فيلم حياة براين في 40: تأكيد للحرية الفردية التي لا يزال يتردد صداها

فيلم حياة براين في 40: تأكيد للحرية الفردية التي لا يزال يتردد صداها إريك إيدل ، من اليسار ، جون كليز ، مايكل بالين ، وسو جونز ديفيز في حياة براين (1979). أفلام HandMade ، صور بيثون (مونتي)

هذا العام يصادف الذكرى السنوية 40th لإطلاق سراح مونتي بيثون حياة براين. التقى الفيلم بجدل فوري في 1979 وكان المحظورة في ايرلندا والنرويج وأجزاء من بريطانيا. في الولايات المتحدة ، تجمع المحتجون خارج دور السينما حيث تم بثه.

تحكي حياة براين قصة برايان الناصري (الذي لعبه غراهام تشابمان) ، المولود في نفس يوم يسوع الناصري. بعد انضمامه إلى جماعة إرهابية يهودية معادية للرومان ، هي "جبهة الشعب في يهودا" ، يُظلم أنه نبي ويصبح مسيحاً غير راغب. كل هذا ينتج في النهاية خط الفيلم الأكثر شهرة ، بإذن من والدة برايان ماندي (تيري جونز). "إنه ليس المسيح" ، تقول لنا ، "إنه ولد شقي للغاية".

في نوفمبر 1979 ، و بي بي سي الشهيرة التلفزيون نقاش بين بيثون جون كليز ومايكل بالين وعمودين من المؤسسة المسيحية ، وهما الصحفي مالكولم موجيردج ، ثم أسقف ساوثوورك ميرفن ستوكوود. فشل كل جانب تماما لفهم الآخر. كانت نقطة Muggeridge أن برايان لم يكن سوى "إهمال المسيح". جادل الثعابين هذا لا يمكن أن يكون ذلك لأن براين لم يكن يسوع. من الناحية الفنية ، كانوا على حق. ومع ذلك ، هذا لم يرض الأسقف ، أو العديد من منتقدي الفيلم.

كيف تقف حياة برايان - التي يتم إعادة إصدارها للاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية - أمام اختبار الزمن؟ إن مشاهدته اليوم ، يذهلني أنه ، كما يقول محاكاة ساخرة ، هو نوع لطيف ، حتى ، محترم. ومن المفارقات ، أن الإساءة بشكل صحيح أو حتى الحصول على النكتة - آنذاك أو الآن - يتطلب معرفة جيدة بحياة يسوع في إنجيل العهد الجديد.

ماذا عن شكوى الكنيسة من أن برايان كان يسوع ، وبالتالي كان الفيلم مقدسًا أو حتى تجديفيًا؟ هناك ثلاثة أماكن تتميز فيها برايان ويسوع بالتمييز الواضح. أولاً ، عندما يدرك الحكماء - الذين يعبدون الطفل الخطأ - خطأهم ، فإنهم يعودون إلى المستقر استرداد هداياهم. ثانياً ، ينظر إلى برايان في الحشد الذي يستمع إلى يسوع وهو يلقي خطبة على الجبل. وفي مشهد آخر ، يشتكي أحد الأبرصين السابقين (بالين) من براين عن فقدان رزقه باعتباره متسولًا لأن يسوع شفاه.

ومع ذلك ، برايان هو بمعنى ما "يسوع". لأن الفيلم يعتمد على أوجه التشابه والاختلاف بين حياة الرجلين. كلاهما ولد في اسطبلات. كلاهما يقابلان وفاتهما من خلال الصلب ، على الرغم من أن الواحد ينتهي في قيامة يسوع من بين الأموات والآخر في أغنية إريك إيدل العدمية "انظر دائمًا إلى الجانب المشرق من الحياة". ("من أجل الحياة أمر سخيف للغاية ، والموت هو الكلمة الأخيرة".) تشير الثعبان أيضًا إلى أنه كان هناك العديد من الآخرين مثل يسوع في ذلك الوقت (مثل نبي بالين الممل حقًا) الذي أعلن أن نهاية العالم في متناول اليد.

