ترتبط التغيرات الوراثية النادرة بالتوحد واضطرابات نفسية أخرى

ترتبط التغيرات الوراثية النادرة بالتوحد واضطرابات نفسية أخرى
andriano.cz/Shutterstock

في معظم الخلايا التريليونية التي تتكون منها أجسامنا ، تخزن أزواج 23 من الكروموسومات خيوط الدنا الحيوية الضرورية لجعل أجسامنا تنمو وتعمل بشكل صحيح. ولكن إذا كانت كمية المادة الوراثية الموجودة في خلايانا قليلة جدًا أو صغيرة جدًا ، فقد يتعارض ذلك مع التطور الطبيعي. يمكن أن يؤدي أيضًا إلى متلازمات مثل متلازمة داون ومتلازمة حذف 22q11.2 - ثاني أكثر متلازمة شائعة بعد اسفل - و 16p11.2 الحذف أو متلازمة الازدواجية.

يوضح اسم 16p11.2 مكان وجود الأجزاء الجينية المفقودة أو الإضافية (والمعروفة باسم المتغيرات في عدد النسخ أو CNVs) في الحمض النووي للأشخاص الذين لديهم هذه الحذف أو الازدواجية. لدى الأشخاص الذين لديهم الحذف 16p11.2 جزءًا صغيرًا من المادة الوراثية مفقودة على أحد الكروموسومين رقم 16 ، في حين أن الأشخاص الذين لديهم نسخة 16p11.2 لديهم نسخة إضافية من هذا الجزء.

فكر في الأمر كما لو كان الدنا هو خزانة الكتب والكتب هي الكروموسومات. تكون عمليات الحذف عند عدم وجود فقرة في كتاب ما ، وتكون الازدواجية عند تكرارها. تحدد p11.2 الموقع المحدد - يشير "p" إلى أنه في النصف الأول من كتاب 16th (chromosome 16) في خزانة الكتب هذه ، "11" ، أي الفصل و "2" الذي يحتوي على بعض النص مفقود أو إضافي.

المشاكل المرتبطة بشكل شائع بحذف 16p11.2 أو الازدواجية تشمل التأخر في النمو ، والمشاكل في الحركات الإجمالية والغرامة ، ونبرة العضلات المنخفضة (المعروفة باسم hypotonia). كما تم الإبلاغ عن الصرع وصعوبات في تطوير الكلام واللغة.

معظم الناس الذين تم اختبارهم ل 16p11.2 تأتي لاهتمام المهنيين الطبيين بسبب التأخر التنموي أو السلوك التوحدي. في الواقع ، 16p11.2 الحذف والازدواجية هي من بين أقوى عوامل الخطر الجينية للتوحد. معدل انتشار التوحد في 16p11.2 الحذف والازدواجية هو أعلى من ذلك بكثير (من 15 إلى 26٪) مقارنةً بعامة السكان (~ 1.7٪).

16p11.2 الازدواجية ، ولكن ليس الحذف ، هو تتعلق أيضا ل خطر لحالة الصحة العقلية أخرى: انفصام الشخصية. غير أنه من غير الواضح ، إذا كان حذف 16p11.2 والازدواجية مرتبطين بمخاطر ظروف الصحة العقلية الأخرى.

اضطرابات نفسية

لقد نشرنا مؤخرا نتائج أكبر دراسة حتى الآن الذي فحص نوع وتواتر مجموعة من الحالات النفسية عند الأطفال مع حذف 16p11.2 أو الازدواجية. بمساعدة أسر من المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة ، درسنا الأطفال 217 مع الحذف و 77 من أشقائهم دون الحذف ، وكذلك الأطفال 114 مع الازدواج و 32 من أشقائهم دون الازدواجية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في 16p11.2 ، جزء من الحمض النووي على الكروموسوم 16 مفقود أو متكرر. (ترتبط التغيرات الجينية النادرة بالتوحد واضطرابات نفسية أخرى)في 16p11.2 ، جزء من الحمض النووي على الكروموسوم 16 مفقود أو متكرر. Anusorn Nakdee / Shutterstock

هذا العمل ، الذي كان تعاونًا دوليًا بين المملكة المتحدة كارديف ECHO . معرف IMAGINE الدراسات ، وكونسورتيوم 16p11.2 الأوروبي و سايمونز في آي سي كونسورتيوم في الولايات المتحدة ، يعتمد على الأبحاث السابقة في 16p11.2. تشير النتائج الجديدة التي توصلنا إليها إلى أن العواقب الصحية العقلية للحذف والازدواجية واسعة النطاق ، وتشمل تواترًا مرتفعًا لمجموعة من مشكلات الصحة العقلية بما في ذلك اضطراب نقص الانتباه وفرط الحركة (ADHD).

