الطلاب والمعلم: قصة رومي للإضاءة والبهجة والإعلام

قصة الرومي للإضاءة والبهجة والإعلام: الطلاب والمعلمون

(ملاحظة المحرر: هذه المقالة مقتطفة من كتاب الرومي's مقدمة (بواسطة Narguess Farzad) وتحتوي على قصة لرومي من الكتاب نفسه.)

مهما كانت خلفيتنا الثقافية أو اللغوية ، يمكننا جميعًا أن ندعي بعض المعرفة بحياة الآخرين ، وقد وصلت إلينا هذه المعرفة من خلال القصص. هذه القصص قد تكون رويت من قبل الجد المتحركة. ربما سمعناهم على الراديو أو التقينا بهم خلال درس في الدراسات الدينية في المدرسة ، حيث تعلمنا عن حياة وأوقات القديسين والآلهة والآلهة.

فصول الأدب والتاريخ التي أحدثت انطباعات طويلة عني هي تلك التي سُمح لي فيها بإلقاء نظرة على قصة حياة كاتب أو عندما ركّز أستاذي على القصص الإنسانية عن الفترة التي يتم تدريسها ، وأزالوا الطبقات للكشف عن شيء من الحياة العادية أو التجارب العاطفية للشخصيات الشاهقة التي كنا ندرسها في غزواتها أو هزيمتها ، أو بشكل أكثر إثارة للحياة العادية والتجارب العاطفية لعامة الناس في ذلك الوقت. لا يهم حقًا ما إذا كانت هذه الحسابات الطرفية ضعيفة أو ملفقة ، لأن إدراجها في الدرس جعل الحلقة بأكملها قيد التدقيق أكثر قابلية للتذكر ولا تنسى.

ليس من الضروري أن تشير القصص دائمًا إلى الخير أو الخير أو الأسطوري. في حياتنا اليومية الخاصة ، نشارك باستمرار لقطات من تجاربنا الاجتماعية مع دوائر معارف متنامية باستمرار ومتداخلة. نحتفل بالطقوس المناسبة ، مثل عيد ميلاد كبير أو ذكرى سنوية أو ذكرى ، من خلال التركيز على القصص التي تبرز بمهارة وبعناية مواطن الضعف لدى الفرد ، والعواطف ، والصفات المميزة. مثل رواة القصص السابقين في الماضي ، نقوم بتحرير اللامبالاة غير الضرورية ونسلط الضوء على الخصائص والإنجازات التي لا تُنسى التي نشهدها ، وفي هذه العملية ، نخلق نسخة بديلة أخرى لا تُمحى ، قد يقال بعضها في سنوات وحتى أجيال ليأتي.

كان الأنبياء والخطباء من جميع الأديان والعقائد ، أيضًا ، هم أسياد هذه الممارسة واعتمدوا على الأمثال والمثواب في توصيل اللاهوت المعقد لأتباعهم. أمثال مآسي الشهداء ، وما زالت تجذب ، الرجال والنساء إلى أماكن العبادة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، إلى الأضرحة وساحات البلدة ؛ وغالبًا ما تشتمل مثل هذه الأمثال على أجزاء من الحقيقة جنبًا إلى جنب مع أجزاء من الأسطورة ، باستخدام البراعة الأدبية لتحريك المشاعر وتنفس حياة جديدة في موضوعات مشتركة.

لا يبدو أن أولئك الذين يسمعون أو يقرؤون هذه القصص يجدون الأشكال الجديدة من الموضوعات القديمة مملة. ربما هناك بعض الطمأنينة في إمكانية التنبؤ بكيفية حتمية اختتام هذه الحكايات الأخلاقية. إن أفلام العصر الحديث التي تصور حياة تجار الجشع في وول ستريت ، المملوءة بحيوانات فرعية مؤلمة ، هي في الأساس تكيفات للدروس القديمة التي لا يمكن للمرء أن يخدم فيها الله والمال. علاوة على ذلك ، تتأكد جميع الحكايات الأخلاقية تقريبًا من أن "شهوة اللحم وشهوة العين" تؤدي دائمًا إلى المتاعب.

