Существует почти нулевой шанс того, что обезьяноподобное ископаемое является нашим прямым предком

Существует почти нулевой шанс того, что обезьяноподобное ископаемое является нашим прямым предкомМаловероятно, чтобы Австралопитек седиба, почти два миллиона лет назад, похожий на обезьяну ископаемый из Южной Африки, является прямым предком Homo, род, к которому принадлежат современные люди, согласно новому исследованию.

Вместо этого исследования, которые появляются в Наука развивается, заключая, предполагая, что Австралопитек афарскийиз знаменитого скелета «Люси» до сих пор является наиболее вероятным предком рода Homo.

Ученые раскопали первый А. Седиба окаменелости возле Йоханнесбурга в 2008. С тех пор ученые обнаружили сотни фрагментов вида, датируемые примерно двумя миллионами лет назад. Самый старый из известных Homo ископаемому, челюстной кости еще не названного вида, найденного в Эфиопии, 2.8 миллион лет, предшествующий А. Седиба по 800,000 годам.

Несмотря на этот график, исследователи, которые обнаружили А. Седиба утверждают, что это исконный вид Homo.

Хотя возможно, что А. Седиба (предполагаемый предок), возможно, датируется самым ранним Homo (предполагаемый потомок) к 800,000 годам, новый анализ показывает, что вероятность обнаружения этого хронологического паттерна крайне маловероятна.

«Ископаемые ископаемые предка, безусловно, могут отложить потомство на большое количество времени», - говорит ведущий автор Эндрю Ду, научный сотрудник лаборатории Зерая Алемсегеда, профессора организма, биологии и анатомии в Чикагском университете.

«Мы думали, что сделаем еще один шаг, чтобы спросить, какова вероятность этого, и наши модели показывают, что вероятность близка к нулю».

Ду и Алемсегед также рассмотрели научную литературу на предмет других предполагаемых родственных связей между двумя предками-гомининами. Из найденных ими экземпляров 28 только одно впервые обнаруженное ископаемое потомка было старше его предполагаемого предка: пара Homo виды, разделенные годами 100,000, намного меньше, чем годы, разделяющие 800,000 А. Седиба и самый ранний Homo.

Для контекста, средняя продолжительность жизни любого вида гоминина составляет около миллиона лет.

«Опять же, мы видим, что окаменелость предка может датироваться потомками его потомков», - говорит Ду. «Но годы 800,000 - это довольно много».

Исследователи утверждают, что Австралопитек афарский является лучшим кандидатом на прямой предок Homo по ряду причин. Ученые датировали A. afarensis окаменелости до трех миллионов лет, приближающиеся к возрасту первого Homo челюсть. Ученые нашли Люси и ее коллег, включая Селама, окаменелость A. afarensis ребенок, которого Алемсегед обнаружил в 2000, в Эфиопии, всего в нескольких милях от того места, где Homo Челюсть была обнаружена. Особенности челюсти также напоминают A. afarensis достаточно близко, чтобы можно было доказать, что это был прямой потомок.

«Учитывая сроки, географию и морфологию, эти три доказательства заставляют нас думать афарский лучший кандидат, чем Sediba«Алемсегед говорит.

«Можно не согласиться с морфологией и различными особенностями окаменелости, но уровень достоверности, который мы можем придать математическому и статистическому анализу хронологических данных в этой статье, делает наш аргумент очень сильным».

источник: Чикагский университет

Книги по этой теме

{AmazonWS: searchindex = Книги, ключевые слова = гуманоиды; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

There Is A Next To Zero Chance That Apelike Fossil Is Our Direct Ancestor

There Is A Next To Zero Chance That Apelike Fossil Is Our Direct AncestorIt is unlikely that Australopithecus sediba, a nearly two-million-year-old, apelike fossil from South Africa, is the direct ancestor of Homo, the genus to which modern-day humans belong, according to new research.

Instead, the research, which appear in Science Advances, concludes by suggesting that Australopithecus afarensis, of the famous “Lucy” skeleton, is still the most likely ancestor to the genus Homo.

Scientists unearthed the first A. sediba fossils near Johannesburg in 2008. Since then, scientists have discovered hundreds of fragments of the species, all dating to roughly two million years ago. The oldest known Homo fossil, the jawbone of an as yet unnamed species found in Ethiopia, is 2.8 million years old, predating A. sediba by 800,000 years.

Despite this timeline, the researchers who discovered A. sediba claim that it is an ancestral species to Homo.

While it is possible that A. sediba (the hypothesized ancestor) could have postdated earliest Homo (the hypothesized descendant) by 800,000 years, the new analysis indicates that the probability of finding this chronological pattern is highly unlikely.

“It is definitely possible for an ancestor’s fossil to postdate a descendant’s by a large amount of time,” says lead author Andrew Du, a postdoctoral researcher in the lab of Zeray Alemseged, professor of organismal and biology and anatomy at the University of Chicago.

“We thought we would take it one step further to ask how likely it is to happen, and our models show that the probability is next to zero.”

Du and Alemseged also reviewed the scientific literature for other hypothesized ancestor-descendant relationships between two hominin species. Of the 28 instances they found, only one first-discovered fossil of a descendant was older than its proposed ancestor: a pair of Homo species separated by 100,000 years, far less than the 800,000 years separating A. sediba and earliest Homo.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


For context, the average lifespan of any hominin species is about one million years.

“Again, we see that it’s possible for an ancestor’s fossil to postdate its descendant’s,” Du says. “But 800,000 years is quite a long time.”

The researchers maintain that Australopithecus afarensis is a better candidate for the direct ancestor of Homo for a number of reasons. Scientists have dated A. afarensis fossils up to three million years old, nearing the age of the first Homo jaw. Scientists found Lucy and her counterparts, including Selam, the fossil of an A. afarensis child that Alemseged discovered in 2000, in Ethiopia, just miles from where the Homo jaw was discovered. The jaw’s features also resemble those of A. afarensis closely enough that one could make the case it was a direct descendant.

“Given the timing, geography, and morphology, these three pieces of evidence make us think afarensis is a better candidate than sediba,” Alemseged says.

“One can disagree about morphology and the different features of a fossil, but the level of confidence we can put in the mathematical and statistical analyses of the chronological data in this paper makes our argument a very strong one.”

Source: University of Chicago

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=humanoids;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…