جنس Outranks سباق عندما أطفال يصفون أنفسهم

جنس Outranks سباق عندما أطفال يصفون أنفسهم

الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم 7 إلى 12 معدل الجنس أكثر أهمية لهوياتهم الاجتماعية من العرق ، ويقول الباحثون. كما يقترح البحث أيضًا أن الأطفال الملونين يفكرون في العرق بشكل مختلف عن نظرائهم البيض.

"إن الأطفال يفكرون في العرق والجنس ، وليس فقط من حيث القدرة على التعرّف على هذه الفئات الاجتماعية ، ولكن أيضًا على ما يعنونه ولماذا يهتمون به" ، كما يقول الكاتب الرئيسي لياندرا أوني روجرز ، وهو زميل سابق لما بعد الدكتوراه بجامعة معهد واشنطن لعلوم التعلم والدماغ (I-LABS) الذي يعمل الآن أستاذا مساعدا في علم النفس في جامعة نورث وسترن.

يقول أندرو ميلتزوف ، المدير المشارك لـ I-LABS والمؤلف المشارك للصحيفة: "يتم قصف الأطفال برسائل حول العرق والجنس والصور النمطية الاجتماعية. هذه الرسائل الضمنية والصريحة تؤثر بسرعة على مفاهيمهم وطموحاتهم الذاتية.

"لقد تمكنا من إلقاء نظرة على كيفية تأثير الثقافة على الأطفال في وقت قصير من حياتهم. يتحدث الأطفال عن العرق والجنس بطرق مختلفة في سن مبكرة مثل سن 7. "

تصنيف بطاقات "أنا"

نشرت على الانترنت في المجلة التنوع الثقافي وعلم أصول الأقليات العرقيةاشتمل البحث على مقابلات مع أطفال 222 في الصفوف من الثاني إلى السادس في ثلاث مدارس عامة ذات تنوع عرقي في تاكوما ، واشنطن. لم يكن لدى أي من المدارس أكثر من نسبة 50 من مجموعة عرقية واحدة ، وكان أكثر من 75 في المائة من الطلاب مؤهلين للحصول على وجبة غداء مجانية أو بأسعار مخفضة.

عُرض على الأطفال في بادئ الأمر بطاقات تحمل بطاقات هوية مختلفة - صبي وفتاة وابن وابنة وطالب والآسيوي والإسباني والأبيض والأسود والرياضي - وطلب منهم وضع كل بطاقة في كومة "أنا" إذا وصفتها البطاقة أو في كومة "ليس لي" إذا لم يحدث ذلك.

وطُلب من الأطفال بعد ذلك ترتيب بطاقات "أنا" حسب الأهمية ، ثم تقييم معدل أهمية الهويات العرقية والجنسية لهم على مقياس مكون من ثلاث نقاط - إما "ليس كثيرًا" أو "قليلًا" أو " الكثير ". تم الترتيب بشكل منفصل بحيث يمكن للأطفال تصنيف العرق والجنس على نفس القدر من الأهمية.

ثم سئل الأطفال سؤالين مفتوحين - "ماذا يعني أن تكون (فتى / فتاة)"؟ و "ماذا يعني أن تكون (أسود / أبيض / مختلط)"؟ ثم تم ترتيب جميع ردود 222 لكل سؤال في خمس فئات واسعة تعكس المعنى الأوسع وراء هذه الاستجابات ، بما في ذلك المظهر المادي وعدم المساواة وفرق المجموعة ، والمساواة أو التماثل ، والأسرة ، والفخر والصفات الإيجابية. لم تكن الأكواد حصرية ، لذا قد يشير الرد الفردي إلى مواضيع متعددة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وجدت الإجابات ، التي جمعها روجرز على مدار عام قضاه في المدارس ، ما يلي:

