المورفين منزوع الدسم: لا حاجة إلى الخشخاش

المورفين منزوع الدسم: لا حاجة إلى الخشخاش

ويعرف مراوح البيرة ومشروبات التقطير في المنازل الخلفية كيفية استخدام الخميرة لتحويل السكر إلى كحول.

الآن ، ذهب المهندسون البيولوجيون أكثر بكثير من خلال استكمال الخطوات الرئيسية اللازمة لتحويل الخميرة التي تغذيها السكر إلى مصنع الميكروبات لإنتاج المورفين والمخدرات المحتملة ، بما في ذلك المضادات الحيوية والعلاجات المضادة للسرطان.

على مدى العقد الماضي ، عملت حفنة من مختبرات البيولوجيا الاصطناعية على تكرار مسار كيميائي معقد ، خطوة خطوة في نبات الخشخاش في الميكروبات للسماح بإنتاج الأدوية العلاجية.

أعدت فرق الأبحاث بشكل مستقل أقسامًا مختلفة من مسار المخدرات الذي يستخدمه الخشخاش E. كولاي أو الخميرة ، لكن ما كان مفقودا حتى الآن هي الخطوات النهائية التي من شأنها أن تسمح للكائن الحي الواحد بأداء المهمة من البداية إلى النهاية.

تحدي قابلة للتنفيذ

دراسة جديدة نشرت على الانترنت في المجلة الطبيعة الكيميائية الحياتية يدل على مدى الباحثون التغلب على هذه العقبة عن طريق تكرار الخطوات الأولى في مسار في سلالة هندسيا من الخميرة. انهم كانوا قادرين على تجميع reticuline، وهو مركب الأفيون، من التيروزين، وهو مشتق من الجلوكوز.

"ما تريد فعله حقاً من منظور التخمر هو أن تكون قادراً على إطعام الجلوكوز الخميرة ، وهو مصدر سكر رخيص ، وجعل الخميرة تفعل كل الخطوات الكيميائية المطلوبة في اتجاه مجرى النهر لجعل الدواء العلاجي المستهدف الخاص بك" ، كما يقول جون دويبر المحقق الرئيسي للدراسة وأستاذ مساعد في الهندسة الحيوية في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي.

"من خلال دراستنا ، تم وصف جميع الخطوات ، وهي الآن مسألة ربطها ببعضها البعض وتوسيع نطاق العملية. إنه ليس تحديا تافها ، لكنه ممكن.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الخشخاش المسار

إن الصفات التي تجعل مسار نبات الخشخاش شديد التحدي هي نفس الخصائص التي تجعله هدفاً جذاباً للبحوث.

إنها معقدة ، ولكنها الأساس الذي يمكن للباحثين بناء علاجات جديدة لهم. تعتبر قلويدات البنزيل بيسكوينولين ، أو BIAs ، فئة من المركبات النشطة بيولوجيًا جدًا الموجودة في الخشخاش ، وتتضمن تلك العائلة بعض جزيئات 2,500 المعزولة من النباتات.

ولعل أفضل درب معروف في مسار BIA هو المسار الذي يؤدي إلى المواد الأفيونية ، مثل الكوديين ، والمورفين ، و thebaine ، وهي مقدمة إلى الأوكسيكودون والهيدروكودون. جميع المواد الخاضعة للرقابة. ولكن مسارات مختلفة سوف تؤدي إلى papaverine مضاد للتشنج أو إلى مضاد حيوي مضاد حيوي.

يقول المؤلف الرئيسي ويليام ديلاوشي ، وهو طالب دكتوراه في الهندسة الحيوية: "النباتات لديها دورات نمو بطيئة ، لذلك من الصعب استكشاف جميع المواد الكيميائية المحتملة التي يمكن صنعها من مسار BIA عن طريق هندسة الخشخاش وراثياً". "إن نقل مسار BIA إلى الميكروبات يقلل بشكل كبير من تكلفة اكتشاف الدواء. يمكننا بسهولة ضبط وضبط الحمض النووي للخميرة واختبار النتائج بسرعة. "

من خلال إعادة توجيه إنزيم من البنجر الذي يستخدم بشكل طبيعي في إنتاج أصباغها النابضة بالحياة ، يمكن للباحثين أن يقنعوا الخميرة لتحويل التيروزين ، وهو حمض أميني مشتق بسهولة من الجلوكوز ، إلى الدوبامين.

