التنقل في الحياة في كبار السن: الكبار والأطفال وأولياء أمورهم

التنقل في الحياة في كبار السن: الكبار والأطفال وأولياء أمورهم

"أنا فقط أحذرك ، والطريقة الوحيدة التي أغادر بها هذا البيت أفقياً".

صعدت مريض 92-pound الجديد البالغ من العمر سنة X1 حراسة مدخلها الأمامي مع مشيتها. كنت قد قدمت نفسي للتو كمعالج مهني من الوكالة المخصصة لحالتها. كانت جوسي غاضبة من أطفالها بسبب إصرارها على الرعاية المنزلية بعد دخولها المستشفى بسبب كسر في الورك ناجم عن السقوط.

قلت له: "أنا لا ألومك". "هذا هو البيت الكبير. منذ متى وأنت تعيش هنا؟"

لقد خفف سلوكها قليلا وسمحت لي بالمرور. “قام زوجي ببنائه منذ أكثر من ستين عامًا. ولد الأطفال وتربى هنا. توفي جون منذ ثلاث سنوات واستطعت أن أجربه منذ ذلك الحين ”.

"اذا ماذا حصل؟"

“كان لدي سقوط صغير في الحمام. لأقول لك الحقيقة ، لا أتذكر ما حدث. دقيقة واحدة كنتُ في الأعلى واللاحقة كنتُ أسفل. الأطفال غاضبون لدرجة أنني لم أضغط على "شريان الحياة" ، لكن الوقت كان متأخرا جدا ولم أكن أريد أن أزعج أحدا. لذلك أضع هناك طوال الليل. وجدت ابنتي في الصباح. الآن هم يرمون الأفكار حول العيش بمساعدة أو لي العيش مع واحد منهم. على جثتي!"

بعد أكثر من سبعة وثلاثين عاما من العمل في مجال طب الشيخوخة ، ثلاثة عشر منهم في الرعاية المنزلية المباشرة ، لقد شهدت مئات الإصدارات من تلك المحادثة. الجهات الفاعلة مختلفة. البرنامج النصي هو نفسه. لقد عاشت أمي و / أو أبي في منزلهما لفترة طويلة. لقد بدأوا يجدون صعوبة في التنقل وإدارة المتطلبات اليومية للحفاظ على المنزل.

غالباً ما يكون الانخفاض بطيئاً بحيث يصبح كل فقدان ضئيل للوظيفة مجرد القاعدة الجديدة ، ويتكيفون بشكل جيد بما يكفي حتى لا يسبب مشكلة. هذا حتى السقوط أو قضية صحية جديدة يرسلهم إلى تصاعد وتفاقم خسائرهم الوظيفية ، وقبل أن يعرف أي شخص ما يضربهم لديهم أزمة على أيديهم.

هذا عندما أحصل على مكالمة هاتفية محمومة.

"أمي تتعافى من الالتهاب الرئوي وهي ضعيفة للغاية ولا يمكنها النزول من المرحاض. ماذا أفعل؟"

"كان أبي خارج العمل في الفناء وكان الجيران يدعون لي أن أخبرني أنه واجه مشكلة في الحصول على خطواته الأمامية. ماذا أفعل؟"


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"سقطت أمي من الحوض وكانت ممددة على الأرض طوال الليل مع ما انتهى به الأمر إلى كسر في الورك. طرت أختي و بقيت معها حتى تشفى ، لكننا لسنا متأكدين من أنها تستطيع البقاء في المنزل لوحدها بعد الآن. أنا على وشك الذهاب في إجازة لمدة شهرين في اليابان. ماذا علينا ان نفعل؟"

"إن عته أبي قد أصبح سيئاً للغاية لدرجة أنه لا يتعرف على أي من أطفاله أو أحفاده. يعرف أن أمي هي شخص خاص به لكنه لا يعرف أنها زوجته. إنه يحتاج إلى مراقبة لمدة 24 ساعة ، ونحن نخشى أن تحترق أمي. تصر على إبقائه في المنزل ، ويعيش جميع الأطفال الثلاثة خارج الولايات المتحدة مع أسرهم ووظائفهم. ماذا نفعل؟"

"والدينا يقودوننا إلى الجنون. أمي تتأرجح حول المنزل مع عكازها في محاولة لطهي الطعام ونظيفة ، ونحن نعلم أنها قاسية وألم من التهاب المفاصل لها. لا يستطيع أبي أن يكبر من كرسيه المفضل حيث يجلس طوال اليوم يشاهد التلفاز. فقدانه الشديد للسمع يعرقل محادثاته مع أمي وغالبا ما يصرخ عليها من الإحباط. كلاهما حادث في انتظار أن يحدث. ماذا نفعل؟"

