إذا كنت مؤيدًا للحياة ، فقد تكون بالفعل مؤيدًا للاختيار

إذا كنت مؤيدًا للحياة ، فقد تكون بالفعل مؤيدًا للاختيار
متظاهرون من أجل حقوق الإجهاض يتظاهرون خارج المحكمة العليا في واشنطن ، 4 مارس 2020.
(AP Photo / ملف Jacquelyn Martin)

كثير من الناس قلقون من ذلك وفاة روث بدر جينسبيرغ يضع حماية الحقوق الإنجابية في خطر متزايد في الولايات المتحدة. مع وجود منصب شاغر في المحكمة العليا الأمريكية من المرجح أن يتم ملؤه من قبل رئيس ومجلس الشيوخ لصالح القيود المتزايدة على هذه الحقوق ، فإن بقاء قضية رو ضد ويد. هاجم بقوة - التي قضت بأن دستور الولايات المتحدة يحمي حرية المرأة في الإجهاض - مهددة بشدة.

من المرجح أن يحتدم النقاش العام حول حقوق الإجهاض. لذلك يبدو من المناسب إعادة النظر في الحجج الأخلاقية المستخدمة للدفاع عن كل من المواقف المؤيدة للاختيار والمؤيدة للحياة.

بصفتي خبيرًا في الأخلاق يبحث في المعتقدات الأخلاقية ، فإنني أفحص المبررات الأخلاقية التي يقدمها الناس للأشياء التي يؤمنون بها. من المحتمل أنك تعرف بالفعل موقفك عندما يتعلق الأمر بأخلاق الإجهاض. لكني أعتقد أن تجاوز الحجج المؤيدة لوجهات النظر الراسخة يمكن أن يُظهر تناقضًا تم تجاهله في وجهة النظر المؤيدة للحياة. إنه تناقض آمل أنه يمكن أن يقود الأشخاص المؤيدين للحياة لدعم حق المرأة في الاختيار.

كانت روث بادر جينسبيرغ قاضية مشاركة في المحكمة العليا الأمريكية ، وشخصية رئيسية في حركة حقوق المرأة في الولايات المتحدة (إذا كنت من محبي الحياة ، فقد تكون بالفعل خيارًا مؤيدًا)كانت روث بادر جينسبيرغ قاضية مشاركة في المحكمة العليا الأمريكية ، وشخصية رئيسية في حركة حقوق المرأة في الولايات المتحدة. (صراع الأسهم)

الحقوق والمطالبات

دعونا نذكر أنفسنا بالأساسيات. عادة ما تروق الحجج المؤيدة لحق الاختيار لدى الأم الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي، وبسبب حق الأم في الاستقلال الجسدي ، يُسمح بالإجهاض أخلاقياً بشكل عام. عادة ما تروق الحجج المؤيدة للحياة للجنين الحق في الحياةوبسبب حق الجنين في الحياة فإن الإجهاض بشكل عام محظور أخلاقيا.

تستدعي الإصدارات الأكثر تعقيدًا من هذه الحجج ادعاءات وزن مختلفة. يمكن لأي شخص مؤيد للاختيار أن يقبل أن للجنين حقًا في الحياة بالفعل ولكنه يصر على أن هذا الحق تفوقه حق الأم في الاستقلال الجسدي. وبالمثل ، يمكن لأي شخص مؤيد للحياة أن يقبل أن الأم لديها بالفعل الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي ولكن يصر على أن هذا الحق يفوقه حق الجنين في الحياة.

لكن هذين الموقفين ليسا منليث. يعتقد بعض الأشخاص المؤيدين للحياة أن هناك استثناءات مهمة فيما يتعلق بالإجهاض. يقول الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة أن الإجهاض ممنوع أخلاقياً بشكل عام ، إلا في الحالات التي تكون فيها حياة الأم في خطر ، أو عندما يكون الحمل بسبب سفاح القربى أو الاغتصاب. سأركز على آخر هذه الاستثناءات هنا. المدافعون الآخرون المؤيدون للحياة ، الأكثر تطرفاً ، يرفضون مثل هذه التصفيات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذا الاختلاف واضح بين الجمهوريين الأمريكيين. في مايو 2019 ، ائتلاف حث النشطاء المؤيدين للحياة اللجنة الوطنية الجمهورية (RNC) لمعارضة أي استثناءات للاغتصاب في قوانين الإجهاض التي تم إقرارها حديثًا ، لأن "قيمة الحياة البشرية لا تحددها ظروف الحمل أو الولادة".

لكن في نفس الشهر ، غرد دونالد ترامب: "... أنا مؤيد بشدة للحياة ، مع الاستثناءات الثلاثة - الاغتصاب وسفاح القربى وحماية حياة الأم ..." مرددًا صدى اعتقاد يحمله رونالد ريغان.

استثناءات مبررة

الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة يتم تقاسمه على نطاق واسع بين عامة الناس. ما يقرب من 75 في المائة من الأمريكيين أعتقد أن الإجهاض يجب أن يكون مسموحًا به في حالات الاغتصاب. نظرًا لأن الأمريكيين منقسمون تقريبًا بالتساوي بين المواقف المؤيدة للاختيار والمواقف المؤيدة للحياة ، يمكننا أن نفترض أن العديد من الأشخاص المؤيدين للحياة هم من بين أولئك الذين يعتقدون أن استثناءات الاغتصاب لها ما يبررها.

