كيف أدمغتنا تعرف القمامة من الكنز

كيف أدمغتنا تعرف القمامة من الكنز

أظهرت دراسة جديدة أن أدمغتنا يمكن أن تكشف عن قيمة الكائن بمجرد رؤيته.

يقول الباحثون إن الدماغ يمكن أن يبدأ في معالجة قيمة 80 ميلي ثانية فقط - أي أقل من عُشر ثانية - بعد رؤية الجسم. وهذا يعني أن الدماغ يكتشف بشكل أساسي ما إذا كان شيء ما هو النوعية أو الخردة في الأساس في نفس الوقت الذي يعترف فيه بما هو عليه.

"نحن بحاجة إلى تقييم وفهم الأشياء في العالم على الفور ... عد الثواني عند التنافس على الطعام أو التهرب من الحيوانات المفترسة".

بعد مشاهدة متجر زوجته ، يمكن إد Ed Connor ، المؤلف الأقدم للبحوث ومدير معهد العقل / الدماغ Zanvyl Krieger في جامعة جونز هوبكنز ، أن يقدر سرعة أحكام القيمة.

"إنها تقلب من خلال الرفوف في الأنتروبولوجيا في مثل اثنين من العناصر في الثانية ، وهناك لحظة لا ، لا ، لا ، ربما ، نعم - حاول هذا ،" يقول. "إنه مثال لكيف نرى الأشياء ونعلقها بسرعة كبيرة طوال الحياة. مع هذه الدراسة ، أجابنا كيف يمكن أن يكون ذلك على مستوى الدماغ سريعًا وحتى تلقائي.

تقول كونور: "في الوقت نفسه ، نعرف أنها سيارة ، نعرف أنها سيارة رخيصة ، أو سيارة رياضية ، أو سيارة قديمة." "يجب الاعتماد على معالجة القيمة التلقائية والفورية من خلال النظام المرئي".

أظهرت الأبحاث السابقة أن تمثيل القيم يرتبط ارتباطًا قويًا بالاستجابات اللاحقة في القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية. تظهر النتائج الجديدة أن معالجة القيمة يمكن أن تبدأ في القشرة البصرية ، قبل ظهور أي إشارات قيمة في القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية. وقال كونور إن القشرة البصرية مجهزة بشكل جيد للتمييز بين التفاصيل الدقيقة في المظهر التي تكمن وراء الأحكام القيمية حول الأشياء الطبيعية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بالنسبة للدراسة ، قام الباحثون بتدريب القرود على التعرف على أربعة أحرف مختلفة. تباينت كل حرف ، كما لو كان ينظر في خطوط مختلفة قليلا. وأشار الشكل الدقيق إلى مقدار السوائل التي يمكن أن يتناولها القرد.

أصبحت القرود خبراء في اختيار أكثر قيمة من رسالتين للحصول على مكافأة أكبر. كشفت قياسات الاستجابة العصبية خلال هذه المهمة ظهور سريع للإشارات ذات القيمة في القشرة البصرية.

وكما هو الحال في مهمة المختبر ، يصبح الناس خبراء في إدراك الاختلافات الدقيقة التي تدل على السرعة في سيارة رياضية ، أو قيمة في سيارة فاخرة ، أو صيحات الموضة في ثوب أو بدلة ، كما يقول كونور. إن معرفة قيمة السيارات والملابس قد تبدو مصطنعة ، ولكن بالنسبة للأغراض التطورية ، فإن القدرة على تقييم الأشياء بسرعة يمكن أن تكون بنفس أهمية الاعتراف بها.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا التقينا بكلب ، نحتاج أن نعرف على الفور إذا كان كلبًا ودودًا أو خطيرًا ، كما يقول. أو عندما نلتقي بأشخاص ، من المهم معرفة ما إذا كانوا ذكراً أم أنثى ، قديماً أم شاباً ، معاديين أو ودودين.

تقول كونور: "إن إدراك الأشياء ليس قصة القصة الكاملة". "نحن بحاجة إلى تقييم وفهم الأشياء في العالم فورًا لتشكيل استجابات سلوكية سريعة ومناسبة. عد الثواني عند المنافسة للحصول على الطعام أو التهرب من الحيوانات المفترسة ".

قام الباحثون بالإبلاغ عن نتائجهم في المجلة علم الأحياء الحالي.

زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه لجون هوبكنز السابق دنيس ساسيكومار هو المؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة. كما ساهم زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه Erik Emeric و Veit Stuphorn ، وهو أستاذ مشارك في قسم علم الأعصاب.

بتمويل من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة في المشروع.

مصدر: جامعة جونز هوبكنز

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التصور، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Our Brains Know Trash From Treasure

How Our Brains Know Trash From Treasure

Our brains can detect an object’s value almost as soon as we see it, a new study shows.

The brain can begin processing value just 80 milliseconds—less than a tenth of a second—after seeing an object, researchers say. That means the brain is basically figuring out if something is quality or junk essentially at the same time it recognizes what it is.

“We need to instantly evaluate and understand things in the world… Seconds count when competing for food or evading predators.”

Having watched his wife shop, Ed Connor, the senior author of the research and director of the Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute at Johns Hopkins University, can appreciate the speed of value judgments.

“She’s flipping through the racks at Anthropologie at like two items per second and there’s an instant no, no, no, maybe, yes—try this on,” he says. “It’s an example of how, all through life, we see things and attach value to them very quickly. With this study, we’ve answered how at the brain level this can be so fast and even automatic.

“At the same time we know it’s a car, we know it’s a cheap car, or a sports car, or an old car,” Connor says. “That has to rely on automatic and immediate value processing by the visual system.”

Past research has shown that value representation is strongly associated with later responses in the prefrontal cortex. The new findings show that value processing can begin in the visual cortex, before any value signals appear in the prefrontal cortex. The visual cortex is well equipped to discriminate the fine details in appearance that underlie value judgments about natural objects, Connor says.

For the study, researchers trained monkeys to recognize four different letters. Each letter varied, as if seen in slightly different fonts. The exact shape indicated how much of a liquid treat the monkey would get.

The monkeys became experts at choosing the more valuable of two letters in order to get a larger reward. Neural response measurements during this task revealed the rapid emergence of value-related signals in the visual cortex.

As in the laboratory task, people become experts at perceiving fine variations that signify speed in a sports car, value in a luxury car, or high fashion in a dress or suit, Connor says. Knowing the value of cars and clothing may seem artificial, but for evolutionary purposes, being able to evaluate objects quickly can be just as important as recognizing them.

For instance, if we meet a dog, we need to know right away if it’s a friendly dog, or a dangerous one, he says. Or when we meet people, it’s important to know if they’re male or female, old or young, hostile or friendly.

“Recognizing objects isn’t the whole story of vision,” Connor says. “We need to instantly evaluate and understand things in the world to form fast, appropriate behavioral responses. Seconds count when competing for food or evading predators.”

The researchers report their findings in the journal Current Biology.

Former Johns Hopkins postdoctoral fellow Dennis Sasikumar is the lead author of the study. Postdoctoral fellow Erik Emeric and Veit Stuphorn, an associate professor in the neuroscience department, also contributed.

The National Institutes of Health funded the project.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books

Visual Intelligence: Sharpen Your Perception, Change Your Life
attitude adjustmentAuthor: Amy E. Herman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Eamon Dolan/Mariner Books
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Perception
attitude adjustmentAuthor: Randolph Blake
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Humanities/Social Sciences/Languages
List Price: $75.98

Buy Now

Perception: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
attitude adjustmentAuthor: Brian Rogers
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $11.95

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}