تغريدات حول الحرج قد ارتفعت في عهد ترامب

تغريدات حول الحرج قد ارتفعت في عهد ترامبكانت هناك زيادة بنسبة 45 في عدد الأشخاص الذين يتحدثون عن الإحراج منذ تولي الرئيس دونالد ترامب منصبه ، وفقاً لدراسة جديدة.

في تحليل لحركة مرور Twitter بين يونيو 2015 و June 2017 ، كشف الباحثون عن كيفية استجابة مستخدمي المنصة لإجراءات ترامب في الأحداث البارزة.

"إن بيانات Twitter عبر أمريكا قوية حقًا. يقول المؤلف المشارك دار مشي ، الأستاذ المساعد للدعاية والعلاقات العامة بجامعة ولاية ميشيغان ، إن الناس يتغنون الآن حول الإحراج أكثر مما كانوا عليه خلال حفل التنصيب قبل ترامب.

يقول ميشي: "في الغالب ، فإن الشيء رقم واحد الأكثر ارتباطًا بثبات بارتفاع كلمة" الإحراج "على تويتر هو ترامب.

ثلاث قمم للحرج

حدد الباحثون الحالات التي يذكر فيها الإحراج زيادة محتوى تغريدة وتجميعها خلال ذلك الوقت. ثم ، قاموا بإنشاء كلمات السحب لمعرفة الكلمات الأكثر ارتباطًا بالحرج.

ثلاثة من أبرز القمم وقعت في أكتوبر 10 ، 2016 ؛ مارس 18 ، 2017 ؛ و مايو 26 ، 2017. هذه هي تواريخ النقاش الرئاسي الأخير لـ 2016 ضد هيلاري كلينتون ، عندما نفى ترامب مصافحة المستشارة الألمانية أندريا ميركل في زيارتها للبيت الأبيض ، والتاريخ الذي دفع فيه ترامب رئيس وزراء الجبل الأسود دوسكو ماركوفيتش في قمة الناتو ، على التوالي.

يقول فريدر بولوس ، أستاذ مساعد للشؤون الاجتماعية: "عند النظر إلى الكلمة الغيوم لهذه القمم الثلاث من الإحراج ، يمكننا أن نرى أن كلمات مثل ترامب ، النقاش ، @ RealDonaldTrump ، POTUS ، البلد ، أمريكا ، والناتو تستخدم بكثرة". طرق علم الأعصاب في جامعة لوبيك ومؤلف رئيسي.

"يبدو أن هناك قممًا أخرى تحدث حول الأخبار المتعلقة بترامب المثيرة للجدل ، مثل الانسحاب من اتفاقية باريس للمناخ ، والحديث عن" أم جميع القنابل "، وقمة G20 ، وتصريحاته حول تجمع شارلوتسفيل."

كان الاستنتاج الرئيسي الآخر في البحث هو تحديد الارتباط بين التعبير الوطني لبعض الكلمات المؤثرة وترامب.

يقول مشي: "إلى جانب الحرج ، هناك علاقة إيجابية طفيفة بين ترامب وكلمات مثيرة للاشمئزاز والعار والغضب". "هذا يعني أنه عندما يقوم الأشخاص بتغريد هذه الكلمات ، هناك احتمال أكبر أن يقوم هؤلاء الأشخاص بتغريد ترامب."

سببين ممكنين

في مقالتهم ، يجادل المؤلفون بأن هناك عاملين قد يحفزان الزيادة الوطنية في الإحراج على تويتر.

أولاً ، بالمقارنة مع الممثلين السابقين ، يبدو أن ترامب ينتهك القواعد والآداب عن قصد. ثانياً ، إن دور ترامب كرئيس يعني أنه يمثل جميع الأميركيين - حتى أولئك الذين لا يوافقون على سياسته. لذا ، فإن انتهاكاته المعتادة تهدد السلامة الاجتماعية للمواطنين الأمريكيين. هذه العملية المكونة من خطوتين تجعل الناس يتذللون ويشعرون بإحراج متبادل لترامب وأفعاله.

يقول بولس: "بالنسبة للأميركيين ، فإن انتخاب ترامب وتنصيبه جعلا من الصعب عليهم الابتعاد عن سلوكه". في دوره كممثل لجميع الأميركيين ، أصبح رسميًا أهم شخصية عامة. لذلك إذا اعتبر الأمريكيون سلوك ترامب غير مناسب ، فإنه يهدد أيضًا سلامتهم الاجتماعية ، مما يسهم في شعورهم بالحاجة المتزايدة للتعبير عن الإحراج ".

تكشف البيانات عن الطفرات العاطفية التي شعر بها الأمريكيون تجاه قائدهم وممثلهم. يقول سورن كراش ، أستاذ علم الأعصاب الاجتماعي بجامعة لوبيك ومؤلف مشارك في الدراسة: "لقد وجدنا أن الناس شعروا بالحاجة إلى مشاركة عواطفهم المتعلقة بسياسة دونالد ترامب - والحرج كان العاطفة التي وصفت بوضوح ما شعر به الناس".

