كيف الجينات والتطور شكل الهوية الجنسانية

كيف الجينات والتطور شكل الهوية الجنسانيةهناك العديد من الجينات المشاركة في تشكيل ليس فقط الجنس البيولوجي لدينا ، ولكن أيضا هوية النوع لدينا. Limor Zellermayer / Unsplash ، CC BY

عدم التوافق بين الجنس البيولوجي والهوية الجنسانية ، وبلغت ذروتها في أشد أشكالها دائهم، وقد نسبت إلى مرض عقليضعف الأسرة و صدمة الطفولة.

لكن تراكم الأدلة يعني الآن العوامل البيولوجية في تحديد الهوية الجنسية ، ودور ل جينات معينة.

قد تكون المتغيرات - التي تختلف اختلافًا بارعًا - للجينات المرتبطة بهوية النوع الاجتماعي ، ببساطة ، جزءًا من مجموعة من الجندر والجنس التي تم الحفاظ عليها عبر التاريخ البشري.

المتحولين جنسيا والجنس dysphoria

بعض الأولاد الصغار يبدون تفضيلاً مبكراً لارتداء الملابس والتصرف كالبنات. بعض الفتيات مقتنعات أنه يجب أن يكونوا أولاد.

هذا عدم تطابق واضح من الجنس البيولوجي والهوية بين الجنسين يمكن أن يؤدي إلى شديدة دائهم. إلى جانب البلطجة المدرسية ورفض الأسرة ، يمكن أن تجعل حياة أ العذاب للشباب، ومعدل الانتحار هو عالية بشكل مخيف.

بينما ينتقلون إلى مرحلة البلوغ ، تقريبًا نصف هؤلاء الأطفال (أو حتى أكثر عندما تكون الدراسات استجوبه عن كثب) ، الاستمرار في الشعور بقوة أنهم ولدوا في الجسم الخطأ. يسعى الكثيرون إلى العلاج - الهرمونات والجراحة - للانتقال إلى الجنس الذي يحددونه.

ورغم أن التحولات من الذكور إلى الإناث والاناث إلى الذكور (FtM) أصبحت الآن أكثر قبولا وقبولا ، إلا أن الطريق إلى الانتقال لا يزال محفوفا بالشكوك والغموض.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وقد transwomen (ولد من الذكور) و transmen (ولد الإناث) جزء من المجتمع في كل ثقافة في كل مرة. تواترها وضوحها هي وظيفة من أعراف المجتمع ، وفي معظم المجتمعات عانوا التمييز أو ما هو أسوأ.

وينبع هذا التمييز من موقف متواصل بأن تحديد المتحولين جنسياً هو انحراف عن النمو الجنسي الطبيعي ، ربما تفاقم بسبب أحداث مثل الصدمة أو المرض.

ومع ذلك ، ظهر على مدار العقود الماضية إدراك متنامٍ بأن مشاعر المتحولين جنسياً تبدأ مبكراً جداً ومتسقة جداً - مما يشير إلى أساس بيولوجي.

هذا أدى إلى العديد من عمليات البحث عن التوقيعات البيولوجية من transsexualism ، بما في ذلك تقارير الاختلافات في الهرمونات الجنسية ومطالبات اختلافات الدماغ.

الجينات الجنسية والمتحولين جنسيا

في 1980s تأثرتني بالدعوة الشغوفة لـ هربرت باور، وهو طبيب نفساني عمل مع المتحولين جنسياً في ملبورن. كان محترمًا في مجتمع المتحوّلين جنسيا لاستعداده للتخويل لعمليات تغيير الجنس ، التي كانت مثيرة للجدل في ذلك الوقت. بعد وصوله إلى 90s ، وصل إلى مختبري في 1988 لاستكشاف إمكانية أن يكون الاختلاف في الجينات التي تحدد الجنس هو الذي يكمن وراء المتحولين جنسيا.

تساءل الدكتور باور عما إذا كان الجين الذي يتحكم في نمو الذكور قد يعمل بشكل مختلف في الأولاد المتحولين جنسيا. هذا الجين (يدعى SRY ، والذي هو وجدت على الكروموسوم Y.تحفز تكوين الخُصية في الجنين ؛ تجعل الخصية الهرمونات والهرمونات تجعل الطفل الذكر.