  • من بين الهويات الاجتماعية الخمس الممثلة في اختبار "أنا / لست بي" (الجنس ، العرق ، الأسرة ، الطالب ، والرياضي) ، كانت العائلة - كونها ابنًا أو بنت - في المتوسط ​​هي الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة للأطفال
  • المرتبة الثانية ، يليها الجنس ، ثم الرياضي
  • تم اختيار السباق بشكل متناسق آخر ، باعتباره الأقل أهمية
  • كان أطفال السود والعرق المختلطون يصنفون السباق على أنهم أكثر أهمية من الأطفال البيض
    رداً على الأسئلة المفتوحة ، ذكر الأطفال السود والعرق المختلطون الفخر العرقي في كثير من الأحيان أكثر من الأطفال البيض
  • كانت هوية الأسرة أكثر أهمية للفتيات من الأولاد
  • صنف الأولاد كونه رياضي أعلى من الفتيات ، وصنفه الأولاد السود أعلى بكثير من جميع الأطفال الآخرين
  • تميل المعاني التي ينسبها الأطفال إلى الهوية الجنسية إلى التأكيد على عدم المساواة والاختلافات بين المجموعات ، بينما تؤكد معاني العرق على المظهر الجسدي والمساواة.
  • لم يكن هناك فرق بين الأولاد والبنات حول مدى أهمية الجندر ، لكن الفتيات ذكرن المظهر الجسدي كجزء من هويتهن الجندرية في كثير من الأحيان أكثر من الأولاد
  • شكلت الفتيات نسبة 77 في المئة من الإشارات إلى المظهر الجسدي عند تحديد معنى الجندر (على سبيل المثال ، "أعتقد أن [كونك فتاة] يعني جاذبية. مثل النظر براقة وجميلة للجميع.")

"سيقول معظم الأطفال البيض [العرق] ليس مهما ، لا يهم ، لكن أطفال اللون سيقولون ،" نعم ، العرق يهمني. "

كان نصف الأطفال السود والعرق المختلطين يصنفون السباق على أنهم "كثير" أو "قليل" مهم ، في حين أن نسبة 89 من الأطفال البيض تعتبر العرق جزءًا "غير مهم" من هويتهم. ويقول روجرز إن هذه الفجوة واضحة ، خاصة وأن المدارس المعنية شديدة التنوع.

يقول روجرز: "في بعض النواحي ، يقترح أن الأطفال البيض والأطفال اللون يتنقلون في عوالم مختلفة تمامًا عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعرق وهم يفكرون في العرق بشروط مختلفة للغاية". "سيقول معظم الأطفال البيض [العرق] ليس مهما ، لا يهم ، لكن أطفال اللون سيقولون ،" نعم ، العرق يهمني. "

في السؤال المفتوح حول الهوية العرقية ، جاءت نسبة 42 في المائة من الردود التي حددت معنى العرق من خلال قيم المساواة أو النزعة الإنسانية من الأطفال البيض (على سبيل المثال ، "أعتقد أن السباق لا يهم على الإطلاق. إنه يهم فقط من أنت."). على النقيض من ذلك ، ذكر ربع الأطفال السود والأعراق المختلطة المساواة عند الحديث عن العرق.

السباق باعتباره "موضوعًا محظورًا"

في حين أن التركيز على الإنصاف بين الأطفال البيض قد يبدو مشجعاً ، يقول روجرز إن بعض الأطفال البيض الذين تمت مقابلتهم كانوا مترددين في طرح موضوع العرق. وعندما سُئلت عما يعنيه أن تكون بيضاء ، تذكرت ، رفض أحد طلاب الصف الثالث الأبيض الحديث عن ذلك.

"فكرة أن الحديث عن العرق هو من المحرمات كان سائدا" ، كما تقول. "من المدهش أن هذا ليس من غير المألوف في المدارس المختلفة. إن سرد التعددية الثقافية مرهون حقًا بطريقة تجعل الجميع متشابهين ويتم تقليل الاختلافات. "

يقول روجرز: "هذا عادة ما يكون مستمدًا من الحافز الجيد لتشجيع الأطفال على التعامل مع الاحترام المتبادل وعدم السماح بحدوث التمييز". "ولكنها قد توصل أيضًا الصمت العرقي ، وهذا السباق شيء غير مقبول للحديث عنه".

