ماذا يعمل بالنسبة لي: الاعتراف اختياراتي

ماذا يعمل بالنسبة لي: الاعتراف اختياراتي

هناك أشياء كثيرة في الحياة يمكن أن تجعل وجودنا أسهل أو أكثر صعوبة. عامل ضخم هو موقفنا. أحد المواقف التي خدمتني بشكل جيد هو إدراك أن كل شيء أقوم به هو من خلال الاختيار ... حتى لو كانت المظاهر تبدو وكأنه ليس لدي خيار دائمًا ، فأنا أفعل ذلك فعلاً.

الآن قبل أن تتفاعل وتقول لي ... ولكن لم أختر مديري الفظيع، أو لم أختار أن أشعر بالتعب الشديد طوال الوقت، أو لم أختار الحصول على قرحةأو أي تعليق آخر ينفي العبارة التي تفيد بأن كل ما نقوم به هو اختيارنا ، دعني أوضح.

لنبدأ بالأمثلة التي أعطيتها. حسنًا ، لنفترض أن لديك رئيسًا فظًا ... أو زميل في العمل. هل اخترتها على وجه التحديد؟ ربما لا ، ولكنك اخترت هذا المنصب ، واخترت البقاء هناك. آه ، فواتير لدفع؟ نعم بالطبع ، ولكن هذه الفواتير يمكن أن تكون مدفوعة من قبل وظيفة أخرى مع رئيس وزميل عمل مختلف. من الصعب جدا العثور على وظيفة أخرى؟ ربما ، ولكن لا يزال اختيارك عدم البحث أو ببساطة البقاء حيث أنت. ربما لا يكون خيارًا سعيدًا ، وربما لا يكون خيارًا يجعلك واعًا ، بل خيارًا مع ذلك.

متعب في كل وقت؟ ما الخيارات التي يمكنك إجراؤها لتغيير ذلك؟ ربما يشاهد التلفزيون أقل ويذهب إلى الفراش في وقت سابق؟ ربما تناول الأطعمة التي من شأنها أن تجعلك أكثر صحة وبالتالي أقل إرهاقا. ربما الذهاب للنزهة كل يوم والتي من شأنها في الواقع تعطيك المزيد من الطاقة. ربما تأكد من أنك تأخذ بعض الوقت لإعادة شحن "البطاريات" الخاصة بك. العديد من الخيارات ، والعديد من الخيارات.

عودة قرحة؟ حسناً ، كيف حصلت على هذا التقرح؟ ربما اخترت رفع شيء ثقيل جدًا؟ أو ربما تجلس بطريقة أو تنام بطريقة تتسبب في حدوث قرحة؟ أو ربما لم تكن مرنا في شيء كنت تفعله؟ اختيارات الكل.

وأرجو أن تكون على دراية بأنني لا أتحدث عن إلقاء اللوم أو الذنب ... بل على الاعتراف بأن القوة تكمن في الخيارات التي نتخذها ، وما إذا كانت تلك الاختيارات تتم بوعي أو على الطيار الآلي. الاعتقاد بأن ليس لدينا خيار يجعلنا ضعفاء ويجعلنا نعتقد أننا ضحايا. إدراك أن لديك دائما خيار يجعلك سيد من حياتك الخاصة.

لعبة اللوم شرائط قوتك بعيدا

قد تكون نشأت من الكبار من حولك لإلقاء اللوم على الآخرين لموقفك في الحياة. عندما غضب والدينا بدا الأمر وكأنه خطأ شخص آخر ... رئيسهم ، أقاربهم ، الجار ، كاتب المتجر ، أطفالهم ... السيناريو ذهب شيء كهذا: غاضب؟ شخص آخر "جعلني" غاضب ... بدلا من الاعتراف بأن الغضب هو خيار. بعض الناس ، مثل الدلاي لاما على سبيل المثال ، سيختارون رد فعل مختلف ، أو على الأقل لا يلتزمون بالغضب لأكثر من لحظات قصيرة ، وبالتأكيد ليس للأيام أو الأسابيع أو السنوات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عالق في وظيفة تكره؟ حسناً ، ما لم يكن شخص ما قد تم تقييده جسدياً في هذه الوظيفة ، فأنت لست مجبرا على البقاء هناك. نعم ، الظروف قد تجعل الأمر صعبًا أو مرعبًا للإقلاع عن التدخين ، ولكنك ما زلت تختار البقاء ... لأي سبب من الأسباب. عندما تعترف بأنك تختار البقاء في هذا المنصب ، يمكنك أيضًا أن تعترف أنك تريد إجراء تغيير - أو لا. إن التعرف على هذا الاختيار يمنحك الرؤية للبحث عن الخيارات الأخرى والفرص التي قد يرسلها الكون إليك. كما أنه يفتح نافذة لتقدير ما لديك ... وظيفة ثابتة تساعدك على دعم نفسك وعائلتك وأحلامك.

