الغد تكنولوجيا البطارية يمكن أن السلطة بيتك

الغد تكنولوجيا البطارية يمكن أن السلطة بيتكأدى الإعلان الأخير من قبل تسلا من Powerwall ، نظام تخزين البطارية السكني القائم على ليثيوم أيون الجديد (Li-ion) ، إلى إثارة ضجة كبيرة. حتى أنها تثير إمكانية الخروج من الشبكة ، بالاعتماد على الألواح الشمسية لتوليد الكهرباء ، وتخزينها مع بطاريتها واستخدامها عند الطلب.

المورفين منزوع الدسم: لا حاجة إلى الخشخاش

المورفين منزوع الدسم: لا حاجة إلى الخشخاشويعرف مراوح البيرة ومشروبات التقطير في المنازل الخلفية كيفية استخدام الخميرة لتحويل السكر إلى كحول. الآن ، ذهب المهندسون البيولوجيون أكثر بكثير من خلال استكمال الخطوات الأساسية اللازمة لتحويل الخميرة التي تغذيها السكر إلى مصنع الميكروبات لإنتاج المورفين والمخدرات المحتملة ، بما في ذلك المضادات الحيوية والعلاجات المضادة للسرطان.

لماذا يتغير لون الشعر ويتحول إلى اللون الرمادي؟

لماذا يتغير لون الشعر ويتحول إلى اللون الرمادي؟يبدو أن العوامل الوراثية مهمة في تحديد متى نحول اللون الرمادي. ويبدو أن التوائم المتماثلة تتحول إلى اللون الرمادي عند عمر ومعدل ونمط متماثلين ، ومع ذلك لا نزال نحدّد الجينات المسيطرة.

ماذا تفعل حول العالم المزعج بشكل متزايد

ماذا تفعل حول العالم المزعج بشكل متزايدنحن نعيش في عالم صاخب بشكل متزايد. وبما أن الضوضاء المنخفضة المستوى يمكن أن تؤثر على جودة الحياة ، فإن الأدوات الجديدة للتعامل مع الضوضاء هي موضع ترحيب. يساعد "Auralisation" ، المكافئ الصوتي للمرئيات ، الآن في تصميم وتحسين صوت مساحات المعيشة والعمل لدينا ، بالإضافة إلى استعادة صوتيات البيئات السابقة.

مقاس واحد لا يناسب الجميع في مستقبل السيارات الكهربائية

في مستقبل السيارات الكهربائية ، حجم واحد لا يناسب الجميعفي محاولة لتحريك اعتماد السيارات الكهربائية التي تعمل بخلايا الوقود، تويوتا موتورز تقدم في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر أكثر من 5,600 براءات الاختراع متاحة لصانعي السيارات الآخرين. بعد بضعة أيام ، قدم جنرال موتورز الترباس الكهربائية، سيارة كهربائية مصممة لتشغيل 200 ميلا على البطاريات.

يجب أن ننظر بعيدا عن الشاطئ خارج السلطة التقليدية طواحين الهواء إلى المزارع في أعماق البحار

يجب أن ننظر بعيدا عن الشاطئ خارج السلطة التقليدية طواحين الهواء إلى المزارع في أعماق البحارومع دخول شركات طاقة الرياح في مياه أكثر عمقاً ، قد لا يكون التوربين التقليدي على غرار طواحين الهواء هو الحل الأنسب. لقد حان الوقت للنظر في البدائل.

وعني المستقبل: الآن تراني، الآن أنت لا

وعني المستقبل: الآن تراني، الآن أنت لا

ماذا ستصبح أنت وأنا وأحفادنا على مدى العقود أو القرون القادمة؟ هل الجواب على هذا السؤال بديهي؟ أم هل سنكون مختلفين جذريًا عما نحن عليه الآن؟ كل ما يتبع هذا الفكر هو التخمين ، لكنه أكثر من مجرد مغامرة في الخيال أو الخيال العلمي.

كيف يمكن عينيك كشف 'غير مرئية' الضوء

كيف يمكن عينيك كشف 'غير مرئية' الضوء

تقول كتب العلوم أن البشر لا يمكنهم رؤية ضوء الأشعة تحت الحمراء. البحث الجديد ، ومع ذلك ، يجد أن شبكتنا يمكن أن تستشعره في ظل ظروف معينة. كان العلماء في فريق البحث "قادرين على رؤية ضوء الليزر ، الذي كان خارج النطاق الطبيعي المرئي ..."

