معرفة شخص واحد فقط شواي يغير مواقفه

معرفة شخص واحد فقط شواي يغير مواقفه

أظهرت الأبحاث أن الأشخاص الذين التقوا وتعرفوا على شخص واحد على الأقل من المثليين كانوا على الأرجح يغيرون رأيهم فيما بعد بشأن المساواة في الزواج ويصبحون أكثر قبولًا للمثليين والمثليات بشكل عام.

لطالما اقترح علماء الاجتماع أنه عندما يقيم الناس علاقات معينة ، فإنهم قد يغيرون مواقفهم حول القضايا ، التي يشار إليها غالباً باسم تأثير الاتصال ، كما يشرح دانيال ديلا بوستا ، الأستاذ المساعد في علم الاجتماع في ولاية بنسلفانيا والتابعة لمعهد العلوم الإلكترونية.

على سبيل المثال ، ناقش علماء الاجتماع ما إذا كانت معرفة شخص ذي توجه جنسي مختلف يمكن أن يؤثر على المواقف في القضايا الأكبر ، مثل قبول حقوق المثليين ومساواة الزواج. ومع ذلك ، قبل هذه الدراسة ، فإن النظرية لم تواجه بعد اختبار صارم.

"عندما يتعين عليك فجأة التفاعل مع شخص ما من مجموعة خارجية كفرد ، يفرض عليك إعادة النظر في تحيزاتك".

يقول ديلا بوستا: "إن ما اعتقدت أننا بحاجة إليه في هذا المجال كان اختبارًا لفرضية الاتصال التي كانت متحفظة - ربما محافظة بشكل مفرط - باستخدام الاختبار الأكثر صرامة الذي يمكن أن نبتكره".

قام DellaPosta بفحص البيانات من إصدارات 2006 و 2008 و 2010 في المسح الاجتماعي العام أو GSS ، وهو استبيان اجتماعي للآراء التي يشغلها الأمريكيون حول مجموعة من القضايا.

في 2006 ، حول 45 في المئة من الناس الذين لديهم معرفة مثلي الجنس أو مثليه أعرب عن تأييده للزواج من نفس الجنس. بواسطة 2010 ، زاد هذا الرقم إلى 61 في المائة. في 2006 ، قال 22 في المئة فقط الناس الذين لم يكن لديهم التعارف مثلي الجنس أو مثليه أنهم وافقوا على الزواج من نفس الجنس. انخفض هذا العدد إلى 18 بالمائة في 2010.

يقول DellaPosta أن بيانات المسح لا تكشف بالضبط متى بدأت هذه العلاقات ، مما يجعل الاختبار أكثر صرامة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"من خلال أخذ الناس في ذلك الأساس 2006 الذين كانوا على بينة من المثليين والمثليات وقارنهم مع أشخاص آخرين كانوا متشابهين في جميع الاعتبارات المرئية ، بما في ذلك موقفهم المقاس نحو زواج المثليين والمثليين والسحاقيات عند خط الأساس 2006 ، يقول ديلا بوستا ، الذي يطلع على النتائج التي توصل إليها في المجلة: "لم أكن على دراية بالمثليين والمثليات ، يمكنك الحصول على اختبار محافظ بالفعل لفرضية الاتصال". Socius.

النتائج يمكن أن توضح كيف يؤثر مثليون جنسيا ومثليه الذين يخرجون على القبول العام للمثليين والمثليات. في 1973 GSS ، شعر 11 فقط من الأمريكيين بأن "المثلية ليست خاطئة على الإطلاق". وبحلول 2016 ، ارتفع هذا العدد إلى 52 بالمائة.

يقترح DellaPosta أن الخروج قد يسهل مزيدًا من التواصل مع الأشخاص المثليين والمثليات ، مما يؤدي إلى تسريع تغيير المواقف بشأن القضايا التي تؤثر على المجتمع المثلي.

علاوة على ذلك ، يقترح DellaPosta أن الاتصال مع الشخص المثلي لا يحتاج حتى إلى أن يكون عميقًا بشكل خاص حتى يظهر تأثير الاتصال.

"إذا كان لديك اتصال سطحي جدًا ، مثل مشاهدة شخص ما من مجموعة خارجية في متجر البقالة أو في مترو الأنفاق ، يمكنك التركيز أكثر على السلوكيات الانتقائية التي تعزز الأحكام المسبقة الخاصة بك - مثل شخص يرتدي ملابس أو يتحدث أو يتصرف بطريقة تعزز بعض الصورة النمطية السلبية لتلك المجموعة ، "يقول DellaPosta. "ولكن ، إذا كنت تأخذ المستوى التالي لمجرد المعرفة ، أي شخص تعرف اسمه ، شخص ما ، إذا كنت قد رأيتهم في الشارع ، قد تتوقف وتتحدث معهم للحظة واحدة - تأثير الاتصال في لأنه عندما فجأة يجب أن تتفاعل مع شخص ما من مجموعة خارجية كفرد ، يجبرك على إعادة النظر في تحيزاتك. "

وفقا ل DellaPosta ، وجود علاقة وثيقة أوثق مع أحد المثليين أو مثلي الجنس لم يؤد إلى تحول أكبر في الموقف تجاه الزواج من نفس الجنس. ويضيف أن تأثير الاتصال هو في الواقع أكبر بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لديهم احتمال ضعيف من وجود التعارف مثلي الجنس أو مثليه.

