كيف يمكن للاطفال المعادين للمجتمع أن يتعلموا من آبائهم

سلوك

كيف يمكن للاطفال المعادين للمجتمع أن يتعلموا من آبائهم

ذكرت دراسة جديدة أن الدفء الأقل للوالدين والمزيد من القسوة في المنزل يمكن أن يؤثر على مدى عدوانية الأطفال وما إذا كانوا يفتقرون إلى التعاطف والبوصلة الأخلاقية.

درس الباحثون أزواج 227 من توائم متماثلة. قاموا بتحليل الاختلافات الصغيرة في تربية الأطفال التي عاشها كل توأم لمعرفة ما إذا كانت هذه الاختلافات يمكن أن تتنبأ باحتمالية ظهور السلوكات المعادية للمجتمع.

واكتشفوا أن التوأم الذي يعاني من علاج أكثر صرامة أو أكثر قسوة ودفء أقل عاطفيًا من الوالدين كان لديه فرصة أكبر في إظهار العدوان ونقص التعاطف والبوصلة الأخلاقية - وهي مجموعة من الخصائص تُعرف بالسمات القاسية اللاعاطفية (CU).

تغذية مقابل الطبيعة

أكمل آباء التوائم استبيان البند 50 حول البيئة المنزلية. كما قاموا بتأسيس مستويات القسوة والدفء من خلال تصنيف عبارات 24 مثل "غالباً ما أفقد أعصابي مع طفلي" و "يعرف طفلي أنني أحبه / ها." قام الباحثون بتقييم سلوك الأطفال عن طريق مطالبة الأم بالإبلاغ عن سمات 35 المتعلقة العدوان وخصائص CU.

يقول <L. هايد> [أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة ميشيغان]: "تُظهر الدراسة بشكل مقنع أن الأبوة والأمومة - وليس الجينات فقط - تسهم في تطوير الصفات اللاعادية الخطيرة". "لأن التوائم المتماثلة لها نفس الحمض النووي ، يمكننا أن نكون أكثر ثقة بأن الاختلافات في تربية الأبناء التوائم التي تم تلقيها تؤثر على تطور هذه السمات."

العمل الذي يظهر في مجلة الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب نفس الأطفال والمراهقين، هو الأحدث في سلسلة من الدراسات التي أعدتها الكاتبة الرئيسية ريبيكا والر ، والأستاذ المساعد في علم النفس في جامعة بنسلفانيا ، وزملاؤه الذين يستخدمون الملاحظة لتقييم مجموعة متنوعة من جوانب تربية الأطفال.

أكدت الأبحاث الأولية ، التي اعتبرت أحد الوالدين والطفل البيولوجي ، أن الدفء الوالدي يلعب دورًا مهمًا في ما إذا كانت سمات CU تتحقق.

"بعض الأعمال المبكرة على الصفات اللاعادية تركز على قواعدها البيولوجية ، مثل علم الوراثة والدماغ ، مما يجعل الحجة بأن هذه السمات تتطور بغض النظر عن ما يحدث في بيئة الطفل ، أن الأبوة والأمومة لا يهم" ، ويقول والر . "شعرنا أنه يجب أن يكون هناك شيء يمكننا تغييره في البيئة قد يمنع طفلًا مستعصًا من السير في الطريق إلى سلوك معاد للمجتمع".

تعاونت والر وهايد مع ألكساندرا بيرت ، المدير المشارك في السجل التوأم في جامعة ولاية ميشيغان ، في هذه الدراسة ، باستخدام المشاركين 6 إلى 11 عاما من دراسة كبيرة مستمرة من التوائم التي يوجهها بيرت.

تغيير السلوك

والخطوة التالية المحتملة هي تحويل هذه النتائج إلى تدخلات قابلة للاستعمال للعائلات التي تحاول منع الطفل من تطوير مثل هذه السمات أو تحسين السلوكيات المقلقة التي بدأت بالفعل ، حسب قول والر.

"من وجهة نظر العالم الحقيقي ، فإن إنشاء التدخلات التي تعمل عمليا وقادرا على تغيير السلوكيات في أنواع مختلفة من الأسر أمر معقد" ، كما تقول. "لكن هذه النتائج تظهر اختلافات صغيرة في كيفية رعاية الوالدين لأطفالهم. ينصب تركيزنا الآن على تكييف برامج الأبوة الناجحة الناجحة بالفعل لتشمل تدخلات محددة تركز على السمات القاسية اللاعاطفية أيضًا. "

على الرغم من أن التدخل مع الآباء يمكن أن ينجح ، إلا أن الباحثين يؤكدون أن العمل لا يلوم الآباء على CU لطفليهم أو السلوكيات العدوانية.

"... من المحتمل أن تساعد العلاجات التي تعمل مع أولياء الأمور ، حتى بالنسبة للأطفال الأكثر تعرضًا للخطر".

"عملنا السابق مع الأطفال بالتبني أظهر أيضا أن الجينات مهمة ، وبالتالي هناك ذهابا وإيابا ،" يقول هايد. "قد يكون بعض الأطفال أكثر صعوبة بالنسبة للوالدين. أهم رسالة هي أن العلاجات التي تعمل مع أولياء الأمور يمكن أن تساعد ، حتى بالنسبة للأطفال الأكثر عرضة للخطر. "

يعترف الباحثون ببعض القيود على الدراسة ، على سبيل المثال ، أنها تخترق بشكل كبير تجاه العائلات ذات العائلتين ، مما يعني أن النتائج قد لا تكون قابلة للتعميم على منازل الوالد الوحيد. كما أنه يقيم تدابير الأبوة والسلوك التوأم على أساس تقارير الأبوة والأمومة فقط.

