagen als eine Form des "Gaslichts" bezeichnet. Shawn Thew / EPA

In einer kürzlichen Rede zum Beispiel kritisierte Trump die Medien für ihre Reaktion auf seine Tarifpolitik und beschuldigte sie, "falsche Nachrichten" zu senden Leuten erzählen"Was Sie sehen und was Sie lesen, ist nicht das, was passiert".

Wenn wir jedoch das Verhalten von Trump als Gaslicht beschreiben, verlieren wir etwas vom Kontext des Wortes: Es wurde entwickelt, um Verhalten insgesamt als intimere und kontrollierendere Natur zu beschreiben und schwer zu entkommen.

Abgesehen von dem letzten Beispiel ist die zunehmende Verwendung von "Gaslicht" als Begriff im Großen und Ganzen eine gute Sache. Dies bedeutet ein tieferes Verständnis dafür, wie Missbrauch aussieht und welche Formen er annehmen kann.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Jessamy Gleeson, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, School of Global, Urban & Social Studies, RMIT Universität

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Gasbeleuchtung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

What Does Gaslighting Mean?

What Does Gaslighting Mean?Ingrid Bergman and Charles Boyer in Gaslight (1944), the film that inspired the now widely used term. Metro Goldwyn-Mayer Jessamy Gleeson, RMIT University

Shortlisted for the Oxford English Dictionary’s 2018 word of the year, “gaslighting” has well and truly found its way into contemporary thought and vernacular.

The term has recently been employed to explain the behaviour of contestants on The Bachelor Australia, Monica Lewinksy’s experiences with the media post-Bill Clinton, and the words of US President Donald Trump.

But what, exactly, does it mean? Where did it come from? And why is it experiencing a resurgence today?

Gaslighting takes its name from the 1944 film Gaslight, starring Ingrid Bergman and Charles Boyer (itself based on the 1938 play Gas Light). In the film, Paula (Bergman) is deliberately and gradually manipulated by her husband, Gregory (Boyer), into believing she is insane. Paula’s late aunt’s priceless jewels are hidden in their house: if Paula is declared insane and committed to an asylum, Gregory can search for the jewels in peace.

One of his main tactics in convincing Paula she is losing her mind is his manipulation of the gaslights in their home. Whenever he sneaks off to the attic to search for the jewels, he switches on the lights in that part of the house: this leads all other lights to flicker and dim. Upon returning to Paula, he denies all knowledge of this, leading her to question her sanity.

In the film’s final scenes, Paula allows a policeman to enter the house while Gregory is preoccupied with his search. The policeman confirms that the lights are flickering, demonstrating that Paula is not insane.

What does gaslighting look like?

Gaslighting is a new term for a relatively old set of behaviours. If you’ve read the ancient Greek myth of Cassandra (about a woman cursed to foresee true prophecies that others disbelieve due to her perceived mental instability), watched The Truman Show, or listened to Shaggy’s hit song, It Wasn’t Me (in which a man tells his girlfriend it wasn’t him she saw having sex with another woman), you’ve seen gaslighting in action.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Although it can cover various behaviours, the central tenet of gaslighting is the psychological manipulation of a person in order to erode their sense of self and sanity.

The behaviour itself is not always deliberate, in that the perpetrator may not have consciously set out to distort another person’s experience of reality. But gaslighting is often used as a method of power and control.

Common gaslighting tactics can include denial of the gaslightee’s experience (“That wasn’t what happened!”), escalation (“Why would you question this? I wouldn’t lie to you!”), trivialisation (“You’re too sensitive, this is nothing”), and countering (“That wasn’t what happened, this was”).

Why now?

Gaslighting’s re-emergence in our day-to-day vernacular is in part due to a wider societal focus on violence against women. As we move towards a broader understanding of what constitutes abuse, there is growing recognition that psychologically abusive techniques such as gaslighting are often used to unnerve and demoralise others.

Gaslighting is increasingly being recognised as a technique of abuse by groups such as the Domestic Violence Resource Centre of Victoria and Safe Steps.

The term also rebuts a common set of stereotypes: the “crazy ex-girlfriend”, the “bitches be crazy” or “psycho bitch” refrain and the “hysterical woman”. Gaslighting reframes these cliches: instead of asking whether women are indeed crazy, it questions the motivations of the accuser.

Unfortunately, gaslighting has also been used to dismiss those who have employed #MeToo to speak out about their abuse. Comments directed to survivors that they must have “misread the situation” or “imagined the abuse” can in turn point to wider questions about a person’s sanity.

Gaslighting’s application in the public lexicon has become quite broad. For instance, many news articles have been written about Donald Trump’s so-called gaslighting behaviour towards the American public, in which he has tried to manipulate people into “doubting their reality”.

What Does Gaslighting Mean?Donald Trump: various pundits have described his statements as a form of ‘gaslighting’. Shawn Thew/EPA

In a recent speech, for example, Trump criticised the media for its reaction to his trade tariffs policy, accusing it of broadcasting “fake news” and telling people, “what you are seeing and what you are reading is not what’s happening”.

But in describing Trump’s behaviour as gaslighting, we lose some of the word’s context: it was developed to describe behaviour altogether more intimate and controlling in nature, and difficult to escape.

Still, aside from the latter example, the growing usage of “gaslighting” as a term is broadly a good thing. It signifies a deeper understanding of what abuse looks like and the many forms it can take.The Conversation

About The Author

Jessamy Gleeson, Research Officer, School of Global, Urban & Social Studies, RMIT University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gaslighting;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)