هل يمكن للفن حقا أن يحدث فرقا؟

هل يمكن للفن حقا أن يحدث فرقا؟
لا يزال من تدفق الإنسان ، من إخراج آي ويوي.
IMDB / استوديوهات الأمازون

رسمت 1936 Karl Hofer العمل الذي يجسد أفضل معضلة الفنانين الألمان في النصف الأول من القرن 20th. كاساندرا هو رؤية قاتمة من نبوءة طروادة القديمة ، محكوم دومًا على التنبؤ بالمستقبل ، ومحكوم عليه بالآخر ألا يصدق. في 2009 تم عرضها في Kassandra: Visionen des Unheils 1914-1945 (Cassandra: رؤى الكارثة 1914-1945) في متحف Deutsches Historisches في برلين ورسخت رسالتها منذ ذلك الحين.

تضمن المعرض بعض أفضل الفنون الألمانية من 1920s ، عندما توقع العديد من المفكرين ، وخاصة أولئك الذين يعملون في الفنون ، مدى الكابوس النازي الذي سيصبح الوضع الطبيعي الجديد. أدرك بعضهم ما كانوا يرونه وغادر البلاد. واجهت الأغلبية عواقب عدم التصديق. ملاحظة كوميدي بريطاني بيتر كوك في "تلك الملاهي الرائعة في برلين التي فعلت الكثير لوقف صعود هتلر ومنع اندلاع الحرب العالمية الثانية"يقتبس غالباً كدليل على أن الفن هو تعبير عقيم في مواجهة الطغيان المتصاعد.

ومع ذلك ، يستمر الفنانون في تحدي المعرفة المفترضة في محاولاتهم لإيقاظ ضمير العالم. يمكن للفنانين أن يصبحوا شهودًا لمقاضاة جرائم عصرنا ، بالإضافة إلى تمكين بعض المشاهدين من رؤية العالم بشكل مختلف.

عبث الفن؟

قبل أوائل القرن 19th تم تصوير الحرب الأكثر شيوعا كمغامرة بطولية ، في حين أن الموت كان نبيلا ومفتقدا للدماء على حد سواء. ثم جاء غويا مع نظيره كوارث الحرب لإظهار الرعب الكامل لما أوقعه نابليون على إسبانيا. أظهر الفن ، لأول مرة ، معاناة الأفراد في مواجهة القوة العسكرية. بعد حرب غويا لا يمكن أبدا أن ينظر إليها باعتبارها مغامرة بطولية حقا.

بعد قرن من ذلك ، كان أوتو ديكس ، الذي تطوع للحرب العالمية الأولى وحصل على جائزة الصليب الأحمر لخدمته على الجبهة الغربية ، قد كُرِمَ من قبل النازيين بسبب مجموعة 1924 من النقش ، دير كريج (الحرب). وعمل بجهد في تقليد غويا ، ووجه أكثر الإرثاء الشديد للأهوال الكاملة لخبراته في الخنادق الدموية الموحلة حيث تجول المجنونون والخشخاش من جماجم الموتى.

كانت الواقعية القاسية لديكس غير متوافقة مع أي دعاية حول الموت كمجد. وقد أدان الحزب النازي على الفور لوحة 1923 له ، Die Trench (التي دمرت خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية) ، "إضعاف استعدادات الحرب الداخلية الضرورية للشعب". كاساندرا حقا.

أصبحت شدة استجابة ديكس لهذا الصراع الرهيب الأول من القرن 20th مصدر إلهام للفن الحديث عن الحرب وعواقبها ، بما في ذلك بن كويلتي و جورج جيتو. في كويلتي بعد افغانستان سلسلة ، التي جاءت من عمله كفنان حرب أستراليا الرسمي ، تعرض الصدمة المستمرة للجنود العائدين من العمل المستمر من العبث العسكري.

يشجع فن كويلتي وجيتو على التعاطف مع الأفراد المحاصرين في الحروب ، ولكن لا يمكن بأي حال من الأحوال أن يتحدوا السياسات التي تؤدي إلى صراع عنيف. لا يزال الجيش الأسترالي يدعم تقاليدنا الوطنية في القتال في المغامرات العسكرية لأشخاص آخرين.

