لماذا الخوف من الملائكة والخوف بين الكتل لحوم البشر

لماذا الخوف من الملائكة والخوف بين الكتل لحوم البشربينكيوني عبر شترستوك

استقال الناقد الغذائي ويليام سيتويل كمحرر لمجلة "ويتروز" الداخلية بعد حدوث خلاف حوله استجابة معادية بشكل مدهش لصحفي مستقل الذي اقترح سلسلة من المقالات عن النباتي.

A بيان من بائع التجزئة للمواد الغذائية قال أن جون براون ميديا ​​- التي تنتج مجلة ويتروز وشركاه للأغذية - أعلنت أن سيتل سيتنحى عن العمل كمحرر لمجلة ويتروز وشركاؤه للأغذية على الفور. وأضاف البيان:

في ضوء ملاحظات William الإلكترونية الأخيرة ، أخبرنا جون براون ميديا ​​بأننا نعتقد أن هذا هو التحرك الصحيح والسليم - سوف نعمل معهم لتعيين محرر جديد للمجلة. لقد كان لدينا علاقة مع وليام لسنوات 20 تقريبًا ونحن ممتنون لمساهمته في أعمالنا خلال ذلك الوقت.

اندلع هذا النزاع بعد أن قامت الصحافية المستقلة سيلين نيلسون بنشر سلسلة حول "الوصفات النباتية" للمجلة ، الارتفاع في شعبية من المنتجات النباتية في السنوات الأخيرة. Waitrose ، مثل العديد من محلات السوبر ماركت في المملكة المتحدة ، لديها توسعت مؤخرا مجموعة منتجاتها النباتية ، و مقالة Sitwell الخاصة في صحيفة التايمز في يناير / كانون الثاني ، لاحظت 2018 - في عدد أقل من الترحيب - أن عدد كتب الطبخ المتاحة ازداد بشكل كبير.

لذا بدا اقتراح نيلسون مثاليًا. ومع ذلك ، كان رد Sitwell خارج عن نطاق اختصاصه:

ماذا عن سلسلة حول قتل النباتيين ، واحدا تلو الآخر. طرق لاحتجازهم؟ كيف استجوبهم بشكل صحيح؟ فضح نفاقهم؟ إجبارهم على اللحم؟ جعلهم يأكلون شريحة لحم وشرب النبيذ الاحمر؟

ومع ازدياد وجود الصفة النباتية في الحياة اليومية بشكل روتيني ، لم تعد الصور النمطية المبتذلة في وسائل الإعلام للنباتيين تثير الصدى كما كانت تفعل في السابق. العداوة الإعلامية المضادة للنبات ليست شيئًا جديدًا. بحث اجتماعي منشور في 2011 وثق كيف أن صحف المملكة المتحدة تشوه سمعة الأنظمة النباتية عن طريق السخرية ، مع تنميط نباتية متنوّعة بشكل نمطي على أنها غاضبة ، أو متشددة ، أو تنكر الذات ، أو عاطفية ، أو فادية ، أو خائفة. مثل المزيد من الناس يحاولون الخضريةوتلبية الأنواع النباتية وصمود المنتجات والممارسات الصديقة للنباتات في الحياة اليومية ، كلما كانت هذه الصور النمطية صماء أكثر صوتًا.

يتناقض النقد اللاقمع في سيتويل بشكل ملحوظ مع ضبط مهذب لإجابة نيلسون ، حيث أعربت عن سخرية القناعة "في استكشاف السبب الذي يجعل مجرد ذكر النزعة النباتية يجعل بعض الناس معاديين للغاية". ويمكن القول إن هذا التبادل رمزي للطاعون المعاصر للغضب الذي يسمم الخطاب العام كلما تم تحدي الاستحقاق ، مهما كان ذلك بأدب.

ضمير ميت؟

أحد جوانب التهديد الممنوح في مجتمع غير نباتي هو الحق المفترض في استهلاك أجسام الحيوانات الأخرى. في هذا السياق ، وقد اقترح البحث أن النباتات النباتية دفعت الدفاعية بين غير النباتيين عن طريق ضمنا الفشل في العمل على قضية أخلاقية. يلعب الذنب غير المحلول على طول سلسلة متواصلة تتراوح من تأطير الممارسات غير الخاضعة للاعتراف بالصحة "المعتدلة" ("لا آكل الكثير من اللحم") إلى الغضب والعداء تجاه النباتيين (إطلاق الخطاب بطريقة مبسطة ، كما يبدو أن سيتل قد فعلت) . نطاق وأسلوب ونبرة هذه ردود دفاعية هي مألوفة مضطرا لالنباتيين.

