لماذا يجب ألا نتعامل مع جميع نظريات المؤامرة بنفس الطريقة

لماذا يجب ألا نتعامل مع جميع نظريات المؤامرة بنفس الطريقة غالبًا ما تكون مضادات vaxxers متعلمة جيدًا. شترستوك

منذ أن انتشر الفيروس التاجي في جميع أنحاء العالم ، انتشرت الشكوك حول ما يحدث حقًا. وقد أثيرت تساؤلات حول أصول الفيروس وطريقة مرضه ، وتدابير التخفيف المتخذة ، والحقوق المدنية المعلقة ، و اتصال مع 5Gوالعلاجات الممكنة والأدوية ، وحول دور بيل جيتس في كل ذلك.

عادة ما يتم تأطير هذه الأفكار على أنها نظريات المؤامرة. نعم ، قد لا يثق الجميع في السرد السائد و مشاركة بعض الخصائص، لكنها ليست فريدة من نوعها.

يتخذون العديد من الأشكال المختلفة ولديهم درجات متفاوتة من المعقولية لدرجة أنني أتساءل عن مدى فائدة وضعهم جميعًا تحت نفس الشعار. لفهم العديد من نظريات مؤامرة الفيروسات التاجية والاستجابة لها بشكل فعال ، نحتاج إلى التعمق أكثر.

الجمعية مهيمن تفسير لشعبية نظريات مؤامرة الفيروسات التاجية بشكل ملحوظ مماثل: هذه الأفكار المظلمة والمقلقة تساعد الناس على فهم عالم معقد وغير مؤكد. إنها تقدم تفسيرات كبيرة بما يكفي للأحداث المأساوية ، وتعيد مشاعر القوة والسيطرة.

نظرًا لأن هذه الأفكار لها أحيانًا عواقب في العالم الحقيقي ، من الصواري 5G التي تم إشعالها إلى تجاهل تدابير التخفيف من الفيروسات التاجية ، معلقون إدانة نظريات المؤامرة. لا يحتاج المسؤولون الآن إلى مكافحة جائحة صحي فقط قصتهم يذهب ، ولكن infodemic أيضا.

التعرف على التنوع والسياق

المشكلة مع نهج التعميم هو ثلاثة أضعاف. لا يراعي دوافع منظري المؤامرة أنفسهم ؛ ولا للأشكال والمقبولية المختلفة لنظريات المؤامرة المختلفة ؛ ولا لعلاقاتهم مع مختلف القضايا السياسية والمجتمعية.

فشل تقديم تفسيرات موحدة لنظريات المؤامرة النظر بجدية في محتوياتها أو مخاوف أساسية. وبالمثل ، فإنه لا يترك أي تأثير على نظريات المؤامرة تتسلح في مختلف حروب الدعاية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إن إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على هذه النظريات أو - حتى الأفضل - المشاركة الفعلية مع الأشخاص الذين يروجون لها ، يُظهر نظريات المؤامرة ليس بقدر استراتيجية مواكبة موحدة في أوقات مزعجة ، بل على أنها مجموعة واسعة من أشكال التعبير الثقافي.

وتشمل هذه الشكوك في الجهود المخططة لفرض التطعيمات الجماعية ، والشكوك حول أصول الفيروس ، والتعبير عن الاشمئزاز للنخبة الحاكمة ، والتلميحات الجيوسياسية ، والإشارات إلى ذعر إعلامي متضخم ، و كبش فداء لبعض الجماعات المجتمعية (الصينية أو اليهودية) ، والنقد حول طرق وقياسات أعراض وموتات COVID-19 ، أو الاستياء من المحسنين الأقوياء ، أو المخاوف بشأن توسيع السياسات الحكومية الاستبدادية ، أو المخاوف من اقتحام الشركات في البحث عن الأدوية الفعالة.

هذا يعني ، كما أزعم كتابي الأخير، أننا بحاجة إلى التركيز على معنى وتنوع وسياق نظريات المؤامرة المختلفة ، وكذلك الأشخاص الذين يشتركون فيها.

ثقافات نظرية المؤامرة المختلفة

خلال مشاريعي البحثية الإثنوغرافية حول ثقافات المؤامرة المعاصرة ، واجهت مجموعة متنوعة من الناس والأفكار والممارسات والمجتمعات. نظرًا لأن نظريات المؤامرة التاجية لم تستقر بعد ، فلننتقل إلى بعض الثقافات الفرعية لنظرية المؤامرة المختلفة بشكل ملحوظ والتي كانت موجودة لفترة أطول. إنها توضح كيف يمكن أن تكون نظريات المؤامرة المختلفة والأشخاص الذين يشتركون فيها.