الجواب على "ماذا نفعل؟"

عندما تطرح مسألة "ما مدى سلامة الأم أو الأب؟" و "هل يمكنهم البقاء في منزلهم؟" ، غالبًا ما يؤدي ذلك إلى حدوث نزاع بين الأطفال والآباء. من الطبيعي أن ننظر إلى الوضع من خلال العدسات الخاصة بنا ، وبالتالي خلق إصدارات مختلفة وأحيانا متضاربة من نفس الواقع.

تتطلب الإجابة على "ماذا نفعل" أن يحاول الجميع رؤية الوضع من خلال عيون أحبائهم ، باحترام ، وأن كل شخص يعطي القليل.

وتكشف تجربتي أن معظم الوقت لا يكون الأبوين جدليين. غالباً ما نعبر عن صورتنا لنفسنا عندما كنا صغارًا ، متجاهلين علامات الشيخوخة التي أصبحت جزءًا من حياتنا اليومية. نحن نخفف هذا الألم في ظهورنا عندما نرفع شيئًا ثقيلًا أو الوخز في ركبنا عندما نصعد الدرج. نتجاهل حقيقة أن مستوى طاقتنا ليس هو نفسه كما كان عليه من قبل ويستمر في المحراث خلال يومنا هذا. إنه نفس الشيء مع أمي وأبي ، الذين هم على الأرجح أكثر من عشرين سنة على الأقل من "أطفالنا". لقد أثرت السنوات على قدراتهم البدنية والإدراكية ، ولكن إذا حدث ذلك ببطء ، فربما لم يلاحظوا حدوثه.

بقدر ما أنت متأكد من أنهم ليسوا آمنين تمامًا وأنهم يواجهون صعوبة في التجول في المنزل وإدارة المنزل ، فإن أمي وأبي مقتنعين تمامًا بأنهم بخير. وبقدر ما تترافع وتحثهم على إجراء بعض التغييرات ، فمن حقهم في النهاية رفض اقتراحاتك وتوصياتك ومرافعاتك وتهديداتك.

إذن كيف تحل هذا النزاع؟

الجواب يجتمع بطريقة ما في الوسط. إبرام اتفاق. حملهم على الموافقة على تعديل محيطهم حتى يستطيع البقاء في المنزل ، ولكن في بيئة معيشية يسهل الوصول إليها وأكثر أمانا وأسهل للتنقل بنجاح ، مما يقلل من مستوى الإجهاد لدى الجميع ويؤمل أن يؤدي ذلك إلى حل يجعل الجميع سعداء.

تذكر ، والديك بالكبار وتمكنت من القيام بعمل جيد يتقدم إلى حيث هم اليوم. إنهم يستحقون الاستقلال والحكم الذاتي والاحترام. وهم بدورهم بحاجة لأن يكونوا منفتحين على الاقتراحات التي من شأنها تحسين فرص منع السقوط وتشجيع التنقل الآمن داخل وخارج المنزل. على الجميع أن يعطوا القليل.

تنص الرابطة الأمريكية للمتقاعدين (AARP) على أن "أكثر من 90٪ من كبار السن يفضلون العمر في مكانه ؛ البقاء في منازلهم ، والاستمرار في اتخاذ خيارات مستقلة والحفاظ على السيطرة على حياتهم ". ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من الأشخاص في هذه الفئة العمرية الذين عملت معهم على مر السنين لا يرغبون في الاعتراف بأن العيش في منزلهم أصبح أكثر صعوبة. في أغلب الأحيان ، لن يشرعوا في أي تغييرات مهمة في الحياة ، لذا سيكون الأمر متروكًا لأولئك الذين يهتمون بهم ويقدمون الدعم للحصول على الكرة.

ومنظم منظم بشكل جيد هو منزل آمن. لتعظيم الصحة والسلامة ، من المفيد البدء بالتعديل. تشغل الفوضى مساحة كبيرة ويمكن أن تكون في الواقع خطرة على صحة والديك. يتراكم الغبار الزائد ويجعل من الصعب على التحرك في جميع أنحاء المنزل بأمان. وتساهم حالة الفوضى في الضغط من خلال جعلنا نشعر بأننا خارج السيطرة.