الهولنديون شركة القوى أضواء الشوارع مع النباتات الحية

الهولنديون شركة القوى أضواء الشوارع مع النباتات الحية

أسفل حفرة الأرنب: التوقيت هو كل شيء

أسفل حفرة الأرنب: التوقيت هو كل شيءسريع نحو الأمام حول سنوات 150 من وقت أليس في بلاد العجائب ونحن جميعا نجد أنفسنا أسفل نسخة من ثقب أرنب لها. تدعو المايا هذا العمر للتغيير. أود أن أشير إليه على أنه العمر الكامل لحياة التغيير. كم عدد "الأعمار" التي عشتها خلال هذه الحياة؟

رقاقة الثلج تحت الماء: إن إصبع الموت

من المعروف أن رقاقات الثلج تحت الماء، أو brinicles، باسم "اصبع من الموت". هذا هو اسم جيد بالنسبة لهم كما سترون كما يمكنك مشاهدة هذه لقطات فيديو رهيبة. ليس فقط أنها لا تبدو وكأنها توجيه أصابع الاتهام وصولا الى قاع البحر، ولكن ...

التراحل في التعلم: ماذا يحدث إذا سقطت شجرة في غابة افتراضية؟

ماذا يحدث إذا سقطت شجرة في غابة افتراضية

امرأة تنظر من خلال نظارات مغمورة في خوذة سوداء كبيرة. تنبعث أصوات الغابة من زوايا مختلفة من الغرفة: طائر النقيق هنا ، وهو نسيم يهمس هناك. انها تتحرك ببطء في جميع أنحاء الغرفة. على الجدار ، من المتوقع وجود غابة رقمية مسطحة حتى يتمكن المراقبون من الحصول على فكرة تقريبية عن محيطها ، ولكن في عقلها ...

خمسة "حقائق" علمنا في المدرسة التي هي خاطئة عادي

خمسة "حقائق" علمنا في المدرسة التي هي خاطئة عادي

هناك أكثر من خمسة "حقائق" تحتاج إلى أن تكون ثابتة في الكتب المدرسية. أنا لا أقترح أن نبدأ بتدريس الأطفال في سن 6 حول المادة التي تظهر فقط في مختبرات الفيزياء الحائزة على جائزة نوبل أو ملء المناهج بالتفصيل على عشرات الحواس. ولكن ربما يجب أن نتوقف عن إخبار الأطفال بالأصابع.

ثورة علمية جديدة: أسس النموذج الجديد

الأسس المفاهيمية للنموذج الجديد: ثورة علمية جديدة

هناك ثورة كبرى جارية في العلم اليوم ، وهو تحول عميق ورائع في نفس الوقت. إنه يغير نظرتنا للعالم ، ومفهومنا للحياة والوعي في العالم. يأتي في وقت مناسب. نحن نعلم أن العالم الذي أنشأناه لا يمكن تحمله ...

التطبيق لمسح الهواتف عن بعد يترك الشرطة في سباق الأسلحة التقنية

التطبيق لمسح الهواتف عن بعد يترك الشرطة في سباق الأسلحة التقنية مع اللصوص

الشرطة تلعب لعبة القط والفأر المثل مع تلك التي تتبناها، ولكن أيضا مع تكنولوجيا اليوم يستخدمونها. هذه اللعبة من واحد المزايدة، القياس ومضاد، يرى واحد أو الجانب الآخر مؤقتا مع اليد العليا.

يمكن للأدمغة اتخاذ القرارات بينما ننام

يمكن للأدمغة اتخاذ القرارات بينما ننام

الفكرة القائلة بأن النوم في عقولنا من العالم الخارجي أثناء النوم هو أمر قديم وراسخ لا يزال راسخًا في نظرتنا للنوم اليوم ، على الرغم من بعض التجارب الحياتية اليومية والاكتشافات العلمية الحديثة التي تميل إلى إثبات أن أدمغتنا لا تحول تمامًا خارج عن بيئتنا.

تجاهل اختبار الذكاء: مستوى ذكائك ليس ثابتًا مدى الحياة

تجاهل اختبار الذكاء: مستوى ذكائك ليس ثابتًا مدى الحياة

نحن نصبح أكثر غباء هذه نقطة وردت في مقال نشر مؤخراً في مجلة New Scientist ، وتحدث عن التدهور التدريجي لمعدل الذكاء في البلدان المتقدمة ... هذه الأبحاث تغذي سحرًا طويلًا مع اختبار الذكاء البشري. ومع ذلك ، فإن مثل هذه المناقشات تركز بشكل كبير على معدل الذكاء باعتباره سمة طويلة الأمد لا يمكن تغييرها. أبحاث أخرى بدأت تظهر عكس ذلك.