بدءا من حركة مكافحة التطعيم - من قلق كبير كثير جدا. لأن العديد من مضادات vaxxers في العالم الغربي هم محبو موسيقى الجاز المتعلمين تعليما عاليا، من الصعب رفضهم على أنهم يائسون جاهلون.

بجانب نقد بيغ فارما ، لقاح التردد مستنيرة بأفكار شاملة وطبيعية حول الصحة والجسم. أفكار متجذرة في الطب البديل وروحانيات العصر الجديد. في هذه العوالم شبه الثقافيةغالبا ما تكون العواطف والمشاعر والخبرات والشهادات والعلاقات الاجتماعية أدلة أكثر أهمية من المعرفة العلمية.

بل تختلف عن تلك النشطة في حركة 9 سبتمبر الحقيقة. مهتم على نطاق واسع بالجغرافيا السياسية والتستر على الحكومة ، هؤلاء الناس تحدي السرد السائد ل 9 سبتمبر مع التنافس أدلة واقعية وعلمية. إنها تقدم البراهين المرئية والحسابات الرياضية لماذا لم يكن من الممكن أن تنهار الأبراج بواسطة الطائرات ، ولكنها تشير إلى الهدم المحكوم بدلاً من ذلك.

هؤلاء النشطاء يصرحون بمعرفة الفيزياء والبناء والمتفجرات و أسس شرعيتها في هذه الخبرة. إنهم يركزون على "فضح الأكاذيب الرسمية". مثل النشطاء الحقيقيين ، يتمنون التغيير الثوري، "لإنهاء النظام وهياكل السلطة غير المشروعة المسؤولة عن 9/11".

مسلية أم خطيرة؟

يمكن أن تستمر قائمة الثقافات الفرعية المؤامرة المختلفة بشكل ملحوظ. فكر في أصحاب الأرض المسطحة، الذين ينشرون منهجيات علمية مختلفة ويؤدون التجارب الفعلية في العالم الخارجي لإظهار أنها ليست كرة أرضية ولكنها قبة تشبه عرض ترومان.

ومع ذلك ، فإن تفضيل التفكير العقلاني والأساليب العلمية ليس ضمانًا للأخوة. عادةً ما يبتعد الحقائق عن الحادي عشر من سبتمبر لأن ذلك سيضر بمصداقيتها.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، ينشر متابعو QAnon استراتيجيات مختلفة لتفسير الرسائل السرية من زعيمهم المجهول س. تُعرف هذه بـ "الفتات" أو "القطرات" وكلها جزء من بحثهم عن الحقيقة والفداء. تقاسم العديد من خصائص الألفية الحركات الدينية الجديدة، يتوقع أتباع QAnon نهاية العالم العنيفة عندما سيتم تفكيك المؤامرة وسيتم تبرير المتابعين.

تُظهِر هذه النظرة العامة الموجزة بالفعل مجموعة كبيرة ومتنوعة من المواضيع والأيديولوجيات والمعقولات والأصول والناس والأخطار المحتملة لمختلف الثقافات الفرعية لنظرية المؤامرة. فيما يتعلق بنظريات المؤامرة ، فإن فئة واحدة موحدة تحجب كل هذه الاختلافات والمختلفة الديناميات المجتمعية التي تلعب فيها نظريات المؤامرة دورًا.

هذا يؤدي حتما إلى تفسيرات مبسطة. علاوة على ذلك ، فقد التأثير السياسي بشكل جماعي وصم بعض الأفكار والناس - واستبعادهم قبل الأوان مناقشة سياسية مشروعة. نظريات المؤامرة ليست موحدة - ولا ينبغي أن تكون علاقاتنا معها.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جارون هارامام ، باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في علم الاجتماع ، لوفين KU

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

s

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
by كارين كولمان وسارة ساوتشيلي توران

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Why We Should Not Treat All Conspiracy Theories The Same

Why We Should Not Treat All Conspiracy Theories The Same Anti-vaxxers are often well educated. Shutterstock

Ever since the coronavirus spread across the world, suspicions have proliferated about what is really going on. Questions arose about the origins of the virus, the way it makes people sick, the mitigation measures taken, the suspended civil rights, the connection with 5G, possible cures and medications, and about the role of Bill Gates in it all.

These ideas are commonly framed as conspiracy theories. Yes, they may all distrust the mainstream narrative and share certain characteristics, but they are not one of a kind.

