المبادئ السبعة لاستخدام الأجهزة الرقمية الواعية

المبادئ السبعة لاستخدام الأجهزة الرقمية الواعية

السرعة التي ينتشر فيها استخدام الجهاز الرقمي هائلة. الكثير منا يقضون ساعات من وقتنا كل يوم في استخدام هذه الأجهزة - عادة ما ينظرون إلى الشاشات. أقصد أشياء مثل الهواتف وأجهزة الكمبيوتر والأجهزة اللوحية وأجهزة التلفزيون وسماعات الواقع الافتراضي والساعات الذكية.

هناك عدد متزايد بشكل كبير من العمليات الممكّنة رقمياً. من طلب المنتجات عبر الإنترنت ، إلى دفع فاتورة في مطعم أو تنظيم اجتماع مع الأصدقاء.

نحن نتابع العمليات الرقمية عندما نتواصل عبر المراسلة والقنوات الأخرى عبر الإنترنت. المزيد والمزيد من العمليات أصبحت رقمية. السبب الذي يجعل بعض الناس يقاومون ويعانون ، أنهم لا يعرفون كيفية استخدام أجهزتهم بوعي. نظرًا للارتفاع الكبير في استخدام الأجهزة الرقمية ، وتزايد عدد إدمانات الجهاز ومشاكله ، فقد شعرت أنه من المناسب لي أن أتناول استخدام الجهاز الرقمي مباشرةً وأبرزه كمجال أساسي من مجالات الممارسة للجميع.

عندما كنت أفكر في هذا المبدأ التوجيهي ، أدركت قريبًا أن هناك مؤشرات كافية لملء كتاب مخصص لاستخدام الجهاز الرقمي. لقد قمت بإعداد قائمة قصيرة أقصر من المبادئ التي تشمل جميع الإرشادات المفصلة. تسمى هذه "المبادئ السبعة لاستخدام الأجهزة الرقمية الواعية". إذا كنت تتبع هذه ، فسوف تقوم بمحاذاة استخدام جهازك الرقمي مع احتياجات العملية. ممارسة هذه المبادئ سوف تساعد البشرية على التطور خلال العصر الرقمي ، بالإضافة إلى السماح لك أن تعيش حياة من الوئام اليوم.

المبادئ السبعة لاستخدام الأجهزة الرقمية الواعية

  1. استخدم فقط الجهاز عندما تكون هناك حاجة إليه حقًا
  2. كن حذرا أثناء استخدام الجهاز
  3. كن لطيفًا مع جسمك أثناء استخدام الجهاز
  4. التواصل بشكل انتقائي وصادق ومهارة أثناء استخدام الجهاز
  5. هل لديك الوقت بعيدا عن أجهزتك كل يوم
  6. اغتنم الفرص للاتصال الإنساني الحقيقي
  7. تقبل أن استخدام الجهاز الرقمي هو جزء من الحياة

1. استخدم فقط الجهاز عندما تكون هناك حاجة إليه حقًا

يتم محاذاة استخدام الجهاز الرقمي عندما يستجيب لحاجة حقيقية. وهنا بعض الأمثلة:

  • تضيع في مكان ما وتحتاج إلى استخدام هاتفك للعثور على الاتجاهات.
  • تقوم بفحص جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك بحثًا عن رسالة بريد إلكتروني مهمة تتوقعها.
  • نظرت إلى هاتفك لمعرفة من المتصل قبل أن تقرر الرد.
  • يمكنك استخدام جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك للقيام عملك.
  • أنت تشارك شيئًا ما على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تعلم أن الناس سيحتاجون إليه.

هذه أمثلة لما أسميه الاستخدام الواعي. أنت تستجيب لحاجة. الاستخدام اللاواعي ، من ناحية أخرى ، هو عندما تستخدم الجهاز بشكل تفاعلي دون الحاجة الحقيقية. بعض الأمثلة على ذلك هي:

  • تشعر بالوحدة ، لذلك يمكنك الوصول إلى هاتفك دون التفكير في ذلك ، وتسجيل الدخول إلى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.
  • يمكنك إدخال قائمة انتظار في منفذ البيع بالتجزئة. تنظر تلقائيًا إلى هاتفك دون أن تقرر ذلك بوعي.
  • أنت تعمل على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك وتركز على مهمة مهمة. ينبثق إشعار عن رسالة بريد إلكتروني يمكن الرد عليها لاحقًا. تقرأ رسالة البريد الإلكتروني على الفور وتقطع المهمة التي تحتاجها لإنجازها.
  • أنت في عداد المفقودين شريك حياتك السابق. تنظر إلى خلاصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بها ، وتحقق من الأشخاص الذين تعود إليهم على الرغم من أنك تعرف أنه يزعجك.