التعرق على الأشياء الصغيرة: Nanomaterials صغيرة جدا

التعرق على الأشياء الصغيرة: Nanomaterials صغيرة جدا

كل عصر له مواده العجيبة. بالنسبة للفيكتوريين ، كان المطاط. في القرن 20th ، كان من البلاستيك. ولرقمنة 21st القرن ، قد تتحول إلى الجرافين. إنها واحدة من أحدث المواد المتناهية في النانو التي خرجت من مختبراتنا ...

خفض انبعاثات الكربون عن طريق الانتقال إلى مناخ أكثر دفئا وخسارة الحديقة

خفض انبعاثات الكربون الخاصة بك عن طريق الانتقال إلى مناخ أكثر دفئا وفقدان الحديقة

ربما وجد الباحثون الطريق إلى حياة أكثر راحة لحدائق الضواحي: فمساحات الحديقة هي أكثر بواعث غازية غزارة من بعض المحاصيل الزراعية ، وتبقي على استخداماتك الحارة طاقة أكثر بكثير من تشغيل مكيف الهواء.

ما حدث لصافي الحياد أوباما الموعودة؟

صافي الحياد

لا تخطئ أن تكون تحت الحصار على الإنترنت ، سواء كانت حكومة كبيرة ، أو بيانات كبيرة ، أو تطبيق الهاتف الذكي المفضل لديك. من ناحية أخرى تقف حكومتك بلا هوادة على استعداد لتسليمك لشواء على الجانب الآخر من قبل مقدمي خدمات الإنترنت يقفون بينك وبين موقع الويب الخاص بك في الاختيار.

ما هو الهاتف الذكي الأكثر عرضة للبرامج الضارة؟

ما هو الهاتف الذكي الأكثر عرضة للبرامج الضارة؟

مع ظهور كل هجوم أو ضعف جديد في فيروسات الكمبيوتر ، يقوم الملايين بفحص جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بهم لمعرفة ما إذا كان تطبيقهم لمكافحة البرامج الضارة حديثًا أم لا. هذه فكرة جيدة ومن الحكمة أن تفعل ذلك ، لكن عددًا كبيرًا منا لا يزال ينسى هاتفه الذكي.

مجهولون غير معروف: أسرار الطبيعة المدهشة

مجهولون غير معروف: أسرار الطبيعة المدهشة

يستغل العلماء الحكمة السرية للأشجار ، حتى عندما لا يعرفون ما يبحثون عنه. يدرك توماس سوتنام كيف يمكن للرؤى والتطورات التكنولوجية غير المتوقعة أن تقودنا نحو اكتشافات واستنتاجات جديدة. "هناك المجهول المعروف" ، كما يقول ، "ثم هناك المجهول غير معروف".

الآن يمكننا أن نرى حول الزاوية

انظر حول الزوايا

يمكن لهذه الكاميرا أن تنظر حول الزوايا وخارج نطاق الرؤية. تستخدم الكاميرا الضوء الذي ينتقل من الكائن إلى الكاميرا بطريقة غير مباشرة ، عن طريق عكس الجدران أو غيرها من العوائق ، لإعادة بناء شكل 3D.

يجب عليك تغيير كلمات المرور الخاصة بك بسبب Heartbleed؟

يجب عليك تغيير كلمات المرور الخاصة بك بسبب Heartbleed؟

إذا كنت تكافح من أجل فهم طوفان المعلومات حول ثغرة هشة، انت لست وحدك. تخبرنا بعض التقارير بتغيير كل كلمات المرور الخاصة بنا على الإنترنت على الفور ، ويحذرنا آخرون من أن هذا قد يضر أكثر مما ينفع. هناك الكثير من المعلومات الخاطئة هناك.

الثرثار خلايا الدماغ عقد المفتاح إلى لغة العقل

الثرثار خلايا الدماغ عقد المفتاح إلى لغة العقل

لنفترض أن المريخ يهبط على الأرض ويرغب في فهم المزيد عن البشر. أحدهم يمنحهم نسخة من الأعمال الكاملة لشكسبير ويقول: "عندما تفهم ما يوجد هناك ، سوف تفهم كل شيء مهم عنا".

