Das Leben von Brian bei 40: Eine Behauptung individueller Freiheit, die immer noch Resonanz findet

Das Leben von Brian bei 40: Eine Behauptung individueller Freiheit, die immer noch Resonanz findet Eric Idle von links, John Cleese, Michael Palin und Sue Jones-Davies im Leben von Brian (1979). Handgemachte Filme, Python (Monty) Bilder

In diesem Jahr jährt sich die Veröffentlichung von Monty Python's zum 40 Das Leben des Brian. Der Film stieß in 1979 auf sofortige Kontroversen und wurde verboten in Irland, Norwegen und Teilen Großbritanniens. In den USA versammelten sich Demonstranten vor Kinos, in denen sie ausgestrahlt wurden.

Das Leben von Brian erzählt die Geschichte von Brian von Nazareth (gespielt von Graham Chapman), der am selben Tag wie Jesus von Nazareth geboren wird. Nachdem er einer jüdischen, antirömischen Terroristengruppe, The People's Front of Judea, beigetreten ist, wird er für einen Propheten gehalten und wird zu einem unfreiwilligen Messias. All dies bringt schließlich die bekannteste Zeile des Films hervor, mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Brians Mutter Mandy (Terry Jones). "Er ist nicht der Messias", sagt sie, "er ist ein sehr ungezogener Junge".

Im November 1979, der BBC ist berühmt im Fernsehen eine Debatte zwischen Pythons John Cleese und Michael Palin und zwei Säulen des christlichen Establishments, dem Journalisten Malcolm Muggeridge und dem damaligen Bischof von Southwark Mervyn Stockwood. Jede Seite verstand die andere völlig nicht. Muggeridges Argument war, dass Brian nichts anderes als eine "Verspottung Christi" war. Die Pythons argumentierten, dies könne nicht so sein, weil Brian nicht Jesus war. Technisch hatten sie recht. Dies befriedigte jedoch weder den Bischof noch die zahlreichen Kritiker des Films.

Wie hält das Leben von Brian - das zum Jubiläum neu aufgelegt wird - den Test der Zeit aus? Wenn ich es mir heute ansehe, fällt mir auf, dass es, wie die Parodie sagt, eine ziemlich sanfte, sogar respektvolle Art ist. Ironischerweise erfordert es eine gute Kenntnis des Lebens Jesu in den neutestamentlichen Evangelien, um richtig beleidigt zu sein oder den Witz zu verstehen - damals oder heute.

Was war mit der Beschwerde der Kirche, dass Brian Jesus war und der Film somit gotteslästerlich oder gar blasphemisch? Es gibt drei Stellen, an denen Brian und Jesus klar voneinander unterschieden werden. Erstens, wenn die Weisen - nachdem sie das falsche Baby angebetet haben - ihren Fehler bemerken, kehren sie in den Stall zurück ihre Geschenke abrufen. Zweitens ist Brian in der Menge zu sehen, der zuhört, wie Jesus die Bergpredigt hält. Und in einer anderen Szene beklagt sich ein Ex-Aussätziger (Palin) bei Brian über den Verlust seines Lebensunterhalts als Bettler, weil Jesus ihn geheilt hat.

Trotzdem ist Brian in gewissem Sinne „Jesus“. Denn der Film stützt sich sowohl auf die Ähnlichkeiten als auch auf die Unterschiede zwischen den Leben beider Männer. Sie sind beide im Stall geboren. Sie beide kommen durch Kreuzigung ums Leben, obwohl der eine in der Auferstehung Jesu von den Toten und der andere in Eric Idles nihilistischem Lied Always Look on the Bright Side of Life endet. („Denn das Leben ist ziemlich absurd, und der Tod ist das letzte Wort.“) Die Pythons weisen auch darauf hin, dass es zu der Zeit viele andere wie Jesus gab (wie Palins wirklich langweiliger Prophet), die das Ende der Welt verkündeten.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Das Leben von Brian galt in 1979 mit Sicherheit als blasphemisch - und der Film selbst verweist auf die Absurdität der Blasphemie als Verbrechen.

