Warum stirbt unsere Telefonbatterie so schnell?

Warum stirbt unsere Telefonbatterie so schnell?
Schon wieder kostenlos - schon wieder ?! fizkes / Shutterstock.com

Warum sterben Batterien? Und warum können sie nur so viele Male aufgeladen werden, bevor sie keine brauchbare Menge an Ladung haben? Mein kleiner Sohn hat mich vor Jahren gefragt, als sein batteriebetriebenes Spielzeugauto aufhörte, sich zu bewegen. Er fragte sich, was er eine "ewige Batterie" nannte. Und diese Frage ist wohl jedem Handybenutzer in den Sinn gekommen, der versucht hat, einen letzten Text zu verschicken Der Bildschirm blinkt aus.

Forschung, wie meine, geht auf der ganzen Welt weiter um Batterien zu machen, die schneller laden, länger halten, und viel öfter als die heutigen aufgeladen und entladen werden können. Aber so viel wie du und ich möchten, ist es unmöglich, eine wirklich ewige Batterie zu machen. Ich habe Thermodynamik für mehr als 30 Jahren gelehrt. Bis jetzt deutet nichts darauf hin, dass wir die grundlegenden Gesetze der Wissenschaft brechen können, um diese schwer fassbare Batterie zu bekommen.

Batteriewissenschaftler und -ingenieure nennen das Hauptproblem "Kapazitätsschwund". Regelmäßige Menschen wundern sich darüber mit Fragen wie "Warum wird mein Akku nicht geladen?" Und Beschwerden wie "Ich habe gerade dieses Ding aufgeladen und es ist schon wieder draußen!"

Es ist ein Ergebnis der zweiter Hauptsatz der ThermodynamikEs besagt, dass immer dann, wenn ein realer Prozess stattfindet, eine gewisse Menge verschwendeter Energie auf dem Weg entsteht, die niemals wiedergewonnen werden kann. Jedes Mal, wenn eine Batterie geladen oder entladen wird, gibt es ein wenig verschwendet Energie - ein wenig verschwendet Kapazität in der Batterie, die nicht wiederhergestellt werden kann.

Um sich vorzustellen, wie das funktioniert, denken Sie über den Gebrauch von Batterien nach, wie das Übertragen von Wasser zwischen zwei Bechern. Eine Batterie zu benutzen ist wie das Wasser von einer Tasse in die andere zu entleeren, und das Aufladen der Batterie beinhaltet, das Wasser zurück in die erste Tasse zu gießen. Selbst wenn Sie es ein- oder zweimal machen, ohne einen Tropfen zu verschütten, bleibt immer noch ein kleines bisschen in jeder Tasse, das Sie nicht ausschütten können.

Es ist immer mindestens ein bisschen übrig geblieben

Stellen Sie sich nun vor, dass Sie in zwei oder drei Jahren (für eine Handybatterie) oder 10 bis 20 (für ein Elektroauto) Hunderte oder gar Tausende Male hin und her pumpen. Im Laufe der Zeit summieren sich all die vielen kleinen und großen Dinge, die schiefgehen, dazu, dass ziemlich viel Wasser verloren geht. Selbst wenn ein kaum sichtbarer Tropfen - etwa ein Zehntel Milliliter - verschüttet wird, ergibt sich ein ganzer Liter, wenn es 10,000-mal passiert. Das schließt nicht einmal die Möglichkeit ein, dass eine Tasse versagt, die noch mehr Wasser verliert - wie ein Leck austreten oder sich aufheizen und Verdunstung verursachen.

So wie Wasser beim Gießen von einer Tasse zur anderen unweigerlich verloren geht, ist mehr Energie erforderlich, um die Batterie aufzuladen, als sie tatsächlich speichert, und es wird weniger Energie freigesetzt, als in ihr gespeichert ist. Der Anteil der verschwendeten Energie an gespeicherter Energie wächst mit der Zeit.

Das GesprächIn der Tat, je mehr Sie eine Batterie verwenden, desto mehr Energie wird verschwendet, und desto früher erreicht die Batterie einen Punkt, an dem sie tot ist und nicht sinnvoll wiederaufgeladen werden kann. Ich und andere sind Möglichkeiten zu untersuchen, wie diese Entlade-Lade-Zyklen reibungsloser ablaufen können um die Menge an Abfall zu reduzieren, aber der zweite Hauptsatz der Thermodynamik wird immer dafür sorgen, dass es keinen Weg gibt, ihn vollständig zu beseitigen.

Über den Autor

Steve W. Martin, Professor für Materialwissenschaften und -technik, Iowa State University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = über Batterien; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Does Our Phone Battery Die So Fast?

Why Does Our Phone Battery Die So Fast?
Already out of charge – again?! fizkes/Shutterstock.com

Why do batteries die? And, why can they only be recharged so many times before they won’t hold a useful amount of charge? My young son asked me about that years ago when his battery-powered toy car stopped moving, wondering about what he called an “everlasting battery.” And this same question has probably crossed the mind of every cellphone user trying to send one last text before the screen blinks off.

Research, like mine, continues around the world to make batteries that charge faster, last longer, and can be recharged and discharged many more times than today’s. But as much as you and I would like, it’s impossible to make a truly everlasting battery. I have taught thermodynamics for more than 30 years. So far, there is nothing that suggests we can break the fundamental laws of science to get that elusive battery.

Battery scientists and engineers call the main problem “capacity fade.” Regular people wonder about it with questions like “Why won’t my battery hold a charge?” and complaints like “I just recharged this thing and it’s already out again!”

It’s a result of the second law of thermodynamics, which states that whenever some real process happens, it creates a certain amount of wasted energy along the way that can never be recovered. Any time a battery is charged or discharged, there’s a little bit of wasted energy – a little bit of wasted capacity in the battery that cannot be recovered.

To envision how this works, think about battery use like transferring water between two cups. Using a battery is like emptying the water from one cup into the other, and charging the battery involves pouring the water back into the first cup. Even if you do it one or two times without spilling a drop, there’s always just a little tiny bit left in each cup that you can’t pour out.

There’s always at least a little left over

Now imagine pouring back and forth hundreds or even thousands of times over a period of two or three years (for a cellphone battery) or 10 to 20 years (for an electric car). Over time, all the thousands of little and big things that go wrong add up to quite a bit of water going missing. Even spilling a barely visible drop – say one-tenth of a milliliter – adds up to an entire liter if it happens 10,000 times. That doesn’t even include the possibility of one cup failing in some way that loses even more water – like springing a leak or heating up and causing evaporation.

Just as water inevitably goes missing when pouring from one cup to another, more energy is required to charge the battery than it actually stores, and less energy comes out than is stored in it. The proportion of wasted energy to stored energy grows over time.

The ConversationIn fact, the more you use a battery, the more energy gets wasted, and the sooner the battery will reach a point where it’s dead and can’t usefully be recharged. I and others are studying ways to have those discharging-recharging cycles run more smoothly to reduce the amount of waste, but the second law of thermodynamics will always make sure that there’s no way to get rid of it entirely.

About The Author

Steve W. Martin, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Iowa State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=about batteries;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.