واحد من كل أربعة أطفال وشباب يظهرون علامات الإدمان على الهواتف الذكية

واحد من كل أربعة أطفال وشباب يظهرون علامات الإدمان على الهواتف الذكية
تتضمن إحدى أعراض الهاتف الذكي المشكل الشعور بالقلق عند عدم توفر الهاتف. oneinchpunch / شترستوك

أحبهم أو كرههم ، أصبحت الهواتف الذكية في كل مكان في الحياة اليومية. وعلى الرغم من أن لديهم العديد من الاستخدامات الإيجابية ، إلا أن الناس ما زالوا قلقين بشأن الأضرار السلبية المحتملة لاستخدامهم بشكل مفرط - خاصة في الأطفال والمراهقين. في 2018 ، ضخم 95٪ من سنوات عمر 16-24 يمتلك هاتفًا ذكيًا ، أعلى من 29٪ فقط في 2008. ومع ذلك ، إلى جانب هذه الزيادة في استخدام الهاتف الذكي ، أظهرت الدراسات أيضًا أصبحت الصحة العقلية أسوأ في هذه الفئة العمرية.

أجرينا أول مراجعة منهجية على الإطلاق التحقيق في ما أطلقنا عليه "استخدام الهاتف الذكي إشكالية" في الأطفال والشباب. لقد عرفنا استخدام الهاتف الذكي المسبب للمشاكل على أنه سلوك مرتبط باستخدام الهاتف الذكي الذي يشبه ملامح الإدمان - مثل الشعور بالذعر عند عدم توفر الهاتف ، أو قضاء الكثير من الوقت في استخدام الهاتف الذكي ، على حساب الآخرين في كثير من الأحيان. استنادًا إلى النتائج التي توصلنا إليها ، نقدر أن ربع الأطفال والشباب يظهرون علامات على استخدام الهاتف الذكي المشكل.

بينما العديد من الدراسات واسعة النطاق لقد وجدت ليس هناك رابط بين المبلغ الذي تستخدمه لهاتفك الذكي وإلحاق الضرر بصحتك العقلية ، ما زال الاعتقاد السائد بأن الهواتف الذكية تسبب الإدمان. الدراسات السابقة التحقيق في ضررهم في كثير من الأحيان كانت استنتاجات متناقضة.

هذا جزئيا لأن العديد من الدراسات جمعت كل استخدام التكنولوجيا معا تحت مصطلح مظلة "وقت الشاشة". هذا يتجاهل حقيقة أن الضرر غالباً ما يأتي من الطريقة التي نتفاعل بها مع التكنولوجيا ، وليس من الشاشات أنفسهم. على سبيل المثال ، تختلف مشاهدة التلفزيون بشكل كبير عن تجربة التسلط عبر الإنترنت على Facebook. غالبًا ما تقيس دراسات أخرى الطول الكلي للوقت الذي تقضيه أمام الشاشة بدلاً من النظر إليه ما تأثير الانخراط مع بعض التطبيقات أو المواقع على الناس.

ملامح الإدمان

لدراستنا ، قررنا استخدام نهج مختلف. قررنا تحليل الدراسات الأخرى التي بحثت استخدام الهاتف الذكي في الأطفال والشباب ، وتبحث عن النتائج التي أبلغت عن حالات الإدمان السلوكي على الهواتف الذكية - ومدى انتشار ذلك في الأطفال والشباب.

قمنا بتحليل 41 دراسات مختلفة نشرت في آسيا وأوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية منذ 2011. في المجموع ، نظرنا إلى أطفال وشباب 41,871 الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 11 و 24 - على الرغم من أن معظم الدراسات نظرت عادة إلى الشباب في أوائل 20s.

ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأن كل دراسة قد بحثت في ميزات فردية مختلفة للإدمان السلوكي ، فقد قررنا استخدام المصطلح الشمسي "استخدام الهاتف الذكي المشكوك فيه" لوصف جميع الحالات التي حدثت فيها هذه الميزات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


اتفقت معظم الاستبيانات على أن السمات الرئيسية للإدمان السلوكي تشمل:

  • وجود رغبة شديدة في استخدام هاتفك
  • قضاء المزيد من الوقت عليه مما كنت تنوي لأول مرة
  • الشعور بالذعر إذا نفدت البطارية
  • إهمال أشياء أخرى أكثر أهمية لاستخدامها
  • وجود أشخاص آخرين يشكون من مدى استخدام شخص ما هواتفهم
  • الاستمرار في استخدامه على الرغم من معرفة مدى تأثيره على المجالات الأخرى في حياتك ، بما في ذلك النوم أو العمل المدرسي.