إن GSS ، الذي تم إنشاؤه في 1972 ، عبارة عن استقصاء اجتماعي يجريه مركز أبحاث الرأي الوطني في جامعة شيكاغو. حول 2,000 استجاب الأشخاص إلى استطلاع GSS 2006 ، ولكن تم سؤال جزء صغير فقط عن معارفهم وإعادة استبيانهم في 2008 و 2010. أكثر بقليل من النصف - حوالي 53 في المئة - من الذين شملهم الاستطلاع قالوا إن لديهم واحدًا على الأقل من المثليين.

وقد أجريت حسابات هذا البحث في معهد Penn State's CyberScience Advanced CyberInfrastructure (ICS-ACI).

مصدر: ولاية بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = قبول الشذوذ الجنسي ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Knowing Just One Gay Person Shifts Attitudes

Knowing Just One Gay Person Shifts Attitudes

People who met and became acquainted with at least one gay person were more likely to later change their minds about marriage equality and become more accepting of gay and lesbian people in general, research shows.

Sociologists have long proposed that when people establish certain relationships, they may change their attitudes about issues, often referred to as the contact effect, explains Daniel DellaPosta, assistant professor of sociology at Penn State and an affiliate of the Institute for CyberScience.

For example, sociologists have debated whether knowing a person with a different sexual orientation can influence attitudes on larger issues, such as the acceptance of gay rights and marriage equality. However, prior to this study, the theory had yet to face rigorous testing.

“When you suddenly have to interact with someone from an outgroup as an individual, it forces you to reconsider your biases.”

“What I thought we needed in this area was a test of the contact hypothesis that was conservative—perhaps overly conservative—using the most stringent test we could possibly devise,” says DellaPosta.

DellaPosta examined data from the 2006, 2008, and 2010 editions of General Social Survey, or GSS, a sociological survey of opinions that Americans hold on a range of issues.

In 2006, about 45 percent of the people who had a gay or lesbian acquaintance expressed support for same-sex marriage. By 2010, that figure had increased to 61 percent. In 2006, only 22 percent people who did not have a gay or lesbian acquaintance said they approved of same-sex marriage. That number fell to 18 percent in 2010.

DellaPosta says that the survey data do not reveal exactly when these relationships began, which makes the test more rigorous.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“By taking people in that 2006 baseline who were acquainted with gay and lesbian people and comparing them with other people who were similar in all visible regards, including their measured attitude toward same-sex marriage and gay and lesbian people at that 2006 baseline, who were not acquainted with gay and lesbian people, you can get a really conservative test of the contact hypothesis,” says DellaPosta, who reports his findings in the journal Socius.

The findings could clarify how gay and lesbian people who come out affect the general acceptance of gay and lesbian people. In the 1973 GSS, just 11 percent of Americans felt “homosexuality is not wrong at all.” By 2016, that number had grown to 52 percent.

DellaPosta suggests that coming out may facilitate more contact with gay and lesbian people, which then accelerates an attitude change about issues that affect the gay community.

Further, DellaPosta suggests that the contact with a gay person does not even need to be especially deep for the contact effect to appear.

“If you have very superficial contact, like just seeing someone from an outgroup in the grocery store or on the subway, you may focus more on selective behaviors that reinforce your prejudices—like someone dressing, talking, or acting in a way that reinforces some negative stereotype of that group,” says DellaPosta. “But, if you take the next level to mere acquaintanceship—someone whose name you know, someone who, if you saw them on the street, you might stop and chat with them for a moment—the contact effect sets in because when you suddenly have to interact with someone from an outgroup as an individual, it forces you to reconsider your biases.”

According to DellaPosta, having a closer, deeper bond with a gay or lesbian acquaintance did not result in an even larger shift of attitude toward same-sex marriage. He adds that the contact effect is actually larger for people who have a low probability of having a gay or lesbian acquaintance.

The GSS, created in 1972, is a sociological survey that the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago conducts. About 2,000 people responded to the GSS 2006 survey, but only a smaller portion were asked about their acquaintances and re-surveyed in 2008 and 2010. Just over half—about 53 percent—of those surveyed said they had at least one gay acquaintance.

Computations for this research took place at Penn State’s Institute for CyberScience Advanced CyberInfrastructure (ICS-ACI).

Source: Penn State

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=accepting homosexuality;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Animal Perspectives on the Corona Virus
by Nancy Windheart
In this post, I share a few of the communications and transmissions from some of the non-human wisdom teachers I’ve connected with about our global situation, and in particular, the crucible of the…
The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…