يظهر بحثنا أن الأطفال الذين يعانون من الحذف أو الازدواجية لديهم فرصة أكبر في الحصول على اضطراب نفسي واحد على الأقل من إخوتهم بدون CNV. وبشكل خاص ، يكون خطر الإصابة باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه أعلى لدى الأطفال الذين يعانون من الحذف أو الازدواجية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وجدنا أن الأطفال الذين يعانون من الحذف أو الازدواجية لديهم تكرار مماثل للتوحد ، مما يكرر النتائج السابقة.

توضح النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أيضًا أن الاعتراف بحقيقة أن 16p11.2 الحذف والازدواج يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مشكلات في الصحة العقلية أمرًا مهمًا ، بحيث يمكن وضع التشخيص والعلاج في مرحلة مبكرة من التطوير. ولكن تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه ليس كل الأطفال الذين يعانون من الحذف أو الازدواجية في دراستنا كان لديهم مشاكل نفسية. هناك حاجة إلى بحث مستقبلي لفهم سبب إصابة بعض الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الحذف أو الازدواجية بمشاكل صحية عقلية بينما لا يفعل الآخرون ذلك. وهذا يمكن أن يساعد في تطوير التدخل المبكر لمشاكل الصحة العقلية للحد من مخاطر الاضطرابات النفسية الخطيرة والمتجذرة أسفل الخط.

مزيد من البحوث

16p11.2 CNVs نادرة نسبيًا. تحدث في ثلاثة من كل 10,000 الناس. يستغرق الأمر الكثير من الوقت والجهد لبناء دراسة تحتوي على أعداد كافية من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الظروف النادرة ، وليس من السهل على الباحثين الحصول على تمويل لهذه المشاريع.

ولكن من المهم جدًا الحصول على هذه المعلومات حتى يعرف المحترفون الطبيون كيفية تأثر هؤلاء المرضى ، وكيفية مساعدتهم على أفضل وجه. كما يمكن للبحوث مثلنا أن تساعد الناس وعائلاتهم في تفسير سلوكيات أو أعراض معينة مرتبطة بهذه المتلازمات ومعرفة متى يطلبون المساعدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تحتاج العائلات إلى هذه المعلومات لتمكينها. نظرًا لأن هذه الحالات نادرة جدًا ، قد لا يكون طبيبها على علم بـ 16p11.2.

نحن حريصون على فهم أفضل لكيفية تطور الشباب مع 16p11.2 الحذف والازدواجية إلى مرحلة المراهقة والبلوغ ، ونأمل أن نكون قادرين على رؤية الأطفال الذين شاركوا في دراستنا مرة أخرى لمعرفة كيف يفعلون. كما تهتم دراسة ECHO لدينا بالظروف الوراثية النادرة الأخرى ، مثل الحذف أو الازدواجية في الكروموسومات 1 و 3 و 9 و 15 و 22. من خلال مقارنة هذه التنوعات المختلفة ، نأمل أن نفهم بشكل أفضل كيف أن أشياء مثل التعلم والتطوير والصحة العقلية موجودة بطرق مشابهة لجميع المجموعات ، وكيف أن بعض خلايا CNV لها نتائج محددة.

لمعرفة المزيد عن دراستنا للأفراد الذين يعانون من الحذف أو الازدواجية في 16p11.2 والظروف الوراثية الأخرى ، يرجى زيارة موقع الكترونيأو اتصل بنا مباشرة على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو على + 44 (0) 29 2068 8038.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

ماريا نياركو ، باحث مشارك ، قسم الطب النفسي وعلم الأعصاب السريري ، جامعة كارديف ماريان فان دن بري ، أستاذة ، قسم الطب النفسي وعلم الأعصاب السريري ، جامعة كارديف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = autism and genetics؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Rare Genetic Changes Are Linked To Autism And Other Psychiatric Disorders

Rare Genetic Changes Are Linked To Autism And Other Psychiatric Disorders
andriano.cz/Shutterstock

In most of the trillion cells that make up our bodies, 23 pairs of chromosomes store the vital strands of DNA needed to make our bodies grow and function properly. But if the amount of genetic material within our cells is a bit too much or too little, then this can potentially interfere with normal development. It can also lead to syndromes such as Down Syndrome, 22q11.2 Deletion Syndrome – the second most common syndrome after Down – and 16p11.2 deletion or duplication syndrome.