من أجل تعريف الشاب بأنه يعرض استخدام الهاتف الذكي المشكل ، كان عليه أن يعرض اثنين على الأقل من هذه الميزات.

بعد النظر في جميع الدراسات ، وجدنا أنه بين 10٪ و 30٪ من الأطفال والشباب أظهروا استخدامًا للهواتف الذكية التي تنطوي على مشاكل. على الرغم من أن الدراسات استخدمت استبيانات تقرير ذاتي مختلفة ، إلا أن إدمانها الأكثر تحديدًا ليس بطول الوقت الذي يقضونه في استخدام هواتفهم الذكية ، ولكن باستخدام ما يعرف باسم "المجالات". هذه بعض الأنماط التي تشير إلى الإدمان ، مثل التعرض لأعراض الانسحاب عند أخذ هواتفهم.

وجدت الدراسات التي تبحث في تأثير استخدام الهاتف الذكي على الصحة العقلية أن المشاركين في مجموعة "المدمنين" كانوا أكثر عرضة للإبلاغ عن أعراض الاكتئاب والقلق ومشاكل النوم. ومع ذلك ، فإن معظم الدراسات التي درسناها في قياس الإدمان والصحة العقلية في نفس الوقت - مما يجعل من غير الواضح ما إذا كان إدمان الهاتف الذكي يسبب مشاكل الصحة العقلية ، أو العكس.

واحد من كل أربعة أطفال وشباب يظهرون علامات الإدمان على الهواتف الذكية
ووجدت الدراسات أن استخدام الهاتف الذكي المسبب للمشاكل مرتبط بنوم فقير. mooremedia / شترستوك

أظهرت معظم الدراسات وجود ارتباط ثابت مع إدمان الهاتف الذكي والصحة العقلية. على سبيل المثال ، وجدت ست من أصل سبع دراسات عن النوم أن الأطفال والشباب الذين أظهروا استخدامًا للهواتف الذكية التي تعاني من مشاكل كان لديهم نوم أقل. كان هذا هو الحال أيضًا بالنسبة لاستخدام الهاتف الذكي المسبب للمشاكل وللمستويات العالية من القلق والإجهاد وأعراض الاكتئاب. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأدلة من هذه الدراسات على الصحة العقلية بدرجات متفاوتة من الموثوقية لأن الردود كانت من استبيانات التقرير الذاتي ، بدلا من التشخيصات السريرية الرسمية. هذا يعني أن هناك احتمالًا للمشاركين في المبالغة في تقدير تجاربهم أو المبالغة في تقديرها.

قبل أن نتمكن من القول ما إذا كان استخدام الهاتف الذكي المسبب للمشاكل هو في الواقع إدمان للهواتف الذكية ، فسوف نحتاج إلى إظهار أن نمط استخدام الشخص يعاني من خلل وظيفي دائم - وأن الأضرار الصحية أسوأ بكثير عند مقارنتها باستخدام الهاتف الذكي العادي.

ولكن حتى يتم إجراء المزيد من الأبحاث ، لا يمكننا القول أن إدمان الهاتف الذكي هو شرط - ومن السابق لأوانه دعوة لفتح العيادات لعلاج المصابين. على الرغم من الحاجة إلى إجراء أبحاث مستقبلية ، فإن النتائج الحالية تظهر أن استخدام الهاتف الذكي المسبب للمشاكل أمر شائع ، ويرتبط على الأرجح بالصحة العقلية الفقيرة لدى الأطفال والشباب.

