كيف لوحات من الانطباع كلود مونيه خداع عيوننا

وقت الفراغ

استخدم كلود مونيه لوحة ألوان محدودة جدًا في سلسلة Waterloo Bridge ، ولكن لا يزال بإمكانه استحضار مجموعة واسعة من العوامل. يظهر بحث جديد كيف.

خلال ثلاث رحلات إلى لندن في مطلع القرن 20th ، رسم مونيه أكثر من نسخ 40 لمشهد واحد: جسر واترلو على نهر التايمز. لم يكن موضوع مونيه الرئيسي هو الجسر نفسه ، على أية حال ، بقدر ما كان المشهد والجو العام للمشهد ، بضوءه المؤقت ، والضباب ، والضباب.

كان مونيه ، وهو سيد معترف به في رسم المناظر الطبيعية ، مؤسسًا متكاملًا للحركة الانطباعية ، التي احتضنت فلسفة التعبير عن التأثيرات الحسية العابرة في المشهد. وقد أقام معرض الفنون التذكاري شراكة مع متحف كارنيغي للفنون ومتحف وورسيستر للفنون لتحليل أصباغ اللون التي استخدمها مونيه في سلسلة Waterloo Bridges.

مع كل من اللوحات في هذه السلسلةيتلاعب Monet بإدراك المشاهد بطريقة لم يفهمها العلماء في ذلك الوقت تمامًا. الآن ، يمكن للبحوث تقديم نظرة ثاقبة لتعقيد النظام البصري ، وإلقاء الضوء على عمليات مونيه وتعقيدات عمله.

كيف تعمل أعيننا ودماغنا معًا للسماح لنا برؤية اللون؟

تتضمن الإجابة كيف تأخذ أعيننا الأطوال الموجية للضوء ، والتي تفسرها أدمغتنا ، كما يقول ديفيد ويليامز ، أستاذ علم البصريات في جامعة روشستر ومدير روتشسترز. مركز العلوم البصرية.

في شبكية العين ، هناك ثلاثة أنواع من الأقماع: زرقاء ، حساسة للأطوال الموجية القصيرة للضوء. أخضر ، وهو حساس متوسط ​​الطول ؛ والأحمر ، وهو حساس لطول الموجة. هذه الإشارات ذات اللون ثلاثي الألوان "بسيطة للغاية ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الألوان اللونية المتعددة التي نعيشها مستمدة من تلك الثلاثة فقط" ، كما يقول ويليامز ، الذي كان مختبره ، في 1990s ، أول من صوّر جميع أنواع المخاريط الثلاثة في شبكية بشرية حية وتحديد كيفية ترتيب المخاريط.

من شبكية العين ، تنتقل الإشارات على طول العصب البصري إلى القشرة البصرية في الجزء الخلفي من الدماغ. ثم تنتقل الإشارات جيئة وذهابا بين القشرة البصرية وغيرها من أجزاء المستوى الأعلى من الدماغ ، بما في ذلك تلك المشاركة في الانتباه والذاكرة والتجربة والتحيز. تتمثل وظيفة الدماغ في دمج المعلومات الحسية من العينين إلى أجزاء - خطوط وأشكال وعمق - وبنائها في كائنات ومشاهد.

كيف لوحات من الانطباع كلود مونيه خداع عيوننا(الائتمان: مايك Osadciw / U. روتشستر)

كيف أصبح النظام البصري معقدًا جدًا؟

من أجل توضيح هذا التعقيد في النظام البصري البشري ، غالباً ما يبدأ دوجي تادين فصله عن الإدراك عن طريق سؤال الطلاب وهو أصعب: الرياضيات أو الرؤية؟

معظم الناس يقولون الرياضيات.