على النقيض من ذلك ، كما تقول ، من المنطقي أن ينظر الأطفال إلى الجندر على أنه أكثر أهمية من العرق ، حيث أن الاختلافات بين الجنسين يتم مناقشتها علنا ​​، وقبولها ، واحتفل بها في المجتمع الأوسع ، للأفضل أو الأسوأ.

"الأطفال يتم فرزهم من قبل الفتيات والفتيان في كل وقت" ، كما تقول. "سيكون من الفظيع أن تفعل مثل هذا الشيء على أساس العرق اليوم. هناك طريقة نقوم بها للتمييز بين الانقسامات بين الجنسين وقبولها كحقيقة. بعض الأطفال يتراجعون عن ذلك ، لكن هذا يعني أن هناك مساحة للحديث عنه ، وهي ليست محادثة محرمة. "

كيف تتحدث عن العرق مع الاطفال

ويتوافق البحث مع وحدتي تدريب على الإنترنت طورهما روجرز وفريق I-LABS ركز على كيفية تعلم الأطفال حول العرق وكيف يمكن للوالدين والمعلمين التحدث معهم حول العرق بطريقة مفيدة. هذه الوحدات مجانية وتأتي مع أدلة مناقشة تهدف إلى تسهيل الانعكاسات الشخصية والمحادثات الجماعية.

يقول ميلتزوف: "كآباء ، نقوم بتدريس القيم من خلال المحادثات التي نجريها مع أطفالنا." "نأمل أن تساعد هذه الوحدات في إثراء حديث الوالدين والطفل حول القضايا الاجتماعية الحساسة".

بشكل عام ، يقول روجرز ، إن الدراسة تعزز الحاجة إلى فهم أفضل لكيفية تأثير العوامل المتعددة ، من ثقافة المدرسة إلى الصور النمطية المجتمعية ، على تشكيل هويات الأطفال الاجتماعية.

"القضية ليست أننا مختلفون. يقول روجرز: إنه في التسلسل الهرمي والقيمة التي توضع على هذه الاختلافات. "نحن في الحقيقة بحاجة إلى مزيد من البيانات والفهم بشأن الرسائل التي تعزز العدالة الاجتماعية والإنصاف ، والتي تعزز العمى ، والتجنب ، والصمت".

حول المؤلف

قامت مؤسسة العلوم الوطنية ومؤسسة سبنسر / الأكاديمية الوطنية للتعليم بتمويل العمل.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = race gender children؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Gender Outranks Race When Kids Describe Themselves

Gender Outranks Race When Kids Describe Themselves

Kids ages 7 to 12 rate gender as more important to their social identities than race, say researchers. The research also suggests children of color think about race differently than their white peers do.

“Kids are thinking about race and gender, and not just in terms of being able to identify with these social categories, but also what they mean and why they matter,” says lead author Leoandra Onnie Rogers, a former postdoctoral fellow at the University of Washington’s Institute for Learning & Brain Sciences (I-LABS) who is now an assistant professor of psychology at Northwestern University.

Andrew Meltzoff, co-director of I-LABS and coauthor of the paper, says, “Children are bombarded by messages about race, gender, and social stereotypes. These implicit and explicit messages rapidly influence their self-concepts and aspirations.

“We were able to catch a glimpse of how culture influences children at a tender time in their lives. Kids talk about race and gender in different ways as early as age 7.”

Ranking ‘me’ cards

Published online in the journal Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology, the research involved interviews with 222 children in grades two through six at three racially diverse public schools in Tacoma, Washington. None of the schools had more than 50 percent of one racial group, and more than 75 percent of students were eligible for free or reduced-price lunch.

The children were first shown cards with different identity labels—boy, girl, son, daughter, student, Asian, Hispanic, black, white, and athlete—and asked to place each card in a “me” pile if the card described them or in a “not me” pile if it did not.

Children were then asked to rank the “me” cards by importance, and then to separately rate how important racial and gender identities were to them on a three-point scale—either “not much,” “a little bit,” or “a lot.” The rankings took place separately so children could rate race and gender as equally important.