هناك ، في الواقع ، المتغيرات من الجين SRY. بعض لا تعمل على الإطلاق ، والأطفال الذين لديهم كروموسوم Y ولكن متحولة SRY هي ولد أنثى. ومع ذلك ، فهم ليسوا متحولين جنسياً بشكل غير متناسب. ولا كثير من الناس يولدون مع اختلافات من الجينات الأخرى في مسار تحديد الجنس.

بعد العديد من المناقشات ، وافق الدكتور باور على أن الجين المحدد للجنس ربما لم يشارك مباشرة - ولكن فكرة الجينات التي تؤثر على الهوية الجنسية ترسخت. فهل هناك جينات منفصلة تؤثر على الهوية الجنسية؟

دليل على المتغيرات الجينات في المتحولين جنسيا

عادة ما يبدأ البحث عن المتغيرات الجينية التي تكمن وراء أي سمة بدراسات ثنائية.

هناك تقارير أن توأمان متماثلان أكثر احتمالا لتكون متطابقة (سواء كان كلا المتحولين جنسيا ، أو كليهما cisgender) من التوائم الأخوية أو الأشقاء. من المحتمل أن يكون هذا تقديراً ناقصاً لأن أحد التوأمين قد لا يرغب في الخروج كعبر عابر ، وبالتالي يقلل من التقارب. هذا يشير إلى مكون وراثي كبير.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم دراسة جينات معينة بالتفصيل في transwomen و transmen. واحد دراسة نظر في الارتباطات بين كونها العابرة ومتغيرات معينة من بعض الجينات في مسار الهرمون.

كيف الجينات والتطور شكل الهوية الجنسانيةتساعدنا دراسات التوائم على معرفة الجينات المشاركة في تحديد الهوية. Keisha Montfleury / Unsplash, CC BY

حديث وكبير دراسة عينات مجمعة من 380 transwomen الذين قاموا بعمليات تغيير الجنس أو خططوا لها. نظروا بالتفصيل الدقيق في 12 من "المشتبه بهم المعتاد" - الجينات المشاركة في مسارات الهرمون. ووجد الباحثون أن transwomen لها تواتر عال من أنواع مختلفة من الحمض النووي لأربعة جينات من شأنها أن تغير إشارات الهرمونات الجنسية أثناء تطورها في الرحم.

قد يكون هناك العديد من الجينات الأخرى التي تسهم في الهوية الجنسية أو الهوية الجنسية الذكورية. ليسوا بالضرورة مهتمين جميعًا بإشارات هرمون الجنس - قد يؤثر البعض على وظائف الدماغ وسلوكه.

والخطوة التالية في استكشاف هذا الأمر أكثر من ذلك هي مقارنة متواليات الجينوم الكاملة من الأشخاص المتخنثين والمتحولين جنسياً. إن تحليلات الجينوم الوراثي الكاملة ، التي تبحث في الجزيئات التي تؤثر على كيفية عمل الجينات في الجسم ، قد تلتقط أيضًا اختلافات في عمل الجينات.

من المحتمل أن العديد من الجينات - ربما المئات - تعمل معاً لإنتاج مجموعة كبيرة من الهويات الجنسية.

كيف تعمل "جينات الهوية الجنسية" في مجال المتحولين جنسيا؟

لا يجب أن تكون جينات الهوية الجنسية على الكروموسومات الجنسية. لذلك لن يكونوا بالضرورة "متزامنين" مع وجود كروموسوم Y وجين SRY. وهذا يتماشى مع الملاحظات التي تفيد بأن الهوية الجنسية قابلة للفصل عن الجنس البيولوجي.

وهذا يعني أنه من بين الجنسين نتوقع انتشارًا أكثر هوية نسائية وأكثر هوية. وهذا يعني ، في عموم السكان من الذكور كنت تتوقع أن ترى مجموعة من الهويات من الذكورية بشدة إلى أكثر أنوثة. وبين الإناث من بين السكان سترى مجموعة من أنوثة قوية إلى هويات أكثر ذكوراً. ومن المتوقع أن ينتج هذا transwomen في أحد طرفي التوزيع ، و transmen من جهة أخرى.

كيف الجينات والتطور شكل الهوية الجنسانيةهناك مجموعة طبيعية في الهوية الذكورية والمؤنثة. جون Schnobrich / unsplash, CC BY

يمكن أن يحدث هذا الحد من الهويات المختلفة مع سمة مثل الارتفاع. على الرغم من أن الرجال حول 14 سم أطول من النساء في المتوسط ​​، فمن الطبيعي أن نرى الرجال القصير والنساء طويل القامة. إنها مجرد جزء من التوزيع الطبيعي لخاصية بشرية معينة تم التعبير عنها بشكل مختلف في الرجال والنساء.

