من يشعر بآلام خفض ميزانية البحوث العلوم؟

من يشعر بآلام خفض ميزانية البحوث العلوم؟
لن يتم إنجاز الكثير من العلوم بدون المال لتمويل الأشخاص والمعدات. مايكل بيريكاس, CC BY

يهدف تمويل العلوم إلى دعم إنتاج معرفة جديدة والأفكار ذلك تطوير تقنيات جديدةوتحسين العلاجات الطبية وتقويتها الاقتصاد. الفكرة يعود إلى المهندس المؤثر فانيفار بوشالذي ترأس المكتب الأمريكي للبحث العلمي والتطوير خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. والدليل هو أن تمويل العلوم يفعل لديك هذه الآثار. المحادثة

ولكن ، على المستوى العملي ، يدعم تمويل العلوم من جميع المصادر المشاريع البحثية ، والأشخاص الذين يعملون عليها ، والشركات التي توفر المعدات والمواد والخدمات المستخدمة لتنفيذها. نظرا الحالية تخفيضات مقترحة لتمويل العلوم الفيدرالية - إدارة ترامب ، على سبيل المثال ، اقترح أ تخفيض 20 في المئة للمعاهد الوطنية للصحة - من المهم أن تعرف ما هي أنواع الأشخاص والأعمال التي تم لمسها من خلال مشاريع البحوث التي ترعاها. توفر هذه المعلومات نافذة على الآثار المحتملة لخفض التمويل.

تحاول معظم الأبحاث الحالية حول تأثيرات تمويل العلوم تحديد كمية الأدوات البحثية ، مثل المنشورات والبراءات ، بدلاً من تتبع الأشخاص. لقد ساعدت على بدء مشروع جديد يسمى مبادرة UMETRICS يأخذ منهجًا جديدًا للتفكير في الابتكار والعلوم. في جوهرها ، ينظر UMETRICS إلى الناس كمفتاح لفهم العلم والابتكار - الناس يقومون بالأبحاث ، والناس هم المتجهات التي تتحرك حولها الأفكار ، وفي النهاية ، الناس هم أحد "المنتجات" الأساسية للمشروع البحثي.

تحدد UMETRICS الأشخاص العاملين في المشاريع العلمية في الجامعات والمشتريات التي تتم لتنفيذ هذه المشاريع. ومن ثم يتتبع الأشخاص إلى الشركات والجامعات التي توظفهم ، ويشترين إلى البائعين الذين يأتون منهم. حيث تعتمد UMETRICS بالكامل على البيانات الإدارية المقدمة من قبل الجامعات الأعضاء (الآن حول 50) ، مكتب الإحصاء في الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من البيانات التي تحدث بشكل طبيعي ، لا توجد أخطاء في الإبلاغ ، أو مخاوف حول تغطية العينة أو عبء على الناس. يغطي أساسا كل تمويل البحوث الفيدرالية فضلا عن بعض التمويل من المؤسسات الخاصة.

من يدعم تمويل البحث؟

تسمح لنا بياناتنا الإدارية بتحديد كل العاملين في المشاريع البحثية ، وليس فقط أولئك الذين يظهرون كمؤلفين في المقالات البحثية. وهذا أمر مهم لأننا قادرون على تحديد الطلاب والموظفين ، الذين قد يكون من غير المحتمل أن يكونوا مؤلفين للأبحاث أكثر من أعضاء هيئة التدريس والباحثين بعد الدكتوراة ، ولكنهم يصبحون جزءًا مهمًا من القوى العاملة في المشروعات البحثية الممولة. الأمر أشبه بمراعاة كل من يعمل في متجر معين ، وليس فقط المدير والمالك.

We مقارنة توزيع الناس بدعم من مشاريع البحوث في بعض من أكبر المعاهد ومراكز العلوم الوطنية التابعة للمعهد الوطني للعلوم الصحية (NIH) والمعاهد ومراكز الصحة الوطنية. معا ، دعم NSF و NIH على مقربة من 70 في المائة من البحث والتطوير الأكاديمي الذي تموله الحكومة الفيدرالية.