دون اتخاذ قرار واعي ، تتم برمجة عقول العديد من الأشخاص للوصول إلى أجهزتهم ، وتشغيله ، والبحث عن التحفيز. نظرًا لأن معظم المحتوى مخصص ويدعم هويات الأشخاص ، فإن غرورهم يعجبهم!

عندما لا نكون حاضرين أثناء الاستخدام ، تستخدم الأنا المحتوى لتعزيز هويته. كما أنه يجعل المقارنات مع الآخرين لتعزيز شعورها الزائف بالذات والانفصال.

الهروب من الواقع؟

إن استخدام الجهاز كهروب من اللحظة الحالية ، عادةً لتجنب المشاعر غير السارة ، هو أيضًا شكل من أشكال الاستخدام اللاواعي. إنه شكل من أشكال الإدمان. الأنا تستخدم الجهاز للهروب من شيء غير سار. يشبه ذلك عندما يضيء المدخن سيجارة إذا كان شعوره عاطفيًا.

الحقيقة الأولى حول الاستخدام اللاواعي هي أنها تبعد الناس عن الحياة. إنه يأخذهم بعيدًا عن اللحظة الحالية ، وإلى حلم حول الماضي أو المستقبل. هذا شيء بدأنا للتو في إدراكه. عندما تتعرف الجماهير على أشياء مفيدة مثل الهواتف الذكية ، فإنها تعتاد بشكل غير لائق وتتحول إلى إدمان عالمي.

الحقيقة الثانية حول الاستخدام اللاواعي وأي إدمان ، هي أنه يمنع الناس من مواجهة مشاعر غير سارة وتضميد الألم العاطفي. السبيل الوحيد للشفاء هو أن تكون حاضرا مع مشاعرك.

مما يجعل الطبيعة الثانية ل توقف! - تحقق - استخدام

أنا خلقت واستخدام تقنية تسمى توقف! - تحقق - استخدام. يساعدني ذلك في التحقق من أنني أستخدم أجهزتي فقط عندما أحتاج إلى ذلك حقًا. يتضمن إنشاء عادة للتوقف في كل مرة تواجه فيها الرغبة في استخدام الجهاز: توقف! ثم خذ ثانية أو اثنتين للتحقق من أنك "بحاجة" حقًا لاستخدامه: الاختيار. يمكنك بعد ذلك اتخاذ قرار واع بشأن ما إذا كان يجب عليك ذلك استعمل الجهاز ، أو اتركه من استخدامه في تلك اللحظة في الوقت المناسب. إنها طريقة سريعة للتطبيق وبعد استخدامها عدة مرات ، وعلى مدار بضعة أيام ، ستنشئ عادة.

توقف! - تحقق - استخدام

2. كن حذرا أثناء استخدام الجهاز

يجب تطبيق هذا المبدأ الثاني عند اتخاذ قرار واعٍ لاستخدام الجهاز. إذا كنت قد تقدمت بطلب توقف! - تحقق - استخدام أو تقنية مماثلة ، عليك أن تكون بالفعل على علم عند بدء الاستخدام. كونك منتبهًا أو حاضرًا ، يعني أن تكون مدركًا لتجربتك وقبولها.

هناك ثلاثة عوامل كبيرة تؤثر على قدرتك على الانتباه أثناء الاستخدام. الأول هو مدى إدراكك قبل البدء في استخدام الجهاز. والثاني هو كيف ترد أو ترد على المحتوى المقدم لك. والثالث هو مدى سهولة استخدام الجهاز.