زوجة مدمرة؟ مرة أخرى ، لأي سبب من الأسباب ... اختيار البقاء. أنا لا أقول إن اتخاذ خيار مختلف أمر سهل. في بعض الأحيان يكون الأمر صعبًا ومخيفًا جدًا. لكن النقطة هنا هي أهمية الاعتراف بأنك تختار البقاء. من المدهش الفرق الذي يمكن أن يحدث في وجودك عندما تتوقف عن الشعور بالعجز من خلال إدراك أنك قمت بهذا الخيار ، مما يعني أنه في مرحلة ما في المستقبل ، يمكنك أن تختار اختيارًا آخر إذا رغبت في ذلك.

لا شيء من هذا حول الحكم أو اللوم. الفكرة هي إدراك أن كل ما نقوم به ، حتى الأشياء التي لا نحبها ، نختار القيام بها - سواء تم الاختيار بوعي أم لا. وهذا يجعل أفعالنا تمكّن هؤلاء ، بدلاً من أن تكون ضحية لهم.

لدينا دائما خيار

أيا كان الوضع ، لدينا دائما خيار. الآن ، بالتأكيد ، في بعض الأحيان ، لا تكون الخيارات مستساغة. إذا كان هناك شخص ما يمسك بك تحت تهديد السلاح ويقول: سلمني محفظتك ... عادة ما تختار أن تفعل ذلك ، ومع ذلك ، لديك الخيار لتقول لا ... وتعاني من العواقب بالطبع. لكن الحيلة هي إدراك أننا نختار دائمًا استجابتنا. لا أحد يجبرنا على فعل أي شيء. قد يظنون أنهم يجبرونك أو يرغمونك ، وقد يبدو أنهم يفعلون ذلك ، لكن في النهاية ، ما زلت تختار أن تقول نعم أو لا.

شخص ما يقدم لك القهوة ... لديك خيار. يمكنك أن تقول نعم أو لا. شخص ما يقدم لك الهيروين ... لديك خيار. يمكنك أن تقول نعم أو لا. شخص ما يصرخ عليك ... لديك خيار. رد فعل في الغضب ، أو خذ نفسًا عميقًا واتفاعل بشكل مختلف. إنها تصب المطر. لديك خيار. اختر أن تكون بائسا بشأن ذلك ، أو ابحث عن شيء إيجابي عنه ، مثل التركيز على النباتات التي تحصل على المطر الذي تحتاجه للبقاء على قيد الحياة.

إذا بقيت في وظيفة لا تحبها ، لأي سبب كان ، فأنت أقوى عندما تقر بأنك تختار البقاء هناك. كما يمنحك هذا الانفتاح ليكون على بينة من إمكانية الخيارات الأخرى على طول الطريق.

نحن لا نعلق أبدا ، ما لم نختار أن نكون. سواء كان موقفًا أو اعتقادًا أو فعلًا. نختار البقاء معهم ، أو نختار الانتقال. والاعتراف بأننا نختار هذه الإجراءات هو وسيلة تمكينية للغاية لمواجهة الحياة.

كسر من الصعب القيام به

مع اقترابنا من العام الجديد ، قد يركز الكثير من الناس على "قرارات العام الجديد" ، على العادات التي يرغبون في تغييرها. في هذا الوقت من العام ، عادةً ما نكون أكثر وعيًا بالخيارات البديلة التي يمكننا اتخاذها. ولتمكيننا من الالتزام بهذه القرارات ، يمكننا أن ندرك الخيارات التي نتخذها كل يوم وفي كل لحظة. كل القرارات التي نتخذها تدعم إما العادات الجديدة التي نشكلها ، أو لا.

وعلى الرغم من أننا قد نجد صعوبة في التخلص من عادات قديمة ، إلا أنه ممكن ، ويتم اختيار واحد في كل مرة. الإقلاع عن التدخين أو الشرب أو الإفراط في الأكل؟ الاختيار: لن أحصل على هذه السيجارة أو الشراب أو الكعكة.