الشيء المدهش هو أن غالبية الأشخاص الذين يعملون في مشاريع بحثية في مكان ما في خط أنابيب التدريب ، سواء الطلاب الجامعيين. طلاب الدراسات العليا ، الذين ينتشرون بشكل خاص في NSF ؛ أو باحثو ما بعد الدكتوراة ، الذين هم أكثر انتشارًا في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة. وكثيراً ما يشكل الموظفون نسبة 40 في المائة من القوى العاملة المدعومة من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ، لكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس يشكلون جزءًا صغيرًا نسبيًا من القوى العاملة في جميع معاهد NIH وأقسام NSF.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وبناءً على هذه النتائج ، يبدو من المرجح أن التغييرات في تمويل الأبحاث الفيدرالية سيكون لها تأثير كبير على المتدربين ، والتي سيكون لها بطبيعة الحال آثار على القوى العاملة في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في المستقبل.

ماذا يحدث لمستلمات الدكتوراه في STEM؟

نظرا لأهمية المتدربين في القوى العاملة البحثية ، لدينا ركز الكثير من بحثنا على طلاب الدراسات العليا.

وضعنا خرائط للجامعات في عينتنا وحصة طلاب الدراسات العليا في كل ولاية بعد عام من التخرج. تُظهر بياناتنا أن العديد من طلاب الدراسات العليا يساهمون في الاقتصادات المحلية - 12.7 بالمائة ضمن 50 من الجامعات التي تدربوا عليها. في ست جامعات من ثماني جامعات ، بقي عدد أكبر من الناس في الولاية أكثر من أي ولاية أخرى. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يتفوق طلاب الدراسات العليا على المستوى الوطني ، حيث تعتبر كل من السواحل وإيلينوي وتكساس وجهات مشتركة.

كما أن مستفيدي الدكتوراه في عينتنا هم أكثر احتمالا لأن يأخذوا وظائف في المؤسسات التي هي محركات اقتصاد المعرفة. وهي ممثلة تمثيلاً زائداً بشكل كبير في صناعات مثل الإلكترونيات وأشباه الموصلات والحواسيب والمستحضرات الصيدلانية ، وممثلة تمثيلاً ناقصاً في صناعات مثل المطاعم ومحلات البقالة والفنادق. يتضاعف عدد المستفيدين من حملة شهادة الدكتوراه أربع مرات تقريباً من متوسط ​​عدد العاملين في الولايات المتحدة الذين يتم توظيفهم من قبل إحدى الشركات العاملة في مجال البحث والتطوير (44 بالمائة مقابل 12.6 بالمائة). والمؤسسات التي يعمل بها متلقو الدكتوراه يحصلون على متوسط ​​ربح أكثر من 90,000 لكل عامل مقابل 33,000 لكل المؤسسات الأمريكية و 61,000 للمنشآت المملوكة من قبل الشركات العاملة في R & D.

درسنا أيضًا الأرباح الأولية حسب الحقل ونجد أن أرباح مستلمي درجة الدكتوراه هي أعلى في الهندسة ؛ الرياضيات وعلوم الكمبيوتر. والفيزياء. من بين حقول العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة ، فإن أقل المكاسب هي في علم الأحياء والصحة ، لكن بياناتنا تشير أيضًا إلى أن العديد من الأشخاص في هذه الحقول يأخذون مواقع ما بعد الدكتوراه التي لديها أرباح منخفضة ، مما قد يحسّن توقعات الأرباح على المدى الطويل. ومن المثير للاهتمام ، نجد أن المرأة لديها دخل أقل بكثير من الرجل ، ولكن هذه الفروق يتم حسابها بالكامل من قبل مجال الدراسة والحالة الاجتماعية ووجود الأطفال.

وإذا أخذنا بالاعتبار ككل ، فإن بحثنا يشير إلى أن العمال المدربين على مشاريع البحوث يلعبون دوراً حاسماً في الصناعات وفي الشركات الهامة لاقتصادنا الجديد المعرفي.

ما هي المشتريات التي تدفعها المشاريع البحثية؟

هناك طريقة أخرى تؤثر بها المشاريع البحثية التي ترعاها على الاقتصاد على المدى القصير وهي من خلال شراء المعدات واللوازم والخدمات. الخبير الاقتصادي بولا ستيفان يكتب ببلاغة هذه المعاملاتوالتي تتراوح بين شراء أجهزة الكمبيوتر والبرامج ، إلى الكواشف ، معدات التصوير الطبي أو التلسكوبات ، حتى إلى فئران المختبر والجرذان.