يبدو أن عبث الفن كسلاح من مظاهر الاحتجاج هو أن هذه اللوحة الأكثر شهرة في الحرب ضد الحرب هي بيكاسو غرنيكا، رسمت للجناح الاسباني من معرض باريس العالمي 1937. في أبريل / نيسان ، قصفت 26 ، و 1937 ، والقوات الألمانية والإيطالية بلدة جيرنيكا الباسكية دعماً للفتش العام الفاشستاني فرانكو لإسبانيا. تم رسم جيرنيكا بقوة كاملة من الحزن الخام ، من قبل فنان كان يدرك جيدا أنه كان يعمل في التقاليد الجدلية في غويا وديكس.

فمقياسها الضخم ، الذي رسمه بخط عاطفي ورسم بالطلاء المتعرج الرقيق المتعمد باللون الأسود والأبيض والرمادي لتكريم ورق الجرائد الذي أخبر الحكاية لأول مرة ، يعني أنه حتى الآن ، بعد مرور أكثر من عشر سنوات على رسمه ، لا يزال لديه القدرة على صدمة.

في 1938 ، في محاولة لجمع الأموال للقضية الإسبانية ، قام Guernica بجولة في بريطانيا حيث ، في مانشستر ، كان مسمرًا على جدار صالة عرض السيارات المهجورة. توافد الآلاف لرؤيتها ، ولكن دون جدوى. رفضت الحكومة البريطانية التدخل. في 1939 أعطى فرانكو المنتصر إسبانيا نظامًا فاشيًا انتهى تمامًا بوفاته في 1975.

في السنوات التي أعقبت الحرب العالمية الثانية ، تم تعليق نسخ ضخمة من غورنيكا برسالة قوية مناهضة للحرب في المدارس في جميع أنحاء العالم. أولئك الذين رأوا ذلك كانوا جزءًا من الجيل الذي رأى الولايات المتحدة تقصف فيتنام وكمبوديا ولاوس.

أزمة عصرنا

الأزمة العظيمة في عصرنا ، تغير المناخ الذي تسبب فيه الإنسان ، قد حدثت بالفعل لعبت دورا في الحروب والمجاعة جنبا إلى جنب مع العوامل الاجتماعية والسياسية المعتادة. كان تأثير هذه الكوارث الهجرة الجماعية العالمية للاجئين. هذا الشتات هو واحد من الموضوعات الحالية بينالي سيدني.

ويهيمن عمل آي ويوي على ثلاثة من المواقع السبعة في البينالي ، الذي تحول في السنوات الأخيرة من استخدام جمالية رموزه الرمزية إلى كشف الفساد داخل الصين إلى الكارثة العالمية للملايين. يستحضر فن النحت العملاق ، "قانون الرحلة" ، العديد من قوارب الصيد على شواطئ البحر الأبيض المتوسط. يحمل البعض حمولتهم البشرية إلى مضيفين غير مرحب بهم ، وآخرون تعثروا على الطريق. يغرق العديد من يحاولون الهروب إلى نوع من المستقبل. لقد وضع آي ويوي حشدا ضخما من اللاجئين المجهولين في قاربه العملاق ، بحيث يحصل المشاهد على شعور بفداحة كل شيء.

في حين أنه يتلاءم بشكل جيد في الفضاء الكهفي لـ Powerhouse في جزيرة Cockatoo ، كان قانون الرحلة في الأصل عبارة عن عمل محدد للموقع معرض براغ الوطني في تشيكوسلوفاكيا ، وهي الدولة التي كانت في يوم من الأيام ترسل اللاجئين إلى العالم وترفض الآن استقبالهم. حول قاعدة القارب عبارة عن نقوش تعلق على المواقف التي أدت إلى هذه المأساة الدولية. وهي تتراوح بين دعوة كارلوس فوينتيس إلى "التعرف على نفسك من هو وليسوا مثلك ومثلي" ، إلى البطل والفنان التشيكي الأدبي فاتسلاف هافل.

وكتب هافل من 1979 إلى 1982 ، عندما كان في السجن حروف لزوجته ، أولغا. وبسبب شروط سجنه ، لا يمكن أن يكون ذلك جدليًا بشكل علني. ومع ذلك كتب تعليقا ملحوظا على طبيعة الإنسانية الحديثة ، والذي نشر فيما بعد. ملاحظته ، "إن مأساة الإنسان الحديث ليست هي أنه يعرف أقل وأقل عن معنى حياته الخاصة ، ولكنه يضايقه أقل وأقل" ، يتم وضعه بشكل مناسب هنا.