العلم الاحمر بالنسبة للهيئات التنظيمية

بمساعدة من مختبر فينسنت مارتن ، أستاذ علم الجينوميات الميكروبية والهندسة في جامعة كونكورديا ، تمكن الباحثون من إعادة تشكيل مسار الإنزيم السبعة الكامل من التيروزين إلى الريتكولين في الخميرة.

يقول مارتن: "إن الوصول إلى الريتكولين أمر بالغ الأهمية لأنه من هناك ، فإن الخطوات الجزيئية التي تنتج الكوديين والمورفين من الريتكولين قد سبق وصفها في الخميرة". "كما أن الشبكية هي محور جزيئي في مسار BIA. ومن هناك ، يمكننا استكشاف العديد من المسارات المختلفة للأدوية المحتملة الأخرى ، وليس فقط المواد الأفيونية. "

ويقول الباحثون إن هذا الاكتشاف يسرع بشكل كبير من الوقت الذي يمكن أن يصبح فيه تعاطي المخدرات حقيقة واقعة ، محذرا من أن المنظمين والمسؤولين عن إنفاذ القانون يجب أن ينتبهوا.

"من المرجح أن ننظر إلى جدول زمني لبضع سنوات ، وليس لعقد أو أكثر ، عندما يمكن أن تنتج الخميرة المحتوية على السكر بشكل موثوق به مادة خاضعة للرقابة" ، يقول ديوبير. "لقد حان الوقت للتفكير في سياسات لمعالجة هذا المجال من البحث. إن هذا المجال يتحرك بسرعة مذهلة ، ونحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون في المقدمة حتى نتمكن من تخفيف احتمالات إساءة الاستخدام ".

في تعليق نشر في طبيعة وتوقيته مع نشر الدراسة الجديدة ، يدعو محللو السياسات إلى تنظيم عاجل لهذه التكنولوجيا الجديدة. وتسلط الضوء على الفوائد العديدة لهذا العمل ، لكنها تشير أيضًا إلى أن "الأفراد الذين لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى سلالة الخميرة والمهارات الأساسية في عملية التخمير سوف يكونون قادرين على نمو الخميرة باستخدام ما يعادل مجموعة مواد منزلية".

يوصون تقييد سلالات الخميرة هندستها لمرافق المرخص والمرخص الباحثين، مشيرا إلى أنه سيكون من الصعب كشف ومراقبة النقل غير المشروع لتلك السلالات.

وعلى الرغم من أن مثل هذه الضوابط قد تساعد ، يقول دويبر: "هناك قلق إضافي يتمثل في أنه بمجرد معرفة معرفة كيفية إنتاج سلالة منتجة للأفيونيات ، يمكن لأي شخص تدرب في البيولوجيا الجزيئية الأساسية أن يبنيها نظريا".

وسيكون الهدف الآخر للتنظيم هو الشركات التي تقوم بتجميع وبيع تسلسلات الحمض النووي. يقول ديلواخ: "توجد قيود بالفعل على التسلسلات المرتبطة بالكائنات المسببة للأمراض ، مثل الجدري". "ولكن ربما حان الوقت أيضًا للنظر في التسلسل لإنتاج المواد الخاضعة للرقابة".

مصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا، بيركلي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Homebrewed Morphine: No Poppies Required

Homebrewed Morphine: No Poppies Required

Fans of homebrewed beer and backyard distilleries already know how to employ yeast to convert sugar into alcohol.

Now, bioengineers have gone much further by completing key steps needed to turn sugar-fed yeast into a microbial factory for producing morphine and potentially other drugs, including antibiotics and anti-cancer therapeutics.