المعالجون المهنيون (الذين يُطلق عليهم اسم "OTs" لفترة قصيرة) هم خبراء في دراسة السهولة والسلامة التي يقوم بها مرضاهم بأداء أنشطة الرعاية الذاتية. وتسمى هذه الأنشطة "أنشطة الحياة اليومية" (ADLs) أو "الأنشطة الحيوية للحياة اليومية" (IADLs). ADLs و IADLs أي شيء يفعله الناس من اللحظة التي يستيقظون في الصباح حتى يذهبون إلى السرير في الليل. ويشمل ذلك التغذية ، وارتداء الملابس ، والاستحمام ، والمرحاض ، والعناية ، والنظافة ، والتنقل الوظيفي (المشي والنقل من السطح إلى السطح). تعتبر IADLs أكثر تعقيدًا من حيث أنها تتضمن إعداد وجبات الطعام والتسوق وإدارة الأدوية ووسائل النقل وإدارة المنزل.

التكيف مع التحديات

يرغب العديد من كبار السن في البقاء في منازلهم حيث قاموا بتربية أسرهم وخلقوا الكثير من الذكريات الرائعة ، لكن هذه الرغبات غالباً ما تكون خارج مسارها بسبب انخفاض القدرات البدنية والإدراكية. مع تقدمنا ​​في العمر ، يجب أن نتكيف مع تحديات أداء أنشطة الحياة اليومية التي اعتدنا أن نأخذها كأمر مسلم به ، مثل تسلق السلالم والاستحمام وإعداد الوجبات وإدارة المنزل. من الناحية الفكرية ، نحن نعلم أن الاستباقية والتخطيط للمستقبل هو الطريق لتحقيق أفضل النتائج الممكنة.

حتى مع وجود أفضل النوايا ، فإننا غالبًا ما نكون غير متأكدين من كيفية بدء العملية ، مما يؤدي إلى الوضع الذي يديرنا بدلاً من العكس. كثيرا ما أسمع التشبيه عند التعامل مع كبار الآباء الذين أصبحوا الآن "نحن" الوالدين وأصبحوا "الأطفال".

في بعض الأحيان نفقد بصيرة التأثير الذي تركه أبواؤنا على حياتنا بالكامل. ربما علمناهم كيفية استخدام هاتف ذكي أو سكايب مع أحفادهم ، ولكن دعونا لا ننسى أنهم علمونا النظافة ، السلوك ، ومهارات الحياة الأساسية.

تذكر أن أفضل فرصة للنجاح هي العمل بشكل تعاوني مع أمي وأبي ، حتى لا تفقد صبرك ، وأن تعاملهم دائمًا بالاحترام الذي يستحقونه. إنه الفوز. سيكونون آمنين سوف تكون عاقل

© 2018 by Lynda G. Shrager. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
طبع مع إذن.
نشرت من قبل بول للنشر. www.bullpub.com

المادة المصدر

العمر في المكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم ومنزل دور أمي وأبي
بواسطة Lynda Shrager OTR MSW

العمر في مكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم والدور الأم والابن من قبل Lynda Shrager OTR MSWالعمر في المكان: دليل لتعديل وتنظيم والدومي منزل أمي وأبي هو دليل خطوة بخطوة ، غرفة تلو غرفة إلى تعديلات بسيطة وغالباً ما تكون فورية يمكن أن تساعد كبار السن في جعل منازلهم أكثر أماناً وسهولة في التنقل. وهو مصمم لمساعدة كبار السن ومقدمي الرعاية على معالجة هذه التحديات الجديدة معا ، لجعل الحياة في المنزل أكثر أمنا وأكثر قابلية للإدارة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب أو شراء نسخة كيندل.

عن المؤلف

Lynda Shrager، OTR، MSW، CAPSLynda Shrager، OTR، MSW، CAPS هو معالج مسجل معتمد من الهيئة الوطنية للعمالة ، وأخصائي اجتماعي على مستوى الماجستير وأخصائي شيخوخة معتمد (CAPS) مع خبرة أكثر من سبعة وثلاثين عاما في مجال طب الشيخوخة وأكثر من ثلاثة عشر عاما من العمل مع كبار السن في منازلهم . في 2009 Lynda أصبح كاتب عمود مميز لـ كل يوم الصحة (dailyhealth.com) ، أحد المواقع الإلكترونية الرائدة على الإنترنت للصحة الاستهلاكية على الإنترنت. تجمع ليندا بين خبرتها كمعالِجة مهنية ، وعامل اجتماعي على مستوى الماجستير ، ومنظم مهني وشيخوخة معتمدة في مكان متخصص لمتابعة شغفها في توفير الرعاية العلاجية في بيئة المريض الداخلية وتعليم مقدمي الرعاية. تعلم اكثر من خلال otherwisehealthy.com.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الشيخوخة السعادة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Navigating Life in the Senior Years: Adult Children and their Parents

aging

Navigating Life in the Senior Years: Adult Children and their Parents

"I'm just warning you, the only way I am leaving this house is horizontally."