يقول تادين ، أستاذ العلوم الدماغية والمعرفية ، الذي يدرس الآليات العصبية للإدراك البصري: "بالطبع ، هذا سؤال خدعة". "الرياضيات أصعب بالنسبة لنا لأن القليل جدا من دماغنا يكرس لذلك بينما يتم تكريس نصف الدماغ للإدراك". خذ أجهزة الكمبيوتر ، على سبيل المثال. لا تزال برامج رؤية الكمبيوتر تتخلف كثيراً عما يمكن أن يفعله البشر ، ولكن حتى أصغر الهواتف الذكية يمكنها إجراء حسابات معقدة. يقول تاديان: "ذلك لأن الرياضيات بسيطة ، وهناك دائماً إجابة صحيحة".

"الترابط يترابط بشكل كبير مع جوانب أخرى من معالجة الدماغ. إن تجاربك السابقة ، وتوقعاتك ، والطريقة التي تنتبه بها ، كل هذه الأشياء الأخرى التي لا تتعلق بالضرورة بالإدراك تؤثر فعليًا على كيفية إدراك الأشياء ".

يقول وون جو بارك ، الباحث السابق لما بعد الدكتوراه في مختبر تدين: "إن الرؤية البشرية إذن هي" عملية إعادة إعمار ضخمة. "هذا يجعل إدراكنا مختلفًا في بعض الأحيان عن العالم المادي الموجود خارجنا."

كيف نتصور نماذج 3D على لوحة 2D؟

واحدة من الطرق التي يستغلها فنان مثل مونيت يستغل الإدراك هو رسم مشهد ثلاثي الأبعاد على قماش ثنائي الأبعاد. هذه العملية مشابهة لما تفعله العينان والدماغ ، يقول تادين: إن أعيننا منحنية ، لكن في الأساس ، يتم عرض عالم ثلاثي الأبعاد - رأسا على عقب - إلى شبكية مسطحة.

على الدماغ أن يربط النقاط ، ويقلب الصورة في الجانب الأيمن ، ويستخرج هذا البعد الثالث المفقود. مونيه "يخدع" دماغ المشاهد عن طريق تمثيل عناصر من الضوء والظل والتباين لرسم "الوهم" لجسر ثلاثي الأبعاد.

يقول تاديان: "قد تعرف أنه مجرد وهم ، لكن دماغك يقوم بتجميع الأشياء تلقائياً ويتيح لك معرفة أنها مشهد ثلاثي الأبعاد". يصور مونيه الأشياء التي هي أبعد من ذلك - مثل المداخن في سلسلة Waterloo Bridges - على أنها أصغر حجمًا وضبابيًا لإعطاء إحساسًا بالعمق. كما تتيح لنا وظيفة تجميع الدماغ رؤية شكل الجسر والنهر ومداخن السجائر قبل أن نرى ضربات لون Monet الفردية للفرشاة.

يقول تاديان: "إن هدف إدراكنا البصري ليس هو إعطاءنا صورة دقيقة عن البيئة المحيطة بنا ، بل لنقدم لنا الصورة الأكثر إفادة". "والأكثر فائدة والأكثر دقة ليسا دائماً متشابهين".

كيف نرى الضوء في لوحات مونيه؟

على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لإضاءة كائن ما تغيير الإدراك. هذا لأن ما يصل إلى أعيننا عند مشاهدة شيء ما هو مزيج من الإضاءة التي تسقط على الجسم والخصائص الجوهرية للمادة نفسها ، كما يقول ويليامز. "يواجه دماغك تحديا حقيقيا ، وهو معرفة حقيقة هذا الشيء على الرغم من أن ما يصل إلى عينك يختلف اختلافا جذريا اعتمادا على كيفية إضاءةه".

عندما تأخذ شيئًا مثل ورقة بيضاء ، فسيتم دائمًا تفسيرها على أنها بيضاء - وهي ظاهرة تعرف باسم ثبات اللون - على الرغم من أن الضوء الذي يصل إلى عينيك من الورق سيكون مختلفًا بشكل ملحوظ في الألوان اعتمادًا على كيفية عمله. مضيئة. على سبيل المثال ، إذا وضعت الورقة في الخارج ، ستظل بيضاء في ضوء الصباح ، وفي منتصف النهار ، وعندما تغرب الشمس ، حتى يفكر "إذا كنا سنقوم بعمل قياسات موضوعية للضوء الذي يدخل عينيك في هذه الظروف المختلفة ، سيكونون مختلفين للغاية "، كما يقول.