Over the past decade, a handful of synthetic-biology labs have been working to replicate in microbes a complex, 15-step chemical pathway in the poppy plant to allow production of therapeutic drugs.

Research teams have independently recreated different sections of the poppy’s drug pathway using E. coli or yeast, but what had been missing until now were the final steps that would allow a single organism to perform the task from start to finish.

A Doable Challenge

A new study published online in the journal Nature Chemical Biology shows how researchers have overcome that hurdle by replicating the early steps in the pathway in an engineered strain of yeast. They were able to synthesize reticuline, a compound in poppy, from tyrosine, a derivative of glucose.

“What you really want to do from a fermentation perspective is to be able to feed the yeast glucose, which is a cheap sugar source, and have the yeast do all the chemical steps required downstream to make your target therapeutic drug,” says John Dueber, the study’s principal investigator and an assistant professor of bioengineering at the University of California, Berkeley.

“With our study, all the steps have been described, and it’s now a matter of linking them together and scaling up the process. It’s not a trivial challenge, but it’s doable.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Poppies Pathway

The qualities that make the poppy plant pathway so challenging are the same ones that make it such an attractive target for research.

It is complex, but it is the foundation upon which researchers can build new therapeutics. Benzylisoquinoline alkaloids, or BIAs, are the class of highly bioactive compounds found in the poppy, and that family includes some 2,500 molecules isolated from plants.

Perhaps the best-known trail in the BIA pathway is the one that leads to the opiates, such as codeine, morphine, and thebaine, a precursor to oxycodone and hydrocodone. All are controlled substances. But different trails will lead to the antispasmodic papaverine or to the antibiotic precursor dihydrosanguinarine.

“Plants have slow growth cycles, so it’s hard to fully explore all the possible chemicals that can be made from the BIA pathway by genetically engineering the poppy,” says lead author William DeLoache, a PhD student in bioengineering. “Moving the BIA pathway to microbes dramatically reduces the cost of drug discovery. We can easily manipulate and tune the DNA of the yeast and quickly test the results.”

By repurposing an enzyme from beets that is naturally used in the production of their vibrant pigments, researchers could coax yeast to convert tyrosine, an amino acid readily derived from glucose, into dopamine.

Red Flag For Regulators

With help from the lab of Vincent Martin, professor of microbial genomics and engineering at Concordia University, researchers were able to reconstitute the full seven-enzyme pathway from tyrosine to reticuline in yeast.

“Getting to reticuline is critical because from there, the molecular steps that produce codeine and morphine from reticuline have already been described in yeast,” Martin says. “Also, reticuline is a molecular hub in the BIA pathway. From there, we can explore many different paths to other potential drugs, not just opiates.”

The discovery dramatically speeds up the clock for when homebrewing drugs could become a reality, researchers say, warning that regulators and law enforcement officials should pay attention.

“We’re likely looking at a timeline of a couple of years, not a decade or more, when sugar-fed yeast could reliably produce a controlled substance,” Dueber says. “The time is now to think about policies to address this area of research. The field is moving surprisingly fast, and we need to be out in front so that we can mitigate the potential for abuse.”

In a commentary published in Nature and timed with the publication of the new study, policy analysts call for urgent regulation of this new technology. They highlight the many benefits of this work, but they also point out that “individuals with access to the yeast strain and basic skills in fermentation would be able to grow the yeast using the equivalent of a homebrew kit.”

They recommend restricting engineered yeast strains to licensed facilities and to authorized researchers, noting that it would be difficult to detect and control the illicit transport of such strains.

While such controls may help, Dueber says, “An additional concern is that once the knowledge of how to create an opiate-producing strain is out there, anyone trained in basic molecular biology could theoretically build it.”

Another target for regulation would be the companies that synthesize and sell DNA sequences. “Restrictions are already in place for sequences tied to pathogenic organisms, like smallpox,” says DeLoache. “But maybe it’s time we also look at sequences for producing controlled substances.”

Source: University of California, Berkeley

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}