My new 92-year-old, 95-pound patient stood guarding her front doorway with her walker. I had just introduced myself as the occupational therapist from the agency assigned to her case. Josie was angry at her kids for insisting she have home care after her hospitalization for a hip fracture that resulted from a fall.

“I don’t blame you,” I said. “This is a great house. How long have you lived here?”

Her demeanor softened a bit and she allowed me through the entrance. “My husband built it over sixty years ago. The children were born and raised here. John died three years ago and I’ve managed just fine since then.”

“So what happened?”

“I had a little fall in the bathroom. To tell you the truth I don’t remember what happened. One minute I was up and the next I was down. The kids are mad that I didn’t press the Lifeline, but it was very late and I didn’t want to bother anyone. So I lay there all night. My daughter found me in the morning. Now they are throwing ideas around about assisted living or me going to live with one of them. Over my dead body!”

After more than thirty-seven years working in the field of geriat­rics, thirteen of them in direct home care, I have experienced hundreds of versions of that conversation. The actors are different; the script is the same. Mom and/or dad have lived in their home for a long time. They are starting to have difficulty getting around and managing the daily requirements of maintaining a house.

The decline is often so slow that every minuscule loss of function just becomes the new norm, and they adapt well enough so it doesn’t cause a problem. That is until a fall or a new health issue sends them spiraling and exacerbates their func­tional losses, and before anyone knows what hit them they have a crisis on their hands.

That’s when I get the frantic phone call.

“My mom is recovering from pneumonia and is so weak she can’t get off the toilet. What do I do?”

“Dad was outside doing yard work and the neighbor called to tell me he had trouble getting up his front steps. What do I do?”

“Mom fell getting out of the tub and was sprawled out on the floor all night with what ended up to be a hip fracture. My sister flew in and is staying with her until she heals, but we are not sure she can stay home alone anymore. I am about to go on a two-month sabbatical to Japan. What should we do?”

“My dad’s dementia has gotten so bad he doesn’t recognize any of his kids or grandchildren. He knows my mother is someone special to him but he does not know she is his wife. He needs twenty-four-hour supervision and we are afraid Mom will burn out. She insists on keep­ing him home, and all three of us kids live out of state with families and jobs. What do we do?”

“Our parents are driving us crazy. Mom is literally teetering around the house with her cane trying to cook and clean, and we know she is stiff and in pain from her arthritis. Dad can barely get up from his favorite chair where he sits all day watching TV. His drastic loss of hearing hinders his conversations with Mom and he often yells at her out of frustration. They are both an accident waiting to happen. What do we do?”

The answer to “What do we do?”

When the issue of “How safe is mom or dad?” and “Can they stay in their home?” arises, it often causes a conflict between the kids and the parents. It’s natural to view the situation through our own lens, thus creating different and sometimes clashing versions of the same reality.

The answer to “what do we do” requires that everyone tries to see the situation through their loved ones’ eyes, with respect, and that everyone gives a little.

My experience reveals that most of the time the parents are not being purposefully argumentative. We often picture ourselves as the same as when we were young, ignoring signs of aging that have become part of our everyday life. We discount that pain in our backs when we lift something heavy or the twinge in our knee when we go up the stairs. We overlook the fact that our energy level isn’t the same as it used to be and continue to plow on through our day. It’s the same with mom and dad, who likely are at least twenty years older than “us kids.” The years have taken a toll on their physical and cognitive abilities, but if it’s come on slowly they probably didn’t notice it happening.

As much as you are sure they are not totally safe and they are hav­ing difficulty getting around the house and managing, mom and dad are thoroughly convinced they are fine. And as much as you plead and cajole them to make some changes, in the end it is their right to dismiss your suggestions, recommendations, pleadings, and threats.

So how do you resolve this conflict?