"انظر من خلال" ويندوز الشمسي اذهب كبير

جديد انظر من خلال النوافذ الشمسية

تقوم شركة New Energy Technologies بالإبلاغ عن تحقيق اختراق في رؤيتها من خلال تقنية النوافذ الشمسية ، وهي تدور حول الحجم. عندما بدأت شركة نيو إنرجي في تطوير طلاء الزجاج الشمسي منذ عدة سنوات ، بدأت كحل في قارورة قبل التقدم إلى مربع صغير. في آخر التطورات ...

المتجددة البحرية وعد محيطات الطاقة

المتجددة البحرية وعد محيطات الطاقة

قبل وقت طويل من إمساك البشر بالوقود الأحفوري ، تعلمنا كيفية تسخير قوة الماء للقيام بالعمل. ﺗﻌد اﻟﺗﮐﻧوﻟوﺟﯾﺎت اﻟﺗﻲ ﺗﺳﺗﺧدم طﺎﻗﺔ ﻧﻘل اﻟﻣﯾﺎه أو اﻟﺗﻔﺎوت ﻓﻲ درﺟﺎت اﻟﺣرارة ﻓﻲ اﻟﻣﺣﯾطﺎت ﺑﺗوﻓﯾر اﻟﮐﮭرﺑﺎء اﻟﮐﺎﻓﯾﺔ ﻣن اﻟﮐرﺑون.

عدسات غلوكوز اللاصقة من غوغل قادرة على تحويل رعاية مرضى السكري

عدسات غلوكوز اللاصقة من غوغل قادرة على تحويل رعاية مرضى السكري

تعاونت Google مع الباحثين في جامعة واشنطن لإنشاء عدسة تلامس يمكنها قياس مستويات جلوكوز الدم في دموع الشخص وعرض القراءة على هواتفهم المحمولة. إذا نجح مشروع العدسات اللاصقة هذا ، فقد يتمكن الأشخاص المصابون بالسكري من التوقف عن سحب الدم لقياس مستويات السكر لديهم.

خوذة الدراجة غير مرئية؟ المستحيل ممكنا

خوذة الدراجة غير مرئية؟ المستحيل ممكنا

ونحن نتحرك إلى أسلوب حياة أكثر استدامة، ركوب الدراجات إلى العمل أو إلى مخزن الخ يمكن أن يكون خيارا بالنسبة للكثيرين. ومع ذلك، في العديد من المدن، قد يركب دراجة هوائية يبدو وكأنه كنت تأخذ حياتك في أيدي الخاصة بك. ومع ذلك، هناك حل سعيدة ...

الظلم الاقتصادي من البلاستيك و "المتاح" المجتمع

هذا الحديث (13 min approx) مدهش ... نتحدث عن إيماننا بمجتمع "يمكن التخلص منه" ... زجاجات يمكن التخلص منها ، علب ... ولكن يبدو أننا نؤمن أيضًا بالأشخاص الذين يمكن التخلص منهم. يتحدث فان جونز عن سرطان الزقاق والضباب الدخاني ، 1 من الناس 4 في السجن ، وما إلى ذلك وهذا أمر لا بد منه! تبي تغير؟ ابدأ بمشاهدة هذا الفيديو!

خرافة يصبح حقيقة؟ كشف نهر إلى السعادة

كوريا الجنوبية: نهر مشروع ترميم

لمسح هندسي وجدت أن الطريق كان العديد من نقاط الضعف الهيكلية، وأنه سيكون مكلفا جدا لترميم الطريق، وبدلا من ذلك، قررت حكومة المدينة لهدم الطريق السريع واستعادة تدفق إلى النهر ...

دورات البقع الشمسية وسلوك الإنسان

دورات البقع الشمسية وسلوك الإنسان

منذ وقد لاحظ علماء الفلك 1800s أن هناك 11 ودورة البقع الشمسية 22 عاما، وهذا هو، لعدة سنوات لن يكون هناك بالكاد أي البقع الشمسية، ومن ثم لعدة سنوات وجه الشمس سيكون على النحو ذو شامة في سن المراهقة مع حب الشباب. اكتشف أن انبعاثات البقع الشمسية تؤثر على تشكيلة واسعة من ...

لا 30th ديسمبر كانون الاول في ساموا؟

مدة العرض قبل التحول 2011 ديسمبر

فإن سكان 186,000 من جزيرة ساموا الذهاب إلى السرير في 29th ديسمبر كانون الاول وتستيقظ على 31st ديسمبر كانون الاول. سيكون قد فاتهم يوم كامل! لا، لن يكون لديها ينام ساعات 24، فإنها ببساطة أن تشهد ...