متعطشًا للقصص التي تمنحنا راحة من كدح حياتنا ، نجتمع الآن قبل منبر Instagram و Facebook و YouTube للحصول على ملء يومي من غرائب ​​الآلهة الحديثة ، آلهة وآلهة وخبراء القرن الثامن عشر الذين يعيشون في آلهة 21st مرتفعات هوليود ونسخها المقلدة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

بالنسبة للعديد من المجتمعات وفي العديد من الثقافات ، فإن الرواة الأكثر جدارة بالثقة في الحكايات التي لا تقاوم هم الشعراء. يخبرنا الشعراء ، بطرقهم الفذة ، عن التحديات والإخفاقات في العثور على الحب والأفراح المتمثلة في تكوين الصداقة. يحذروننا من المآزق والخيانة والظلم التي نواجهها دائمًا على طول الطريق ، ومع ذلك نشجعنا على إبعاد الحسد والرغبة في الانتقام من قلوبنا. إن الشعراء هم الذين يعلموننا دائمًا كيفية قياس حجم الخسارة ، والحزن بكرامة ، وفي النهاية قبول الوفيات.

على مدار أكثر من ثمانمائة عام ، اختار عدد لا يحصى من الناس في الأراضي الناطقة باللغة الفارسية ، وفي العقود الأخيرة الكثيرون حول العالم ممن لديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى عدد متزايد من الترجمات الممتازة ، مولانا جلال الدين بلخي ، الرومي ، كان المعلم الروحي الذي تحول دورته المتآكلة للعبارة ، إلى جانب مؤلمة المشاعر المعبر عنها بصراحة ، مصدرًا للراحة وكذلك التعليم.

على الرغم من أن نطاق المنحة الأكاديمية على الأسس الفلسفية واللاهوتية لترتيب الرومي في التصوف يفوق الآن كتابات الشاعر الخاصة ، إلا أنه من المجدي قراءة قصص الرومي الفعلية ، التي تفتح البوابة الصوفية أمام عالمه.

إن القصص التي يخترعها الرومي أو يعيد استخدامها للمساعدة في فهم مبادئ الصوفية تُنسج بشكل معقد في لحمة ونسيج نسيج تعاليمه ، ومع ذلك حتى نراهم بمعزل عن أمثالهم ، نحن بحاجة إلى أن نعمل بجد في طريقنا من خلال ستة وعشرين ألف خط مزدوج من الآية المترية ، تم تجميعها في ستة كتب لل مسناوي يي مانوي (الأزواج الروحية) ، ماغنوس التأليف له.

من الممتع والسرور أن ننجز المهمة بالنسبة لنا بواسطة مريم مافي ، واحدة من أكثر المترجمين احتراماً وإخلاصاً وبليغاً في شعر الرومي. تتنقل مافي المترجم دون جهد بين لغتي الفارسية والإنجليزية لأنها تقدم المعنى الدلالي للنص الأصلي باللغة الإنجليزية. ومع ذلك ، مافي الكاتب والقارئ الوثيق لل المثنوي ينقل التفاصيل الدقيقة الرائعة ، والرؤية الدقيقة ، والذكاء التلقائي للنسخة الأصلية إلى النسخة الإنجليزية ، وبالتالي إعطاء الحياة لتعريف روبرت فروست للشعر بأنه "الذي ضاع من الآية في الترجمة".

في أحدث ترجمة لها ، كتاب الروميتحولت مافي انتباهها إلى أكثر من مائة قصة اختارت من خلالها المثنوي.

في صفحة بعد صفحة من الأمثال والحكايات ، ليس فقط رومي يستمتع بل يوجه القارئ ، أو بدقة أكثر المستمع ، لفهم تعقيدات الحياة ، وطاعة سلطة الحب ، وحل النزاعات. يطرح الرومي أسئلة بدون إجابة وكذلك أسئلة لا يمكن الإجابة عليها.

ممثلو معظم حكاياته هم شخصيات بارزة يعيش سكانها في قصصهم حول العالم: قضاة حكماء أو خادعون ، نساء عاقرات أو لا يثقن بهن ، متسولون خرافيون أو متشردون ، مشعوذين ، أرواح ساطعة ، والعديد من الحيوانات الناطقة.

يحكي الرومي عن الأفعال الملكية ومعجزات الأنبياء ؛ وهو يتحدث عن الأذى الذي تسببه الخنازير ويلقي بالمرتزقة. يتم إلقاء هذا المزيج على الوظائف الجسدية ، والتخفي ، وأعمال البطولة ، والهويات الخاطئة ، والارتباطات الجنسية ، والنتيجة الشريرة والغرور ، وجميع الروايات الخيالية والرائعة للرذائل والفضائل ، فضلاً عن الخرافات الشائعة.