حول المؤلف

بن كارتر ، محاضر أول ، كينجز كوليدج لندن ونيكولا كالك ، محاضر سريري ، كينجز كوليدج لندن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

التنبؤ بمستقبل أزمة المناخ
هل بإمكانك توقع المستقبل؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

One In Four Children and Young People Show Signs of Addiction to Smartphones

One In Four Children And Young People Show Signs Of Addiction To Smartphones
One symptom of problematic smartphone includes feeling anxious when the phone isn’t available. oneinchpunch/Shutterstock

Love them or hate them, smartphones have become ubiquitous in everyday life. And while they have many positive uses, people remain concerned about the potential negative harms of excessively using them – especially in children and teens. In 2018, a whopping 95% of 16-24 year olds owned a smartphone, up from only 29% in 2008. However, alongside this increase in smartphone use, studies have also shown mental health has become worse in this age group.

We conducted the first ever systematic review investigating what we called “problematic smartphone usage” in children and young people. We defined problematic smartphone usage as behaviours linked to smartphone use that resemble features of addiction – such as feeling panicky when the phone isn’t available, or spending too much time using the smartphone, often to the detriment of others. Based on our findings, we estimate that a quarter children and young people show signs of problematic smartphone usage.

While numerous large-scale studies have found there’s no link between the amount you use your smartphone and harm to your mental health, the popular perception that smartphones are addictive still persists. Previous studies investigating their harm often had contradictory conclusions.

This is partly because many studies lumped all technology use together under the umbrella term “screen time”. This overlooks the fact that harm often comes from the way we interact with technology, not from screens themselves. For example, watching TV is very different to experiencing cyberbullying on Facebook. Other studies often only measured the total length of time spent in front of a screen, instead of perhaps looking at what effect engaging with certain apps or websites had on people.

Features of addiction

For our study, we decided to use a different approach. We decided to analyse other studies which had investigated smartphone use in children and young people, looking for findings that reported instances of behavioural addiction to smartphones – and how common this was in children and young people.

We analysed 41 different studies published in Asia, Europe and North America since 2011. In total, we looked at 41,871 children and young people between the ages of 11 and 24 – though most studies typically looked at young people in their early 20s.

However, because each of the studies looked at different individual features of a behavioural addiction, we decided to use the umbrella term “problematic smartphone usage” to describe all instances where these features occurred.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Most questionnaires agreed that the central features of a behavioural addiction include:

  • having an intense urge to use your phone
  • spending more time on it than you first intended to
  • feeling panicked if it runs out of battery
  • neglecting other more important things to use it
  • having other people complain about how much someone used their phone
  • continuing to use it despite knowing how much it affected other areas of your life, including sleep or school work.

In order for a young person to be defined as exhibiting problematic smartphone usage, they had to exhibit at least two of these features.

After looking at all of the studies, we found that between 10% and 30% of children and young people exhibited problematic smartphone use. Although studies used different self-report questionnaires, most defined addiction not by the length of time they spent using their smartphone, but by what are known as “domains”. These are certain patterns that indicate addiction, such as experiencing withdrawal symptoms when their phone is taken away.

Studies looking the affect that smartphone use had on mental health found participants in the “addicted” range were more likely to report symptoms of depression, anxiety and problems with sleep. However, most of the studies we looked at measured addiction and mental health at the same time – making it unclear if smartphone addiction causes mental health issues, or vice versa.

One In Four Children and Young People Show Signs of Addiction to Smartphones
Studies found problematic smartphone usage was linked with poorer sleep. mooremedia/Shutterstock

Most studies did show a consistent link with smartphone addiction and mental health. For example, six of seven studies on sleep found that children and young people who exhibited problematic smartphone use had poorer sleep. This was also the case for problematic smartphone usage and experiencing higher levels of anxiety, stress, and depressive symptoms. However, the evidence from these studies on mental health had varying degrees of reliability because responses were from self-report questionnaires, as opposed to formal clinical diagnoses. This meant there was a possibility of participants over or under-exaggerating their experiences.

Before we can say whether problematic smartphone usage is actually smartphone addiction, we would need to show that a person’s pattern of use is consistently dysfunctional – and that the health harms are significantly worse when compared to regular smartphone use.

But until there’s more research, we can’t say that smartphone addiction is a condition – and it’s premature to call for clinics to be opened to treat sufferers. While future research is needed, the current findings do show that problematic smartphone usage is common, and likely to be linked to poorer mental health in children and young people.

About the Authors

Ben Carter, Senior Lecturer, King's College London and Nicola Kalk, Clinical Lecturer, King's College London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)