They take so many different forms and have such varying degrees of plausibility that I question how useful it is to bracket them all under the same banner. To understand and effectively respond to the various coronavirus conspiracy theories, we need to dig deeper.

The dominant explanation for the popularity of coronavirus conspiracy theories is remarkably similar: these dark and unsettling ideas help people make sense of a complex and uncertain world. They provide sufficiently large explanations for tragic events, and give back feelings of agency and control.

Since these ideas sometimes have real-world consequences, from 5G masts set on fire to ignoring coronavirus mitigation measures, various commentators condemn these conspiracy theories. Officials now need not only fight a health pandemic, so their story goes, but an infodemic too.

Recognising diversity and context

The problem with the generalising approach is threefold. It does not account for the motivations of conspiracy theorists themselves; nor for the different forms and plausibility of the various conspiracy theories; nor for their relations with various political and societal issues.

Providing uniform explanations for conspiracy theories fails to seriously consider their contents or underlying concerns. Similarly, it leaves untouched how certain conspiracy theories are weaponised in various propaganda wars.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


A closer look at these theories or – even better – actual engagement with the people propagating them, shows conspiracy theories not so much as a uniform coping strategy in unsettling times, but rather as a wide array of cultural expressions.

These include suspicions of planned efforts to impose mass vaccinations, doubts about the origins of the virus, expressions of disgust for the ruling elite, geopolitical insinuations, pointers to an inflated media panic, the scapegoating of certain societal groups (Chinese or Jews), critiques on the methods and measurements of COVID-19 symptoms and deaths, discontents with powerful philanthropists, worries about the expansion of authoritarian government policies, or concerns about corporate intrusion in the search for effective medications.

This means, as I argue in my recent book, that we need to focus on the meaning, diversity and context of different conspiracy theories, as well as the people who subscribe to them.

Different conspiracy theory subcultures

During my ethnographic research projects on contemporary conspiracy cultures, I encountered a wide variety of people, ideas, practices and communities. Because coronavirus conspiracy theories have yet to settle down, let’s turn to some markedly different conspiracy theory subcultures that have been around for longer. They illustrate how different conspiracy theories and the people who subscribe to them can be.

Starting with the anti-vaccination movement – of great concern to many. Because many anti-vaxxers in the western world are highly educated urban hipsters, it is difficult to reject them as ignorant deplorables.

Next to critiques of Big Pharma, vaccine hesitancy is informed by holistic and naturalistic ideas about health and the body; ideas rooted in alternative medicine and New Age spiritualities. In these subcultural worlds, emotions, feelings, experiences, testimonies and social relations are often more important guides than scientific knowledge.

Rather different are those active in the 9/11 Truth Movement. Broadly interested in geopolitics and government cover ups, these people challenge the mainstream narrative of 9/11 with competing factual and scientific evidence. They advance visual proofs and mathematical calculations of why the towers could not have collapsed by the planes, but indicate controlled demolition instead.

These activists profess knowledge of physics, construction and explosives, and ground their legitimacy in this expertise. They are focused on “exposing the official lies”. Like true activists, they wish revolutionary change, “to end the regime and illicit power structures responsible for 9/11”.

Amusing or dangerous?

The list of markedly different conspiracy subcultures could go on. Think of the Flat Earthers, who deploy various scientific methodologies and perform actual experiments in the outside world to show that it is not a globe but a Truman Show-like dome.

Favouring rational thinking and scientific methods is, however, no guarantee for brotherhood. 9/11 Truthers generally stay away from them as that would harm their credibility.

QAnon followers, meanwhile, deploy various strategies to interpret secret messages from their anonymous leader Q. These are known as “crumbs” or “drops” and are all part of their search for truth and redemption. Sharing many characteristics of millenarian New Religious Movements, QAnon followers anticipate a violent apocalypse when the conspiracy will be dismantled and followers will be vindicated.

This brief overview already shows the wide variety of themes, ideologies, plausibilities, origins, people and potential dangers of different conspiracy theory subcultures. Regarding conspiracy theories as one uniform category obscures all these differences and the various societal dynamics in which conspiracy theories play a role.

This inevitably leads to simplistic explanations. Further, it has the political effect of collectively stigmatising certain ideas and people – and prematurely excluding them from legitimate political debate. Conspiracy theories are not uniform – nor should our engagements with them be.The Conversation

About The Author

Jaron Harambam, Postdoctoral Researcher in Sociology, KU Leuven

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

s

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…