من لوحات عصر النهضة إلى سلفادور دالي ، استخدم الفنانون الذباب لإثبات مظهرهم

من لوحات عصر النهضة إلى سلفادور دالي ، استخدم الفنانون الذباب لإثبات مظهرهم
"صورة لامرأة من عائلة هوفر" ، فنان من Swabian ، ج. 1470 ، وصورة تظهر ذبابة على نائب الرئيس الأمريكي مايك بنس خلال مناظرة 7 أكتوبر 2020 في جامعة يوتا في سولت ليك سيتي.
(ويكيميديا ​​كومنز / AP Photo / Julio Cortez)

بعد مناظرة نائب الرئيس هذا الأسبوع في الولايات المتحدة ، الذبابة التي هبطت على نائب الرئيس مايك بنس رئيس كان أكثر من ضجة كبيرة من تفاصيل النقاش - على الأقل على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لقد تم بالفعل تخليد الذبابة باعتبارها بايدن / هاريس منشة الذباب (آسف ، تم بيعها كلها) وأثار زي هالوين.

في كثير من الحالات ، يكون الذباب غير ملحوظ. ربما لهذا السبب كلمة فرنسية للتجسس متصل بنفس الكلمة للطيران ، ذبابة. عندما تصبح الذبابة مشهورة ، يجدر بنا أن نتساءل لماذا.

لطالما صمد الذباب المعنى الرمزي في تاريخ الفن. في الصور التي تم صنعها في عصر النهضة في أوروبا ، فإن وجود الذبابة يرمز إلى زوال الحياة البشرية (buzzbuzzpfft!). في المخطط العظيم للأشياء ، لم تعد حياتنا أكثر من حياة الذبابة. بالنسبة لي كمؤرخ للفنون ، كانت الذبابة لحظة للتأمل ليس فقط في تاريخ الذباب في الرسم الغربي ، ولكن للبدء في التفكير في المدة الطويلة تاريخ هذه الرمزية قد تكشف عن سبب توليد الذبابة الكثير من الضجة.

التواضع ، عدم الثبات ، الوهم

خذ ، على سبيل المثال ، لوحة صغيرة غير عادية معروفة اليوم باسم صورة لامرأة من عائلة هوفر، رسمها في حوالي عام 1470 فنان من المدرسة الألمانية (Swabian) ، الآن في المعرض الوطني في لندن. يبرز غطاء رأسها الأبيض المتقن ذبابة صغيرة مثالية ، استقرت عليها فقط لتذكيرنا أن حياتنا ، مثل حياتها ، غير دائمة.

والنتيجة الطبيعية هي أنه من المفترض أن نبذل قصارى جهدنا مع الوقت المتاح لدينا. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالزمن والخلود ، كما كتب الرسام والشاعر ويليام بليك: "ألست أنا / يطير مثلك؟ / أم لست أنت / رجل مثلي؟ " الذبابة تذكير قليل بالتواضع.

يمكن للرسامين أيضًا تضمين ذبابة للفت الانتباه إلى أنفسهم ، مع إظهار "ترومبي لويل"(خداع العين) الحيل التي يمكن أن يرسموها بطريقة تبدو حقيقية جدًا ، قد يغري مشاهد الصورة لمحاولة سحق الذبابة بعيدًا. الرسام الإيطالي في القرن السادس عشر جورجيو فاساري ، كاتب سيرة فناني عصر النهضة الإيطاليين، يروي قصة عن الرسام جيوتو يخدع أستاذه سيمابو من خلال إضافة ذبابة واقعية إلى اللوحة.

سلفادور دالي ، الذي كان إلى حد كبير سيد الذباب (رسمهم كثيرا) شمل ذبابة على وجه الساعة من لوحته ثبات الذاكرة (موجود الآن في متحف الفن الحديث في نيويورك). كما استخدم جيشًا من النمل للدلالة على اضمحلال الزمن وعدم ثبات الحياة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"صورة كارثوسي" (1446) ، لبيتروس كريستوس ، زيت على خشب. أقيم في متحف متروبوليتان للفنون بنيويورك."صورة كارثوسي" (1446) ، لبيتروس كريستوس ، زيت على خشب. أقيم في متحف متروبوليتان للفنون بنيويورك. (ويكيميديا ​​كومنز), CC BY

ليس كل شيء على ما يبدو

صورة لكارثوسيرسمها بيتروس كريستوس عام 1446 ، وهي الصورة الأكثر شهرة التي تصور ذبابة ، وهي موجودة الآن في متحف متروبوليتان في نيويورك. وهي تصور راهبًا ملتحًا.

تشير الذبابة التي تطفو على الحافة أمامه إلى أننا ندخل منطقة ليس كل شيء فيها كما يبدو: قد نقول إن ما يبدو حقيقيًا هو مجرد وهم. أو ربما عزز الفنان "جودة الوجود "الحقيقي" للموضوع بواسطة الذبابة التي تستريح للحظات على الإطار الخياليوفقا للمتحف.