لكن على الرغم من هذه العيوب ، يقول الباحثون إن العمل يوسع فهم كيفية ظهور الأشكال المختلفة للسلوك المعادي للمجتمع ، مثل العدوان والسمات اللاعادية اللاواعية.

"هذا يوفر دليلا قويا على أن الأبوة والأمومة مهمة أيضا في تطوير الصفات القاسية اللاعادية" ، يقول هايد. "الخبر السار هو أننا نعرف أن العلاجات يمكن أن تساعد الآباء الذين قد يحتاجون إلى دعم إضافي مع الأطفال الذين يعانون من هذه السلوكيات الخطيرة."

وجاء التمويل لهذا البحث من المعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية ومعهد يونيس كينيدي شرايفر الوطني لصحة الطفل والتنمية البشرية.

مصدر: جامعة بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

سلوك
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Antisocial Kids May Learn It From Their Parents

behavior

How Antisocial Kids May Learn It From Their Parents

Less parental warmth and more harshness at home can affect how aggressive children become and whether they lack empathy and a moral compass, according to a new study.

Researchers studied 227 pairs of identical twins. They analyzed small differences in the parenting that each twin experienced to see whether these differences could predict the likelihood of antisocial behaviors emerging.

They discovered that the twin who experienced stricter or harsher treatment and less emotional warmth from parents had a greater chance of showing aggression and a lack of empathy and moral compass—a set of characteristics known as callous-unemotional (CU) traits.

Nurture vs. nature

Parents of the twins completed a 50-item questionnaire about the home environment. They also established their harshness and warmth levels by rating 24 statements such as “I often lose my temper with my child” and “My child knows I love him/her.” The researchers assessed child behavior by asking the mother to report on 35 traits related to aggression and CU traits.

“The study convincingly shows that parenting—and not just genes—contributes to the development of risky callous-unemotional traits,” says Luke Hyde, associate professor of psychology at the University of Michigan. “Because identical twins have the same DNA, we can be more sure that the differences in parenting the twins received affects the development of these traits.”

The work, which appears in the Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, is the latest in a series of studies from lead author Rebecca Waller, assistant professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania, and colleagues using observation to assess a variety of aspects of parenting.

The initial research, which considered a biological parent and child, confirmed that parental warmth plays a significant role in whether CU traits materialize.

“Some of the early work on callous-unemotional traits focused on their biological bases, like genetics and the brain, making the argument that these traits develop regardless of what is happening in a child’s environment, that parenting doesn’t matter,” says Waller. “We felt there must be something we could change in the environment that might prevent a susceptible child from going down the pathway to more severe antisocial behavior.”

Waller and Hyde teamed with S. Alexandra Burt, co-director of the Twin Registry at Michigan State University, on the study, using 6-to-11-year-old participants from a large, ongoing study of twins that Burt directs.

Changing behavior

A potential next step is to turn these findings into useable interventions for families trying to prevent a child from developing such traits or to improve troubling behaviors that have already begun, Waller says.

“From a real-world standpoint, creating interventions that work practically and are actually able to change behaviors in different types of families is complicated,” she says. “But these results show that small differences in how parents care for their children matters. Our focus now is on adapting already-successful parenting programs to include specific interventions focused on callous-unemotional traits as well.”

Though an intervention with parents could succeed, the researchers stress that the work isn’t blaming parents for their child’s CU or aggressive behaviors.

“…treatments that work with parents likely can help, even for the most at-risk children.”

“Our previous work with adopted children also showed that genes do matter, and so there is a back and forth,” Hyde says. “Some children may be more difficult to parent. The most important message is that treatments that work with parents likely can help, even for the most at-risk children.”

The researchers acknowledge some limitations to the study, for example, that it skews heavily toward two-parent families, meaning the findings may not be as generalizable to single-parent homes. It also assesses parenting measures and twin behaviors based solely on parenting reports.

Yet despite these drawbacks, the researchers say the work broadens the understanding of how different forms of antisocial behavior, like aggression and callous-unemotional traits, emerge.

“This provides strong evidence that parenting is also important in the development of callous-unemotional traits,” Hyde says. “The good news is we know that treatments can help parents who may need extra support with children struggling with these dangerous behaviors.”

Funding for this research came from the National Institute of Mental Health and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute for Child Health and Human Development.

Source: University of Pennsylvania

Related Books

All the Best Answers for the Worst Kid Problems: Anti Social Youth and Conduct Disorders
behaviorAuthor: Ruth Herman Wells
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Youth Change
List Price: $15.00

Buy Now

Ew People: A 6x9 Inch Matte Softcover Notebook Journal With 120 Blank Lined Pages And A Funny Antisocial Introvert Cover Slogan
behaviorAuthor: GetThread Journals
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Independently published
List Price: $6.99

Buy Now

Quiet Power: The Secret Strengths of Introverted Kids
behaviorAuthor: Susan Cain
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Puffin Books
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

behavior
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}