الممارسات الغذائية هي علامات قوية اجتماعيا للهوية الاجتماعية والثقافية ، مما يجعل النقد الفعلي أو الضمني لهم وشعرت بأذى شخصي. أكل اللحوم على وجه الخصوص قد تورطت بشكل وثيق في بناء الهوية الذكورية. إن تهديد هيمنة الممارسات غير الخاضعة للنقد يهدد تلك الهويات الاجتماعية والثقافية التي تعتمد بشكل كبير عليها.

طعم الفقراء

أدت الانتقادات الموجهة إلى البريد الإلكتروني في Sitwell إلى التخلص من الصورة النمطية للنباتيين humourlessness. لقد كتبنا في مكان آخر حول كيفية استخدام الفكاهة في الثقافة الشعبية لتقليص علاقات القوة القمعية. إن تأطير التعبير عن علاقات القوة القمعية هو محاولات "الفكاهة" لعزلها ضد النقد ، لكن ينبغي لنا أن نكون حذرين من قوة وديناميكية القوة في مثل هذه "النكات".

نفى اعتذار Sitwell الأولي الخاص الأساس الأخلاقي للنباتية نفسها: "أحب واحترم الناس من جميع الأذواق ، سواء كانوا نباتيين ، أكلة نباتية أو آكلة اللحوم - والتي أريها أسبوعيًا في الأسبوع من خلال كتابتي ، وتحريرها وبثها". خفضت إلى تفضيل الذوق ، أو التصرف المستهلك - مجرد خيار غذائي واحد من عدة - بدلا من واجب أخلاقي موجه نحو القضاء على الاستغلال البشري للحيوانات الأخرى.

في رده الأولي ، يقول سيتويل إن "سلوكه الجيد" السابق هو دليل على أن هذه الحلقة الأخيرة لا تمثل سلوكه ، ويعتذر عن الإساءة التي ارتكبها الآخرون ، بدلاً من تصرفه المهين. لكن عند القيام بذلك ، يرفض تحمل المسؤولية عن سلوكه. وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإنه يوفر مثالاً كتابياً عن عدم إلقاء اللوم على الضحية ، في هذه الحالة باستخدام صورة نمطية أخرى مضادة للنباتيين - حساسية مفرطة: "أعتذر بغزارة لأي شخص أساء إليه أو أزعجه من هذا". إن "أي شخص" غير محدد مُلزم ضمنيًا بالإهانة ، في حين أن تصرفات Sitwell الذاتية يتم تصنيفها بطريقها الأبرياء (مثل "الأبرياء" كـ "نكتة").

تكلف النكتة سيتوول وظيفته في التحرير. ولكن فورة له على الأقل قد فتحت الفرصة لإجراء بعض النقاش أكثر صدقًا حول السبب في أن النزعة النباتية ، مثلها مثل العديد من الحركات الاجتماعية التقدمية الأخرى ، تحفز مثل هذه الاستجابات العدوانية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كيت ستيوارت ، محاضر رئيسي في علم الاجتماع ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترينت وماثيو كول ، محاضر مشارك ، الجامعة المفتوحة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = خضرية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Vegans Inspire Fear And Loathing Among Meat Eaters

food

Why Vegans Inspire Fear And Loathing Among Meat EatersPinkyone via Shutterstock

Food critic William Sitwell has resigned as editor of Waitrose’s in-house magazine following a row over his astonishingly hostile response to a freelance journalist who proposed a series of articles on veganism.

A statement from the food retailer said that John Brown Media – which produces the Waitrose & Partners Food Magazine – had announced Sitwell would step down as editor of Waitrose & Partners Food magazine with immediate effect. The statement added:

In the light of William’s recent email remarks, we’ve told John Brown Media that we believe this is the right and proper move - we will be working with them to appoint a new editor for the magazine. We have had a relationship with William for almost 20 years and are grateful for his contribution to our business over that time.