فيما يلي اثنا عشر تلميحًا لمساعدتك على الانتباه دائمًا أثناء استخدام الجهاز الرقمي:

1 فقط قم بالوصول إلى المحتوى وتمكين الإشعارات المطلوبة حقًا

عندما تقوم بالوصول إلى المحتوى الذي تحتاجه حقًا ، فستكون في وضع أفضل للبقاء على إطلاع دائم. إذا قمت بالوصول إلى المحتوى الذي لا تحتاج إليه ، فمن المحتمل أن تضيع في الأفكار والعواطف.

قرر بوعي المحتوى الذي ستصل إليه على جهازك. أيضا ، تحمل المسؤولية عن الإخطارات والتنبيهات. قم فقط بتكوين الإعلامات وتحديثات الوقت الفعلي التي تحتاجها بالتأكيد. خلاف ذلك ، اترك الانحرافات واختر وقت الوصول إلى الأشياء. كلما زادت الإخطارات غير الضرورية التي تستجيب لها ، قل قدرتك على التحكم في حالتك الذهنية عند الوصول إلى محتواها. تعمل الإخطارات غير الضرورية على صرف انتباهك عن الأنشطة الأخرى التي تتطلب اهتمامك الكامل.

2 تجنب المحتوى الذي تعرفه سيؤدي إلى ردود فعل سلبية

إذا كان هناك محتوى تعرفه سيدفع الأزرار الخاصة بك ، مما يحفزك على الضياع في أفكارك وعواطفك ، تجنب ذلك. خلاف ذلك ، أنت تؤذي نفسك. أنت لن تضع يدك في النار. بنفس الطريقة ، لا تضعف طاقتك أو محاذاة من خلال تعريض نفسك للمحتوى الصعب. قد يعني هذا تجنب بعض مواقع الويب أو البرامج التلفزيونية أو قنوات الوسائط الاجتماعية.

غالبًا ما أهتم بتغذيات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من الأشخاص الذين تجدهم أناي صعبة بدلاً من قطع الاتصال بهم تمامًا. إنها تبقي الاتصالات مفتوحة ، مع خيار إعادة الانخراط لاحقًا ، وعندما يكون ذلك مناسبًا أكثر.

3 ، إن أمكن ، تأكد من استخدام أجهزة رقمية جيدة النوعية

هذا صحيح بشكل خاص إذا كنت تقضي الكثير من الوقت عليهم. سيكون من الأسهل بكثير أن تضع في اعتبارك إذا كنت تعمل على جهاز سريع وسهل الاستخدام. بدلا من واحد وهذا بطيئا ومعقدا. عندما يبدو أن التكنولوجيا تعمل ضدك ، فمن الصعب عليك أن تضع في اعتبارك.

4 قم بتكوين أجهزتك لجعلها أسهل في الاستخدام

هناك علاقة بين البساطة والوعي. هناك الكثير الذي يمكنك القيام به لتبسيط الأجهزة ، بما في ذلك إزالة التطبيقات غير المرغوب فيها وتحرير مساحة للمساعدة في جعل الجهاز يعمل بشكل أسرع. حتى التفاصيل مثل تكوين القوائم والاختصارات التي تناسب استخدامك ستعمل على تبسيط الأمور. إذا كنت لا تعرف كيف تطلب الدعم الفني من شخص ما. قد يكون صديق أو مساعد متجر قادرين على المساعدة.

5 حافظ على بعض الوعي بأنفاسك أو أحاسيسك الجسدية

هذه هي تقنية بحكم الواقع تستخدم لتصبح الذهن والاحتفاظ الذهن.

6 كن على دراية بالأفكار والمشاعر

إذا كنت قادرًا على ذلك ، راقب أفكارك ومشاعرك أثناء استخدام الأجهزة. هذا سوف تبقيك على علم والحاضر. إذا شعرت أن أفكارك أصبحت سلبية أو واجهت مشاعر غير سارة ، فتوقف عن استخدام الجهاز للحظة. راجع ما تعانيه أو تتواصل معه.

7 مراقبة المقاومة الداخلية

إذا واجهت نفسك في حالة مقاومة أثناء استخدامك لجهازك ، فيجب تغيير شيء ما. المقاومة الداخلية تشير إلى عدم التوافق. تحتاج إما إلى تحقيق القبول في تجربتك مع أي محتوى تشارك فيه أو تجنبه. يمكن أن تظهر المقاومة الداخلية أيضًا عندما يكون الجسم غير مريح أو تحتاج إلى استراحة من الاستخدام.

