لماذا بطارية الهاتف لدينا تموت بسرعة؟

لماذا بطارية الهاتف لدينا تموت بسرعة؟
بالفعل دون مقابل - مرة أخرى؟! fizkes / Shutterstock.com

لماذا تموت البطاريات؟ ولماذا لا يمكن إعادة شحنها إلا مرات عديدة قبل أن لا يحتفظوا بعدد مفيد من الشحنات؟ سألني ابني الصغير عن تلك السنوات عندما توقفت سيارته التي تعمل بالبطارية عن التحرك ، متسائلاً عما أسماه "البطاريات الأبدية". وربما عبر هذا السؤال نفسه عقل كل مستخدم للهواتف المحمولة يحاول إرسال نص أخير قبل تطفئ الشاشة.

البحوث ، مثل الألغام, يستمر حول العالم لجعل البطاريات التي تشحن أسرع ، تدوم لفترة أطول ، ويمكن إعادة شحنها وتفريغها مرات أكثر من اليوم. ولكن بقدر ما كنت وأريد ، من المستحيل صنع بطارية أبدية حقا. لقد علمت الديناميكا الحرارية لأكثر من سنوات 30. حتى الآن ، لا يوجد شيء يوحي بأننا قادرون على تحطيم القوانين الأساسية للعلوم للحصول على هذه البطارية المراوغة.

يصف علماء ومهندسو البطارية المشكلة الرئيسية بـ "القدرة على التلاشي". ويتساءل الناس العاديون عن أسئلة مثل "لماذا لا تحتفظ بطاريتي بشحنة؟" ، وشكاوى مثل "لقد أعدت شحن هذا الشيء ، وأخرجته مرة أخرى!"

انها نتيجة لل القانون الثاني للديناميكا الحراريةالتي تنص على أنه كلما حدثت عملية حقيقية ، فإنها تخلق كمية معينة من الطاقة المهدرة على طول الطريقة التي لا يمكن استردادها أبدًا. في أي وقت يتم فيه شحن البطارية أو تفريغها ، هناك القليل من الطاقة الضائعة - القليل من القدرة الضائعة في البطارية التي لا يمكن استردادها.

لتتصور كيف يعمل هذا ، فكر في استخدام البطارية مثل نقل المياه بين كوبين. استخدام البطارية يشبه إفراغ المياه من كوب إلى آخر ، وشحن البطارية ينطوي على صب الماء مرة أخرى في الكأس الأول. حتى لو كنت تفعل ذلك مرة أو مرتين دون أن تسقط قطرة ، فهناك دائما القليل من اليسار في كل كوب لا يمكنك صبه.

هناك دائما على الأقل القليل من اليسار

الآن تخيل صب يتدفق ذهابا وإيابا مئات أو حتى آلاف المرات على مدى فترة سنتين أو ثلاث سنوات (لبطارية الهاتف المحمول) أو 10 إلى 20 سنوات (لسيارة كهربائية). مع مرور الوقت ، فإن كل آلاف الأشياء الصغيرة والكبيرة التي تخطئ تضيف الكثير من الماء المفقود. حتى إراقة قطرة بالكاد يمكن رؤيتها - على سبيل المثال عشر جزء من الملليمتر - تضيف إلى لتر كامل إذا حدث ذلك في مرات 10,000. وهذا لا يشمل حتى إمكانية فشل أحد الكؤوس بطريقة تفقد قدرًا أكبر من المياه - مثل نشوء تسرب أو تسخين وتسبب التبخر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وكما أن الماء يفتقد حتما عندما يتدفق من فنجان إلى آخر ، فإن هناك حاجة إلى طاقة أكبر لشحن البطارية أكثر مما تخزنه ، كما أن كمية أقل من الطاقة تخرج من تلك المخزنة بها. نسبة الطاقة المهدرة للطاقة المخزنة تنمو مع مرور الوقت.

المحادثةفي الواقع ، كلما استخدمت بطارية أكثر ، كلما ازدادت طاقة الطاقة ، وكلما اقتربت البطارية من نقطة لا يمكن إعادة شحنها. أنا والبعض الآخر دراسة طرق إجراء دورات إعادة الشحن هذه بسلاسة أكبر لتقليل كمية النفايات ، ولكن القانون الثاني للديناميكا الحرارية سيحرص دائمًا على التأكد من عدم وجود طريقة للتخلص منها بالكامل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيف دبليو مارتن ، أستاذ علوم وهندسة المواد ، جامعة ولاية أيوا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = about batteries؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Does Our Phone Battery Die So Fast?

Why Does Our Phone Battery Die So Fast?
Already out of charge – again?! fizkes/Shutterstock.com

Why do batteries die? And, why can they only be recharged so many times before they won’t hold a useful amount of charge? My young son asked me about that years ago when his battery-powered toy car stopped moving, wondering about what he called an “everlasting battery.” And this same question has probably crossed the mind of every cellphone user trying to send one last text before the screen blinks off.

Research, like mine, continues around the world to make batteries that charge faster, last longer, and can be recharged and discharged many more times than today’s. But as much as you and I would like, it’s impossible to make a truly everlasting battery. I have taught thermodynamics for more than 30 years. So far, there is nothing that suggests we can break the fundamental laws of science to get that elusive battery.

Battery scientists and engineers call the main problem “capacity fade.” Regular people wonder about it with questions like “Why won’t my battery hold a charge?” and complaints like “I just recharged this thing and it’s already out again!”

It’s a result of the second law of thermodynamics, which states that whenever some real process happens, it creates a certain amount of wasted energy along the way that can never be recovered. Any time a battery is charged or discharged, there’s a little bit of wasted energy – a little bit of wasted capacity in the battery that cannot be recovered.

To envision how this works, think about battery use like transferring water between two cups. Using a battery is like emptying the water from one cup into the other, and charging the battery involves pouring the water back into the first cup. Even if you do it one or two times without spilling a drop, there’s always just a little tiny bit left in each cup that you can’t pour out.

There’s always at least a little left over

Now imagine pouring back and forth hundreds or even thousands of times over a period of two or three years (for a cellphone battery) or 10 to 20 years (for an electric car). Over time, all the thousands of little and big things that go wrong add up to quite a bit of water going missing. Even spilling a barely visible drop – say one-tenth of a milliliter – adds up to an entire liter if it happens 10,000 times. That doesn’t even include the possibility of one cup failing in some way that loses even more water – like springing a leak or heating up and causing evaporation.

Just as water inevitably goes missing when pouring from one cup to another, more energy is required to charge the battery than it actually stores, and less energy comes out than is stored in it. The proportion of wasted energy to stored energy grows over time.

The ConversationIn fact, the more you use a battery, the more energy gets wasted, and the sooner the battery will reach a point where it’s dead and can’t usefully be recharged. I and others are studying ways to have those discharging-recharging cycles run more smoothly to reduce the amount of waste, but the second law of thermodynamics will always make sure that there’s no way to get rid of it entirely.

About The Author

Steve W. Martin, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Iowa State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

5 Things Every Golf Cart Owner Needs To Know About Their Golf Cart's Batteries
scienceAuthor: Mr Michael K. Rosenbarker
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $6.89

Buy Now

Should I Strap A Battery To My Head? (And Other Questions About Emotion)
scienceAuthor: Prof Peter A Totterdell
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $13.95

Buy Now

Everything you ever wanted to know about batteries for domestic power, but were afraid to ask: How to design & build your own domestic free energy solution
scienceAuthor: Phoenix Xavier
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}