هناك شعور بالغموض في ما هو حقا قطعة رفيقة ، وتقع في العلاقة الحميمة من Artspace. تقع كرة بلورية عملاقة على سرير من سترات النجاة الباهتة ، التي يتم التخلص منها على شواطئ ليسبوس. إنه يعني أن العالم في مفترق الطرق. يجب على الحكومات والشعوب أن تقرر أي اتجاه يجب اتباعه في وقت الأزمات.

الفن كشاهد

فيلم Ai Weiwei ، تدفق الإنسانيقدم هذه الأزمة بطريقة لا يمكن إنكارها. كان أول عرض أسترالي لها في دار أوبرا سيدني جزءًا من الاحتفالات الافتتاحية لبينالي سيدني ، ولكن يتم توزيعه الآن للإصدار العام. إنه أمر ساحق في تأثيره ومتناقض داخليا متعمدا.

هناك آفاقاً جميلة شاسعة من البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​الهادئة - التي تضغط بعد ذلك على زورق مطاطي مملوء بأرواح منقوشة بالحياة البرتقالية ، كل ذلك يخاطر بحياتهم للذهاب إلى حلم أوروبا. وبينما يتم مساعدة الناس على الشواطئ الصخرية في ليسبوس ، يخبر أحد الركاب الزوار بالمراكب وخوفه من عدم وصولهم بسبب الصخور. يموت الكثيرون في البحر. هناك جمال فظيع في الدخان المتصاعد لحقول النفط المشتعلة التي تركها داعش كتراثها في الموصل ، والعواصف الترابية الرائعة التي صورت في أفريقيا حيث تستمر التغيرات المناخية في دفع الكثيرين من أراضيهم.

بالنسبة للأستراليين ، هناك أصداء لوحشية حكومتنا في مواقف وأعمال حكومات مقدونيا وفرنسا وإسرائيل وهنغاريا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. يجادل الفيلم بأن هناك اليوم ما يقرب من 65 مليون لاجئ ، معظمهم سينفقون على 20 سنوات بدون منزل دائم. انتهى المشروع الإنساني الكبير لأوروبا ما بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية ، والذي أعطى مستقبلاً للاجئين ، بالأسلاك الشائكة والغاز المسيل للدموع والغرق في البحر.

نحن في إحدى تلك الأوقات في تاريخ البشرية حيث لا تؤدي الإجابة البسيطة على المشكلة إلا إلى كارثة. إن إعادة الأشخاص إلى الحدود أو إعادتهم إلى منزل غير آمن يؤدي إلى مسيرة طويلة أخرى ، أو المزيد من عمليات الغرق. إن إنشاء جيش من الشباب دون أمل هو وصفة لتجنيد داعش وخلفائهم. الناس الذين يرون مستقبلاً لأنفسهم وأطفالهم هم أقل عرضة للانتحار.

يقول تدفق البشر أن المسؤولية عن المشكلة (والحل) للاجئين تقع في نهاية المطاف على عاتق هؤلاء الرؤساء والبرلمانات الذين لا يرون ضرورة للتكيف مع العالم المتغير.

لن يغير هذا الفن سياسات أستراليا اللاإنسانية تجاه طالبي اللجوء. في ليلة العرض الأول لدار الأوبرا في سيدني ، سأل بن كويلتي آي ويوي إذا شعر أن فيلمه قد يحدث فرقا. كان جوابه: "لفترة قصيرة للغاية ، ربما."

إن القيمة النهائية للتدفقات البشرية هي بمثابة بيان شهادة إذا تم استدعاء الحكومات من أجل حماقاتها. لقد جمع Ai Weiwei مادة لإظهار جمهور كبير بأن لديه الدليل لإدانة أوقات الإهمال الجسيم للبشرية. هو Cassandra حديث ، يقول الحقيقة إلى السلطة من خلال الفن. ثم يعجب الأقوياء بصفاته الفنية الجمالية بينما يضعها في مجموعات الفن الرسمي لكل تلك الدول التي تفضل عدم رؤية ما يحاول قوله.