8 كن على دراية بالمسافة بينك وبين الشاشة

بالنسبة للأجهزة المزودة بشاشات ، توجد مساحة بين عينيك والشاشة. كن على علم بهذه المساحة في نفس الوقت الذي تنظر فيه إلى الشاشة. هذا سيحمي عقلك من الضياع في المحتوى. الوعي بالمساحة يساعدك على البقاء متيقظين.

9 خذ فترات راحة من استخدام جهازك

ابحث لفترة وجيزة عن شاشتك كل بضع دقائق. إراحة عينيك أو إلقاء نظرة على شيء آخر في البيئة المادية الخاصة بك. شيء طبيعي مثل النبات أو السماء إذا كان ذلك ممكنا. كل عشرين دقيقة أو نحو ذلك ، لديك استراحة للقيام بشيء مادي. حتى لو كان موقف سريع أو تمتد. هذا سوف ينعشك ويبقيك في حالة تأهب. من الصعوبة بمكان أن تظل متيقظًا عندما تكون متعبًا.

10 تغيير جماليات جهازك

تغيير الخلفية الخاصة بك أو شاشة التوقف بين الحين والآخر. أو إعادة ترتيب الرموز بطريقة محسنة للاستخدام الحالي. هذا سيبقي تجربتك الرقمية جديدة. التغييرات في ما نراه وتجربته تساعدنا على البقاء متيقظين.

11 كن لطيفًا مع جسمك أثناء استخدام الجهاز

عندما يكون الجسم مرتاحًا ، من الأسهل عليك أن تضع في اعتبارك.

12 تواصل بشكل انتقائي وصادق ومهارة أثناء الاستخدام

التواصل الماهر والذهن يسيران جنبا إلى جنب. عندما تتواصل بمهارة ، فأنت متنبه. وعندما تكون متنبهاً ، فإنك تتواصل بمهارة.

يمكن أن تساعدنا الطبيعة غير المتزامنة للرسائل على التواصل بشكل أكثر تفكيرًا. تتيح المراسلة إمكانية التوقف لفترة أطول مما قد نتوقف أثناء الاتصال شخصيًا أو عبر الهاتف. قبل قراءة رسالة أو إرسالها ، قد تلاحظ وقفة قصيرة ، وتستخدمها للتحقق من وجودك. كل ما يتبع التواصل مباشرة من ذلك سيتم محاذاة.

7. قبول أن استخدام الجهاز الرقمي هو جزء من الحياة

بالنسبة للغالبية العظمى منا ، فإن استخدام الأجهزة الرقمية بما في ذلك الهواتف وأجهزة الكمبيوتر أمر ضروري. أصبحت المزيد والمزيد من الخدمات مثل الخدمات المصرفية والتسوق متاحة حصريًا عبر القنوات الرقمية. في المستقبل ، أعتقد أنه سيكون من المستحيل تقريبًا الدخول في الحياة دون استخدام الأجهزة الرقمية.

أنا أعرف الأشخاص الذين يقاومون الأجهزة الرقمية. إنهم يعتقدون أنهم يجب أن يكونوا قادرين على القيام بكل شيء عبر الوسائل التقليدية غير الرقمية. يقاوم الأشخاص الآخرون الأجهزة الرقمية لأنهم يعتقدون أن استخدامها يعرض للخطر تجربتهم بطريقة أو بأخرى. أنا متأكد من أن هذا صحيح في بعض الحالات ولكل شخص الحق في آرائهم. الآراء غير ضارة عندما لا تتطابق معها.

ومع ذلك ، فإن المقاومة هي التي تسبب الضرر. إن توقع أن يكون العالم أقل رقميًا مما هو عليه الآن مثل محاولة إعادة الوقت وتغيير الأشياء. هذا مستحيل. إنها تستنزف عندما تتطلع إلى أن تكون الأمور مختلفة الآن عن حالتها الآن.

النتيجة النهائية لهذا كله هي أننا نحتاج إلى قبول واحتضان الأجهزة الرقمية. الطريقة التي نتعامل معها ستؤثر على الأجيال القادمة.

لدينا مسؤولية كبيرة. آمل أن نتمكن من الاستمتاع بجميع المزايا الإيجابية ، والعيش مع أوجه القصور وتحمل مسؤولية استخدامها بوعي. هذا هو إلى حد بعيد النهج الأفضل إذا أردنا أن نعيش حياة متناغمة.