في حين أن مستخدمي Twitter المحرجين لا يمكنهم التحكم في تصرفات Trump ، إلا أنه يمكنهم التحكم في كيفية تفاعلهم. يقول مشي إن النتائج ترتبط بنظرية التكوين العاطفي - لماذا نشعر بالحرج السلبي - لكن يأمل أن يتمكن الناس من البدء في فصل أنفسهم عن شعورهم بالحرج.

يقول ميشي: "إذا كان لديك عاطفة سلبية ، فإن فهم مصدرها يساعد على عدم تركها تؤثر عليك".

"يعاني الناس من هذه المشاعر ليس فقط لأن ترامب هو ممثلهم ، ولكن أيضًا لأنه يبدو أنه ينتهك عن عمد المعايير الاجتماعية كقائد لجماعتهم داخل المجموعة. نأمل ، من خلال فهم هذا الموقف ، أن يساعد مواطني الولايات المتحدة على تجنب تجربة هذه المشاعر السلبية خلال هذه الفترة الطويلة. "

باحثون آخرون هم من ولاية ميشيغان وجامعة لوبيك وجامعة غوته.

مصدر: جامعة ولاية ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الإحراج، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Tweets About Embarrassment Have Spiked In Trump Era

Tweets About Embarrassment Have Spiked In Trump EraThere has been a 45-percent increase in people tweeting about embarrassment since President Donald Trump took office, according to a new study.

In an analysis of Twitter traffic between June 2015 and June 2017, researchers reveal how the platform’s users responded to Trump’s actions at high-profile events.

“The Twitter data across America are really powerful. People are tweeting far more about embarrassment now than they were during the pre-Trump inauguration,” says coauthor Dar Meshi, assistant professor of advertising and public relations at Michigan State University.

“Overwhelmingly, the number-one thing most consistently related to spikes of the word ’embarrassment’ on Twitter is Trump,” Meshi says.

Three peaks of embarrassment

Researchers identified instances when embarrassment mentions spiked and aggregated the tweet content during that time. Then, they created word clouds to see what words were most linked to embarrassment.

Three of the most-prominent peaks took place on October 10, 2016; March 18, 2017; and May 26, 2017. These are the dates of the final 2016 presidential debate against Hillary Clinton, when Trump denied German Chancellor Andrea Merkel’s handshake at her visit to the White House, and the date Trump pushed Montenegro Prime Minister Dusko Markovic at the NATO Summit, respectively.

“Looking at the word clouds for these three peaks of embarrassment, we can see that words such as Trump, debate, @realDonaldTrump, POTUS, country, America, and NATO are most-heavily used,” says Frieder Paulus, assistant professor for social neuroscience methods at Lübeck University and lead author.

“Other peaks appeared to happen around controversial Trump-related news, like withdrawing from the Paris Climate Agreement, talking about the ‘mother of all bombs,’ the G20 summit, and his statements about the Charlottesville rally.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Another key finding in the research was identifying correlations between the nationwide expression of certain affective words and Trump.

“Beyond embarrassment, there is a slight positive correlation between Trump and the words disgust, shame, and anger,” Meshi says. “This means when people tweet these words, there’s a higher probability that those people are tweeting about Trump.”

Two possible reasons

In their article, the authors argue that two factors might motivate the nationwide increase in embarrassment mentions on Twitter.

First, compared to former representatives, Trump seems to violate norms and etiquettes on purpose. Second, Trump’s role as president means he represents all Americans—even those who don’t agree with his politics. So, his norm violations threaten US citizens’ social integrity. This two-step process causes people to cringe and feel vicarious embarrassment for Trump and his actions.

“For Americans, Trump’s election and inauguration made it more difficult to distance themselves from his behavior,” says Paulus. “In his role as the representative of all Americans, he formally became their most significant public figure. So if Americans consider Trump’s behavior inappropriate, it also threatens their own social integrity, which contributes to them feeling an increased urge to express embarrassment.”

Data reveal the emotional spikes Americans felt toward their leader and representative. “We found that people felt the need to share their emotions related to Donald Trump’s politics—and embarrassment was the emotion that most clearly described what people felt,” says Sören Krach, professor for social neuroscience at Lübeck University and coauthor of the study.

While the embarrassed Twitter users can’t control Trump’s actions, they can control how they react. Meshi says that the findings tie back to their theory of emotional genesis—why we feel second-hand embarrassment—but hopes people can begin to separate themselves from their feelings of embarrassment.

“If you have a negative emotion, understanding where it comes from helps to not let it affect you as much,” Meshi says.

“People are having these emotions not only because Trump is their representative, but also because he seems to intentionally violate social norms as the leader of their in-group. Hopefully, by understanding this situation, it can help US citizens avoid experiencing these negative emotions over such a prolonged period.”

Additional researchers are from Michigan State, the University of Lübeck, and Goethe University.

Source: Michigan State University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Embarrassment;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}