الجسور الثقافية

يتبنى الفنانون الآخرون في البينالي نهجًا مختلفًا قليلاً وربما أكثر دقة. تيفاني تشونغ ، الذي غادر فيتنام كلاجئ في نزوح جماعي ل 1970s ، يعرض أيضا في Artspace. يبرز تطريزها الدقيق لخريطة العالم مسارات القوارب من فيتنام وكمبوديا ، في حين أن الوثائق المصاحبة توضح كيف تم استقبالهم بنفس مستوى الاشتباه الذي يحيي لاجئي اليوم.

إن بيوت تشونغ الحالية في كل من الولايات المتحدة وفيتنام تذكرنا بأن تلك الدول التي تفتح قلوبها للاجئين يمكن أن تستفيد من وجودها ، وأنه في الوقت المناسب ، تنتهي العديد من النزاعات بالمصالحة. إنه يطلب من الكثير من الفن أن يتوقع أن يغير السياسات الحكومية أو المصير البشري ، لأن تجربة رؤية الفن فردية للغاية. من الممكن أن الفن يمكن أن يغير مواقف الناس من الحياة ، ولكن هذا من المرجح أن يحدث على أساس فردي.

في سقيفة من الصفيح كبيرة ، عالية في جزيرة كوكاتو ، خالد السبسبي التثبيت يستكمل Bring the Silence مسارًا بدأ منذ فترة طويلة - وهو تكريم التقليد الإبداعي للصوفية واستخدامه كمسار بين الثقافات. حتى قبل دخول السقيفة ، يلاحظ الزائر عطر مغرية من بتلات الورد. في داخل الظلام ، كانت الرائحة الفاتنة شبه ساحقة ، في حين أن الأرضية مغطاة بالسجاد المستمد من ذلك المنزل الذي يحتوي على كل ما هو جيد في التسوق في الشرق الأوسط ، أوبورن في الضواحي الغربية لسيدني. يحيط المشاهد بالأحاديث المليئة بالضجيج في الشارع في حين يغريها شدة اللون من الشاشات العملاقة المعلقة ورائحة الورود.

يُعد فيلم Bring the Silence مقطع فيديو من ثماني قنوات يعرض كل شاشة عرضًا مختلفًا لقبر دلهي ، ضريح القديس العظيم الصوفي ، محمد نظام الدين عليا. بعض الرجال يلقيون بتلات الورود والأقمشة الحريرية ذات الألوان الزاهية على التلة التي تحتوي على جسده ، بينما يصلي البعض الآخر. النساء وغير المؤمنين غير مسموح بهن في هذا المكان المقدس. كان على السبسي أن يطلب تصريح خاص للتصوير. محمد نظام الدين عليا كان واحداً من أجمل قديسي القرون الوسطى الذين رأوا أن حب الله أدى إلى حب الإنسانية ، والتفاني الروحي مع اللطف.

قضت السبسي سنوات عديدة في استكشاف هذا الأمر الأكثر بهجة من جميع التقاليد الإسلامية. لأولئك الذين يقيمون في منزله في الضواحي الغربية في سيدني ، يظهر كيف يمكن للفن عبور الحواجز الثقافية بين المسلمين الأستراليين وغير المسلمين. بالنسبة لغير المسلمين ، فإنه يوفر نافذة إلى جانب من جوانب الإسلام الخالق والغموض على حد سواء ، فضلاً عن قبوله أكثر من صورة الإيمان المنتقد بشكل منتظم من لاعبي كرة القدم.

هذه الدعوة البصرية نفسها هي السبب في أنه ليس من المستغرب أن تجد سبسابي معروضة في أديليد في وقت التغيير: وقت التغيير. الفنانون ، الذين يطلقون على أنفسهم أحد عشريمثلون التنوع في أستراليا الإسلامية وهم يتحدون الصور النمطية من خلال تنوع فنهم. تم تصميم استراتيجيتهم للمعارض على غرار مجموعة السكان الأصليين الناجحة للغاية ProppaNOW، والتي تعاونت في الماضي لسنوات 15 لإظهار مخاوف وفن السكان الأصليين في المناطق الحضرية. كان نجاحهم اللاحق كفنانين فرديًا وجماعيًا. وعلى نفس القدر من الأهمية ، فقد أشرفوا على تحول في المواقف بشأن ما يمكن أن يكونه السكان الأصليون.