تعتبر حياة براين بالتأكيد تجديفية في 1979 - والفيلم نفسه يشير إلى عبث التجديف باعتباره جريمة.

لكن اليوم ، لم يعد التجديف على الأجندة الثقافية للغرب غير المسلم. ينظر المسيحيون وغيرهم باستياء إلى فهم الإسلام للتجديف والعقوبات القاسية المفروضة عليه. كجريمة ، فقد "دينا" "دينيا".

تتمثل ميزة الفيلم اليوم في قدرته على الإساءة إلى جيل جديد كامل من المشاهدين لأسباب مختلفة. من المرجح الآن أن يتم انتقادها لخرقها حدود "الصواب السياسي" حول قضايا الجنس والعرق والطبقة والإعاقة من التجديف.

من الصعب ، على سبيل المثال ، سماع براين يؤكد هويته اليهودية بعبارات معادية للسامية:

أنا لست روماني ، أمي ، ولن أكون أبدًا! أنا كيكي! Yid! هيبي! هوك الأنف! أنا موافق للشريعة اليهودية ، أمي! أنا مشاة على البحر الأحمر ، وفخور بذلك!

ومع ذلك ، مع تحول الانتقال بين الجنسين إلى التيار الثقافي ، فإن رغبة ستان الثوري (إريك إيدل) في أن تكون امرأة ، تُسمى "لوريتا" و لإنجاب الأطفال، سوف تضرب على وتر حساس.

ولا يستطيع المرء التقليل من شأن السرور الهائل الذي تجلبه بعض المشاهد التي لا تنسى: من خطبة على الجبل ("المباركة هم صانعو الجبن") على مرأى من براين إعادة كتابة "رومان العودة إلى المنزل" على جدران القصر ، بعد مرور سنتوريون بالاشمئزاز من قواعد براين اللاتينية النحوية ، وإجباره على كتابة رسالة الاحتجاج الصحيحة مرات 100.

حياة براين هي بلا شك انتقاد للطبيعة غير المتطورة للمعتقد الديني ، من منظور حرية الفرد وسلطته. في مشهد رئيسي ، أخبر براين الحشد أنهم جميعًا أفراد.

"نعم ، نحن كلنا أفراد" ، يرد الحشد.

ثم بصوت واحد وحيد ، دنيس ، ينسجم. "أنا لست كذلك" ، كما يقول.

في هذا التأكيد على حرية الفرد ، وفضيلة التفكير لأنفسكم ، يجسد الفيلم الحداثة. على حد تعبير إيمانويل كانت في 1784 ، "احصل على الشجاعة لاستخدام تفهمك!" - هذا هو شعار التنوير ".

كانت هذه الفكرة في صميم عمل مونتي بيثون وهي الرسالة الأساسية لحياة بريان.

نبذة عن الكاتب

فيليب ألموند ، أستاذ متفرغ في تاريخ الفكر الديني ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = حياة براين ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Movie Life Of Brian At 40: An Assertion Of Individual Freedom That Still Resonates

Movie Life Of Brian At 40: An Assertion Of Individual Freedom That Still Resonates Eric Idle, from left, John Cleese, Michael Palin, and Sue Jones-Davies in Life of Brian (1979). HandMade Films, Python (Monty) Pictures

This year is the 40th anniversary of the release of Monty Python’s Life of Brian. The film met with instant controversy in 1979 and was banned in Ireland, Norway and parts of Britain. In the US, protesters gathered outside cinemas where it aired.

Life of Brian tells the story of Brian of Nazareth (played by Graham Chapman), who is born on the same day as Jesus of Nazareth. After joining a Jewish, anti-Roman terrorist group, The People’s Front of Judea, he is mistaken for a prophet and becomes an unwilling Messiah. All this eventually produces the film’s most remembered line, courtesy of Brian’s mother Mandy (Terry Jones). “He’s not the Messiah,” she tells us, “he’s a very naughty boy”.