مؤكد كوكب الأولى في المنطقة القابلة للسكنى

kepler22b460

وكالة ناسا مهمة كيبلر أكدت كوكب الاول في "المنطقة القابلة للسكنى"، المنطقة التي يمكن أن توجد مياه سائلة على سطح الكوكب. كبلر أيضا قد اكتشف أكثر من المرشحين 1,000 الكوكب الجديد، وتضاعف تقريبا عدد لها سابقا. عشرة من هؤلاء المرشحين هم القريبة من الأرض الحجم والمدار في منطقة صالحة للسكن من النجوم التي تستضيفهم. المرشحين تتطلب متابعة الملاحظات للتحقق من أنها الكواكب الفعلية.

الأرض المغناطيسي العالي والمادية

المجال المغناطيسي حول الأرض يغذي الحقول المغناطيسية حول عقولنا وداخل كل خلية في الدماغ الفردية. ذاكرتنا ووظائف متشابك تعتمد على هذا الحقل المغناطيسي القوي المتبقية. عندما يسقط الميدان، لا تسير الأمور حق.

التحول الكبير: 11: 11، 12.21.12 و13: 13

هل ترى في كثير من الأحيان 11 أرقام: 11، أو حتى ثلاثة أضعاف الأرقام مختلف عند إلقاء نظرة على مدار الساعة الرقمية الخاصة بك مثل 4: 44، 5: 55، وما إلى ذلك؟ وتساءل ما إذا كان هناك أي معنى لهذا أو إذا كان مجرد حدوث عشوائية؟ هل هذا له علاقة مع 2012 العام؟ وهناك دلائل على ...

التطور أو الانقراض

وقد عاش اليوم، هاملت، أمير الدانمارك، ستؤكد مع قناعة أعمق من أي وقت مضى: أن تكون أو لا تكون إلى الواقع على هذا السؤال. هذا الحي الأخضر والأزرق الكوكب، منزل الإنسانية - كم من الوقت دعم لنا؟ وسوف ننجح في التطور كنوع واع الاجتماعية والثقافية - أو سوف نقوم انقرضت مثل الديناصورات؟

تغيير الطقس

إذا اخترت لتغيير الطقس، يمكنك. لكن لماذا؟ ليس هناك حب في عاصفة؟ ترى، يقبض عليه الأنا مع ذلك. القضاة الأنا أن عاصفة شيئا سيئا، وهو أمر غير مرغوب فيه. ونتيجة لذلك، انها تريد تغييره. نقترح هذا ليس تغييرا بقدر ما هو حول القبول والتقدير.

الهندسة الوراثية - هل هي آمنة؟

لقد تفوقت الهندسة الوراثية - من الأغذية والمنتجات الأخرى - إلى حد كبير على العلم الذي يجب أن يكون أول انضباط لها. وهنا يكمن الخطر والمخاطرة والتهور. قد يكون العلماء الذين لا يدركون هذه الهوة يمارسون "علم الشركات" مدفوعًا بالمبيعات والأرباح والأسرار المملوكة الملكية والبديلة السياسية.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
لماذا قد لا يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم أفضل مؤشر لصحتنا
by كارين كولمان وسارة ساوتشيلي توران
كيف تحافظ على منزلك آمن وصحي
كيف تحافظ على منزلك آمن وصحي
by ليبي ساندر ولوتي تاجوري وراشد الغافري

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Are We Too Connected For Good Problem Solving?

Are We Too Connected For Good Problem Solving?"The research was just one experiment in a lab," Steve Lohr writes in the New York Times about the study, "but it does point to the larger subject of striking a balance between connectedness and isolation in the digital age."

Broadband Is The Key Infrastructure For The 21st Century

Broadband Is The Key Infrastructure For The 21st CenturyEarlier this month, the US Broadband Opportunity Council declared that broadband is “taking its place alongside water, sewer and electricity as essential infrastructure for communities”.

How Hungry Mealworms Can Recycle Styrofoam Trash

How Hungry Mealworms Can Recycle Styrofoam TrashEvery year, people in the US throw away 2.5 billion plastic foam cups—and that’s just a fraction of the 33 million tons of plastic that Americans throw out each year.

The Search Is On For Sustainable Plastics

The Search Is On For Sustainable PlasticsAs petroleum-based polymers foul our oceans and litter our lives, researchers seek more environmentally friendly ways to meet demand for durable, versatile materials.

Why It's Time The World Embraced Wikipedia

Why It's Time The World Embraced Wikipedia“Also: please note that we NEVER link to Wikipedia,” reads the email about an article for The Conversation Africa. I’m not surprised. The same sentiment is expressed in many course documents at universities and schools.