تتصاعد لغة الراوي الشعري للحكايات إلى آيات عالية من الآيات مع استخدام استعارات لا تشوبه شائبة والحوارات الداخلية المنظمة بشكل معقد ، ثم تنغمس في استخدام التورية ، والتعابير العامية في ذلك الوقت ، وتعابير الشعارات الفكاهية. يقتبس من أفضل الشعر الفارسي والعربية في عصره ويعتمد على معرفته العلمية بالقرآن وأقوال النبي محمد لدعم حججه. يشعر الرومي بالراحة مع لغة الحياة المنخفضة والأوغاد في السوق كما هو الحال مع الخطاب الخطابي لعلماء اللاهوت في المسجد والنحاة في المدرسة الدينية.

يستخدم الرومي العديد من الأجهزة الدرامية للتواصل مع أشخاص من جميع مناحي الحياة. تتماشى الأدوار التي يسندها للحيوانات ، النباتات والحيوانات ، مع التقاليد القديمة لآلاف السرد في رواية القصص في الشرق ، حيث تتساوى حكمة الحيوانات أو صنعها في الأذى مع الطابع الإنساني.

مولانا جلال الدين ، إلى جانب العديد من معاصريه في العصور الوسطى في إيران ، مثل سعدي من شيراز ونزامي من غانجا ، قدّروا فعالية القصص بصفتهم أكثر السفراء الموثوق بهم لنشر التقاليد الثقافية والشفوية في مختلف المجالات السياسية والدينية الحدود الوطنية.

صوت الرومي في جميع مخرجاته الأدبية ، ولكن بشكل خاص في المثنوي، بالتناوب بين لعوب وموثوقة ، سواء كان يروي قصصا عن حياة عادية أو دعوة القارئ المميز إلى مستويات أعلى من الاستبطان وتحقيق القيم المتعالية. تعكس ترجمات مريم مافي بدقة الفروق الدقيقة لشعر الرومي مع الحفاظ على النغمة الإيجابية لكل كتابات الرومي ، فضلاً عن الإحساس بالتشويق والدراما التي تميز جوهر المثنوي.

كتاب الرومي جوهرة أخرى في سلسلة الترجمات لمريم مافي التي تحيي عالمية مولانا كشاعرة وكحكاية. لا أستطيع أن أفكر في أي تقدير لإرث الرومي من تقييم هنري وادزورث لونجفيلر لما يصنع شاعراً عظيماً:

"كل ما هو أفضل في الشعراء العظماء في جميع البلدان ليس ما هو وطني فيها ، بل ما هو عالمي. جذورهم في ترابهم الأصلي ؛ لكن فروعهم تنتشر في الهواء غير الوطني ، الذي يتحدث اللغة نفسها للرجال ، وأوراقهم تلمع مع الضوء اللامتناهي الذي يسود جميع الأراضي. "

الطلاب والمعلم - من قبل الرومي

كان الطلاب يشعرون بالغضب من معلمهم الصارم بشكل مخيف ، والذي لم يسمح لهم أبدًا بالراحة. كل يوم ، استحضروا خططًا شقيّة لتشتيت انتباهه لكن بطريقة ما لم يتمكنوا من خداعه أبدًا. في يوم من الأيام ، توصل أذكى الأولاد ، الذي كان هو الأكثر تجولاً في الشارع ، إلى خطة رائعة. كما اجتمع زملائه من حوله بعد المدرسة ، وأوضح لهم:

"صباح الغد عندما نأتي إلى المدرسة ، سأقترب من المعلم أولاً وسأسأله كيف يشعر ولماذا يبدو شاحبًا للغاية. أتمنى له التوفيق وأقول إنه يجب أن يهتم بنفسه بشكل أفضل. بعد ذلك ، يجب أن تتبعوا جميعًا تقدماتي وتكرر واحدًا تلو الآخر نفس الأسئلة حتى نتمكن من غرس الشك في قلبه. بعد الشخص الخامس أو السادس ، من المؤكد أنه يجب أن يبدأ في التساؤل عما إذا كان لدينا نقطة أم لا. عندما أخبرنا ثلاثون شخصًا بنفس الشيء ، لن يكون أمامه خيار سوى تصديقنا وتركنا المدرسة لمدة يومين على الأقل. "