In November 1979, the BBC famously televised a debate between Pythons John Cleese and Michael Palin and two pillars of the Christian establishment, journalist Malcolm Muggeridge and then Bishop of Southwark Mervyn Stockwood. Each side totally failed to understand the other. Muggeridge’s point was that Brian was nothing but a “lampooning of Christ”. The Pythons argued this couldn’t be so because Brian was not Jesus. Technically, they were right. Still, this did not satisfy the Bishop, or the film’s many critics.

How does Life of Brian – which is being re-released to mark the anniversary – stand the test of time? Watching it today, it strikes me that, as parody goes, it is a pretty gentle, even, respectful sort. Ironically, to be properly offended by it or even to get the joke – then or now – requires a good knowledge of the life of Jesus in the New Testament Gospels.

What of the Church’s complaint that Brian was Jesus and thus the film was sacriligious or even blasphemous? There are three places in it where Brian and Jesus are clearly distinguished. Firstly, when the wise men – having worshipped the wrong baby – realise their mistake, they return to the stable to retrieve their gifts. Secondly, Brian is seen in the crowd listening to Jesus deliver the Sermon on the Mount. And in another scene, an ex-leper (Palin) complains to Brian about the loss of his livelihood as a beggar because Jesus has cured him.

Still, Brian is in some sense, “Jesus”. For the film relies on both the similarities and differences between the lives of both men. They are both born in stables. They both meet their deaths through crucifixion, although the one ends in Jesus’s resurrection from the dead and the other in Eric Idle’s nihilistic song Always Look on the Bright Side of Life. (“For Life is quite absurd, and Death’s the final word.”) The Pythons also make the point that there were many others like Jesus at the time (such as Palin’s really boring prophet) proclaiming the end of the world was at hand.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Life of Brian was certainly considered blasphemous in 1979 – and the film itself makes references to the absurdity of blasphemy as a crime.

Today, however, blasphemy is no longer on the cultural agenda of the non-Muslim West. Christians and others look disapprovingly on Islam’s understanding of blasphemy and the severe punishments meted out for it. As a crime, it has been religiously “othered”.

The virtue of the film today is its capacity to offend a whole new generation of viewers for different reasons. It is now more likely to be criticised for breaching the boundaries of “political correctness” around issues of gender, race, class and disability than blasphemy.

It is difficult, for instance, to hear Brian assert his Jewish identity in anti-Semitic terms:

I’m not a Roman, Mum, and I never will be! I’m a Kike! A Yid! A Hebe! A Hook-nose! I’m Kosher, Mum! I’m a Red Sea Pedestrian, and proud of it!

Still, as gender transitioning becomes culturally mainstream, the desire of the revolutionary Stan (Eric Idle) to be a woman, to be called “Loretta” and to have babies, will strike a chord.

And one cannot underestimate the sheer pleasure certain memorable scenes bring: from the misheard Sermon on The Mount (“Blessed are the Cheesemakers”) to the sight of Brian rewriting “Romans Go Home” on the palace walls, after a passing Centurion disgusted at Brian’s faulty Latin grammar, forces him to write out the correct protest message 100 times.

Life of Brian is undoubtedly a criticism of the unthinking nature of religious belief, from the perspective of the freedom and authority of the individual. In a key scene, Brian tells a crowd they are all individuals.

“Yes, we’re all individuals,” the crowd responds.

Then one lonely voice, Dennis, chimes in. “I’m not,” he says.

In this assertion of the freedom of the individual, of the virtue of thinking for yourselves, the film exemplifies modernity. As Immanuel Kant put it in 1784, “‘Have the courage to use your own understanding!’ — that is the motto of enlightenment.”

This notion was at the heart of all of Monty Python’s work and is the central message of Life of Brian.

About The Author

Philip Almond, Emeritus Professor in the History of Religious Thought, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=life of brian;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…