The children were then asked two open-ended questions—”what does it mean to be a (boy/girl)”? and “what does it mean to be (black/white/mixed)”? All 222 responses to each question were then sorted into five broad categories that reflect the wider meaning behind these responses, including physical appearance, inequality and group difference, equality or sameness, family, and pride and positive traits. The codes were not mutually exclusive, so a single response might reference multiple topics.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The responses, which Rogers collected over the course of a year spent in the schools, found that:

  • Of the five social identities represented in the “me/not me” test (gender, race, family, student, and athlete), family—being a son or daughter—was on average the most important to children
  • Being a student was ranked second, followed by gender, then athlete
  • Race was most consistently selected last, as the least important identity
  • Black and mixed-race children ranked race as more important than white children
    In response to the open-ended questions, black and mixed-race children mentioned racial pride much more often than white children did
  • Family identity was more important to girls than boys
  • Boys ranked being an athlete higher than girls did, and black boys ranked it significantly higher than did all other children
  • The meanings children ascribed to gender identity tended to emphasize inequality and group differences, while meanings of race emphasized physical appearance and equality
  • There was no difference between boys and girls about how important gender was, but girls mentioned physical appearance as part of their gender identity much more often than boys
  • Girls made up 77 percent of the references to physical appearance when defining what gender means (for example, “I think [being a girl] means glam. Like looking glamorous and pretty for everyone.”)

“Most white kids would say [race] is not important, it doesn’t matter, but kids of color would say, ‘Yes, race does matter to me.'”

About half of black and mixed-race children ranked race as “a lot” or a “little” important, while 89 percent of white children considered race a “not important” part of their identity. That gap is telling, Rogers says, particularly given that the schools involved are highly diverse.

“In some ways, it suggests that white kids and kids of color are navigating very different worlds when it comes to race and they’re thinking about race in very different terms,” says Rogers. “Most white kids would say [race] is not important, it doesn’t matter, but kids of color would say, ‘Yes, race does matter to me.'”

In the open-ended question about racial identity, 42 percent of responses that defined the meaning of race through values of equality or humanism came from white children (for example, “I believe race doesn’t matter at all. It just matters about who you are.”). By contrast, just one-quarter of black and mixed-race children mentioned equality when talking about race.

Race as a ‘taboo topic’

While the emphasis on equity among white children may seem encouraging, Rogers says some white children interviewed were reluctant to broach the subject of race. When asked what it meant to be white, she recalled, one white third-grader refused to talk about it.

“The idea that talking about race is taboo was prevalent,” she says. “Surprisingly, that is not uncommon in diverse schools. The narrative of multiculturalism is really stressed in such a way that everybody’s the same and differences are minimized.”

“That typically derives from the good motivation of encouraging kids to treat each other respect and not allowing discrimination to occur,” Rogers says. “But it might also communicate racial silence, that race is something that’s not OK to talk about.”

By contrast, she says, it makes sense that children view gender as more important than race, since gender differences are openly discussed, accepted, and celebrated in the broader society, for better or worse.

“Kids are sorted by girls and boys all the time,” she says. “It would be egregious to do such a thing based on race today. There is a way we premeditate gender divisions and accept them as fact. Some kids push back on that, but it means there is a space to talk about it, that it’s not a taboo conversation.”

How to talk about race with kids

The research dovetails with two online training modules developed by Rogers and the I-LABS team focused on how children learn about race and how parents and teachers can talk with them about race in a helpful way. The modules are free and come with discussion guides intended to facilitate personal reflections and group conversations.

“As parents, we teach values through the conversations we have with our children,” Meltzoff says. “We’re hoping that these modules can help enrich parent-child talk about socially sensitive issues.”

Overall, Rogers says, the study reinforces the need to better understand how multiple factors, from school culture to societal stereotypes, influence the formation of children’s social identities.

“The issue is not that we’re different. It’s in the hierarchy and the value that’s placed on those differences,” Rogers says. “We really need more data and understanding of which messages promote social justice and equity, and which promote blindness, avoidance, and silence.”

About the Authors

The National Science Foundation and the Spencer Foundation/National Academy of Education funded the work.

Source: University of Washington

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=race gender children;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…