كان كل الأولاد متحمسين وأثنى على الفتى الذكي لفكرته الذكية. لقد جعلهم الصبي جميعًا يعدون بعدم إخبار آبائهم والتمسك بمخططهم. في صباح اليوم التالي ، كان الطلاب جميعهم في الوقت المحدد وانتظروا وصول الصبي الذكي ، لأنهم لم يتمكنوا من بدء مخططهم بدونه. بمجرد وصوله ، هز رأسه إلى بعضهما البعض ودخل واحد تلو الآخر الفصل الدراسي.

"صباح الخير لك يا سيدي. هل أنت بخير يا سيدي؟ "لماذا تبدو شاحبة للغاية هذا الصباح الرائع؟"

"أنا بخير تماما. عن ماذا تنثر؟ اجلس في مقعدك ، "أمر المعلم الصبي بالطريقة الكاشطة المعتادة.

أول بذرة من الشك قد زرعت. بعد ذلك دخل الطلاب إلى الفصل الدراسي تلو الآخر ، وألقى كل منهم خطابًا على المدرس بالتعليق ، وعلقوا بقلق على صحة هذا الأخير. على الرغم من نفيه المتكرر ، بدأ المعلم ببطء في تصديق الأولاد ، حيث كان قد سمع نفس الملاحظة حول وجهه الشاحب ثلاثين مرة. بدأ يرتجف ويشعر بالحمى. بعد فترة وجيزة ، كان يعجل بتعبئة أوراقه وكتبه على عجل ويسارع إلى المنزل ، مع سحب ثلاثين صبيا.

طوال طريقه إلى المنزل ، كان يفكر في كيفية إهمال زوجته له في الآونة الأخيرة ، وكيف على الرغم من لطفه وكرمه كانت تتمنى له سوءًا. وبترفيهه عن هذه الأفكار السلبية عن زوجته البريئة ، سارع المعلم عبر الشوارع الخلفية الضيقة إلى منزله المتواضع ، بينما تابعه الأولاد عن كثب في كل خطوة على الطريق.

انتقد الباب الأمامي صاخبة ، وكان ينوي الإعلان عن وصوله في الوقت المناسب إلى زوجته عند دخوله منزلهم. عندما رأت أنه عاد من المدرسة في وقت مبكر ، اقتربت منه بسرعة واستفسرت عن حالته الصحية.

"هل انت اعمى؟ ألا ترى كم أنا مريض؟ أنت مثل منافق! يمكنك أن ترى جيدًا مدى شعوري المريع ، لكنك تتظاهر بأنه لا يوجد شيء معي! "

"عزيزي ، ماذا تقول؟ يجب أن تكون تعاني من الأوهام. قالت زوجته ، وهي تحاول تهدئة غضبه.

"أنت حقير ، أنت امرأة فظيعة! لا تستطيع أن ترى حالتي آسف؟ هل هو خطأي أنك أعمى وصماء لاحتياجاتي؟

"سأحضر لك المرآة حتى تستطيع أن ترى بنفسك أنه لا يوجد شيء معك."

"إلى الجحيم مع المرآة الخاصة بك! لقد كرهتني دائمًا وتمنيت لي الأسوأ. اذهب واستعد سريري ، ولست بحاجة للراحة! "

أصيبت المرأة بالذهول ، ولم تتمكن من الحركة أو اتخاذ قرار بشأن ما يجب عليها فعله ، عندما صرخ زوجها عليها: "انطلق ، أنت جيد مقابل لا شيء! هل تريد مني أن أفوت هنا؟ "

قررت المرأة التزام الصمت والقيام بما طلب ؛ خلاف ذلك ، قد يفكر حقًا في أن لديها نوايا كريهة ، ويمكن أن يتحول حقًا إلى شيء سيء. وهكذا ، أعدت فراشه على الأرض وتركته مع طلابه الذين رافقوه إلى المنزل. اجتمع الأولاد حول سريره وبدأوا في مراجعة الدرس بصوت عالٍ ، بعد أن تلقوا تعليمات من زعيمهم لإحداث أكبر قدر ممكن من الضوضاء لتفاقم الصداع الخيالي لمعلمهم.