هذه الحجة هي مماثلة لتلك التي أنا سبق وصفها لما يسمى "الجينات المثلية". لقد اقترحت أن يفسر جاذبية الجنس الواحد بسهولة من خلال العديد من "المحبة للذكور" و "المحبة للإناث" من جينات اختيار الشريك التي يتم توريثها بشكل مستقل عن الجنس.

لماذا يكون المتحولون جنسيًا متكررًا؟

المتحولين جنسيا هو ليس نادرا (MtF of 1 / 200، FtM of 1 / 400). إذا كانت الهوية الجنسية تتأثر بشدة بالجينات ، فإن هذا يؤدي إلى تساؤلات حول سبب الحفاظ عليه لدى السكان إذا كان لدى transmen و transwomen عدد أقل من الأطفال.

أقترح أن الجينات التي تؤثر على الهوية الجنسية يتم اختيارها بشكل إيجابي في الجنس الآخر. يمكن للنساء المؤنثات والرجال الذكوريين أن يتشاركون في وقت مبكر وأن يكون لديهم المزيد من الأطفال ، الذين ينقلون لهم أشكال الجينات المتعلقة بهوياتهم الجنسية. إذا نظرنا إلى ما إذا كانت أقارب النساء عبر النساء ، وأقارب الرجال العابرين ، لديهم أطفال أكثر من متوسطات ، فإنهم سيختبرون هذه الفرضية.

قدمت الكثير من نفس الحجة لشرح لماذا الشذوذ الجنسي هو شائع جدا ، على الرغم من مثلي الجنس من الرجال عدد أقل من الأطفال من المتوسط. اقترحت أن يشترك الرجال المثليون في أشكال الجينات "المحبة للذكور" مع أقاربهم الإناث ، الذين يتزاوجون في وقت مبكر ويمررون هذا الجين على المزيد من الأطفال. واتضح أن الأقارب من النساء مثلي الجنس لديك المزيد من الأطفال.

وبالتالي ، يمكن اعتبار هذه المتغيرات من الهوية والسلوك الجنسي أمثلة على ما نسميه "العداء الجنسي" ، حيث يكون متغير الجينات لديه قيم انتقائية مختلفة لدى الرجال والنساء. إنه يجعل لمجموعة مذهلة من السلوكيات الجنسية البشرية التي بدأنا في التعرف عليها.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيني غريفز ، أستاذ متميز في علم الوراثة ، جامعة لا تروب

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = رفاهية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Genes And Evolution Shape Gender Identity

genes

How Genes And Evolution Shape Gender IdentityThere are many genes involved in shaping not just our biological sex, but also our gender identity. Limor Zellermayer/Unsplash, CC BY

Mismatch between biological sex and gender identity, culminating in its severest form as gender dysphoria, has been ascribed to mental disease, family dysfunction and childhood trauma.

But accumulating evidence now implies biological factors in establishing gender identity, and a role for particular genes.

Variants – subtly different versions – of genes linked with gender identity might simply be part of a spectrum of gender and sexuality maintained throughout human history.

Transgender and gender dysphoria

Some young boys show an early preference for dressing and behaving as girls; some young girls are convinced they should be boys.

This apparent mismatch of biological sex and gender identity can lead to severe gender dysphoria. Coupled with school bullying and family rejection, it can make lives a torment for young people, and the rate of suicide is frighteningly high.

As they move into adulthood, nearly half of these children (or even more when the studies are closely interrogated), continue to feel strongly that they were born in the wrong body. Many seek treatment – hormones and surgery – to transition into the sex with which they identify.

Although male to female (MtF) and female to male (FtM) transitions are now much more available and accepted, the road to transition is still fraught with uncertainty and opprobrium.

Transwomen (born male) and transmen (born female) have been a part of society in every culture at every time. Their frequency and visibility is a function of societal mores, and in most societies they have suffered discrimination or worse.

This discrimination stems from a persistent attitude that transgender identification is an aberration of normal sexual development, perhaps exacerbated by events such as trauma or illness.

However, over the last decades, growing recognition emerged that transgender feelings start very early and are very consistent – pointing to a biological basis.

This led to many searches for biological signatures of transsexualism, including reports of differences in sex hormones and claims of brain differences.