(ملاحظة المحرر: نظرًا لقيود المقتطفات ، فقد قدمنا ​​مبادئ 1 و 2 و 7. والأخرى متوفرة في الكتاب.)

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2019 التي كتبها دارين Cockburn. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
الناشر: Findhorn Press ، بصمة لـ
الداخلية التقاليد تي. www.innertraditions.com

المادة المصدر

الحياة في وئام: سبعة مبادئ توجيهية لزرع السلام واللطف
من جانب دارين كوكبيرن

عيش حياة الانسجام: سبعة مبادئ توجيهية لزراعة السلام والعطف ، بقلم دارين كوكبورنيستكشف المؤلف كيف تساعدنا إرشادات 7 سهلة الممارسة على اكتساب فهم أعمق لعملية الحياة العالمية ، بالإضافة إلى توفير مجموعة من الأدوات التي تساعدنا في التعامل مع حالات التقلبات والحياة بشكل أكثر مهارة. فهي تمكننا من مواجهة الحياة التي تتمتع بالسلطة والثقة ، ونراقب بسلام ونقبل ما تقدم لنا الحياة ، وتزرع الرحمة والعطف ، فضلاً عن نشر الذهن لمن حولنا. تمارس هذه الإرشادات معًا ، وتوفر بوصلة بسيطة لكنها قوية لإرشادك إلى عقل سلمي ومعيشة متناغمة ، وهو ما نحتاج إليه كثيرًا في عالم اليوم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي. متوفر أيضًا في إصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلف

دارين كوكبيرنمارس دارين كوكبرن التأمل والعقل لأكثر من 20 ، حيث درس مع مجموعة من المعلمين من مختلف الديانات. كمدرب ومعلم ، قام بدعم مئات الأشخاص في التأمل والذهن وإيجاد صلة بالروحانية ، مع التركيز على تطبيق التعاليم الروحية في الحياة اليومية لتنمية عقل مسالم. دارين هو أيضا مؤلف كتاب أن تكون حاضرا. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في https://darrencockburn.com/

كتب ذات صلة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Seven Principles of Conscious Digital Device Usage

The Seven Principles of Conscious Digital Device Usage

The speed at which digital device usage has spread is phenomenal. Many of us are spending hours of our time each day using these devices – usually looking at screens. I’m referring to things like phones, computers, tablets, TVs, virtual reality headsets and smart watches.

There’s an exponentially increasing number of digitally enabled processes. From ordering products online, to paying a bill in a restaurant or organizing a meeting with friends.

We’re following digital processes when we’re communicating through messaging and other online channels. More and more processes are becoming digitized. The reason why some people are resistant and suffering, is that they don’t know how to use their devices consciously. Because of the exponential rise in digital device usage, and a growing number of device addictions and problems, it felt right for me to address digital device usage directly and highlight it as a key area of practice for everybody.

When I was considering this guideline, I soon realized there are enough pointers to fill a book dedicated to digital device usage. I produced a shorter, high-level list of principles that encompass all of the detailed guidance. These are called ‘The Seven Principles of Conscious Digital Device Usage.’ If you follow these, you’ll align your digital device usage with what The Process needs. Practicing these principles will help humanity evolve through the digital era, as well as allowing you to live a life of harmony today.

The Seven Principles of Conscious Digital Device Usage

  1. Only use a device when it’s really needed
  2. Stay mindful during device usage
  3. Be kind to your body during device usage
  4. Communicate selectively, truthfully and skillfully during device usage
  5. Have time away from your devices every day
  6. Take opportunities for real human contact
  7. Accept that digital device usage is part of life

1. Only Use A Device When It’s Really Needed

Digital device usage is aligned when it’s responding to a real need. Here are some examples:

  • You’re lost somewhere and need to use your phone to find directions.
  • You check your computer for an important email you’re expecting.
  • You look at your phone to see who’s calling before deciding whether to answer.
  • You use your computer to do your work.
  • You share something on social media that you know people will need.

