كيف نتحسس شعورنا الخاص تجاه العواطف تجاه وجوه الآخرين

كيف نتحسس شعورنا الخاص تجاه العواطف تجاه وجوه الآخرين

توصل البحث إلى أن كيفية إدراكنا للعاطفة على وجه شخص آخر تعتمد على كيفية فهمنا لهذه المشاعر.

دراسة جديدة ، تظهر في المجلة طبيعة السلوك البشريتقدم رؤى حول كيفية تعاملنا مع تعبيرات الوجه العاطفية ، التي تعتبر حاسمة في حياتنا الاجتماعية ، وكذلك للأعمال والدبلوماسية.

يوضح جوناثان فريمان ، المؤلف الرئيسي للورقة ، "إن إدراك تعبيرات الوجه العاطفي للآخرين غالباً ما يبدو وكأننا نقرأها مباشرة من وجه ، لكن هذه التصورات البصرية قد تختلف بين الناس اعتماداً على المعتقدات المفاهيمية الفريدة التي نطرحها على الطاولة". وأستاذ مشارك في قسم علم النفس في جامعة نيويورك ومركز العلوم العصبية.

"تشير النتائج التي توصلنا إليها إلى أن الأشخاص يختلفون في إشارات الوجه المحددة التي يستخدمونها في إدراك تعبيرات الوجه العاطفي."

كيف ترتبط بالغضب والحزن؟

شملت الدراسة ، التي أجريت مع طالب الدكتوراه جيفري بروكس ، سلسلة من التجارب أجاب فيها المشاركون على أسئلة حول تصوراتهم للعواطف المختلفة. هذا يسمح للباحثين بتقدير مدى ارتباط العواطف المختلفة وثيقة الصلة بعقل الشخص.

"تشير النتائج إلى أن الطريقة التي ننظر بها إلى تعبيرات الوجه قد لا تعكس فقط ما في الوجه نفسه ، بل أيضًا فهمنا المفهوم لما تعنيه العاطفة".

على سبيل المثال ، قد يعتقد بعض الناس أن الغضب والحزن هم مشاعر متشابهة أكثر إذا ربطوا المفهومين بين هذه المشاعر وأفعال مثل البكاء وإلقاء قبضة يدك على طاولة. قد يعتقد الآخرون أنهم مشاعر مختلفة تمامًا لأنهم يربطون بين المشاعر كما يشعرون مختلفين تمامًا وينتج عنهم تصرفات مختلفة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


على وجه التحديد ، تم تقييم المواضيع في الطريقة التي عقدت بها بشكل مماثل أزواج مختلفة من العواطف التالية في أذهانهم: الغضب ، والاشمئزاز ، والسعادة ، والخوف ، والحزن ، والمفاجأة. لقد جادل بعض العلماء بأن هذه العواطف الستة عالمية عبر الثقافات و متناقلة وراثيا في البشر.

بعد ذلك شرع فريمان وبروكس في اختبار ما إذا كانت الطرق المختلفة التي يحكم بها الأشخاص المفاهيميون المشاعر الستة في أذهانهم قد تشوه كيف يرى المرءون هذه العواطف مرئيًا على وجوه الآخرين.

نظر المشاركون إلى سلسلة من صور تعبيرات الوجه البشرية عن العواطف وأصدرت أحكامًا حول الانفعال الذي كانت تعبيره هذه الوجوه. ولقياس إدراك الأفراد ، نشر الباحثون تقنية مبتكرة لتتبع الفأرة ، طورها فريمان ، تستخدم حركات اليد للفرد للكشف عن العمليات الإدراكية اللاواعية - وفي هذه الحالة ، تم تنشيط فئات العواطف في عقول الأفراد خلال تصورهم البصري. تعبير الوجه.

وعلى عكس الدراسات الاستقصائية ، التي يستطيع فيها الأشخاص تغيير استجاباتهم عن قصد ، فإن هذه التقنية تتطلب منهم اتخاذ قرارات منقسمة في الثانية ، وبالتالي الكشف عن اتجاهات أقل وعياً من خلال مسار حركتهم اليدوية.

بشكل عام ، أظهرت التجارب أنه عندما يعتقد الأفراد أن أي عاطفتين أكثر تشابهاً من الناحية المفاهيمية ، فإن الوجوه التي تراها من تلك الفئات من العواطف كانت تُنظر إليها بشكل مرئي بتشابه مماثل.

على وجه التحديد ، عندما يكون لدى المشاركين أي مشاعر ، مثل الغضب والاشمئزاز ، كما هو أكثر تشابهاً من الناحية المفاهيمية ، فإن يدهم تحاول أن تشير في نفس الوقت إلى أنهم شاهدوا "الغضب" و "الاشمئزاز" عند مشاهدة أحد تعبيرات الوجه - على الرغم من أنه من المفترض أن يكون كل تعبير يصور فقط عاطفة واحدة في كل مرة.