التحول عن طريق الفن ليس فقط عن الأشياء. في تسمانيا ، خلق ديفيد والش من غريب الأطوار MONA وقد تم اعتباره أهم عنصر في إحياء ثروات تلك الدولة. ليس السبب الوحيد - الجزر الخضراء في المناخ المعتدل جذابة بشكل متزايد مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم - ولكن حتى أكثر الإرادة ساخرًا تعترف التغييرات لقد قام من خلال الفن.

المحادثةالتغييرات الفنية وممارسيها ليست فورية. وزير الداخلية بيتر داتون لن ينقض موقفه تجاه اللاجئين نتيجة لرؤية تدفق الإنسان. لكنه ليس بالضرورة الجمهور المستهدف. لقد كتب Ai Weiwei: "الفن هو ممارسة اجتماعية تساعد الناس على تحديد حقيقتهمربما هذا هو كل ما يمكننا أن نطلبه منه.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوانا مندلسون ، أستاذ مشارك فخري ، Art & Design: UNSW Australia. رئيس تحرير ، تصميم وفن أستراليا عبر الإنترنت ، UNSW

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Joanna Mendelssohn،؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Can Art Really Make A Difference?

creativity

Can Art Really Make A Difference?
Still from Human Flow, directed by Ai Weiwei.
IMDB/Amazon Studios

In 1936 Karl Hofer painted the work that best encapsulates the dilemma of German artists in the first half of the 20th century. Kassandra is a bleak vision of the prophetess of Ancient Troy, doomed always to foresee the future, and doomed never to be believed. In 2009 it was exhibited in Kassandra: Visionen des Unheils 1914-1945 (Cassandra: Visions of Catastrophe 1914-1945) at the Deutsches Historisches Museum in Berlin and its message has haunted me since.

The exhibition included some of the best of German art from the 1920s, when many intellectuals, especially those working in the arts, foresaw the extent of the Nazi nightmare that would become the new normal. Some recognised what they were seeing and left the country. The majority experienced the consequences of disbelief. British comedian Peter Cook’s cutting remark on “those wonderful Berlin cabarets which did so much to stop the rise of Hitler and prevent the outbreak of the second world war” is often quoted as proof that art is a futile commentary in the face of rising tyranny.

And yet artists persist in challenging assumed knowledge in their attempts to awaken the conscience of the world. Artists can become witnesses for the prosecution of the crimes of our times, as well as enabling some viewers to see the world differently.

The futility of art?

Before the early 19th century war was most commonly depicted as a heroic venture, while death was both noble and surprisingly bloodless. Then came Goya with his Disasters of War to show the full horror of what Napoleon inflicted on Spain. The art showed, for the first time, the suffering of individuals in the face of military power. After Goya war could never be seen as a truly heroic venture.

A century later Otto Dix, who volunteered for the first world war and was awarded an Iron Cross for his service on the Western Front, was loathed by the Nazis for his 1924 suite of etchings, Der Krieg (The War). Consciously working in the tradition of Goya, he drew the most intense evocations of the full horrors of his experiences in the muddy bloody trenches where madmen roamed and poppies bloomed from the skulls of the dead.

Dix’s harsh realism was incompatible with any propaganda about death as glory. His 1923 painting, Die Trench (destroyed during the second world war), was immediately condemned by the Nazi Party as art that “weakens the necessary inner war-readiness of the people”. A Cassandra indeed.

The intensity of Dix’s response to that first terrible conflict of the 20th century has become an inspiration for more recent art about war and its consequences, including that of Ben Quilty and George Gittoes. Quilty’s After Afghanistan series, which came from his work as Australia’s official war artist, presents the ongoing trauma of soldiers returned from the ongoing act of military futility.

Both Quilty’s and Gittoes’ art encourages empathy with individuals caught in war, but in no way challenges the policies that lead to violent conflict. The Australian Army still upholds our national tradition of fighting in other people’s military adventures.

The futility of art as a weapon of protest seems to be borne out by that most famous anti-war painting of them all, Picasso’s Guernica, painted for the Spanish Pavilion of the Paris World Fair 1937. On April 26, 1937, German and Italian forces bombed the Basque town of Gernika in support of the Fascist General Franco’s conquest of Spain. Guernica was painted with the full force of raw grief, by an artist who was well aware that he was working in the polemic tradition of Goya and Dix.

