بينما أصبحت السيارات بلا سائق بشكل متزايد ، يبحث الناس بالفعل عن تجارب جديدة في القيادة

بينما أصبحت السيارات بلا سائق بشكل متزايد ، يبحث الناس بالفعل عن تجارب قيادة تماثلية

وفقا لأولئك في الصناعة ، والباحثين أيضا ، فإن السيارات بدون سائق سوف تحدث ثورة تامة في الطريقة التي نفكر بها في النقل الفردي. سيفعلون تغيير الطريقة التي نعمل بها والراحة. يمكن أن تبشر نهاية الاختناقات المرورية، ولديها القدرة على تغيير الحياة من المعوقين ، لإعطاء بعض الأمثلة. ولكن كما دفع للحصول على المركبات ذاتية الحكم على الطرق يسرعهناك عامل واحد يستحق المزيد من الاهتمام - الدور المتغير للسائق البشري.

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، تتعلق القيادة بالانتقال من A إلى B ، ولكن حتى بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يصنفون أنفسهم على أنهم "بترول" ، يمكن أن تكون القيادة ممتعة. في الواقع، الباحثون يجادل يمكن للسائقين تطوير اتصالات عاطفية بسياراتهم وتجربة القيادة. وقد أظهر آخرون أن هذا الارتباط العاطفي بالسيارات هو مهم للولاء للعلامة التجارية، وبالنسبة للعديد من الشركات المصنعة عاطفة، أو الجانب العاطفي لل تجربة القيادة، هو جزء رئيسي من علامتهم التجارية.

لكننا نقترب أكثر فأكثر من عالم لن تحتاج فيه السيارات إلى سائقين. العديد من السيارات الجديدة في السوق ، مثل نيسان ليف أو ال فولفو V90، يحتوي بالفعل على بعض العناصر اللازمة لـ "الأتمتة الشرطية" ، حيث يمكن للتكنولوجيا التحكم في السرعة ، والتوجيه وغيرها من المهام في ظل ظروف محددة.

الأنظمة الأكثر تقدما تسمح للسيارات ، مثل أودي A8، للسيطرة الكاملة في بعض الحالات. لكن بينما تأخذ الحواسيب عجلة القيادة ، ماذا سيحدث للعلاقات الإنسانية بالسيارات؟

"سائق السيارة"

بناء على البحوث الموجودة في ثقافات السيارات, أطروحات الدكتوراه بلدي نظرت إلى كيف أن السيارة المدفوعة أكثر من مجرد سيارة. يمكن أن يفهم على النحو هجين من الإنسان والآلة. يستخدم السائقون أذرعهم وأيديهم لقلب عجلة القيادة ، بينما تضغط الساقين والقدمين على الدواسات. جسم الإنسان هو جزء لا يتجزأ من السيارة مدفوعة ، لا يقل أهمية عن المحرك أو العجلات.

بينما أصبحت السيارات بلا سائق بشكل متزايد ، يبحث الناس بالفعل عن تجارب قيادة تماثلية بدون سائقين ، كانت السيارات عديمة الفائدة إلى حد كبير. راتويش كمال / شترتستوك

التفكير في العلاقة بين السيارة والسائق باعتباره "سائق سيارة"الهجينة هي طريقة واحدة لتذكر الناس في السيارات بدون سائق. بعد كل شيء ، كما قال الباحث في مجال النقل بمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا آشلي نونيس مؤخراً ، "سوف سائق لا يعني عدم الإنسانية". ستظل هذه السيارات تستخدم لنقل الناس ، حتى لو كانوا لا يقودونها.

حتى وقت قريب نسبيًا ، ستكون إزالة الإنسان من سيارة السائق جذرية تمامًا مثل إزالة العجلات ، لكننا نتحرك بشكل متزايد نحو مستقبل يلعب فيه الناس دورًا أكثر سلبية. حيث أبقت الأسلحة واليدين سيارة في حارة ، والآن أ يمكن للبرنامج تولي. وحيث تسارع الساقين والقدمين وفراملهما ، يمكن للكمبيوتر التحكم سرعة. للأفضل أو للأسوأ ، يتم كتابة الإنسان بشكل متزايد من قصة القيادة.