Blasphemie steht heute jedoch nicht mehr auf der kulturellen Agenda des nicht-muslimischen Westens. Christen und andere sehen missbilligend das Verständnis des Islam von Gotteslästerung und den daraus resultierenden schweren Strafen an. Als Verbrechen ist es religiös „anders“.

Die heutige Tugend des Films ist seine Fähigkeit, eine ganz neue Generation von Zuschauern aus verschiedenen Gründen zu beleidigen. Es wird jetzt eher dafür kritisiert, dass sie die Grenzen der „politischen Korrektheit“ in Bezug auf Geschlecht, Rasse, Klasse und Behinderung überschreitet als dass sie blasphemisch ist.

Es ist zum Beispiel schwierig zu hören, wie Brian seine jüdische Identität in antisemitischen Begriffen behauptet:

Ich bin kein Römer, Mama, und ich werde es nie sein! Ich bin ein Kike! Ein Yid! Ein Hebe! Eine Hakennase! Ich bin koscher, Mama! Ich bin ein Fußgänger am Roten Meer und stolz darauf!

Doch mit dem kulturellen Mainstream der Geschlechterumwandlung wächst auch der Wunsch des revolutionären Stan (Eric Idle), eine Frau zu sein und als „Loretta“ bezeichnet zu werden Babys habenwird einen Akkord schlagen.

Und man kann nicht unterschätzen, wie viel Vergnügen bestimmte denkwürdige Szenen mit sich bringen: aus dem verhörte Predigt auf dem Berg ("Selig sind die Käsemacher") zu dem Anblick, dass Brian "Romans Go Home" an den Palastwänden neu schrieb, nachdem ein vorübergehender Centurion, angewidert von Brians fehlerhafter lateinischer Grammatik, ihn dazu zwingt, die richtige Protestnachricht 100-mal zu schreiben.

Das Leben von Brian ist zweifellos eine Kritik an der gedankenlosen Natur des religiösen Glaubens aus der Perspektive der Freiheit und Autorität des Einzelnen. In einer Schlüsselszene erzählt Brian einer Menschenmenge, dass sie alle Individuen sind.

"Ja, wir sind alle Individuen", antwortet die Menge.

Dann ertönt eine einsame Stimme, Dennis. „Bin ich nicht“, sagt er.

In dieser Behauptung der Freiheit des Einzelnen, der Tugend, für sich selbst zu denken, veranschaulicht der Film die Moderne. Wie Immanuel Kant es in 1784 formulierte: "Hab den Mut, dein eigenes Verständnis zu benutzen!" - das ist die Devise der Erleuchtung. “

Dieser Gedanke stand im Mittelpunkt aller Arbeiten von Monty Python und ist die zentrale Botschaft von Life of Brian.

Über den Autor

Philip Almond, emeritierter Professor in der Geschichte des religiösen Denkens, Die Universität von Queensland

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = Leben von Brian; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Movie Life Of Brian At 40: An Assertion Of Individual Freedom That Still Resonates

Movie Life Of Brian At 40: An Assertion Of Individual Freedom That Still Resonates Eric Idle, from left, John Cleese, Michael Palin, and Sue Jones-Davies in Life of Brian (1979). HandMade Films, Python (Monty) Pictures

This year is the 40th anniversary of the release of Monty Python’s Life of Brian. The film met with instant controversy in 1979 and was banned in Ireland, Norway and parts of Britain. In the US, protesters gathered outside cinemas where it aired.

Life of Brian tells the story of Brian of Nazareth (played by Graham Chapman), who is born on the same day as Jesus of Nazareth. After joining a Jewish, anti-Roman terrorist group, The People’s Front of Judea, he is mistaken for a prophet and becomes an unwilling Messiah. All this eventually produces the film’s most remembered line, courtesy of Brian’s mother Mandy (Terry Jones). “He’s not the Messiah,” she tells us, “he’s a very naughty boy”.