ربما نجعل حياتنا أكثر صعوبة عندما نحاول القيام بخيار "بطانية" يمتد إلى الأبد ، مثل "أنا لن أدخن سيجارة أخرى" أو "أنا لن أفرط في الطعام مرة أخرى". هذا قد يبدو ساحقا. ربما يكون الخيار أشبه ما تم تشجيعه في المجهول المجهول ، كما هو مذكور في المثالين التاليين من "فقط لليوم" بطاقة:

  • فقط اليوم سأحاول أن أعيش هذا اليوم فقط ، ولا أتعامل مع كل مشاكلي دفعة واحدة. يمكنني أن أفعل شيئًا لمدة اثنتي عشرة ساعة قد يزعجني إذا شعرت أنه كان عليّ الاحتفاظ بها طوال العمر.

  • فقط اليوم سأكون سعيدا. هذا يفترض أن يكون صحيحا ما قاله أبراهام لنكولن ، أن معظم الناس سعداء لأنهم يقررون أن يكونوا.

وإذا لاحظت ، فإن اقتراحات "فقط لهذا اليوم" المذكورة أعلاه هي خيارات - خيارات سنجعلها تصنع كل يوم. وفي بعض الأحيان ننسى ، أو ربما نختار بطريقة مختلفة ، وهذا أمر جيد طالما أننا نتذكر أن اللحظة التالية ، في اليوم التالي ، سنختار كل مرة أخرى. أكلت تلك الحلوى الإضافية عندما كنت قد قررت عدم؟ حسنًا ، في المرة القادمة التي يمكنك الاختيار مرة أخرى ، ويمكن أن تختار بشكل مختلف. ليست هناك حاجة للحكم أو إلقاء اللوم على نفسك أو الاعتقاد بأنك قادر على الشعور بالذنب تجاه نفسك. كلنا نخطئ في بعض الأحيان ، وكلنا نختار مرة أخرى في المرة القادمة.

الاعتراف بأن كل ما نقوم به هو خيار يجعلنا أقوى. إنه يساعد على إلقاء الضوء على الطريق أمامنا حيث ندرك أننا نختار المكان الذي ننتمي إليه ، وبالتالي يمكننا أن نختار بشكل مختلف في أي وقت نقرر أننا جاهزون له.

وإذا وجدت نفسك تتذمر وأنت تستعد للقيام بمهمة ، لتذكير نفسك بأن "أنا أختار القيام بهذه المهمة" تضع زاوية مختلفة تمامًا على الموقف وسترفع معنوياتك. إن نقل مواقفنا من كوننا ضحية للاعتراف بوعي باختياراتنا سيجعل العالم مختلفًا في حياتنا.

أتمنى لك سنة تمكين ... يوم واحد في كل مرة ، اختيار واحد في كل مرة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماري رسل هو مؤسس مجلة InnerSelf (تأسست 1985). إنها أنتجت أيضا واستضافت الأسبوعية جنوب فلوريدا وبثت الاذاعة، والسلطة الداخلية، من 1992-1995 التي ركزت على موضوعات مثل احترام الذات، ونمو الشخصية، والرفاه. مقالاتها تركز على التحول وإعادة الاتصال مع مصدر لدينا الداخلية الخاصة بها من الفرح والإبداع.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0: تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0. صف المؤلف: ماري T. راسل ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة: ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = choose happiness؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

What Works For Me: Acknowledging My Choices

behavior

What Works For Me: Acknowledging My Choices

There are many things in life that can make our existence easier or more difficult. A huge factor is our attitude. One attitude that has served me well is recognizing that everything I do is by choice... Even if appearances may seem like I don't always have a choice, I really do.

Now before you react and tell me... but I didn't choose my awful boss, or I didn't choose to feel so tired all the time, or I didn't choose to get a sore back, or any other comment to negate the statement that everything we do is our choice, let me explain.

Let's start with the examples I gave. OK, so let's assume you have an awful boss... or co-worker. Did you choose them specifically? No perhaps not, but you did choose that job, and you choose to stay there. Ah, bills to pay? Yes of course, but those bills could be just as well paid by another job with a different boss and co-worker. Too hard to find another job? Perhaps, but it's still your choice not to look or to simply stay where you are. Maybe not a happy choice, perhaps not even a choice you're making consciously, but a choice nevertheless.