جسر Waterloo نفسه لا يتغير لونه أبدًا ، لكن مونيه يرسمه عن طريق خلط أصباغ من الألوان التي تختلف في السطوع ، تدرج اللون (الخفة النسبية للون أو الظلام) ، والشدة (تشبع اللون) لتصوير شروق الشمس ، وأشعة الشمس المباشرة ، والغسق.

يمكن للدماغ أخذ الإضاءة في الغالب على المشهد بأكمله ، ودمج المعلومات ، وتقديم الاستدلالات. إذا كانت جميع الأجسام لها زهر مزرق ، على سبيل المثال ، فإن الدماغ قادر على استنتاج أنه من المرجح أن يكون النهار مع سماء زرقاء. يقول وليامز: "إذا كانت الأجسام لها مجموعة ضاربة إلى الحمرة ، فإن الدماغ يتفاعل مع احتمال أن يقترب غروب الشمس".

في نهاية المطاف ، "يركز عمل مونيه على مدى اختلاف المشهد نفسه ، اعتمادًا على كيفية إضاءته. ولكن أي شخص لديه رؤية ملونة طبيعية ينظر إلى هذه السلسلة سيعرف: الجسر هو لبنة رمادية ، بغض النظر عن الوقت من اليوم ، لأن الدماغ قد طور حيل ذكية لتقدير الخواص الحقيقية للأشياء على الرغم من التنوع الغني لظروف الإضاءة. نواجه عادة ".

هل نرى جميعنا نفس الأشياء بنفس الطريقة؟

وظلت ظاهرة ثبات اللون التي درسها العلماء لسنوات عديدة موضع اهتمام واسع الانتشار منذ عدة أعوام الوهم سيئة السمعةحيث رأى الناس الذين يشاهدون نفس صورة الفستان إما أزرق أو أسود أو أبيض أو ذهب. في حين أن الفستان نفسه كان باللون الأزرق والأسود ، قام الناس بعمل افتراضات مختلفة حول كيفية إضاءة الفستان ، مما أدى بدوره إلى اختلاف تصورات لون الفستان نفسه.

"العديد من الباحثين حتى هذه النقطة كانوا يفترضون أن كل شخص لديه رؤية ملونة عادية لديه تصورات متشابهة إلى حد ما" ، يقول ويليامز. "كانت الاختلافات الملحوظة في تفسير الناس للثوب حقاً مثيرة للعيان ، ولا يقصد بها التورية ، بالنسبة للكثيرين في مجتمع الرؤية".

شيء آخر يجب معرفته عن إدراك اللون هو أنه نسبي: يتغير لون لأنه يتفاعل مع ألوان أخرى حوله. غالبًا ما يطبق مونيه ألوانًا مختلفة تمامًا جنبًا إلى جنب ، دون مزجها ، وهي تقنية تستغل التباين المتزامن: سيظهر نفس اللون بشكل مختلف عند وضعه بجوار ألوان مختلفة.

كيف لوحات من الانطباع كلود مونيه خداع عيوننا(الائتمان: مايك Osadciw / U. روتشستر)

إن ضربات الفرشاة الخشنة ، إذن ، هي كل "بقع مثل الضوء التي تحفز أعيننا ،" يقول بارك. "يمكن للمشاهدين استخدام عمليات إعادة البناء الخاصة بهم في الدماغ لدمج تلك البقع في أجسام متماسكة ذات مغزى بالنسبة لهم."

وفي حين تعمل أعيننا وعقولنا على تكوين رؤية متماسكة للعالم ، فإن فنانًا انطباعيًا مثل مونيه قادر على القيام بالعكس من أجل تفكيك المشهد في ضربات الفرشاة الفردية ، كما تقول. "يكسر مونيه تجاربه الإدراكية إلى وحدات أساسية مختلفة من المعالجة البصرية" ، بما في ذلك اللون والشكل ، بدلاً من التركيز على هدف الجسر نفسه.

