هل يمكن للفن أن يكون على علم؟

هل يمكن للفن أن يكون على علم؟ESB Professional / Shutterstock

يمكن أن تأخذ المعرفة أشكالاً عديدة. هناك "المعرفة من قبل التعارف" ، كما هو الحال في معرفة الشخص أو المكان. هناك معرفة اقتراحية ، أو "معرفة" - على سبيل المثال ، مع العلم أن المملكة المتحدة صوتت لمغادرة الاتحاد الأوروبي في يونيو 2016. هناك أيضا "معرفة كيف" ، كما هو الحال في معرفة كيفية ركوب الدراجة.

ولكن هل يمكن أن يكون شيء ما ذاتيًا ومفتوحًا للتأويل كالفن معرفة؟ الفن بالتأكيد ينطوي المعرفه. قد يعرف أحد الفنانين كيفية الرسم باستخدام الفحم على الورق ، أو معرفة كيفية توسيع لوحة فنية. ولكن ماذا عن العمل الفني الفعلي؟ هل يمكن أن يكون نوعًا من المعرفة؟ أعتقد أنه يمكن ، وكما أقول في كتابي الجديدوالفلسفة يمكن أن تساعد.

اليوم ، المزيد والمزيد من الإدارات والمدارس الفنية الجامعية تعتبر الفن شكلاً من أشكال البحث ، وبالتالي "مساهمة في المعرفة". لقد حان هذا إلى حد كبير بسبب تمارين تقييم البحوث هذا الإدارات رتبة على منشوراتهم ، وتخصيص تمويل البحوث الحكومية على أساس التصنيف العالمي.

وحتى هذه النقطة ، كان الفن داخل الأوساط الأكاديمية يُدرس كسلسلة من المهارات ، فضلاً عن استكشاف الأفكار ، إلى جانب بعض السياق التاريخي والنظري - ولكنه لم يكن موضوع بحث. وهكذا ولدت "البحوث الفنية". المشكلة الوحيدة هي لا أحد is من المؤكد تماما ماذا هذا هو.

هذا الغموض هو الذي يجعل الموضوع مهيأ للاختبار الفلسفي. لقد تخطت فلسفات الفن والمعرفة بعضهما البعض من أفلاطون حتى الوقت الحاضر ، وبذلك ، كشفت عن الطرق المختلفة التي يمكن أن يقف الفن والمعرفة فيما يتعلق ببعضهما البعض. هناك العديد من النظريات التي تعمل ضد فكرة الفن كونها معرفة. تركيز ديكارت على المعرفة كأفكار "واضحة ومتميزة"، وتأكيد جون ديوي أن الفن هو "جمالية مميزة"مع" النزاهة "الخاصة بها التي ترفعها فوق المعرفة ، هما مجرد مثالين.

ومع ذلك ، هناك فلاسفة يضعون الفن والمعرفة في علاقة بناءة أكثر. يركزون على طبيعة التجربة ، وينظرون في نوع العمليات التي يجب أن تكون في العمل من أجل جعل التجربة مستمرة وذات مغزى. هذا يحدد المعرفة ضمن الخبرة بدلا من شيء موجود بغض النظر عن ذلك.

أحد هؤلاء الفيلسوف هو إيمانويل كانط الذي جادل بذلك الفكر والإحساس يعتمدان على بعضهما البعض. وعلى هذا الأساس ، فإن الأنواع المختلفة من الوسائط والمعاني التي يمكن العثور عليها في الفن ، بدلاً من أن يتم فصلها على أنها أصناف غير مؤكدة ، يتم إدراكها على أنها لها تأثير على دائرة أوسع من المفاهيم التي يتم من خلالها تعريف الموضوع وتوضيحه.