حماسة سيارة جديدة؟

تصف سيارة السائق أيضًا العلاقة المعقدة بين البشر وسياراتهم ، وهو اتصال يتجاوز التجسيد ليشمله المرفقات العاطفية إلى المركبات. لقد تسببت المناقشات التي دارت حول السيارات غير البشرية على نحو متزايد في أن يفكر البعض في أفراح القيادة التي تتجاوز منافذ رؤوس السيارات. في تعليق لها في الجارديان ، لاحظت الكاتبة والمقدمة فيكتور كورين ميتشل أن القيادة يمكن أن تكون "النشاط التحرري والعلاجي"، وهذا قد نفقده إذا لم نعد في مقعد القيادة ، كما كان.

بالطبع ، هناك احتمال أن تنشأ حماسة جديدة للسيارات غير المؤتمتة من التحرك نحو السيارات المستقلة بالكامل. عبر عدد من التقنيات ، سعى المزيد والمزيد من الأشخاص إلى الحصول على تجارب تناظرية مع نمو التكنولوجيا الرقمية. مبيعات سجلات الفينيل ، على سبيل المثال ، ارتفعت على الرغم من شعبية التنزيلات الموسيقية والبث.

يمكن لهذه السيارات غير الآلية أن تأخذ شكل السيارات الكلاسيكية من وقت قبل القيادة بمساعدة ، مثل الأصلي فولكس فاجن بيتلأو السيارات الأحدث المصممة لتوفير تحكم أكثر لبرنامج التشغيل البشري وأقل لأنظمة الكمبيوتر ، مثل روف نسبة النقر إلى الظهور.

بالفعل بعض المعلقين السيارات يتحدثون القيادة التناظرية، بناء حركة تركز على تجربة القيادة والاتصال بين سيارة السائق والطريق ، والمصنعين يستوعبون ذلك أيضًا. وقال الويس روف ، صاحب روف ، المذكورة أعلاه ، أن "يريد العملاء سيارة تمثيلية ... سيارة سائق".

تنبع حركة القيادة التماثلية هذه جزئيًا من التأثيرات السلبية المتصورة للتكنولوجيا على تجربة القيادة المبهمة. ومع ذلك ، يستخدم بعض المصنّعين لغة مشابهة لتلك التي تتبعها حركة القيادة التناظرية في الترويج لها للسيارات الخالية من السائق ، مما يشير إلى أن المركبات الآلية يمكن أن تسهم في الواقع في تحسين الاتصال بين سائق السيارة والطريق.

جاكوار لاند روفر ، على سبيل المثال ، قل ذلك، "المركبات ذاتية القيادة ستعزز تجربة السائق - لا تحل محلها". وبالمثل ، تعرض BMW السيارة بدون سائق كشيء "يوسع نطاق إدراك السائق ويحوله إلى سائق النهائي".

شيء واحد مؤكد: ونحن نتحرك نحو المستقبل القريب حيث تصبح السيارات بدون سائق أكثر شيوعًا ، ستتغير المواقف البشرية تجاه السيارات والقيادة بشكل كبير. فقط الوقت سوف يحدد ما إذا كان ذلك سينهي علاقاتنا العاطفية بسياراتنا ، أو سيغيرها إلى شيء جديد تمامًا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ويل أندروز ، مسؤول البحوث ، جامعة سوانسي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
by إريكا بوينافلور ، ماجستير ، دينار
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
by ستيفن ناتشمانوفيتش

As Cars Become Increasingly Driverless, People Are Already Seeking New Motoring Experiences

As Cars Become Increasingly Driverless, People Are Already Seeking Analogue Motoring Experiences

According to those in the industry, and researchers too, driverless cars will totally revolutionise the way we think about individual transport. They will change the way we work and rest. They could herald the end of traffic jams, and have the potential to change the lives of disabled people, to give a few examples. But as the push to get autonomous vehicles on the roads accelerates, there is one factor that deserves more consideration – the changing role of the human driver.