The name 16p11.2 explains where the missing or extra genetic parts (otherwise known as copy number variants or CNVs) are located in the DNA of people with these deletions or duplications. Those with 16p11.2 deletion have a tiny part of genetic material missing on one of their two number 16 chromosomes, while people with 16p11.2 duplication have an extra copy of this part.

Think of it as if DNA is a bookcase and the books are the chromosomes. Deletions are when a paragraph within a book is missing, and duplications are when they are repeated. p11.2 specifies the exact location – “p” indicates it is in the first half of the 16th book (chromosome 16) in this bookcase, “11” which chapter and “2” which paragraph has some text missing or extra.

Problems commonly associated with a 16p11.2 deletion or duplication include developmental delay, issues with gross and fine movements, and low muscle tone (known as hypotonia). Epilepsy and difficulties with speech and language development have also been reported.

Most people who are tested for 16p11.2 come to the attention of medical professionals due to developmental delay or autistic behaviour. In fact, 16p11.2 deletion and duplication are among the strongest genetic risk factors for autism. The prevalence rate of autism in 16p11.2 deletions and duplications is much higher (15 to 26%) than in the general population (~1.7%).

16p11.2 duplication, but not deletion, is also related to risk for another mental health condition: schizophrenia. It has been unclear, however, if 16p11.2 deletion and duplication are related to risk for other mental health conditions.

Psychiatric disorders

We have recently published the findings of the largest study to date which examined the kind and frequency of a range of psychiatric conditions in children with 16p11.2 deletion or duplication. With the help of families from the UK and US, we studied 217 children with the deletion and 77 of their siblings without the deletion, as well as 114 children with the duplication and 32 of their siblings without the duplication.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In 16p11.2, part of the DNA on chromosome 16 is missing or repeated. (rare genetic changes are linked to autism and other psychiatric disorders)In 16p11.2, part of the DNA on chromosome 16 is missing or repeated. Anusorn Nakdee/Shutterstock

This work, which was an international collaboration between the UK-based Cardiff ECHO and IMAGINE ID studies, the 16p11.2 European Consortium and the Simons VIP Consortium in the US, builds on previous research into 16p11.2. Our new findings indicate that the mental health consequences of the deletion and duplication are broad, and include a high frequency of a range of mental health problems including attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).

Our research shows that children with the deletion or duplication have a higher chance of having at least one psychiatric disorder than their siblings without the CNV. Particularly, risk of ADHD is higher in children with the deletion or duplication. In addition, we found that children with the deletion or duplication had similar frequency of autism, replicating previous findings.

Our findings also highlight that recognition of the fact that 16p11.2 deletion and duplication can lead to mental health problems is important, so that diagnosis and treatment early in development can be put in place. But it must be noted that not all children with 16p11.2 deletion or duplication in our study had psychiatric problems. Future research is needed to understand why some people with these deletions or duplications do develop mental health problems while others do not. This could help with the development of early intervention for mental health problems to reduce the risk of serious and engrained psychiatric disorders down the line.

Further research

16p11.2 CNVs are relatively rare. They occur in three out of every 10,000 people. It takes a lot of time and effort to build a study with sufficient numbers of people with these rare conditions and it isn’t easy for researchers to obtain funding for such projects.

But it is very important to have this information so that medical professionals know how these patients are affected, and how to best help them. Research like ours can also help people and their families interpret certain behaviours or symptoms associated with these syndromes and know when to seek help. In addition, families need this information to empower them. Because these conditions are so rare, their doctor may not be aware of 16p11.2.

We are keen to better understand how young people with 16p11.2 deletion and duplication develop into adolescence and adulthood, and hope to be able to see the children who took part in our study again to find out how they are doing. Our ECHO study is also interested in other rare genetic conditions, such as deletion or duplication on chromosomes 1, 3, 9, 15 and 22. By comparing these different CNVs we hope to better understand how things like learning and development and mental health present in similar ways for all groups, and how certain CNVs have specific outcomes.

To find out more about our studies of individuals with 16p11.2 deletion or duplication and other genetic conditions, please visit our website, or contact us directly at [email protected] or on +44 (0)29 2068 8038.The Conversation

About The Authors

Maria Niarchou, Research Associate, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, Cardiff University and Marianne van den Bree, Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=autism and genetics;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}