الماوس تتبع

في تجربة نهائية ، استخدم الباحثون تقنية تعرف باسم "الارتباط العكسي" لتصور العواطف الستة المختلفة في عين العقل لموضوع ما. بدأ الباحثون بواجهة واحدة محايدة وخلقوا مئات الإصدارات المختلفة من هذا الوجه التي تم تغطيتها بأنماط مختلفة من الضوضاء العشوائية. تخلق أنماط الضوضاء اختلافات عشوائية في إشارات الوجه. على سبيل المثال ، قد يبدو أحد الإصدارات أكثر شبهاً أنه يبتسم بدلاً من العبوس.

في كل تجربة للتجربة ، رأى المشاركون نسختين مختلفتين من هذا الوجه وقرروا أيهما يبدو أكثر شبهاً بعواطف محددة (على سبيل المثال ، الغضب) - على الرغم من أنه في الواقع لم يكن سوى نمط الضجيج الذي أحدث أي اختلاف في النسختين. ' مظهر خارجي. على أساس أنماط الضجيج التي اختارها موضوع ما ، يمكن تصور "نموذج أولي" للوجه لكل من العواطف الستة - بمثابة نوع من النافذة في عين العقل لموضوع ما.

بالتلازم مع نتائج تتبع الفأرة ، عندما تكون أي عاطفتين أكثر تشابهاً من الناحية المفاهيمية في عقل الشخص ، تكون صور هذين النموذجين الوجهيين المرئيين جسديًا تشبه بعضها البعض إلى حدٍ كبير. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان موضوع النظر إلى الغضب والاشمئزاز أكثر تشابهاً من الناحية المفاهيمية ، فإن الصور المرئية لما يبدو وجهًا غاضبًا وجهًا مُشمئًا تشبه هذا الموضوع تشابهًا ماديًا أكبر.

"توحي النتائج بأن الطريقة التي ننظر بها إلى تعابير الوجه قد لا تعكس فقط ما في الوجه نفسه ، ولكن أيضًا فهمنا المفهوم لما تعنيه العاطفة" ، تشرح فريمان ، التي تلاحظ اهتمامًا بتعبيرات الوجه التي أثارت اهتمام العلماء الذين يعودون إلى تشارلز داروين. في القرن 19th.

"بالنسبة إلى أي زوج من العواطف ، مثل الخوف والغضب ، كلما اعتقدت أكثر أن هذه المشاعر أكثر تشابهاً ، كلما كانت هاتان المشاهدتان تشبهان بعضهما البعض بصريًا على وجه الشخص. تشير النتائج إلى أننا قد نختلف اختلافًا طفيفًا في إشارات الوجه التي نستخدمها لفهم مشاعر الآخرين ، لأنها تعتمد على كيفية فهمنا لهذه العواطف من الناحية المفاهيمية ".

ويشير الباحثون إلى أن نتائج الدراسة تتناقض مع النظريات العلمية الكلاسيكية للعاطفة التي تفترض أن كل عاطفة لديها تعبير وجهي خاص بها تعترف به البشر عالمياً. وبناءً على وجهة النظر هذه ، يجب أن يؤدي نفس تعبير الوجه الدقيق ، مثل الوجه الغاضب للغضب ، إلى استنباط تصور للغضب ، ويجب ألا تؤثر معتقداتنا الشخصية حول ما يشكل "الغضب" على العملية.

وقد تلاحظ النتائج التي توصل إليها فريمان أنه قد يكون لها آثار على الذكاء الاصطناعي والتعلم الآلي. فالخوارزميات الآلية للتعرف على انفعالات الوجه وغيرها من تطبيقات رؤية الكمبيوتر والأمان ، موجهة نحو اكتشاف المشاعر ، والتي يمكن تعزيزها من خلال دمج العمليات المفاهيمية.

التمويل الجزئي للعمل جاء من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة.

مصدر: جامعة نيويورك

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = projecting on others؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How We Project Our Own Sense Of Emotions Onto Others’ Faces

behavior

How We Project Our Own Sense Of Emotions Onto Others’ Faces

How we perceive the emotion on someone else’s face depends on how we understand these emotions, research finds.

A new study, which appears in the journal Nature Human Behaviour, offers insights into how we recognize facial expressions of emotion, which is critical for our social lives, as well as for business and diplomacy.

“Perceiving other people’s facial emotion expressions often feels as if we are directly reading them out from a face, but these visual perceptions may differ across people depending on the unique conceptual beliefs we bring to the table,” explains Jonathan Freeman, the paper’s senior author and an associate professor in New York University’s psychology department and Center for Neural Science.