ما زال العمل غير المنشور يدرس الباعة الذين يبيعون لمشاريع البحوث التي ترعاها في الجامعات يظهر أن العديد من الشركات التي تبيع لمشاريع البحوث التي ترعاها هي في كثير من الأحيان عالية التكنولوجيا وغالبا ما تكون محلية. علاوة على ذلك ، من المرجح أن تفتح الشركات التي تبيع منتجات الأبحاث الجامعية مؤسسات جديدة بالقرب من عملاء الحرم الجامعي. وبالتالي ، هناك بعض الأدلة على أن المشروعات البحثية تحفز الاقتصادات المحلية مباشرة.

لذا ، في حين أن الهدف من المشروعات البحثية التي ترعاها هو تطوير معارف جديدة ، فإنها تدعم أيضًا تدريب عمال STEM ذوي المهارات العالية ونشاط الدعم في الشركات. تسمح لنا مبادرة UMETRICS بمشاهدة الأشخاص والشركات الذين تم التطرق إليهم من خلال مشاريع الأبحاث التي ترعاها ، مما يوفر نافذة على الآثار قصيرة المدى لتمويل الأبحاث بالإضافة إلى التلميح لقيمته على المدى الطويل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بروس واينبرغ ، أستاذ الاقتصاد ، جامعة ولاية أوهايو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تمويل البحوث العلمية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Who Feels The Pain Of Science Research Budget Cuts?

Science

Who Feels The Pain Of Science Research Budget Cuts?
Not much science will get done without the money to fund people and equipment. Michael Pereckas, CC BY

Science funding is intended to support the production of new knowledge and ideas that develop new technologies, improve medical treatments and strengthen the economy. The idea goes back to influential engineer Vannevar Bush, who headed the U.S. Office of Scientific Research and Development during World War II. And the evidence is that science funding does have these effects. The Conversation

But, at a practical level, science funding from all sources supports research projects, the people who work on them and the businesses that provide the equipment, materials and services used to carry them out. Given current proposed cuts to federal science funding – the Trump administration has, for instance, proposed a 20 percent reduction for the National Institutes of Health – it’s important to know what types of people and businesses are touched by sponsored research projects. This information provides a window into the likely effects of funding cuts.

Most existing research into the effects of science funding tries to quantify research artifacts, such as publications and patents, rather than tracking people. I’ve helped to start an emerging project called the UMETRICS initiative which takes a novel approach to thinking about innovation and science. At its core, UMETRICS views people as key to understanding science and innovation – people conduct research, people are the vectors by which ideas move around and, ultimately, people are one of the primary “products” of the research enterprise.

UMETRICS identifies people employed on scientific projects at universities and the purchases made to carry out those projects. It then tracks people to the businesses and universities that hire them, and purchases to the vendors from which they come. Since UMETRICS relies entirely on administrative data provided by member universities (now around 50), the U.S. Census Bureau and other naturally occurring data, there are no reporting errors, sample coverage concerns or burden for people. It covers essentially all federal research funding as well as some funding from private foundations.

Who does research funding support?

Our administrative data allow us to identify everyone employed on research projects, not just those who appear as authors on research articles. This is valuable because we’re able to identify students and staff, who may be less likely to author papers than faculty and postdocs but who turn out to be an important part of the workforce on funded research projects. It’s like taking into account everyone who works in a particular store, not just the manager and owner.

We compared the distribution of people supported on research projects at some of the largest National Science Foundation (NSF) Divisions and National Institutes of Health (NIH) Institutes and Centers. Together, the NSF and NIH support close to 70 percent of federally funded academic R&D.

The striking thing is that the majority of people employed on research projects are somewhere in the training pipeline, whether undergraduates; graduate students, who are particularly prevalent at NSF; or postdocs, who are more prevalent at NIH. Staff frequently constitute 40 percent of the NIH-supported workforce, but faculty are a relatively small portion of the workforce at all NIH Institutes and NSF Divisions.

Based on these results, it seems likely that changes in federal research funding will have substantial effects on trainees, which would naturally have implications for the future STEM workforce.

What happens to STEM doctoral recipients?

Given the importance of trainees in the research workforce, we have focused much of our research on graduate students.

We mapped the universities in our sample and the share of the graduate students in each state one year after graduation. Our data show that many grad students contribute to local economies – 12.7 percent are within 50 miles of the universities where they trained. For six of our eight universities, more people stayed in state than went to any other single state. At the same time, graduate students fan out nationally, with both coasts, Illinois and Texas all being common destinations.