Tired all the time? What choices could you make to change that? Perhaps watch less TV and go to bed earlier? Perhaps eat foods that would make you healthier and thus less tired. Perhaps go for a walk every day which would actually give you more energy. Perhaps make sure you take time for yourself to recharge your "batteries". Many options, many choices.

Sore back? OK, well how did you get that sore back? Perhaps you chose to lift something too heavy? Or perhaps you sit in such a way, or sleep in such a way that incurs a sore back? Or perhaps you just were not flexible in something you were doing? Choices all.

And please be aware, that I'm not speaking of placing blame or guilt... but in recognizing that the power lies in the choices we make, and whether those choices are made consciously or on auto-pilot. Believing that we have no choice makes us weak and makes us believe we are victims. Recognizing that you always have a choice makes you a master of your own life.

The Blame Game Strips Your Power Away

You may have grown up learning from the adults around you to blame others for your situation in life. When our parents got angry it always seemed to be somebody else's fault... Their boss, their relatives, the neighbor, the store clerk, their children... The scenario went something like this: Angry? Someone else "made me" angry... rather than recognizing that getting angry is a choice. Some people, such as the Dalai Lama for example, would choose a different reaction, or at least not stick to anger for more than a few short moments, and certainly not for days, or weeks, or years.

Stuck in a job you hate? Well, unless someone has you physically chained to that job, you are not being forced to stay there. Yes, circumstances may make it difficult or frightening to quit, but you still choose to stay... for whatever reason. Once you admit that you are choosing to stay at that job, then you can also admit that you would like to make a change -- or not. Recognizing that choice gives you the vision to look around for other options and for opportunities that the universe may send your way. And it also opens the window to appreciating what you do have... a steady job that helps you support yourself, your family, and your dreams.

Battered wife? Again, for whatever reason... choosing to stay. I'm not saying that making a different choice is easy. Sometimes it is very difficult and very frightening. But the point here is the importance of recognizing that you are making the choice to stay. It is amazing the difference that can make in your very being when you stop feeling powerless by realizing that you've make that choice, which means that at some point in the future, you could make a different choice should you desire to do so.

None of this is about judgment or blame. The idea is to recognize that everything we do, even the things we dislike, we are choosing to do them - whether the choice is made consciously or not. This makes our actions empowering ones, rather than victimized ones.

We Always Have A Choice

Whatever the situation, we always have a choice. Now, certainly, sometimes the choices are not very palatable. If someone is holding you at gunpoint and saying hand me your wallet... you usually would choose to do so, however, you do have the choice to say no... and suffer the consequences, of course. But the trick is to realize that we always choose our response. No one forces us to do anything. They may think they are forcing or coercing you, and it may seem like they are doing so, but in the end, you still choose to say yes or no.

Someone offers you coffee... you have a choice. You can say yes or no. Someone offers you heroin... you have a choice. You can say yes or no. Someone shouts at you... You have a choice. React in anger, or take a deep breath and react differently. It's pouring rain. You have a choice. Choose to be miserable about it, or find something positive about it, such as focus on the plants that are getting the rain they need to survive.

If you stay at a job you dislike, for whatever reason, you are stronger when you acknowledge that you are choosing to stay there. This also gives you the openness to be aware of the possibility of other choices along the way.

We are never stuck, unless we choose to be. Whether it is an attitude, a belief, or an action. We choose to remain with them, or we choose to move on. And recognizing that we are choosing these actions is a very empowering way to face life.

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

As we approach the new year, many people may be focusing on "new year's resolutions", on habits they would like to change. At this time of year, we are usually more aware of alternate choices we can make. To empower us in sticking to those resolutions, we can become aware of the choices we make every day, in every moment. All the decisions we make either support the new habits we are forming, or not.

And while we might find it difficult to break a long-standing habit, it is possible, and it is done one choice at a time. Quitting smoking or drinking or overeating? The choice: I won't have this next cigarette or drink or cookie.

Perhaps we make our life more difficult when we attempt to make a "blanket" choice that extends to forever, such as "I will never smoke another cigarette" or "I will never overeat again". This may seem overwhelming. Perhaps the choice is more like the one encouraged in Alcoholic Anonymous, as stated in the following two examples from their "Just For Today" card:

  • Just for today I will try to live through this day only, and not tackle all my problems at once. I can do something for twelve hours that would appall me if I felt that I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

  • Just for today I will be happy. This assumes to be true what Abraham Lincoln said, that most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.