These are examples of what I call conscious usage; you respond to a need. Unconscious usage, on the other hand, is when you use the device reactively without a real need. Some examples of this are:

  • You feel lonely, so you reach for your phone without even thinking about it, and log onto social media.
  • You enter a queue at a retail outlet. You automatically look at your phone without consciously deciding to do so.
  • You’re working on your computer and concentrating on an important task. A notification pops up for an email that can be responded to later. You read the email straight away and interrupt the task you needed to get done.
  • You’re missing your ex-partner. You look at their social media feed, and check out who they’ve been dating even although you know it upsets you.

 Without making a conscious decision, many people’s minds are programmed to reach for their device, switch it on, and hunt for stimulus. Because much of the content is personalized and supports people’s identifications, their egos love it!


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


When we’re not present during usage, the ego uses the content to reinforce its identifications. It also makes comparisons with others to enhance its false sense of self and separateness.

Escaping Reality?

Using a device as an escape from the present moment, usually to avoid unpleasant feelings, is also a form of unconscious usage. It’s a form of addiction. The ego is using the device to escape from something that’s unpleasant. It’s similar to when a smoker lights a cigarette if they’re feeling emotional.

The first truth about unconscious usage is that it takes people away from life. It takes them away from the present moment, and into a dream about the past or future. This is something we’re just beginning to realize. When useful things like smart phones get introduced to the masses, they get used inappropriately and turn into a global addiction.

The second truth about unconscious usage and any addiction, is that it prevents people from facing unpleasant feelings and healing emotional pain. The only way to heal is to be present with your feelings.

Making It Second Nature To Stop! – Check – Use

I created and use a technique called Stop! – Check – Use. It helps me check that I’m only using my devices when I really need to. It involves creating a habit of stopping every time you experience a desire to use a device: Stop! Then take a second or two to check you really ‘need’ to use it: Check. You can then make a conscious decision as to whether you should then Use the device, or Let go of using it at that moment in time. It’s a quick technique to apply and after using it a few times, over a few days, you’ll create a habit.

Stop! – Check – Use

2. Stay Mindful During Device Usage

This second principle should be applied when you’ve made a conscious decision to use the device. If you’ve applied Stop! – Check – Use or a similar technique, you’ll already be mindful when you begin use. Being mindful, or being present, is about being aware and accepting of your experience.

There are three big factors that influence your ability to stay mindful during usage. The first is how mindful you are before you start using the device. The second is how you respond or react to the content that’s presented to you. And the third is how simple the device is to use.

Here are twelve tips to help you stay mindful during digital device usage:

1 Only access content and enable notifications that are really needed

When you’re accessing content that you really need, you’ll be better placed to stay mindful. If you access content that you don’t need, it’s highly likely that you’ll get lost in thoughts and emotions.

Consciously decide what content you’re going to access on your device. Also, take responsibility for notifications and alerts. Only configure notifications and real time updates that you definitely need. Otherwise, let go of the distractions and choose when you access things. The more unnecessary notifications you react to, the less you’ll be in control of your state of mind when you access their content. Unnecessary notifications distract you from other activities that require your full attention.

2 Avoid content you know will trigger negative reactions

If there’s content that you know is going to push your buttons, triggering you to become lost in your thoughts and emotions, avoid it. Otherwise, you’re harming yourself. You wouldn’t put your hand in a fire. In the same way, don’t compromise your energy or alignment by exposing yourself to difficult content. This might mean avoiding certain websites, TV shows, or social media feeds.

I’ll often mute social media feeds from people my ego finds difficult rather than disconnecting from them altogether. It keeps communication open, with the option of re-engaging later, as and when it’s more appropriate to do so.

3 If possible, ensure you use good quality digital devices

This is especially true if you spend a lot of time on them. It’s going to be much easier to stay mindful if you’re working on a device that’s fast and simple to use. Rather than one that’s sluggish and complex. When technology appears to be working against you, it’s even more challenging to stay mindful.

4 Configure your devices to make them easier to use

There’s a correlation between simplicity and being mindful. There’s lots you can do to simplify devices, including removing unwanted apps and freeing up space to help make the device go faster. Even detail such as configuring menus and shortcuts that suit your usage will simplify things. If you don’t know how then ask somebody technical for support. A friend or store assistant might be able to help.

5 Keep some awareness on your breath or bodily sensations

This is a de facto technique used to become mindful and retain mindfulness.