Its huge scale, drawn with passionate line and painted with deliberate thin ragged paint in black, white and grey to honour the newsprint that first told the tale, means that even now, over 80 years after it was painted, it still has the capacity to shock.

In 1938, in an effort to raise funds for the Spanish cause, Guernica toured Britain where, in Manchester, it was nailed to the wall of a disused car showroom. Thousands flocked to see it, but to no avail. The British government refused to intervene. In 1939 the victorious Franco gave Spain a Fascist regime that only fully ended with his death in 1975.

In the years after WWII mass reproductions of Guernica with its strong anti-war message hung in schoolrooms around the world. Those who saw it were a part of the generation who saw the United States bomb Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos.

The crisis of our times

The great crisis of our times, human-caused climate change, has already played a role in wars and famine alongside the usual social and political factors. The effect of these disasters has been a global mass migration of refugees. This diaspora is one of the themes of the current Biennale of Sydney.

Three of the seven locations at the biennale are dominated by the work of Ai Weiwei, who in recent years has turned from using his iconoclastic aesthetic to expose corruption within China to the global distress of millions. His giant sculpture, Law of the Journey, evokes the many rafts that are beached on the shores of the Mediterranean. Some carry their human cargo to unwelcoming hosts, others foundered on the way. Many drown trying to escape to some kind of future. Ai Weiwei has placed an inflated crowd of anonymous refugees into his giant boat, so that the viewer gets a sense of the enormity of it all.

While it fits so well in the cavernous space of the Powerhouse on Cockatoo Island, Law of the Journey was originally a site-specific work for the National Gallery of Prague in Czechoslovakia, a country that once sent refugees to the world and now declines to receive them. Around the base of the boat are inscriptions commenting on the attitudes that have led to this international tragedy. They range from Carlos Fuentes’ plea to “recognise yourself in he and she who are not like you and me”, to the Czech literary and political hero Václav Havel.

From 1979 to 1982, when he was in prison, Havel wrote letters to his wife, Olga. Because of the terms of his imprisonment these could not be overtly polemical. Nevertheless he wrote a remarkable commentary on the nature of modern humanity, which was later published. His observation, “The tragedy of modern man is not that he knows less and less about the meaning of his own life, but that it bothers him less and less,” is appropriately placed here.

There is a sense of ambiguity in what is really a companion piece, located in the intimacy of Artspace. A giant crystal ball rests on a bed of faded life-jackets, discarded on the shores of Lesbos. It implies that the world is at the crossroads. Governments and people must decide which direction to follow in a time of crisis.

Art as witness

Ai Weiwei’s film, Human Flow, presents that crisis in a way that cannot be denied. Its first Australian screening at the Sydney Opera House was a part of the Biennale of Sydney’s opening festivities, but it is now distributed for general release. It is both overwhelming in its impact and deliberately internally contradictory.

There are sweeping beautiful vistas of a tranquil Mediterranean Sea – that then zoom in on a rubber boat overfilled with orange life-jacketed figures, all risking their lives to go to a dream of Europe. As people are helped ashore on the rocky beaches of Lesbos, one passenger tells of boats following and his fear that they will not arrive because of the rocks. So many die at sea. There is terrible beauty in the billowing smoke of the burning oil fields that ISIS left as their legacy in Mosul, and magnificent dust storms filmed in Africa where climatic changes continue to drive many from their lands.

For Australians, there are echoes of the cruelty of our government in the attitudes and actions of the governments of Macedonia, France, Israel, Hungary and the USA. The film argues that today there are approximately 65 million refugees, most of whom will spend over 20 years without a permanent home. The great humanitarian project of post-WWII Europe, that gave a future for its refugees, has ended with barbed wire, tear gas and drownings at sea.

We are at one of those times in human history where the simplistic answer to a problem only creates disaster. Turning people back at borders or returning them to an unsafe home creates another long march, or more drownings. Creating an army of young men without hope is a recipe for recruitment for ISIS and their successors. People who see a future for themselves and their children are less likely to become suicide bombers.

Human Flow argues that ultimately the responsibility for the problem (and the solution) for refugees lies with those presidents and parliaments who see no need to adapt to the changing world.

This art will not change Australia’s inhuman policies towards asylum seekers. On the night of the Sydney Opera House premiere, Ben Quilty asked Ai Weiwei if he felt that his film might make a difference. His answer was: “For a very short moment, maybe.”