في حين أن الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة يحظى بتأييد واسع بين عامة الناس ، إلا أنه لا يحظى باهتمام كبير من الفلاسفة الأخلاقيين. في ورقة حديثة، لقد اقترحت أن أحد أسباب هذا الإغفال المفاجئ هو أن وجهة النظر الشعبية غير متماسكة في الواقع. لكن هذا ليس للسبب المذكور في الرسالة إلى RNC. بدلاً من ذلك ، يتطلب إبراز عدم الاتساق أن نفكّر المبرر الأخلاقي الأساسي لوجهة النظر.

يبدو أن هناك ثلاث ادعاءات أساسية للموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة. الادعاء الأول هو: الجنين هو إنسان منذ لحظة الحمل ، أو في مرحلة ما أثناء الحمل.

النقطة الأخلاقية هنا هي أن للإنسان الحق في الحياة ، ولأن الجنين هو إنسان فإنه له أيضًا الحق في الحياة. قد ينكر الكثير من المؤيدين لحق الاختيار هذا الادعاء ، لكن دعونا نقبله من أجل الجدل.

الادعاء الأساسي الثاني هو: الحق في الحياة أقوى من الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي أو يفوقه.

كما رأينا أعلاه ، هذا هو ادعاء الوزن المألوف للمواقف المؤيدة للحياة. فهي تقول أن الحق في الحياة له وزن أخلاقي بما يكفي للتخلي عن الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي.

والادعاء الأساسي الثالث هو: الإجهاض مسموح به للحمل الناجم عن الاغتصاب.

مع المطالبات الثلاثة على الطاولة ، ما يمكننا ملاحظته هو أن الادعاء الثالث هو شرط الإعفاء على المطالبة الثانية. الفكرة هنا هي أنه في حين أن حق الجنين في الحياة يفوق عادة حق الأم في الاستقلال الجسدي ، عندما يُحمل بالجنين نتيجة اغتصاب ، يصبح الإجهاض مسموحًا به. وهذا يعني أن التبرير الأخلاقي للمواقف المعتدلة المؤيدة للحياة ينبع من نوع الفعل الذي يمثله الاغتصاب. الاغتصاب هو بالطبع انتهاك صارخ لاستقلالية شخص ما.

الأهمية الأخلاقية

لكن التناقض يكشف عن نفسه الآن. انظر إلى اللمعان التالي: يقول الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة أن الحق في الحياة أقوى من الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي أو يفوقه ، إلا عندما يكون الجنين الذي له الحق في الحياة ناتجًا عن انتهاك ... الاستقلالية الجسدية.

بمجرد أن نبدأ العمل لتفكيك الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة ، نرى أنه يناشد الأهمية الأخلاقية للاستقلالية الجسدية. بشكل حاسم ، يفعل ذلك أثناء محاولته تفسير سبب تبرير فعل الاغتصاب الترجيح العادي للحياة على الاستقلال الذاتي. لكن هذا غير متماسك. تقول أن الحياة أهم من الاستقلالية ، إلا عندما يكون الاستقلالية أكثر أهمية من الحياة.

عندما يسمح شخص ما باستثناء الإجهاض في حالات الاغتصاب ، فإنه يعترف بأن هناك انتهاكات للاستقلالية يمكن أن تبرر الإجهاض. وإذا كانت بعض انتهاكات الاستقلالية أسبابًا مناسبة ، فلا يمكن أن يكون صحيحًا أن الحق في الحياة أثقل أخلاقياً من الحق في الاستقلال الجسدي.

قد يعتقد البعض أن إدراك هذا التناقض يجب أن يدفع مؤيدي الحياة المعتدلين إلى موقف أكثر تطرفًا. لكني أعتقد أن الجزء الصعب هو إقناع شخص ما باعتبارات الحكم الذاتي أي أهمية فيما يتعلق بأخلاقيات الإنجاب. الأشخاص الذين يقبلون الموقف المعتدل المؤيد للحياة متعاطفون بالفعل مع هذه النقطة. أعتقد أنه يمكنهم التفكير في أن القانون يجب أن يحترم أهمية الحكم الذاتي على نطاق أوسع.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

ماثيو سكارفون ، زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه ، الفلسفة ، جامعة تورنتو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
by مالكولم ستيرن
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
by سيرج بيدنجتون بيرنس

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

If You're Pro-Life, You Might Already Be Pro-Choice

If You're Pro-Life, You Might Already Be Pro-Choice
Abortion rights demonstrators rally outside the Supreme Court in Washington on March 4, 2020.
(AP Photo/Jacquelyn Martin File)

Many people are worried that the death of Ruth Bader Ginsburg puts protections of reproductive rights at increased risk in the United States. With a vacancy on the U.S. Supreme Court likely to be filled by a president and Senate favouring increased restrictions on these rights, the survival of Roe v. Wade — which ruled that the U.S. Constitution protects a woman’s liberty to have an abortion — is gravely threatened.