The row erupted after freelance journalist Selene Nelson pitched a series on “plant-based recipes” to the magazine, given the rise in popularity of vegan products in recent years. Waitrose, like many UK supermarkets, has recently expanded its vegan product range and, as Sitwell’s own article in The Times in January 2018 noted – in less than welcoming terms – the number of vegan cookbooks available has also grown considerably.

So Nelson’s proposal seemed pitch-perfect. Sitwell’s response, however, was decidedly off-key:

How about a series on killing vegans, one by one. Ways to trap them? How to interrogate them properly? Expose their hypocrisy? Force-feed them meat? Make them eat steak and drink red wine?

As veganism is ever more routinely encountered in daily life, hackneyed media stereotypes of vegans no longer resonate as they once did. Anti-vegan media hostility isn’t anything new. Sociological research published in 2011 documented how UK newspapers discredit veganism through ridicule, with vegans variously stereotyped as angry, militant, self-denying, sentimental, faddy, or joyless. As more people try veganism, meet vegans and encounter vegan-friendly products and practices in daily life, the more tone deaf these stereotypes sound.

Sitwell’s vitriol contrasts markedly with the polite restraint of Nelson’s rejoinder, in which she ironically expressed interest “in exploring why just the mention of veganism seems to make some people so hostile”. The exchange is arguably emblematic of the contemporary plague of entitled anger that toxifies public discourse whenever entitlement is challenged, however politely.

Guilty conscience?

One aspect of threatened entitlement in a non-vegan society is the presumed right to consume the bodies of other animals. In that context, research has suggested that vegans prompt defensiveness among non-vegans by implying a failure to act on a moral issue. Unresolved guilt plays out along a continuum ranging from framing one’s non-vegan practices as “moderate” (“I don’t eat much meat”) to anger and hostility towards vegans (rhetorically shooting the messenger, the way Sitwell appears to have done). The range, style and tone of these defensive responses are wearyingly familiar to vegans.

Food practices are socially powerful markers of social and cultural identity, making actual or implied criticism of them personally and hurtfully felt. Meat-eating in particular has been closely implicated in the construction of masculine identity. Challenging the dominance of non-vegan practices threatens those social and cultural identities that are most closely dependent upon them.

Poor taste

Criticism of Sitwell’s email led to the wheeling out of a stereotype of vegan humourlessness. We have written elsewhere about how humour is used in popular culture to retrench oppressive power relations. Framing the expression of oppressive power relations as “humour” attempts to insulate it against critique, but we should remain alert to the potency and power dynamics of such “jokes”.

Sitwell’s own initial apology denied the ethical basis of veganism itself: “I love and respect people of all appetites, be they vegan, vegetarian or meat eaters – which I show week in week out through my writing, editing and broadcasting.” Veganism here is reduced to a taste preference, or consumer disposition – just one dietary option among several – rather than an ethical imperative directed towards eliminating the human exploitation of other animals.

In his initial response, Sitwell says his previous “good behaviour” is evidence that this recent episode is not representative of his attitude and he apologises for offence taken by others, rather than his offensive action. But in doing this, he refuses to take responsibility for his own behaviour. Moreover, it provides a textbook example of a victim-blaming non-apology, in this case by using yet another anti-vegan stereotype – over-sensitivity: “I apologise profusely to anyone who has been offended or upset by this.” Vegans (the unspecified “anyone”) are implicitly primed to take offence, while Sitwell’s own actions are rhetorically positioned as intrinsically innocent (as “innocent” as a “joke”).

The joke has cost Sitwell his editing job. But his outburst has at least opened up the opportunity for some more honest discussion about why veganism, like many other progressive social movements, stimulates such aggressive responses.

About The Author

Kate Stewart, Principal Lecturer in Sociology, Nottingham Trent University and Matthew Cole, Associate Lecturer, The Open University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

How Not to Die: Discover the Foods Scientifically Proven to Prevent and Reverse Disease
foodAuthor: Michael Greger M.D.
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Flatiron Books
List Price: $32.50

Buy Now

The China Study: Revised and Expanded Edition: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss, and Long-Term Health
foodAuthor: T. Colin Campbell
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: BenBella Books
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

Veganism in an Oppressive World: A Vegans-of-Color Community Project
foodAuthor: Julia Feliz Brueck
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Sanctuary Publishers
List Price: $10.99

Buy Now

food
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!