الفن كبحث

إذن كيف يبدو البحث الفني؟ كما هو الحال مع أي بحث ، هناك تحديد النطاق الأولي للأراضي التي تحدد الموضوعات والمفاهيم والمصادر الرئيسية. مع البحث الفني ، فإن بعض المصادر ستكون من الفنانين والأعمال الفنية المختارة. ومن ثم ، فإن الجزء المثير للاهتمام هو النظر في ممارسة الفنان الذي سيصبح الباحث ، وكيف يجمع بينه وبين الإقليم لإنشاء سؤال بحثي.

لنأخذ على سبيل المثال دراسة العلاقة الحميمة التي أجرتها فنان الأداء هيلينا ساندس كجزء من دكتوراه في الفنون الجميلة في جامعة كارديف متروبوليتان. يكشف استعراضها الأدبي أن العلاقة الحميمة مفتوحة لطائفة واسعة من معانٍ متناقضة ومتناقضة - على سبيل المثال ، الجسدي ، الجنسي ، في العمل ، المرغوب ، غير المرغوب فيه ، غير متوقع ، ومع الغرباء. هذه القدرة على المعاني المتعارضة التي تهتم بالرمال. ما مكنه الفنان من القيام به هو النظر في الطرق التي يمكن للأداء من خلالها توضيح وتوسيع هذه القدرة على الصراع.

استغرق أدائها لدرجة الدكتوراه DNR الأشياء المرتبطة بالألفة العائلية في المنزل ، مثل الصور الفوتوغرافية والحليب. طبقتهم على جسدها ، من خلال اللصق والسكب. اكتسبت الألبسة والصور صوراً جديدة غامقة: الحليب - عادة ما يكون رابطًا بين الأم والطفل ومصدرًا للتغذية - أصبح شكلاً يسبر جسدها ، ينقع ويدمر صور العائلة التي توضع على جلد الرمال ، وتحول الصور التي مثلت سوية في رموز الانفصال.

إذن كيف هذه المعرفة؟ من خلال إنشاء تركيبات وترتيبات غير تقليدية ، من خلال الأداء ، قدم ساندس طرقًا جديدة للتعرف على كيفية محاربة التوفيق بين الألفة والصراع. ما ظهر من عملها هو أهمية المفاهيم التي تكمن في حدود العلاقة الحميمة ، وكيف يمكن للأداء التعبير عنها.

البحث الفني له منتقديه ، لكنهم يعتمدون على فصل رومانسي بين الفن والمواضيع الأخرى. عندما رفض الفنان السير مايكل كريغ مارتن دكتوراه في الفنون الجميلة لكونها جديرة فقط داخل الأوساط الأكاديمية و ليس عالم الفنلقد فشل في إدراك أن البحث الفني يوفر إطارًا يمكن للفنانين من خلاله استكشاف كيف قد يجلب عملهم معنى جديدًا لموضوع ما. قد يضطر الفنانون إلى تبني أساليب من مواضيع أخرى ، ولكن هذه الخصائص سوف تكون لها خصائص جمالية خاصة بهم يمكن أن تضيف إلى الفن.

هناك قلق من أن البحث الفني قد لا يرقى إلا إلى توضيح مواضيع البحث. ولكن يمكن تجنب هذا إذا استمر الفنان في استقلالية الفن ، وقدرته على توليد المعاني من خلال التعبيرات والمفاجآت التي تأتي من استكشاف المواد والمواقف بطرق غير تقليدية. هذه المعاني جديدة - فهي ليست مجرد عروض للاقتراحات الحالية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كلايف كازو ، أستاذ علم الجمال ، جامعة كارديف متروبوليتان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = أهمية الفن ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Can Art Be Knowledge?

leisure

Can Art Be Knowledge?ESB Professional/Shutterstock

Knowledge can take many forms. There is “knowledge by acquaintance”, as in knowing a person or place. There is propositional knowledge, or “knowledge that” – for example, knowing that the UK voted to leave the EU in June 2016. There is also “knowledge how”, as in knowing how to ride a bicycle.

But can something as subjective and open to interpretation as art be knowledge? Art certainly involves knowledge. An artist may know how to draw using charcoal on paper, or know how to stretch a canvas. But what about an actual artwork? Can it be a type of knowledge? I think it can, and as I argue in my new book, philosophy can help.