Public debate about abortion rights is likely to get heated. So it seems appropriate to revisit the moral arguments used to defend both the pro-choice and pro-life positions.

As an ethicist who researches moral beliefs, I examine the moral justifications people give for the things they believe. You likely already know where you stand when it comes to the morality of abortion. But I think going over the arguments supporting long-held views can show an overlooked inconsistency in the pro-life view. It’s an inconsistency that I am hopeful can lead people who are pro-life to support a woman’s right to choose.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg was an associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, and a key figure in the women’s rights movement in the U.S. (if you re pro life you might already be pro choice)Ruth Bader Ginsburg was an associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, and a key figure in the women’s rights movement in the U.S. (Shutterstock)

Rights and claims

Let’s remind ourselves of the basics. Pro-choice arguments usually appeal to the mother’s right to bodily autonomy, and it is because of the mother’s right to bodily autonomy that abortion is generally morally permissible. Pro-life arguments usually appeal to the fetus’s right to life, and it is because of the fetus’s right to life that abortion is generally morally forbidden.

More sophisticated versions of these arguments appeal to different weighing claims. Someone who is pro-choice can accept that a fetus does indeed have a right to life but insist this right is outweighed by the mother’s right to bodily autonomy. Likewise, someone who is pro-life can accept that a mother does indeed have a right to bodily autonomy but insist that this right is outweighed by the fetus’s right to life.

But these two positions are not monoliths. Some people who are pro-life believe there are important exceptions regarding abortion. A moderate pro-life position says that abortion is generally morally forbidden, except in cases where the mother’s life is at risk, or when the pregnancy is caused by incest or rape. I’ll focus on the last of these exceptions here. Other pro-life defenders, who are more extreme, reject such qualifiers.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This difference is evident among U.S. Republicans. In May 2019, a coalition of pro-life activists urged the Republican National Committee (RNC) to oppose any exceptions for rape within newly passed abortion laws, because “the value of human life is not determined by the circumstances of one’s conception or birth.”

But in the same month, Donald Trump tweeted: “… I am strongly Pro-Life, with the three exceptions — Rape, Incest and protecting the Life of the mother …,” echoing a belief held by Ronald Reagan.

Justifiable exceptions

The moderate pro-life position is also widely shared among the general public. Nearly 75 per cent of Americans think that abortion should be permissible in cases of rape. Since Americans are nearly equally split between pro-choice and pro-life positions, we can assume that many people who are pro-life are among those who think that rape exceptions are justified.

While the moderate pro-life position has broad support among the general public, it receives very little attention from moral philosophers. In a recent paper, I have suggested that one reason for this surprising oversight is because the popular view is actually incoherent. But it is not for the reason stated in the letter to the RNC. Rather, bringing out the incoherency requires us to unpack the underlying moral justification for the view.

There seem to be three underlying claims for the moderate pro-life position. The first claim is: a fetus is a human being from the moment of conception, or else at some point during gestation.

The moral point here is that human beings have a right to life, and because a fetus is a human being it too has a right to life. Many people who are pro-choice might deny this claim, but let’s accept it for the sake of argument.

The second underlying claim is: a right to life is stronger than, or outweighs, a right to bodily autonomy.

As we saw above, this is the weighing claim familiar to pro-life positions. It says that a right to life is morally weighty enough to tilt away from a right to bodily autonomy.

And the third underlying claim is: abortion is permissible for a pregnancy caused by rape.

With the three claims on the table, what we can notice is that the third claim is an excusing condition on the second claim. The idea here is that while a fetus’s right to life normally outweighs a mother’s right to bodily autonomy, when the fetus is conceived as result of rape abortion becomes permissible. And that means that the moral justification for the moderate pro-life positions stems from the type of act that rape is. Rape is of course an extreme violation of someone’s autonomy.

Moral significance

But now the incoherency reveals itself. Consider the following gloss: the moderate pro-life position says that a right to life is stronger than, or outweighs, a right to bodily autonomy, except when the fetus that has the right to life is created by a violation of … bodily autonomy.

Once we put in the work to unpack the moderate pro-life position, we see that it makes an appeal to the moral significance of bodily autonomy. Crucially, it does this while attempting to explain why the act of rape excuses the ordinary weighting of life over autonomy. But this is incoherent. It says that life is more important than autonomy, except when autonomy is more important than life.

When someone allows for an exception to abortion in cases of rape, they are acknowledging that there are violations of autonomy that can justify abortion. And if some violations of autonomy are appropriate grounds, then it cannot be true that a right to life is morally weightier than a right to bodily autonomy.

Some might think that realizing this inconsistency should push moderate pro-lifers to a more extreme position. But I think that the hard part is convincing someone that autonomy considerations have any relevance regarding reproductive ethics. People who accept the moderate pro-life position are already sympathetic to this point. I believe they can come around to thinking that the law should respect the importance of autonomy more broadly.The Conversation

About the Author

Matthew Scarfone, Postdoctoral Fellow, Philosophy, University of Toronto

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…