Polarised Light And The Super Sense You Didn't Know You Had

Polarised Light And The Super Sense You Didn't Know You HadEver fancied having a superpower? Something you can call upon when you need it, to hand you extra information about the world? OK, it’s not X-ray vision, but your eyes do have abilities that you might not be aware of.

A Handful Of Bronze-Age Men Could Have Fathered Two Thirds Of Europeans

A Handful Of Bronze-Age Men Could Have Fathered Two Thirds Of EuropeansFor such a large and culturally diverse place, Europe has surprisingly little genetic variety. Learning how and when the modern gene-pool came together has been a long journey. But thanks to new technological advances a picture is slowly coming together of repeated colonisation by peoples from the east with more efficient lifestyles.

Tomorrow's Battery Technologies That Could Power Your Home

Tomorrow's Battery Technologies That Could Power Your HomeThe recent announcement by Tesla of Powerwall, its new lithium-ion (Li-ion) based residential battery storage system, has caused quite a stir. It even raises the possibility of going off-the-grid, relying upon solar panels to generate electricity, and storing it with their own battery and using it on demand.

Homebrewed Morphine: No Poppies Required

Homebrewed Morphine: No Poppies RequiredFans of homebrewed beer and backyard distilleries already know how to employ yeast to convert sugar into alcohol. Now, bioengineers have gone much further by completing key steps needed to turn sugar-fed yeast into a microbial factory for producing morphine and potentially other drugs, including antibiotics and anti-cancer therapeutics.

Why Does Hair Change Colour and Turn Grey?

Why Does Hair Change Colour And Turn Grey?Genetic factors appear to be important in determining when we turn grey. Identical twins seem to go grey at a similar age, rate and pattern, however we’re yet to identify the controlling genes.

What To Do About The Increasingly Noisy World

What To Do About The Increasingly Noisy WorldWe live in an increasingly noisy world. Since even low-level noise can affect quality of life, new tools to deal with noise are welcome. “Auralisation”, the audio equivalent of visualisation, is now helping to model and improve the sound of our living and working spaces, as well as recovering the acoustics of past environments.

One Size Does Not Fit All In The Future Of Electric Vehicles

In The Future Of Electric Vehicles, One Size Does Not Fit AllIn an effort to jumpstart adoption of fuel cell electric vehicles, Toyota Motors earlier this month made more than 5,600 patents available to other carmakers. A few days later, General Motors introduced the electric Bolt, an electric vehicle designed to run 200 miles on batteries.

The Future Me: Now You See Me, Now You Don’t

The Future Me: Now You See Me, Now You Don’t

What will you and I—and our descendants—become over the next decades or centuries? Is the answer to this question self-evident? Or will we be radically different from how we are now? All that follows from this thought is conjecture, but it is more than a venture into fantasy or science fiction.

My Brain Made Me Do It, But Does That Really Matter?

My Brain Made Me Do It, But Does That Really Matter?

Brian is correct that his brain made him do it. It was not his legs or eyes that made him watch the movie. It also wasn’t the movie or another person that made him do it. It was his desires, which are in his brain...

How Your Eyes Can Detect ‘Invisible’ Light

How Your Eyes Can Detect ‘Invisible’ Light

Science textbooks say humans can’t see infrared light. New research, however, finds that our retinas can sense it under certain conditions. Scientists on the research team "were able to see the laser light, which was outside of the normal visible range..."

Dutch Company Powers Streetlights With Living Plants

Dutch Company Powers Streetlights With Living Plants

Down the Rabbit Hole: Timing Is Everything

Down the Rabbit Hole: Timing Is EverythingFast-forward about 150 years from Alice in Wonderland’s time and we all find ourselves down a version of her rabbit hole. The Maya call this the lifetime of change. I like to refer to it as the lifetime full of lifetimes of change. How many “lifetimes” have you lived within this lifetime?

Underwater Icicle: The Finger of Death

The underwater icicles, or brinicles, are known as the "finger of death". That is a good name for them as you will see as you watch this awesome video footage. Not only does it look like a finger pointing down to the sea bed, but...

Learning Compassion: What Happens If A Tree Falls In A Virtual Forest?

What Happens If a Tree Falls in a Virtual Forest

A woman peers through goggles embedded in a large black helmet. Forest sounds emanate from various corners of the room: a bird chirping here, a breeze whispering there. She moves slowly around the room. On the wall, a flat digital forest is projected so observers can get a rough idea of her surroundings, but in her mind’s eye...