In November 1979, the BBC famously televised a debate between Pythons John Cleese and Michael Palin and two pillars of the Christian establishment, journalist Malcolm Muggeridge and then Bishop of Southwark Mervyn Stockwood. Each side totally failed to understand the other. Muggeridge’s point was that Brian was nothing but a “lampooning of Christ”. The Pythons argued this couldn’t be so because Brian was not Jesus. Technically, they were right. Still, this did not satisfy the Bishop, or the film’s many critics.

How does Life of Brian – which is being re-released to mark the anniversary – stand the test of time? Watching it today, it strikes me that, as parody goes, it is a pretty gentle, even, respectful sort. Ironically, to be properly offended by it or even to get the joke – then or now – requires a good knowledge of the life of Jesus in the New Testament Gospels.

What of the Church’s complaint that Brian was Jesus and thus the film was sacriligious or even blasphemous? There are three places in it where Brian and Jesus are clearly distinguished. Firstly, when the wise men – having worshipped the wrong baby – realise their mistake, they return to the stable to retrieve their gifts. Secondly, Brian is seen in the crowd listening to Jesus deliver the Sermon on the Mount. And in another scene, an ex-leper (Palin) complains to Brian about the loss of his livelihood as a beggar because Jesus has cured him.

Still, Brian is in some sense, “Jesus”. For the film relies on both the similarities and differences between the lives of both men. They are both born in stables. They both meet their deaths through crucifixion, although the one ends in Jesus’s resurrection from the dead and the other in Eric Idle’s nihilistic song Always Look on the Bright Side of Life. (“For Life is quite absurd, and Death’s the final word.”) The Pythons also make the point that there were many others like Jesus at the time (such as Palin’s really boring prophet) proclaiming the end of the world was at hand.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Life of Brian was certainly considered blasphemous in 1979 – and the film itself makes references to the absurdity of blasphemy as a crime.

Today, however, blasphemy is no longer on the cultural agenda of the non-Muslim West. Christians and others look disapprovingly on Islam’s understanding of blasphemy and the severe punishments meted out for it. As a crime, it has been religiously “othered”.

The virtue of the film today is its capacity to offend a whole new generation of viewers for different reasons. It is now more likely to be criticised for breaching the boundaries of “political correctness” around issues of gender, race, class and disability than blasphemy.

It is difficult, for instance, to hear Brian assert his Jewish identity in anti-Semitic terms:

I’m not a Roman, Mum, and I never will be! I’m a Kike! A Yid! A Hebe! A Hook-nose! I’m Kosher, Mum! I’m a Red Sea Pedestrian, and proud of it!

Still, as gender transitioning becomes culturally mainstream, the desire of the revolutionary Stan (Eric Idle) to be a woman, to be called “Loretta” and to have babies, will strike a chord.

And one cannot underestimate the sheer pleasure certain memorable scenes bring: from the misheard Sermon on The Mount (“Blessed are the Cheesemakers”) to the sight of Brian rewriting “Romans Go Home” on the palace walls, after a passing Centurion disgusted at Brian’s faulty Latin grammar, forces him to write out the correct protest message 100 times.

Life of Brian is undoubtedly a criticism of the unthinking nature of religious belief, from the perspective of the freedom and authority of the individual. In a key scene, Brian tells a crowd they are all individuals.

“Yes, we’re all individuals,” the crowd responds.

Then one lonely voice, Dennis, chimes in. “I’m not,” he says.

In this assertion of the freedom of the individual, of the virtue of thinking for yourselves, the film exemplifies modernity. As Immanuel Kant put it in 1784, “‘Have the courage to use your own understanding!’ — that is the motto of enlightenment.”

This notion was at the heart of all of Monty Python’s work and is the central message of Life of Brian.

About The Author

Philip Almond, Emeritus Professor in the History of Religious Thought, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=life of brian;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…