اكتشف عالم الحشرات رون شيري كيف الحشرات لها ارتباطات أسطورية طويلة الأمد مع الموت. في فكر عصر النهضة ، الذي كان يميل إلى مزج حكايات العصور الوسطى الخرافية عن الطبيعة بأفكار حول الدين ، كان يُنظر إلى الذباب على أنه يمثل قوة خارقة للطبيعة ، ترتبط في الغالب بالشر والفساد ، لأنهم بدوا وكأنهم ولدوا تلقائيًا من الفاكهة المتعفنة والمواد العضوية المتعفنة.

حشد الله في سفر الخروج في الكتاب المقدس أسراب من الذباب as عقاب. كانوا نذير بأمور أسوأ ، مثل الوباء والموت. هذا كثير من الإنجازات لمجموعة من الذباب الصغير.

النقطة المهمة هي أن الذباب لا يزال يذكرنا بالأشياء غير السارة ، أو كما لاحظ المعلق ديفيد فروم ، أشياء غير سارة في الرئاسة نفضل تجاهلها - لهذا السبب ، أظن ، بالنظر إلى سجل الإدارة، وجده بعض الناس ممتعًا جدًا.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

سالي هيكسون ، أستاذ مشارك ، تاريخ الفن ، جامعة غلف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

دعم وظيفة جيدة!

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
by مالكولم ستيرن
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
by سيرج بيدنجتون بيرنس

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

From Renaissance Portraits To Salvador Dalí, Artists Used Flies To Make A Point About Appearances

From Renaissance Portraits To Salvador Dalí, Artists Used Flies To Make A Point About Appearances
‘Portrait of a Woman of the Hofer Family,’ Swabian artist, c. 1470, and a picture showing a fly on U.S. Vice-President Mike Pence during the Oct. 7, 2020 debate at University of Utah in Salt Lake City.
(Wikimedia Commons/AP Photo/Julio Cortez) 

After this week’s vice-presidential debate in the United States, the fly that landed on Vice-President Mike Pence’s head was more of a sensation than the details of the debate — at least on social media. The fly has already been immortalized as a Biden/Harris fly swatter (sorry, they’re all sold out) and sparked a Halloween costume.

In many circumstances, flies are unremarkable. That’s probably why a French word for spy is connected to the same word for fly, mouche. When a fly becomes famous, it’s worth wondering why.

Flies have long held symbolic meaning in the history of art. In portraits made in Renaissance Europe, the presence of a fly symbolizes the transience of human life (buzzbuzzpfft!). In the great scheme of things, our lives are no longer than that of a fly. For me as an art historian, the fly was a moment to reflect not only on the history of flies in western painting, but to begin considering what the long history of this symbolism may reveal about why the fly generated so much buzz.

Humility, impermanence, illusion

Take, for example, an extraordinary little painting known today as Portrait of a Woman of the Hofer Family, painted in about 1470 by an artist from the German (Swabian) School, now in the National Gallery in London. Her elaborate white head covering highlights a perfect little fly, that’s settled on her just to remind us that our life, like hers, is impermanent.

The corollary is that we’re supposed to do the best we can with the time we’ve got. When it comes to time and eternity, as painter and poet William Blake wrote: “Am not I / A fly like thee? / Or art not thou / A man like me?” The fly is a little reminder of humility.

Painters could also include a fly to draw attention to themselves, demonstrating with their “trompe-l’oeil” (deceiving the eye) tricks that they could paint in a manner that seemed so real, a viewer of the portrait would be tempted to try to swat the fly away. The 16th-century Italian painter Giorgio Vasari, biographer of Italian Renaissance artists, tells a story about the painter Giotto fooling his teacher Cimabue by adding a realistic-looking fly to a painting.

Salvador Dalí, who was pretty much the lord of the flies (he painted them a lot) included a fly on the watch face of his painting The Persistence of Memory (now housed at the Museum of Modern Art in New York). He also used an army of ants to signify the decay of time and life’s impermanence.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


‘Portrait of a Carthusian’ (1446), by Petrus Christus, oil on wood. Held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.‘Portrait of a Carthusian’ (1446), by Petrus Christus, oil on wood. Held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. (Wikimedia Commons), CC BY

All is not not what it appears

Portrait of a Carthusian, the most famous portrait featuring a fly, now in the Metropolitan Museum in New York, was painted by Petrus Christus in 1446. It depicts a bearded monk.

The fly perched on the ledge in front of him signifies we’re entering a zone where all is not what it appears: we might say that what seems real is only an illusion. Or, perhaps the artist has enhanced “the quality of the subject’s ‘real’ presence by the fly resting momentarily on the fictive frame,” according to the museum.

Entomologist Ron Cherry has explored how insects have long-standing mythological associations with death. In Renaissance thought, which tended to blend medieval fabulist tales about nature with ideas about religion, flies were considered to represent supernatural power, mostly associated with evil and corruption, because they seemed to be spontaneously born from decaying fruit and rotting organic matter.

In the book of Exodus in the Bible, God mustered swarms of flies as punishment. They were harbingers of worse things, like pestilence and death. That’s a lot of deliverables for a bunch of tiny flies.

The point is that flies still remind us of unpleasant things, or as commentator David Frum noted, unpleasant things in a presidency we’d rather ignore — which is why, I suspect, given the administration’s record, some people found it so delightful.The Conversation

About the Author

Sally Hickson, Associate Professor, Art History, University of Guelph

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

I get by with a little help from my friends

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to carve our own path and to heal our lives, spiritually…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.