The ultimate value of Human Flow is as a witness statement if ever governments are called to account for their folly. Ai Weiwei has gathered material to show a mass audience that he has the evidence to convict our times of gross neglect of humanity. He is a modern Cassandra, telling truth to power through art. The powerful then admire his art’s aesthetic qualities while placing it in the official art collections of all those countries that prefer not to see what he is trying to say.

Cultural bridges

Other artists in the biennale take a slightly different and perhaps more subtle approach. Tiffany Chung, who left Vietnam as a refugee in the great exodus of the 1970s, is also exhibiting at Artspace. Her meticulous embroidery of a map of the world charts the routes of the boat people from Vietnam and Cambodia, while accompanying documentation shows how they were received with the same level of suspicion that greets today’s refugees.

Chung’s current homes in both the US and Vietnam are a reminder that those countries that do open their hearts to refugees can benefit from their presence, and that, in time, many conflicts end in reconciliation. It is asking too much of art to expect it to change government policies or human destiny, because the experience of seeing art is so individual. It is possible that art can change people’s attitudes to life, but this is more likely to happen on an individual basis.

In a large tin shed, high on Cockatoo Island, Khaled Sabsabi’s installation Bring the Silence continues a trajectory he began long ago – honouring the creative tradition of Sufism and using it as a pathway between cultures. Even before entering the shed, the visitor notices the enticing perfume of rose petals. Inside the dark, the luscious smell is almost overwhelming, while the floor is covered with carpets sourced from that home of all that is good in Middle Eastern shopping, Auburn in Sydney’s western suburbs. The viewer is surrounded by the softened chatter of street noise while being seduced by the intensity of colour from the giant suspended screens and the smell of roses.

Bring the Silence is an eight-channel video with each screen showing a different view of a Delhi tomb, the shrine of the great Sufi saint, Muhammad Nizamuddin Auliya. Some men are casting rose petals and brightly coloured silk cloths onto the mound that contains his body, while others pray. Women and unbelievers are not allowed in this sacred space; Sabsabi had to ask special permission to film. Muhammad Nizamuddin Auliya was one of the most generous of medieval saints who saw that a love of God led to a love of humanity, and spiritual devotion combined with kindness.

Sabsabi has spent many years exploring this most joyous of all Islamic traditions. To those in his home in Sydney’s western suburbs, he shows how art can cross cultural barriers between Muslim and non-Muslim Australians. For non-Muslims he provides a window into an aspect of Islam that is both creative and mystical, as well as more accepting than the image of faith regularly denounced by the shock jocks.

That same visual advocacy is why it is no surprise to find Sabsabi is exhibiting in Adelaide at Waqt al-tagheer: Time of change. The artists, who call themselves eleven, represent the diversity of Islamic Australia as they challenge stereotypes through the variety of their art. Their exhibition strategy is modelled on that of the very successful Aboriginal collective ProppaNOW, which for the past 15 years has collaborated to project the concerns and art of urban Aboriginal people. Their subsequent success as artists has been both individual and collective. Just as importantly they have overseen a shift in attitudes as to what an Aboriginal person may be.

Transformation through art is not just about objects. In Tasmania, David Walsh’s eccentric creation of MONA has been credited as the most important element in the revival of that state’s fortunes. It is not the only reason – green islands in temperate climates are increasingly attractive as the world warms – but even the most cynical will admit the changes he has wrought through art.

The ConversationThe changes art and its practitioners make are not instant. Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton will not reverse his attitude to refugees as a result of seeing Human Flow. But he is not necessarily the target audience. Ai Weiwei has written: “Art is a social practice that helps people to locate their truth.” Maybe that is all we can ask of it.

About The Author

Joanna Mendelssohn, Honorary Associate Professor, Art & Design: UNSW Australia. Editor in Chief, Design and Art of Australia Online, UNSW

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

Lionel Lindsay: An Artist and His Family
creativityAuthor: Joanna Mendelssohn
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Chatto & Windus

Buy Now

Australia Now: Which School? Beyond Private Vs Public
creativityAuthor: Joanna Mendelssohn
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Pluto Press

Buy Now

The life and work of Sydney Long (Copperfield art collections)
creativityAuthor: Joanna Mendelssohn
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: McGraw-Hill]

Buy Now

creativity
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}