For many, driving is about getting from A to B, but even for those who wouldn’t class themselves as “petrolheads”, driving can be enjoyable. In fact, researchers argue that drivers can develop emotional connections to their cars and the experience of driving. Others have shown that this emotional connection to cars is important for brand loyalty, and for many manufacturers emotion, or the emotive aspect of the driving experience, is a key part of their brand.

But we are moving closer and closer to a world where cars will not need drivers. Many new cars on the market, such as the Nissan Leaf or the Volvo V90, already contain some of the elements needed for “conditional automation”, where technology can control speed, steering and other functions within specific conditions.

The most advanced systems allow cars, such as Audi’s A8, to take full control in certain situations. But as computers take the wheel, what will happen to human relationships with cars?

The ‘driver-car’

Building on existing research into car cultures, my PhD theses looked at how the driven car is more than just a vehicle. It can be understood as a hybrid of human and machine. Drivers use their arms and hands to turn the steering wheel, while legs and feet press the pedals. The human body is an integral component of the driven car, as important as the engine or the wheels.

As Cars Become Increasingly Driverless, People Are Already Seeking Analogue Motoring Experiences Without drivers, cars would have been pretty much useless. Rattawich Kamal/Shuttertstock

Thinking about the connection between car and driver as a “driver-car” hybrid is one way of remembering the people in driverless cars. After all, as MIT transportation researcher Ashley Nunes recently said, “driverless will not mean humanless”. These cars will still be used to transport people, even if they are not driving them.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Until relatively recently, removing the human from the driver-car would be just as drastic as removing the wheels, but increasingly we are moving towards a future where people take a more passive role. Where arms and hands previously kept a car in lane, now a programme can take over. And where legs and feet once accelerated and braked, a computer can control speed. For better or for worse, the human is increasingly being written out of the story of driving.

New car enthusiasms?

The driver-car also describes a complex relationship between humans and their cars, a connection which goes beyond embodiment to include emotional attachments to vehicles. Discussions of increasingly humanless cars have already caused some to reflect on the joys of driving which transcend the niches of petrolheads. Commenting in The Guardian, writer and presenter Victoria Coren-Mitchell noted that driving can be a “liberating and therapeutic activity”, which we may lose if we are no longer in the driving seat, as it were.

Of course, there is the possibility that new enthusiasms for non-automated cars will arise out of the move towards fully autonomous vehicles. Across a number of technologies, more and more people have sought analogue experiences as digital has grown. Sales of vinyl records, for example, have risen despite the popularity of music downloads and streaming.

These non-automated cars could take the form of classic cars from a time before assisted driving, such as the original VW Beetle, or newer vehicles designed to give control more to the human driver and less to computer systems, such as the Ruf CTR.

Already some motoring commentators are talking of analogue driving, building a movement focused on driving experience and connection between the driver-car and the road, and manufacturers are picking up on this too. Alois Ruf, owner of Ruf, mentioned above, has said that their, “customers want an analogue car … a driver’s car”.

This analogue driving movement in part stems from the perceived negative impacts of technology on the haptic experience of driving. However, some manufacturers use language similar to that of the analogue driving movement in their promotion of driverless cars, suggesting that automated vehicles could in fact contribute to an improved connection between driver-car and the road.

Jaguar Land Rover, for example, say that, “self-driving vehicles will enhance the driver’s experience — not replace it”. Similarly, BMW presents the driverless car as something which “expands the driver’s range of perception and transforms him or her into the ultimate driver”.

One thing is for certain: as we move towards a near future where driverless cars become more common, human attitudes towards cars and driving will change dramatically. Only time will tell whether that will end our emotional relationships with our vehicles, or change it into something entirely new.The Conversation

About The Author

Will Andrews, Research Officer, Swansea University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}