And if you notice, the above "just for today" suggestions are choices -- choices we get to make every day. And sometimes we will forget, or possibly even consciously choose differently, and that is all fine as long as we remember that the next moment, the next day, we get to choose all over again. Ate that extra dessert when you had resolved not to? Well, next time you get to choose again, and can choose differently. There is no need to judge or blame yourself or think you can guilt yourself into submission. We all make missteps at times, and we all get to choose again next time.

Recognizing that everything we do is a choice makes us stronger. It helps illuminate the path ahead as we realize that we are choosing to be where we are, and thus can choose differently anytime we decide we are ready to.

And if you find yourself grumbling as you prepare to do a task, reminding yourself that "I'm choosing to do this task" puts a whole different angle on the situation and will lift your spirits. Moving our attitudes from being a victim to consciously acknowledging our choices will make a world of difference in our lives.

Wishing you an empowering year... one day at a time, one choice at a time.

About The Author

Marie T. Russell is the founder of InnerSelf Magazine (founded 1985). She also produced and hosted a weekly South Florida radio broadcast, Inner Power, from 1992-1995 which focused on themes such as self-esteem, personal growth, and well-being. Her articles focus on transformation and reconnecting with our own inner source of joy and creativity.

Creative Commons 3.0: This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. Attribute the author: Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article: This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

Related Books

Choosing Happiness: Life and Soul Essentials

behaviorAuthor: Stephanie Dowrick
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Choosing Happiness: Life & Soul Essentials

Brand: Unknown
Studio: TarcherPerigee
Label: TarcherPerigee
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
Manufacturer: TarcherPerigee

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
The message of this book is very simple: Right now, you can be happier!

Whatever your age or outlook, Choosing Happiness shows that real change can happen: in how you see yourself - and how you perceive and relate to other people. The most practical of Dr Stephanie Dowrick's bestsellers, this wide-ranging, deeply personal book offers succinct, compassionate guidance. It also shows clearly that while you can't always choose what happens in your life, you can choose your responses, values and behaviors. The results are literally life changing and unconditionally empowering.

Choosing Happiness offers skills and insights across all areas of life from your most intimate relationships to parenting, your friendships, work and community. It also looks at the big questions that let you value your life and your own existence in profoundly stabilizing ways. This book is like the wise, kind friend you can return to again and again - making choices that will lift your spirits, and those of everyone around you.




Choosing Happiness

behaviorAuthor: Lizzie Velasquez
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Liguori Publications
Label: Liguori Publications
Publisher: Liguori Publications
Manufacturer: Liguori Publications

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Lizzie Velasquez recently graduated from Texas State University in San Marcos with a degree in communications. She is one of only three known people in the world with a medical syndrome that doesn’t allow her to gain weight or create muscle. Lizzie, an author of three books, has appeared as a motivational speaker at more than 200 workshops. Her story has been featured in national and international media, including The Today Show, Inside Edition, Katie Couric, Dr. Drew, Australia’s Sunday Night, and Germany’s Explosiv.





Choosing Happiness

behaviorAuthor: Dr Chrissy Whiting-Madison
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Total Publishing and Media
Label: Total Publishing and Media
Publisher: Total Publishing and Media
Manufacturer: Total Publishing and Media

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Choosing Happiness will teach simple techniques to adjust your outlook to allow better control of your life's outcomes. In other words,
it WILL make you happier!

Few of us realize the truly pervasive nature of our negative thinking. Society is constantly inundating us with negativity and self-doubt.
Many of us are enslaved to fear simply by exposing ourselves to a constantly terror-saturated media.

Thankfully, a light exists within each of us to change our mindsets to positivity.

Dr. Chrissy Whiting-Madison received her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Saint
Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, her Masters' degree in Rehabilitation Counseling
from Langston University-Tulsa, and her Doctorate (PhD) in Rehabilitation from the
University of Arkansas.

Chrissy currently serves as Assistant Professor of Psychology at Rogers State University in Claremore, Oklahoma and continues to
practice as a therapist, specializing in Positive Psychology.

She also enjoys spending time with all her loved ones; a husband,
daughter, three bonus children, and 5 beloved cats.





behavior
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}