"هادئ!" التقط المعلم. "قلت الهدوء! اذهب للمنزل. اتركني في سلام ".

الطلاب كانوا طليقين في النهاية ؛ متمنيا لمعلمهم كل الصحة في العالم ، طاروا عمليا من منزله. لم يعودوا إلى منازلهم ، وبدلاً من ذلك بقوا في الشوارع ، ولعبوا ألعابًا مختلفة لطالما كانوا يتخيلونها. ومع ذلك ، سرعان ما اكتشفت أمهاتهم أن أبنائهم قد تخطوا المدرسة ، وعندما عثروا عليهم في الشوارع ، قاموا بتوبيخهم ، ورفضوا قبول اعتذاراتهم من قبل مدرسهم. هددوا بزيارة منزل المعلم في اليوم التالي ومعرفة الحقيقة. وكذلك فعلوا. ووجدوا أن الرجل المسكين يرقد بائسًا تحت ألحفة متعددة ، ويتعرق مثل الخنزير ويئن من الألم.

"عزيزي سيدي ، اغفر لنا ، لأننا لم نصدق أبناءنا" ، اعترفت النساء. "الآن يمكننا أن نرى لأنفسنا كم أنت مريض حقًا! الله يمنحك حياة طويلة وصحية ".

قال المعلم بامتنان "أنا ممتن فعلاً لأبنائك المدركين لاكتشافهم مرضي". "كنت عازماً على تعليمهم أنني تجاهلت تمامًا صحتي. إذا لم يكن الأمر بالنسبة لهم ، فقد كنت قريبًا ميتًا! "

وكان هذا هو مصير المعلم الجاهل ، الذي كان ينخدع من خلال التكرار الذي لا أساس له وتلقينه التعليم الذي يقوم به مجرد أطفال.

© 2018 by Madyam Rafi. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقدمة حقوق الطبع والنشر 2018 كتبها Narguess Farzad.
مقتبسة مع إذن من الناشر،
هامبتون الطرق النشر. www.redwheelweiser.com
.

المادة المصدر

كتاب الرومي: قصص 105 والخرافات التي تنير ، البهجة ، والإعلام
بواسطة الرومي. ترجمة مريم مافي. مقدمة من نرجس فرزاد.

كتاب الرومي: قصص 105 والخرافات التي تنير ، البهجة ، والإعلام من قبل الرومي. ترجمة مريم مافي. مقدمة من نرجس فرزاد.يتناوب صوت الرومي بين لعوب وموثوق ، سواء كان يروي قصصا عن حياة عادية أو يدعو القارئ المميز إلى مستويات أعلى من الاستبطان وتحقيق القيم المتعالية. تعكس ترجمات مافي بدقة الفروق الدقيقة لشعر الرومي مع الحفاظ على النغمة الإيجابية لكل كتابات الرومي ، فضلاً عن الإحساس بالتشويق والدراما التي تمثل جوهر المسنوي. (متوفر أيضًا كنسخة Kindle و MP3 CD.)

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

حول المؤلف

جلال الدين الرومي (جلال الدين محمد بلخي) كان شاعراً مسلماً سنياً فارسياً في القرن 13ththth القرن ، الفقيه ، العالم الإسلامي ، اللاهوتي ، والصوفي الصوفي.

مريم مافي ولد ونشأ في إيران. ذهبت إلى جامعة تافتس في الولايات المتحدة في 1977 حيث درست علم الاجتماع والأدب. أثناء قراءتها للحصول على درجة الماجستير في الاتصالات الدولية في الجامعات الأمريكية وجامعة جورج تاون ، بدأت في ترجمة الأدب الفارسي وما زالت تفعل ذلك منذ ذلك الحين.

نرجس فرزاد هو زميل أقدم في الدراسات الفارسية في كلية الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية بجامعة لندن.

المزيد من الكتب لمريم مافي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Students and the Teacher: A Rumi Story to Illumine, Delight, and Inform

A Rumi Story to Illumine, Delight, and Inform: The Students and the Teachers

(Editor's Note: This article is excerpted from the The Book of Rumi's foreword (by Narguess Farzad) and contains a story by Rumi from the book itself.)

Whatever our cultural or linguistic background, we can all claim some knowledge of the lives of others, and this knowledge has reached us through stories. These stories may have been told by an animated grandparent; maybe we heard them on the radio or encountered them during a religious-studies lesson at school, where we learned about the lives and times of saints, gods, and goddesses.