The doctoral recipients in our sample are also more likely to take jobs at establishments that are engines of the knowledge economy. They are heavily overrepresented in industries such as electronics, semiconductors, computers and pharmaceuticals, and underrepresented in industries such as restaurants, grocery stores and hotels. Doctoral degree recipients are almost four times as likely as the average U.S. worker to be employed by an R&D-performing firm (44 percent versus 12.6 percent). And, the establishments where the doctoral degree recipients work have a median payroll of over US$90,000 per worker compared to $33,000 for all U.S. establishments and $61,000 for establishments owned by R&D performing firms.

We also studied initial earnings by field and find that earnings of doctoral degree recipients are highest in engineering; math and computer science; and physics. Among the STEM fields, the lowest earnings are in biology and health, but our data also suggest that many of the people in these fields take postdoc positions that have low earnings, which may improve long-run earnings prospects. Interestingly, we find that women have substantially lower earnings than men, but these differences are entirely accounted for by field of study, marital status and presence of children.

Taken as a whole, our research indicates that the workers trained on research projects play a critical role in the industries and at companies critical for our new, knowledge economy.

What purchases do research projects drive?

Another way in which sponsored research projects affect the economy in the short run is through purchases of equipment, supplies and services. Economist Paula Stephan writes eloquently of these transactions, which range from purchasing computers and software, to reagents, medical imaging equipment or telescopes, even to lab mice and rats.

Still unpublished work studying the vendors who sell to sponsored research projects at universities shows that many of the firms selling to sponsored research projects are frequently high-tech and often local. Moreover, firms that are vendors to university research projects are more likely to open new establishments near their campus customers. Thus, there is some evidence that research projects directly stimulate local economies.

So while the goal of sponsored research projects is to develop new knowledge, they also support the training of highly skilled STEM workers and support activity at businesses. The UMETRICS initiative allows us to see just which people and businesses are touched by sponsored research projects, providing a window into the short-run effects of research funding as well as hinting at its long-run value.

About The Author

Bruce Weinberg, Professor of Economics, The Ohio State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Funding Your Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences

ScienceAuthor: Barbara Walker
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Holly Unruh

Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Grants and fellowships are increasingly essential to an academic career, and competition over federal and foundation funding is fiercer than ever. Yet there has hitherto been little training available for this genre of writing.

Funding Your Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences demystifies the process of writing winning grant proposals in the humanities and social sciences. Offering practical guidance, step-by-step instructions, and examples of successful proposals, Walker and Unruh outline the best practices to crack the proposal writing code. They reveal the most common peeves of proposal reviewers, and offer advice on how to avoid frequent problem areas in conceptualizing and crafting a research proposal in the humanities and social sciences. Contributions from agency and foundation program officers offer the perspective from the other side of the proposal submission portal, and new research funding trends, including crowdfunding and public scholarship, are also covered.

This book is essential reading for all those involved in funding applications. Graduate students, research administrators, early career faculty members, and tenured professors alike will gain new and effective strategies to write successful applications.





Science in the Private Interest: Has the Lure of Profits Corrupted Biomedical Research?

ScienceAuthor: Sheldon Krimsky
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Rowman n Littlefield Publishers
Creator(s):
  • Ralph Nader

Studio: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Label: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Manufacturer: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Something has changed in the culture and values of academic science over the last quarter-century. University science is now entangled with entrepreneurship, and researchers with a commercial interest are caught in an ethical quandary. How can an academic scientist honor knowledge for its own sake, while also using knowledge as a means to generate wealth? Science in the Private Interest investigates the trends and effects of modern, commercialized academic science. This book dives unhesitatingly into some of modern science's messiest and most urgent questions. How did scientists begin choosing proprietary gain over the pursuit of knowledge? What effects have academic-corporate partnerships had on the quality and integrity of science? And, most importantly, how does this affect the public?




Funding Your Career in Science: From Research Idea To Personal Grant

ScienceAuthor: Ritsert C Jansen
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Cambridge University Press

Brand: Cambridge University Press
Studio: Cambridge University Press
Label: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Manufacturer: Cambridge University Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Dreaming of a successful future in science? This practical guide for students, postdocs and professors offers a unique step-by-step approach to help you get the funding to start or consolidate your own research career. From preparing and writing effective career grant applications, to understanding how funding agencies will evaluate them, it provides guidance to enhance your skills and combine them with those of others who can support you on the road to success. Learn how to generate great original ideas for your application, strategically prepare and optimise your plan and résumé, develop a convincing title and abstract, convert reviewers' comments to your advantage, and succeed at a selection interview. With numerous valuable tips, real-life stories and novel practical exercises, this must-read guide provides everything you need to optimise your funding opportunities and take responsibility for your own career in science.




Science
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}