“Our findings suggest that people vary in the specific facial cues they utilize for perceiving facial emotion expressions.”

How related are anger and sadness?

The study, conducted with doctoral student Jeffrey Brooks, involved a series of experiments in which subjects responded to questions about their conceptualizations of different emotions. This let the researchers estimate how closely related different emotions were in a subject’s mind.

“The findings suggest that how we perceive facial expressions may not just reflect what’s in the face itself, but also our own conceptual understanding of what the emotion means.”

For instance, some people might think anger and sadness are more similar emotions if they conceptually associate both these emotions with actions such as crying and slamming your fist on a table; other people might think they’re entirely different emotions because they associate the two emotions as feeling completely different and resulting in different actions.

Specifically, subjects were assessed in how similarly they held different pairs of the following emotions in their mind: anger, disgust, happiness, fear, sadness, and surprise. Some scientists have argued that these six emotions are universal across cultures and genetically hard-wired in humans.

Freeman and Brooks then set out to test whether the different ways subjects conceptually held the six emotions in their mind may warp how subjects visually perceive these emotions on others’ faces.

The subjects viewed a series of images of human facial expressions of the emotions and made judgments about the emotion these faces were expressing. To gauge subjects’ perceptions, the researchers deployed an innovative mouse-tracking technology, developed by Freeman, that uses an individual’s hand movements to reveal unconscious cognitive processes—in this case, which emotion categories became activated in subjects’ minds during their visual perception of a facial expression.

Unlike surveys, in which subjects can consciously alter their responses, this technique requires them to make split-second decisions, thereby uncovering less conscious tendencies through their hand-motion trajectory.

Overall, the experiments showed that when individuals believed any two emotions were conceptually more similar, faces they saw from those categories of emotions were visually perceived with a corresponding similarity.

Specifically, when subjects held any two emotions, such as anger and disgust, as conceptually more similar, their hand attempted to simultaneously indicate that they saw both “anger” and “disgust” when viewing one of those facial expressions—even though presumably each expression only depicted a single emotion at a time.

Mouse-tracking

In a final experiment, the researchers used a technique known as “reverse correlation” to visualize the six different emotions in the mind’s eye of a subject. The researchers started with a single neutral face and created hundreds of different versions of this face that were overlaid with different patterns of random noise. The noise patterns create random variations in the face’s cues; for example, one version might look more like it is smiling rather than frowning.

On each trial of the experiment, subjects saw two different versions of this face and decided which of the two appeared more like a specific emotion (e.g., anger)—even though in reality it was only the noise pattern creating any difference in the two versions’ appearance. On the basis of the noise patterns a subject chose, an average facial “prototype” for each of the six emotions could be visualized—serving as a kind of window into the mind’s eye of a subject.

Converging with the mouse-tracking results, when any two emotions were conceptually more similar in a subject’s mind, the images of those two visualized facial prototypes physically resembled one another to a greater extent. For instance, if a subject viewed anger and disgust to be conceptually more similar, the visualized images of what an angry face and a disgusted face look like to that subject had a greater physical resemblance.

“The findings suggest that how we perceive facial expressions may not just reflect what’s in the face itself, but also our own conceptual understanding of what the emotion means,” explains Freeman, who notes interest in facial expressions has intrigued scientists dating back to Charles Darwin in the 19th century.

“For any given pair of emotions, such as fear and anger, the more a subject believes these emotions are more similar, the more these two emotions visually resemble one another on a person’s face. The results suggest that we may all slightly differ in the facial cues we use to understand others’ emotions, because they depend on how we conceptually understand these emotions.”

The authors note that the study’s results contrast with classic scientific theories of emotion that assume each emotion has its own specific facial expression that humans universally recognize. Based on this view, the same exact facial expression, such as a scowling face for anger, should always elicit a perception of anger, and our personally held beliefs about what constitutes “anger” should not affect the process.

The findings, Freeman observes, may have implications for artificial intelligence and machine learning. Automated algorithms for facial emotion recognition, and other computer-vision and security applications, are geared to spot emotions, which could potentially be enhanced by incorporating conceptual processes.

Partial funding for the work came from the National Institutes of Health.

Source: NYU

Related Books:

Visit to Heaven: What I Learned on the Other Side
behaviorAuthor: Mindy Speranza
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $12.95

Buy Now

Projecting Other Public Inventories for the 2005 RPA Timber Assessment Update
behaviorAuthor: U.S. Department of Agriculture
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now

A Rose By Any Other Name: A Sapphic Succubus Short Story (Scarlett City Series Book 2)
behaviorAuthor: Victoria Hunter
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

behavior
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}