تمثل ثمانية لوحات من هذه السلسلة من ضباب لندن الجزء الأساسي من معرض معرض الفنون التذكارية مونيه واترلو بريدج: الرؤية والعملية.

مصدر: جامعة روتشستر

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Claude Monet؛ maxresults = 3}

وقت الفراغ
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How The Paintings Of Impressionist Claude Monet Trick Our Eyes

leisure

Claude Monet used a very limited color palette in his Waterloo Bridge series, but could still evoke a wide range of ambiances. New research shows how.

During three trips to London at the turn of the 20th century, Monet painted more than 40 versions of a single scene: the Waterloo Bridge over the Thames River. Monet’s main subject was not the bridge itself, however, so much as the landscape and atmosphere of the scene, with its transitory light, fog, and mist.

A recognized master of landscape painting, Monet was an integral founder of the Impressionist movement, which embraced the philosophy of expressing the fleeting sensory effects in a scene. The Memorial Art Gallery partnered with the Carnegie Museum of Art and the Worcester Art Museum to analyze the pigments of color Monet used in his Waterloo Bridges series.

With each of the paintings in the series, Monet manipulates viewer perception in a way that scientists at the time did not completely understand. Now, research can provide insight into the complexity of the visual system, illuminating Monet’s processes and the intricacies of his work.

How do our eyes and brain work together to allow us to see color?

The answer involves how our eyes take in wavelengths of light, which our brains interpret, says David Williams, professor of optics at the University of Rochester and the director of Rochester’s Center for Visual Science.

In the retina of the eye, there are three types of cones: blue, which is sensitive to short wavelengths of light; green, which is medium-wavelength sensitive; and red, which is long-wavelength sensitive. These trichromatic signals “are very simple, yet the myriad shades of color that we experience are derived from just those three,” says Williams, whose laboratory, in the 1990s, was the first to image all three kinds of cones in a living human retina and identify how the cones are arranged.

From the retina, signals travel along the optic nerve to the visual cortex in the back of the brain. Signals are then transmitted back and forth between the visual cortex and other higher-level parts of the brain, including those involved in attention, memory, experience, and biases. The brain’s job is to integrate sensory information from the eyes into pieces—lines, shapes, and depth—and construct them into objects and scenes.

How The Paintings Of Impressionist Claude Monet Trick Our Eyes(Credit: Mike Osadciw/U. Rochester) 

How did the visual system get so complicated?

In order to illustrate this complexity of the human visual system, Duje Tadin often begins his class on perception by asking students which is harder: math or vision?

Most people say math.

“Of course, this is a trick question,” says Tadin, a professor of brain and cognitive sciences, who studies the neural mechanisms of visual perception. “Math is harder for us because so little of our brain is devoted to that whereas about half the brain is devoted to perception.” Take computers, for example. Computer vision programs still lag far behind what humans can do, yet even the smallest smartphones can perform complex calculations. “That’s because math is straightforward and there’s always a correct answer,” Tadin says.

“Perception is heavily interconnected with other aspects of brain processing. Your prior experiences, your expectations, the way you pay attention, all of these other things that are not necessarily related to perception actually affect how you perceive things.”

Human vision, then, is “a massive reconstruction process,” says Woon Ju Park, a former postdoctoral researcher in Tadin’s lab. “This makes our perception sometimes different from the physical world existing outside of us.”

How do we perceive 3D forms on a 2D canvas?

One of the ways an artist like Monet exploits perception is in painting a three-dimensional scene on a two-dimensional canvas. The process is similar to what the eyes and brain do, Tadin says: our eyes are curved, but essentially a three-dimensional world gets projected—upside down—to a flat retina.

The brain has to connect the dots, turn the image right side up, and extract this missing third dimension. Monet “tricks” a viewer’s brain by representing elements of light, shadow, and contrast to paint the “illusion” of a three-dimensional bridge.