The answer is to somehow meet in the middle. Make a deal. Get them to agree to modify their surroundings so they can stay home, but in a living environment that is more accessible, safer, and easier to suc­cessfully navigate, reducing everyone’s stress level and hopefully leading to a resolution that makes everyone happy.

Remember, your parents are grown-ups and have managed to do a pretty good job progressing to where they are today. They deserve inde­pendence, autonomy, and respect. And they, in turn, need to be open to suggestions that will improve chances for preventing falls and promot­ing safer mobility in and out of their home. Everyone has to give a little

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons) states that “more than 90% of seniors prefer to age in place; staying in their own homes, continuing to make independent choices and maintaining control over their lives.” That said, many of the people in this age group that I have worked with over the years are reluctant to admit that living in their home has become increasingly difficult. Most often they will not initiate any sig­nificant life changes, so it will be up to those who care for them and provide support to get the ball rolling.

An orderly and well-maintained house is a safe house. To maximize health and safety, it is helpful to start with decluttering. Clutter takes up precious space and can actually be hazardous to your parents’ health. It accumulates excess dust and makes it harder to move around the house safely. And the disorganization contributes to stress by mak­ing us feel out of control.

Occupational therapists (lovingly called “OTs” for short) are experts in studying the ease and safety in which their patients per­form self-care activities. These activities are called “activities of daily living” (ADLs) or “instrumental activities of daily living” (IADLs). ADLs and IADLs are anything people do from the minute they wake up in the morning until they go to bed at night. This includes feeding oneself, dressing, bathing, toileting, grooming, hygiene, and func­tional mobility (walking and transferring from surface to surface). IADLs are a bit more complicated in that they include making meals, shopping, managing medications and transportation, and managing the home.

Adapting to the challenges

Many seniors desire to remain in their homes where they raised their families and created so many wonderful memories, but those desires are often derailed by declining physical and cognitive abilities. As we age we must adapt to the challenges of performing the activities of daily living that we used to take for granted, such as climbing stairs, bathing, preparing meals, and managing the house. Intellectually, we know that being proactive and planning ahead is the way to achieve the best possible results.

Even with the best of intentions, we are often unsure how to start the process, which results in the situation managing us instead of the other way around. I often hear the analogy when dealing with senior parents that now “we” have become the parents and they have become the “kids.”

Sometimes we lose sight of the impact our parents have had on our entire life. We may have taught them how to use a smartphone or Skype with their grandchildren, but let’s not forget that they taught us hygiene, manners, and basic life skills.

Remember that your best chance for success is to work cooperatively with mom and dad, not to lose your patience, and to always treat them with the respect they deserve. It’s a win-win. They’ll be safe. You’ll be sane.

©2018 by Lynda G. Shrager. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission.
Published by Bull Publishing. www.bullpub.com

Article Source

Age in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing and Decluttering Mom and Dad's Home
by Lynda Shrager OTR MSW

Age in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing and Decluttering Mom and Dad's Home by Lynda Shrager OTR MSWAge in Place: A Guide to Modifying, Organizing, and Decluttering Mom and Dad’s Home is a step-by-step, room-by-room guide to simple and often immediate modifications that can help seniors make their homes safer and easier to navigate. It is designed to help seniors and their caregivers address these new challenges together, to make life at home safer and more manageable.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book or purchase the Kindle version.

About the Author

Lynda Shrager, OTR, MSW, CAPS Lynda Shrager, OTR, MSW, CAPS is a registered, national board certified occupational therapist, a master’s level social worker and a Certified Aging in Place Specialist (CAPS) with more than thirty-seven years’ experience in the field of geriatrics and more than thirteen years working with seniors in their homes. In 2009 Lynda became a featured columnist for Everyday Health (everydayhealth.com), one of the country’s leading online consumer health web sites. Lynda combines her expertise as an occupational therapist, master’s level social worker, professional organizer and certified aging in place specialist to pursue her passion of providing therapeutic care in the patient’s home environment and in educating their caregivers. Learn more at otherwisehealthy.com.

Related Books

Mayo Clinic on Healthy Aging - How to Find Happiness and Vitality for a Lifetime
agingAuthor: Edward T. Creagan
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Mayo Clinic

Buy Now

Happiness Is a Choice You Make: Lessons from a Year Among the Oldest Old
agingAuthor: John Leland
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

The Art of Aging: A Doctor's Prescription for Well-Being
agingAuthor: Sherwin B. Nuland
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

aging
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}