The literature and history classes that have made the longest-lasting impressions on me are those in which I was allowed a glimpse of the life story of a writer or when my teacher focused on the human stories of the period being taught, peeling away the layers to reveal something of the ordi­nary life or emotional experiences of the towering figures whose conquests or defeats we were studying or, more poignantly, about the ordinary lives and emotional experiences of the common people of the time. It really did not matter whether these peripheral accounts were tenuous or apocryphal, since their inclusion in the lesson made the whole episode under scrutiny more gripping and memorable.

Stories need not always refer to the great or the good or the legendary. In our own daily lives, we continually share snapshots of our social experi­ences with ever-expanding and overlapping circles of acquaintances. We ritu­alistically mark an occasion, such as a significant birthday, an anniversary, or a remembrance, by concentrating on stories that subtly and carefully bring to the fore an individual’s vulnerabilities, passions, and idiosyncrasies. Like master storytellers of the past, we edit out the unnecessary infelicities and shine our light on the unforgettable characteristics and achievements we are witness to and, in the process, create yet another indelible substory, some of which may be told in years and even generations to come.

Prophets and preachers of all religions and creeds, too, have been masters of the practice and have relied on parables and maxims to communicate com­plex theologies to their followers. Parables of the tragedies of martyrs have drawn, and continue to draw, men and women to places of worship around the world, to shrines and town squares; such parables often comprise bits of truth side by side with bits of myth, using literary finesse to stir passions and breathe new life into common themes.

Those who hear or read these stories never seem to find the new variants of old themes tedious. Perhaps there is some reassurance in the predictability of how these tales of morality inevitably conclude. Modern-day films depict­ing the lives of greed merchants on Wall Street, spiced up with titillating subplots, are, in essence, adaptations of ancient lessons that one cannot serve both God and money. Furthermore, almost all morality tales ascertain that “lust for the flesh and the lust of the eye” invariably lead to trouble.

Hungry for stories that give us respite from the drudgery of our lives, we now gather before the pulpit of Instagram and Facebook and YouTube to get our daily fill of the antics of the modern deities, the 21st-century gods and goddesses and gurus who inhabit the heights of Hollywood and its tinseled replicas throughout the world.

For many communities and in many cultures, the most trustworthy narra­tors of irresistible tales are the poets. Poets, in their own inimitable ways, tell us about the challenges and failures of finding love and the joys of forming friendship. They warn us of the pitfalls, of the betrayals and injustices, that we always encounter along the way, yet encourage us to banish envy and the desire for revenge from our hearts. It is almost always the poets who teach us how to gauge the enormity of a loss, to grieve with dignity, and ultimately to accept mortality.

For more than eight hundred years, countless numbers of people in the Persian-speaking lands, and in recent decades many more around the world who have access to a growing number of excellent translations, have chosen Mowlana Jalal od-Din Balkhi, Rumi, as the spiritual teacher whose coruscat­ing turn of phrase, coupled with the poignancy of candidly expressed emo­tion, has been a source of comfort as well as instruction.

Although the extent of academic scholarship on the philosophical and theological foundations of Rumi’s order of mysticism now outweigh the poet’s own writings, it is more rewarding to read Rumi’s actual stories, which open the mystical portal to his world.

The stories that Rumi invents or reuses to aid in understanding the prin­ciples of Sufism are intricately woven into the warp and weft of the fabric of his teachings, yet to see them in isolation as the parables that they are, we need to painstakingly work our way through twenty-six thousand double lines of metrical verse, compiled in the six books of the Masnavi-ye Manavi (Spiritual Couplets), his magnum opus.

It is a relief and a delight to have the task completed for us by Maryam Mafi , one of the most respected, faithful, and eloquent translators of Rumi’s poetry. Mafi the translator moves effortlessly between the two languages of Persian and English as she delivers the semantic meaning of the original text in English. However, Mafi the writer and close reader of the Masnavi transfers the exquisite subtleties, precise vision, and spontaneous wit of the original to the English version, thus giving life to Robert Frost’s definition of poetry as “that which is lost out of verse in translation.”

In her latest translation, The Book of Rumi, Mafi has turned her attention to more than one hundred stories that she has selected from the Masnavi.