Five Science ‘Facts’ We Learnt At School That Are Plain Wrong

Five Science ‘Facts’ We Learnt At School That Are Plain Wrong

There are many more than the five “facts” that need to be fixed in school textbooks. I am not suggesting that we should start teaching 6-year-olds about matter that only appears in Nobel Prize-winning physics labs or filling the curriculum with detail on dozens of senses. But maybe we should stop telling kids fibs.

A New Scientific Revolution: Foundations of the New Paradigm

Conceptual Foundations 
of the New Paradigm: A New Scientific Revolution

There is a major revolution under way in science today, a transformation that is both profound and fascinating. It changes our view of the world, and our concept of life and consciousness in the world. It comes at a propitious time. We know that the world we have created is unsustainable...

App To Remotely Wipe Phones Leaves Police In Tech Arms Race

App To Remotely Wipe Phones Leaves Police In Tech Arms Race With Thieves

Police play a proverbial cat-and-mouse game with those they pursue, but also with the technology of the day they use. This game of one-upmanship, of measure and countermeasure, sees one or the other side temporarily with the upper hand.

New Polymer Makes Solar Cells More Efficient

solar polymer

Solar cells made from polymers have the potential to be cheap and lightweight, but scientists are struggling to make them generate electricity efficiently.

Brains Can Make Decisions While We Sleep

Brains Can Make Decisions While We Sleep

The idea that during sleep our minds shut down from the outside world is ancient and one that is still deeply anchored in our view of sleep today, despite some everyday life experiences and recent scientific discoveries that would tend to prove our brains don’t completely switch off from our environment.

Ignore the IQ Test: Your Level of Intelligence Is Not Fixed For Life

 Ignore the IQ Test: Your Level of Intelligence Is Not Fixed For Life

We’re getting more stupid. That’s one point made in a recent article in the New Scientist, reporting on a gradual decline in IQs in developed countries... Such research feeds into a long-held fascination with testing human intelligence. Yet such debates are too focused on IQ as a life-long trait that can’t be changed. Other research is beginning to show the opposite.

Sweating the Small Stuff: Super Tiny Nanomaterials

Sweating the Small Stuff: Super Tiny Nanomaterials

Every age has its wonder materials. For the Victorians, it was rubber. In the 20th century, it was plastic. And for the digitized 21st century, it may well turn out to be graphene. It’s one of the newest nano-scaled materials to have emerged from our laboratories...

What Happened to Obama’s Promised Net Neutrality?

net neutrality

Make no mistake you are under siege on the Internet, be it big government, big data, or your favorite smartphone application. Your government on the other hand stands idly by ready to turn you over for roasting on the other side by ISPs standing between you and your website of choice.

Which SmartPhone Is Most Vulnerable To Malware?

Which SmartPhone Is Most Vulnerable To Malware?

As each new computer virus attack or vulnerability comes to light, millions instinctively check their computer to see if their anti-malware application is up to date. This is a good idea and they are wise to do it but a large number of us still forget about their smartphone.

Unknown Unknowns: The Amazing Secrets of Nature

Unknown Unknowns: The Amazing Secrets of Nature

Scientists are tapping into the secret wisdom of trees—even when they don't know what they're looking for. Thomas Swetnam understands how unforeseeable insights and technological developments can lead us toward new discoveries and conclusions. “There’s the known unknown,” he says, “and then there’s the unknown unknown.”

Now We Can See Around The Corner

see around corners

This camera can look around corners and beyond the line of sight. The camera uses light that travels from the object to the camera indirectly, by reflecting off walls or other obstacles, to reconstruct a 3D shape.

Chattering Brain Cells Hold The Key To The Language of The Mind

Chattering Brain Cells Hold The Key To The Language Of The Mind

Let’s say Martians land on the Earth and wish to understand more about humans. Someone hands them a copy of the Complete Works of Shakespeare and says: “When you understand what’s in there, you will understand everything important about us.”

"See Through" Solar Windows Go Big

New See Through Solar Windows Go Big

The company New Energy Technologies is reporting a breakthrough in their see through solar window technology and it’s all about size. When New Energy began developing a solar glass coating several years ago, it started out as a solution in a vial before progressing to a tiny square. In the latest development...

Marine Renewables Promise Oceans of Energy

Marine Renewables Promise Oceans of Energy

Long before humans got hooked on fossil fuels, we learned how to harness the power of water to do work. Technologies that harness the energy of moving water or temperature differentials in the oceans promise to deliver abundant carbon-free electricity.