Sex genes and transgender

In the 1980s I was swayed by the passionate advocacy of Herbert Bower, a psychiatrist who worked with transsexuals in Melbourne. He was revered in the transgender community for his willingness to authorise sex change operations, which were highly controversial at the time. Aged in his 90s, he came to my laboratory in 1988 to explore the possibility that variation in the genes that determine sex could underlie transgender.

Dr Bower wondered if the gene that controls male development might work differently in transgender boys. This gene (called SRY, and which is found on the Y chromosome) triggers the formation of a testis in the embryo; the testis makes hormones and the hormones make the baby male.

There are, indeed, variants of the SRY gene. Some don’t work at all, and babies who have a Y chromosome but a mutant SRY are born female. However, they are not disproportionately transgender. Nor are the many people born with variants of other genes in the sex determining pathway.

After many discussions, Dr Bower agreed that the sex determining gene was probably not directly involved – but the idea of genes affecting sexual identity took root. So are there separate genes that affect gender identity?

Evidence for gene variants in transgender

The search for gene variants that underlie any trait usually starts with twin studies.

There are reports that identical twins are much more likely to be concordant (that is both transgender, or both cisgender) than fraternal twins or siblings. This is probably an underestimation given that one twin may not wish to come out as trans, thus underestimating the concordance. This suggests a substantial genetic component.

ore recently, particular genes have been studied in detail in transwomen and transmen. One study looked at associations between being trans and particular variants of some genes in the hormone pathway.

How Genes And Evolution Shape Gender IdentityStudies of twins help us learn about the genes involved in determining identity. Keisha Montfleury/Unsplash, CC BY

A recent and much larger study assembled samples from 380 transwomen who had, or planned, sex change operations. They looked in fine detail at 12 of the “usual suspects” – genes involved in hormone pathways. They found that transwomen had a high frequency of particular DNA variants of four genes that would alter sex hormone signalling while they had been developing in utero.

There may be many other genes that contribute to a feminine or a masculine sexual identity. They are not necessarily all concerned with sex hormone signalling – some may affect brain function and behaviour.

The next step in exploring this further would be to compare whole genome sequences of cis- and transsexual people. Whole genome epigenetic analyses, looking at the molecules that affect how genes function in the body, might also pick up differences in the action of genes.

It’s probable that many – maybe hundreds – of genes work together to produce a great range of sexual identities.

How would “sexual identity genes” work in transgender?

Sexual identity genes don’t have to be on sex chromosomes. So they will not necessarily be “in sync” with having a Y chromosome and an SRY gene. This is in line with observations that gender identity is separable from biological sex.

This means that among both sexes we would expect a spread of more feminine and more masculine identity. That is to say, in the general population of males you would expect to see a range of identities from strongly masculine to more feminine. And among females in the population you would see a range from strongly feminine to more masculine identities. This would be expected to produce transwomen at one end of the distribution, and transmen at the other.

How Genes And Evolution Shape Gender IdentityThere is a natural range in masculine and feminine identity. John Schnobrich/unsplash, CC BY

This occurrence of a range of differing identities would be comparable with a trait such as height. Although men are about 14 cm taller than women on average, it’s perfectly normal to see short men and tall women. It’s just part of the normal distribution of a certain human characteristic expressed differently in men and women.

This argument is similar to that which I previously described for so-called “gay genes”. I suggested same–sex attraction can readily be explained by many “male-loving” and “female-loving” variants of mate choice genes that are inherited independently of sex.

Why is transgender so frequent then?

Transgender is not rare (MtF of 1/200, FtM of 1/400). If gender identity is strongly influenced by genes, this leads to questions about why it is maintained in the population if transmen and transwomen have fewer children.

I suggest genes that influence sexual identity are positively selected in the other sex. Feminine women and masculine men may partner earlier and have more kids, to whom they pass on their gender identity gene variants. Looking at whether the female relatives of transwomen, and the male relatives of transmen, have more children than average, would test this hypothesis.

I made much the same argument to explain why homosexuality is so common, although gay men have fewer children than average. I suggested gay men share their “male loving” gene variants with their female relatives, who mate earlier and pass this gene variant on to more children. And it turns out that the female relatives of gay men do have more children.

These variants of sexual identity and behaviour may therefore be considered examples of what we call “sexual antagonism”, in which a gene variant has different selective values in men and women. It makes for the amazing variety of human sexual behaviours that we are beginning to recognise.The Conversation

About The Author

Jenny Graves, Distinguished Professor of Genetics, La Trobe University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=wellbeing;maxresults=3}

genes
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}