In page after page of parables and tales, Rumi not only entertains but also guides the reader, or more accurately the listener, in making sense of the complexities of life, in obeying the authority of love, and in resolving conflicts. Rumi raises unanswered as well as unanswerable questions.

The cast of most of his tales are recognizable characters whose clones inhabit stories around the globe: wise or deceptive judges, cunning or distrust­ful women, wily or lachrymose beggars, charlatans, gullible souls, and many talkative animals.

Rumi tells of kingly deeds and the miracles of prophets; he elaborates on the mischief of rouges and catches out mercenaries. Bodily functions, disguises, deeds of heroism, mistaken identities, sexual entangle­ments, consequence of gluttony and hubris, and all imaginative and extrav­agant accounts of vices and virtues, as well as common superstitions, are thrown into the mix.

The language of the poetic narrator of the tales soars to the heights of high verse with flawless use of metaphors and intricately structured internal dialogues, then plunges into the use of puns, vernacular idioms of the time, expressions of ribaldry, and pure bawdy humor. He quotes from the best of Persian and Arabic poetry of his era and relies on his scholarly knowledge of the Koran and the sayings of the Prophet Mohammed to support his argu­ments. Rumi is just as comfortable with the parlance of the lowlife and the rascals of the souk as he is with the rhetorical discourse of theologians at the mosque and grammarians at the madrassa.

Rumi deploys many dramatic devices to communicate with people from all walks of life. The roles that he assigns to animals, the flora and fauna, are in keeping with millennia-old traditions of storytelling in the East, where the sagacity of animals or their mischief-making are on par with human character.

Mowlana Jalal od-Din, along with many of his medieval contemporaries in Iran, such as Sa’di of Shiraz and Nezami of Gandja, valued the potency of stories as the most reliable ambassadors to diffuse cultural and oral traditions across political, religious, and national boundaries.

Rumi’s voice in all his literary output, but particularly in the Masnavi, alternates between playful and authoritative, whether he’s telling stories of ordinary lives or inviting the discerning reader to higher levels of introspec­tion and attainment of transcendent values. Maryam Mafi’s translations deli­cately reflect the nuances of Rumi’s poetry while retaining the positive tone of all Rumi’s writings, as well as the sense of suspense and drama that mark the essence of the Masnavi.

The Book of Rumi is another gem in Maryam Mafi ’s series of translations, which salutes the universality of Mowlana both as a poet and as a storyteller. I can think of no better tribute to the legacy of Rumi than Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s assessment of what makes a great poet:

"All that is best in the great poets of all countries is not what is national in them, but what is universal. Their roots are in their native soil; but their branches wave in the unpatriotic air, that speaks the same language unto men, and their leaves shine with the illimitable light that pervades all lands."

Students and Teacher -- by Rumi

The students were exasperated by their dreadfully strict teacher, who never allowed them a moment’s respite. Every day, they conjured up naughty plans to distract him but somehow never managed to fool him. One day, the cleverest of the boys, who was also the most streetwise, came up with a bril­liant plan. As his classmates gathered around him after school, he explained to them:

“Tomorrow morning when we come to school, I’ll approach the master first and ask him how he feels and why he’s looking so pale. I’ll wish him well and say that he should take better care of himself. Then, you all should fol­low my lead and one after the other repeat the same questions so that we can instill doubt in his heart. After the fifth or sixth person, surely he must begin to wonder whether we’ve got a point or not. When thirty of us have told him the same thing, he’ll have no choice but to believe us and let us off school at least for a couple of days.”

The boys were all excited and commended the clever boy for his astute idea. The boy made them all promise not to tell their parents and stick to their scheme. The next morning, the students were all on time and awaited the arrival of the clever boy, for they could not begin their plot without him. As soon as he arrived, they nodded to each other and one by one entered the classroom.

“Good morning to you, sir. Are you all right sir? Why do you seem so pale this fine morning?” said the clever boy to the teacher cunningly.

“I’m perfectly fine. What are you blabbering about? Go sit down in your seat,” the teacher ordered the boy in his usual abrasive manner.

The first seed of doubt had been planted. The students then walked into the classroom one after the other and each addressed the teacher in turn, commenting with concern on the latter’s health. Despite his repeated denials, the teacher slowly began to believe the boys, as he had heard the same remark about his pale countenance thirty times. He began to shiver and actually feel feverish. Soon, he was hastily packing his papers and books and hurrying home, with thirty boys in tow.