Today, more and more university art departments and schools regard art as a form of research, and so as a “contribution to knowledge”. This has largely come about due to research assessment exercises that rank departments on their publications, and allocate government research funding based on the rankings.

Up until this point, art within academia had been taught as a series of skills, as well as the exploration of ideas, along with some historical and theoretical context – but it had not been a research subject. And so “artistic research” was born. The only problem is that no one is entirely certain what that is.

It is this uncertainty that makes the topic ripe for philosophical examination. The philosophies of art and knowledge have criss-crossed one another from Plato to the present, and, in doing so, have revealed the various ways in which art and knowledge can stand in relation to one another. There are many theories that work against the idea of art being knowledge. Descartes’s emphasis on knowledge as “clear and distinct” ideas, and John Dewey’s assertion that art is “distinctively aesthetic” with its own “integrity” that lifts it above knowledge, are just two examples.

However, there are philosophers who place art and knowledge in a more constructive relationship. They focus on the nature of experience, and consider what kind of processes have to be at work in order to make experience continuous and meaningful. This locates knowledge within experience rather than something that exists apart from it.

One such philosopher is Immanuel Kant who argued that thought and sensation depend on one another. On this basis, the varieties of media and meanings that can be found in art, rather than being dismissed as uncertain subjectivities, are recognised as having an effect on the wider circle of concepts through which a subject is defined and articulated.

Art as research

So what does artistic research look like? As with any research, there is the initial scoping of the territory that identifies key themes, concepts and sources. With artistic research, some of the sources will be artists and selected artworks. The interesting part is then looking at the practice of the artist who is going to be the researcher, and how it and the territory combine to create a research question.

Take, for example, the study of intimacy conducted by performance artist Helena Sands as part of her fine art PhD at Cardiff Metropolitan University. Her literature review reveals that intimacy is open to a wide range of contrasting and conflicting meanings – for example, physical, sexual, at work, desired, unwanted, unexpected, and with strangers. It is this capacity for conflicting meanings that interested Sands. What being an artist enabled her to do was to consider the ways in which performance can articulate and extend this capacity for conflict.

Her PhD performance DNR took objects that are connected with familial intimacy within the home, such as photographs and milk. She applied them to her body, through pasting and pouring. The milk and the photographs acquired new, darker associations: the milk – normally a bond between mother and child and a source of nutrition – became a form that probes her body, soaking and damaging the family photographs that are placed on Sands’ skin, turning images that had represented togetherness into symbols of separation.

So how is this knowledge? By creating unconventional combinations and arrangements, through performance, Sands made new ways of recognising how intimacy is surrounded by contrast and conflict. What emerged from her work was the importance of concepts that lie on the borders of intimacy, and how performance can articulate these.

Artistic research has its critics, but they rely upon a romantic separation between art and other subjects. When artist Sir Michael Craig-Martin dismissed fine art PhDs for having merit only within academia and not the art world, he failed to recognise that artistic research provides a setting in which artists can explore how their work might bring new meaning to a subject. Artists may have to adopt methods from other subjects, but these will have aesthetic properties of their own that can add to the art.

There is the worry that artistic research might amount only to the illustration of research themes. But this can be avoided if the artist holds on to the autonomy of art, and its capacity for generating meanings through the expressions and surprises that come from exploring materials and situations in unconventional ways. These meanings are new – they are not just representations of existing propositions.The Conversation

About The Author

Clive Cazeaux, Professor of Aesthetics , Cardiff Metropolitan University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Importance of Being Iceland: Travel Essays in Art (Semiotext(e) / Active Agents)
leisureAuthor: Eileen Myles
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Semiotext(e)
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

The Muses Go to School: Inspiring Stories About the Importance of Arts in Education
leisureBinding: Paperback
Publisher: The New Press
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Don't Make Art, Just Make Something: The process, struggle, and vital importance of getting started
leisureAuthor: Miranda Aisling
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Miranda Aisling
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

leisure
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}