“You may know it’s an illusion but your brain automatically groups things and lets you know that it is a three-dimensional scene,” Tadin says. Monet depicts things that are farther away—such as the smokestacks in the Waterloo Bridges series—as smaller and blurrier to give a sense of depth. The brain’s grouping function also allows us to see the form of a bridge, river, and smokestacks before we see Monet’s individual brushstrokes of color.

“The goal of our visual perception is not to give us an accurate picture of the environment around us but to give us the most useful picture,” Tadin says. “And the most useful and the most accurate are not always the same.”

How do we perceive light in Monet’s paintings?

The illumination of an object, for example, can alter perception. That’s because what arrives at our eyes when viewing an object is a combination of both the illumination falling on the object and the intrinsic properties of the object itself, Williams says. “Your brain has a real challenge, which is to figure out what is true about this object even though what arrives at your eye is radically different depending on how it is illuminated.”

When you take an object like a white sheet of paper, it will almost always be interpreted as white—a phenomenon known as color constancy—even though the light arriving at your eye from the paper will be remarkedly different in color depending on how it is illuminated. For example, if you put the paper outside, it will still appear white in the morning light, in the middle of the day, and when the sun goes down, even thought “if we were to make objective measurements of the light entering your eye in those various circumstances, they would be very different,” he says.

The Waterloo Bridge itself never changes color, but Monet paints it by mixing pigments of color that differ in brightness, hue (a color’s relative lightness or darkness), and intensity (a color’s saturation) to depict sunrise, direct sunlight, and dusk.

The brain is able to take in the illumination washing over the entire scene, integrate information, and make inferences. If all the objects have a bluish cast, for instance, the brain is able to infer that it is most likely daytime with a blue sky. If objects have a reddish cast, the brain infers that sunset is most likely approaching, Williams says.

Ultimately, “Monet’s work emphasizes how different the same scene can be, depending on how it is illuminated. But any person with normal color vision looking at this series will know: the bridge is gray brick, no matter what time of day it is, because the brain has evolved clever tricks to estimate the true properties of objects despite the rich variety of illumination conditions we normally encounter.”

Do we all see the same things the same way?

The phenomenon of color constancy, which vision scientists have studied for many years, received widespread attention several years ago in the infamous dress illusion, in which people viewing the same picture of a dress saw it as either blue and black or white and gold. While the dress itself was actually blue and black, people made differing assumptions about how the dress was illuminated, which, in turn, lead to differing perceptions of the color of the dress itself.

“Many researchers up until that point had been assuming that everyone with normal color vision had more or less similar perceptions,” Williams says. “The remarkable differences in people’s interpretation of the dress was really an eye-opener, no pun intended, for many in the vision community.”

Another thing to know about the perception of color is that it is relative: a color changes as it interacts with other colors around it. Monet often applies starkly different colors side by side, without blending them, a technique that exploits simultaneous contrast: the same color will appear differently when placed next to different colors.

How The Paintings Of Impressionist Claude Monet Trick Our Eyes(Credit: Mike Osadciw/U. Rochester)

The rough brushstrokes, then, are each “like spots of light that stimulate our eyes,” Park says. “Viewers can use their own reconstructive processes in the brain to integrate those patches into coherent objects that are meaningful to them.”

While our eyes and brain work to put together a cohesive view of the world, an Impressionist artist like Monet is able to do the opposite to deconstruct a scene into individual brushstrokes, she says. “Monet breaks down his perceptual experiences into different basic units of visual processing,” including color and shape, rather than focusing on the object of the bridge itself.

Eight paintings from this series of London fogs are the centerpiece of the Memorial Art Gallery’s exhibition Monet’s Waterloo Bridge: Vision and Process.

Source: University of Rochester

Related Books

Monet or The Triumph of Impressionism
leisureAuthor: Daniel Wildenstein
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: TASCHEN
List Price: $30.00

Buy Now

Monet or The Triumph of Impressionism
leisureAuthor: Daniel Wildenstein
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: TASCHEN
List Price: $20.00

Buy Now

Monet: Reflections and Shadows
leisureBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Hatje Cantz
List Price: $85.00

Buy Now

leisure
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}