All the way home, he was thinking about how his wife had recently been neglecting him, and how despite all his kindness and generosity she’d been wishing him ill. Entertaining these negative thoughts about his innocent wife, the teacher hastened through the narrow backstreets to his humble home, while the boys followed him closely every step of the way.

He slammed the front door noisily, intending thus to announce his untimely arrival to his wife as he entered their house. When she saw that he had returned from school so early, she quickly approached him and inquired about his health.

“Are you blind? Don’t you see how sick I am? You’re such a hypocrite! You can very well see how awful I’m feeling, yet you pretend that nothing’s the matter with me!” he retorted.

“My darling, what are you saying? You must be suffering from delusions. Nothing is the matter with you!” his wife said, trying to appease his anger.

“You’re despicable; you’re a horrid woman! Can’t you see my sorry state? Is it my fault that you’re blind and deaf to my needs?” he continued, cruelly slandering his wife.

“I’m going to bring you the mirror so you can see for yourself that nothing’s the matter with you.”

“To hell with your mirror! You’ve always hated me and wished me the worst. Go and prepare my bed, I need to rest!”

The woman was stunned, unable to move or decide what she should do, when her husband screamed at her: “Get going, you good-for-nothing! Do you want me to pass out right here?”

The woman decided to remain quiet and do as he asked; otherwise, he might indeed think that she had foul intentions, and he could truly turn nasty. Thus, she prepared his bedding on the floor and left him with his students, who had accompanied him into the house. The boys gathered around his bed and began to review their lesson loudly, having been instructed by their ring­leader to make as much noise as possible to exacerbate their teacher’s fantasy headache.

“Quiet!” snapped the teacher. “Quiet, I said! Go home. Leave me in peace.”

The students were free at last; wishing their teacher all the health in the world, they practically flew out of his house. They didn’t go home, though, and instead remained in the streets, playing various games that they’d long fantasized about. Their mothers, however, soon found out that their sons had skipped school, and when they found them on the streets they reprimanded them, refusing to accept that they’d been excused by their teacher. They threat­ened to visit the teacher’s home the next day and find out the truth. And so they did. They found the poor man lying miserably under several duvets, sweating like a pig and moaning in pain.

“Dear sir, forgive us, for we didn’t believe our sons,” confessed the women. “Now we can see for ourselves how ill you really are! May God grant you a long, healthy life.”

“I’m actually grateful to your perceptive sons for having detected my malady,” said the teacher gratefully. “I was so intent on teaching them that I had totally ignored my own health. If it hadn’t been for them, I’d have soon been dead for certain!”

And such was the fate of the ignorant teacher, who’d been fooled by base­less repetition and indoctrination conducted by mere children.

©2018 by Madyam Rafi. All Rights Reserved.
Foreword copyright 2018 by Narguess Farzad.
Excerpted with permission of the publisher,
Hampton Roads Publishing. www.redwheelweiser.com
.

Article Source

The Book of Rumi: 105 Stories and Fables that Illumine, Delight, and Inform
by Rumi. Translated by Maryam Mafi. Foreword by Narguess Farzad.

The Book of Rumi: 105 Stories and Fables that Illumine, Delight, and Inform by Rumi. Translated by Maryam Mafi. Foreword by Narguess Farzad.Rumi's voice alternates between playful and authoritative, whether he is telling stories of ordinary lives or inviting the discerning reader to higher levels of introspection and attainment of transcendent values. Mafi's translations delicately reflect the nuances of Rumi's poetry while retaining the positive tone of all of Rumi's writings, as well as the sense of suspense and drama that mark the essence of the Masnavi. (Also available as a Kindle edition and MP3 CD.)

click to order on amazon

 

About the Authors

Rumi (Jalal ad-Din Muhammad Balkhi) was a 13th-century Persian Sunni Muslim poet, jurist, Islamic scholar, theologian, and Sufi mystic.

Maryam Mafi was born and raised in Iran. She went to Tufts University in the US in 1977 where she studied sociology and literature. While reading for her master’s degree in international communications in American and Georgetown Universities she began translating Persian literature and has been doing so ever since.

Narguess Farzad is a senior fellow in Persian studies at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London.

Related Books

More books on this topic

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Maryam Mafi;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}