6 Be aware of thoughts and feelings

If you’re able to, observe your thoughts and feelings whilst using devices. This will keep you aware and present. If you catch your thoughts turning negative or experience unpleasant feelings, stop using the device for a moment. Review what you’re experiencing or communicating.

7 Monitor internal resistance

If you catch yourself in a state of resistance as you use your device, then something needs to change. Internal resistance indicates misalignment. You either need to bring acceptance to your experience with whatever content you’re involved in or avoid the content. Internal resistance can also manifest when the body’s uncomfortable or you need a break from usage.

8 Be aware of the space between you and the screen

For devices with screens, there’s space between your eyes and the screen. Be aware of that space at the same time as you’re looking at the screen. This will protect your mind from getting lost in the content. Awareness of space helps you stay mindful.

9 Take breaks from using your device

Briefly look away from your screen every few minutes. Rest your eyes or look at something else in your physical environment. Something natural like a plant or the sky if possible. Every twenty minutes or so, have a break to do something physical. Even if it’s a quick stand or stretch. This will refresh you and keep you alert. It’s far more challenging to stay mindful when you’re tired.

10 Change your device’s aesthetics

Change your background or screen saver now and again; or rearrange icons in a way that’s optimized for your current usage. This will keep your digital experience fresh. Changes in what we see and experience helps us to stay mindful.

11 Be kind to your body during device usage

When the body’s comfortable it’s easier to stay mindful.

12 Communicate selectively, truthfully, and skillfully during usage

Skillful communication and mindfulness go together. When you’re communicating skillfully, you’re mindful. And when you’re mindful, you communicate skillfully.

The asynchronous nature of messaging can help us to communicate more mindfully. Messaging allows us to pause for longer than we might during communication in person or over the phone. Before reading or sending a message, you may observe a brief pause, and use that to check that you’re present. Whatever communication follows immediately from that will be aligned.

7. Accepting That Digital Device Usage Is A Part Of Life

For the vast majority of us, the use of digital devices including phones and computers is essential. More and more services like banking and shopping are becoming exclusively available via digital channels. In the future, I believe that it will be virtually impossible to get by in life without the use of digital devices.

I know people who resist digital devices. They believe they should be able to do everything via traditional non-digital means. Other people resist digital devices because they believe that using them is compromising their experience in one way or another. I’m sure this is true in some cases and everybody’s entitled to their opinions. Opinions are harmless when you don’t identify with them.

However, resisting is what causes harm. Expecting the world to be less digital than it is now is like trying to turn back time and change things. It’s impossible. It’s draining when you crave for things now to be different to how they are now.

The upshot to all of this is that we need to accept and embrace digital devices. The way we engage with them is going to influence future generations.

We have quite a responsibility. I’m hoping that we can enjoy all the positive benefits, live with the shortcomings and take responsibility for using them consciously. This is by far the best approach if we wish to live a life of harmony.

(Editor's Note: Due to excerpt limitations, we have presented principles 1, 2, and 7. The others are available in the book.)

Copyright 2019 by Darren Cockburn. All Rights Reserved.
Publisher: Findhorn Press, an imprint of
Inner Traditions Intl. www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

Living a Life of Harmony: Seven Guidelines for Cultivating Peace and Kindness
by Darren Cockburn

Living a Life of Harmony: Seven Guidelines for Cultivating Peace and Kindness by Darren CockburnThe author explores how the 7 easy-to-practice guidelines help us gain a deeper understanding of the universal process of life, as well as provide a set of tools to help us deal with life’s ups and downs more skillfully. They enable us to face life empowered and confident, peacefully observe and accept what life presents us with, cultivate compassion and kindness, as well as spread mindfulness to those around us. Practiced together, these guidelines provide a simple yet powerful compass to guide you to a peaceful mind and harmonious living, much needed in today’s world.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book. Also available in a Kindle edition.

About the Author

Darren CockburnDarren Cockburn has been practicing meditation and mindfulness for over 20 years, studying with a range of teachers from different religions. As a coach and teacher, he has supported hundreds of people in meditation, mindfulness, and finding a connection to spirituality, with a focus on applying spiritual teachings in everyday life to cultivate a peaceful mind. Darren is also the author of Being Present. Visit his website at https://darrencockburn.com/

Related Books

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}