Google's Glucose Contact Lenses Could Transform Diabetes Care

Google's Glucose Contact Lenses Could Transform Diabetes Care

Google has teamed up with researchers at the University of Washington to create a contact lens that can measure blood glucose levels in a person’s tears and display the reading on their mobile phone. If this smart contact lens project is successful, people with diabetes may be able to stop drawing blood to measure their sugar levels.

Magnetism: How Human Energy Affects Things and People

Magnetism: How Human Energy Affects Things and People

You have no doubt met people whose very presence emanated an indefinable power. Perhaps you persuaded yourself that their influence was due to something perfectly ordinary: physical stature, or good looks, or reputation...

An Invisible Bike Helmet? The Impossible Made Possible

An Invisible Bike Helmet? The Impossible Made Possible

As we move to a more sustainable lifestyle, bicycling to work or to the store etc. can be an option for many. However, in many cities, riding a bicycle may seem like you're taking your life in your own hands. However, there is a happy solution...

The Economic Injustice of Plastic and a "Disposable" Society

This talk (13 min approx) is amazing... talking about our belief in a "disposable" society... disposable bottles, cans...  but it seems we also believe in disposable people. Van Jones speaks of Cancer Alley, smog, 1 out of 4 people in jail, etc. THIS IS A MUST WATCH! Want to make a difference? Start with watching this video!

A Fairy Tale Come True? Uncovering the River to Happiness

South Korea: River Restoration Project

An engineering survey found that the road had several structural weaknesses and that it would be very costly to renovate the road, so instead, the city government decided to demolish the highway and restore the flow to the river...

Sunspot Cycles and Human Behavior

Sunspot Cycles and Human Behavior

Since the 1800s astronomers have noted that there is an eleven and a twenty-two-year sunspot cycle; that is, for some years there would be hardly any sunspots, and then for some years the sun's face would be as blotchy as a teenager with acne. It was discovered that sunspot emissions affected a wide variety of...

Two New Printing Technologies To Change the World

Printing Technologies Change the World

As with most technologies it is the limitation of human imagination, the need to overcome conventionalism and fend off of those with a vested financial interests in doing it the old way, that often holds back new technologies.

No December 30th in Samoa?

Dateline prior to December 2011 shift

The 186,000 residents of the island of Samoa will go to bed on December 29th and wake up on December 31st. They will have missed a whole day! No, they won't have slept 24 hours, they will simply be experiencing the...

First Planet in the Habitable Zone Confirmed

kepler22b460

NASA's Kepler mission has confirmed its first planet in the "habitable zone," the region where liquid water could exist on a planet’s surface. Kepler also has discovered more than 1,000 new planet candidates, nearly doubling its previously known count. Ten of these candidates are near-Earth-size and orbit in the habitable zone of their host star. Candidates require follow-up observations to verify they are actual planets.

Earth's Magnetic & Physical Shift

The magnetic field around the Earth feeds the magnetic fields around our brains and within each individual brain cell. Our memory and synaptic functions are dependent on this magnetic field remaining strong. When the field drops, things don’t work right.

The Great Shift: 11:11, 12.21.12 & 13:13

Do you often see the numbers 11:11, or even various triple digits when you glance at your digital clock such as 4:44, 5:55, etc.? Have you wondered if there was any significance to this or if it was just a random occurrence? Does this have anything to do with the year 2012? There are clues to...

Evolution or Extinction

Had he lived today, Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, would affirm with deeper conviction than ever: To be or not to be is indeed the question. This living blue-green planet, the home of humanity -- how long will it support us? Will we manage to evolve as a conscious social and cultural species -- or will we become extinct like the dinosaurs?

Brain Structure May Affect Reading Ability

New research indicates that "Brain Structure May Affect Reading Ability" - INNERSELF MAGAZINE - Creating new attitudes for the new millennium

Changing the Weather

If you choose to change the weather, you can. But why would you? Isn't there love in a storm? You see, the ego gets caught up with it. The ego judges that a storm is something bad, something not desirable. And as a result, it wants to change it. We would suggest this isn't about change as much as it is about acceptance and appreciation.

Genetic Engineering -- Is It Safe???

Genetic engineering -- of food and other products -- has far outrun the science that must be its first governing discipline. Therein lies the peril, the risk, and the foolhardiness. Scientists who do not recognize this chasm may be practicing 'corporate science' driven by sales, profits, proprietary secrets, and political influence-peddling.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…